Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-15 of 15 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Who needs a Kamado?
4/15/2012

Customer review by urbuddymac

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by urbuddymac
by urbuddymac

This Kamado delivers BGE Performance without tne financial woes! I currently have 5 grills and smokers. This unit will do most tasks as well as the others except for searing which is superb with the Kamado Kooker. I still love my Portable Kitchen, my electric water smokers and my two New Braunfelds Smoker/Grills but most do one or two things well the Kamado Kooker adds the ability to do really high temperature searing of burgers and steaks that leaves them sealed and superbly juicy. I have BGE owners on three sides who dropped between $1700 and $2800 on their variously equipped "Big Green Eggs". What a waste caused by admittedly good pulled pork butts, but mostly by the old "Keeping up with the Jones" thing. If you shop carefully you can come up with one of these delivered for the three bills that my neighbors paid just to have their eggs delivered and set up. I helped relocate one green egg and it's cypress table across from one side of a patio to the other and I know why they are so ridiculously pricey to deliver and setup... I don't know how the other three guys did after the move but I had to use a heating pad for two weeks on the back spasms it gave me. I'd rather move a full hot tub. My Char-Griller Kamado Kooker on the other hand rolls out in the spring with ease and can be moved to any location I prefer for entertaining and then back under cover when inclement weather approaches. Sweet! And Pizza, using my bride's pizza stone this thing kicks out a true wood oven pizza to die for... got to go... This is making me hungry! PS: My pulled pork butts are just as good as those from my neighbor's Green Egg... No, that's not true, considering the roughly Two G's I saved... they taste even better than one out of a BGE. I can buy a lot of prime butts and shoulders with the Two Grand I saved!

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
urbuddymac
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smoker/Grill for the price
7/24/2013

Customer review by Paljoee

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by Paljoee
by Paljoee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just replaced my gas grill with this Kamado Kooker. So far its lived up to the other positive reviews I've read. I cooked a Tri-tip and some burgers so far. It takes a little getting use to but so far I'm happy with it. Make sure you use "lump" charcoal or Stub's briquettes and not the Kingsford briquettes. It has most of the features of the more expensive $800 Kamados. One minor hiccup. One of the handles on bottom-ash-tray was broken off when it arrived. I called the manufacturer and then sent me out a set of 2 within 3 days. That's the reason for 4 Stars on this review. Walmart's price was the best I found and delivery was made less than a week.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paljoee
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Money well spent
6/5/2014

Customer review by bbqguy

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by bbqguy
by bbqguy

I've had my smoker a little over a year now. We are in Central Ontario Canada and the smoker gets used no matter the weather. I've dug it out of the snow to use. I've enjoyed using it both winter and summer. Fantastic ribs, smoked pork, great smoked turkey. Money well spent. Very economical, just close the vents and the charcoal extinguishes itself, ready for the next time. Over the last year I think that I have used it at least twice a week and only gone through maybe 20 pounds of charcoal. Do not use briquets. Natural is best. I use a lot of apple, hickory, and cherry for smoke. Two things. First cover it when not in use, it will collect rain in the bottom. Second, use a meat thermometer, a remote one if possible.

bbqguy
Hastings, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
As advertised
10/31/2013

Customer review by SatisfiedShopper1946

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by SatisfiedShopper1946
by SatisfiedShopper1946
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Grill cover fits great and looks good too. If you own Kamado Kooker this cover is a must to keep exterior of grill from the elements.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SatisfiedShopper1946
Morristown,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste, look elsewhere
5/5/2015

Customer review by NickName9

1.0 stars 5/5/2015 by NickName9
by NickName9

The key feature, smoker, cannot be used out of box. You must buy a smoking stones which is an additional $50. If you happen to find a place, anyplace that sells that smoking stone you may be able to smoke. Otherwise you just bought a $300 grill that add no benefit over any other grill. If you ant to smoke get a weber or something else. If you want a grill, same advice. Overpriced waste. i took mine back an hour after arrivial and opening the box.

NickName9
Romeoville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Just Great!
6/14/2013

Customer review by ryan19191919

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by ryan19191919
by ryan19191919

Once I received my Kamado, I was able to set it up in less than an hour and was cooking in two. Great BBQ, heats up super quick with a decent grilling area. It goes through quite a bit of charcoal, but it's worth it after you take a bite of that steak you just had on. Never going back to gas! Wish Walmart didn't mess up the delivery on me, or at least call me to tell me when it was showing up, but it was worth the wait. Highly recommended!

ryan19191919
Pickering, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
this is a great product
5/16/2013

Customer review by David394

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by David394
by David394

There are a lot of more expensive ones on the market they weight at least double. The fact is they do about the same thing . I ordered mine on line and walmart.ca had it delivered in about 4 days. Its a grill , a smoker and a baker all in one with a few accessories. Unfortunatly walmart doesn't sell the special cover that is made for it and I had to get that online. Very happy with my purchase. David

David394
Ontario, Canada
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Very Happy
4/9/2014

Customer review by firedowser

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by firedowser
by firedowser

I bought this unit last weekend and I love it, went together in less than an hour and that afternoon I had a roast smoking on it. Don't let the price fool you, I've been looking the last couple of years at kamado style units and because the price's are so high I just couldn't pull the trigger. This Akorn preforms beautifully, I am very happy!

firedowser
Smithville, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
great buy!!
1/10/2014

Customer review by Libb

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Libb
by Libb

I am a senior lady who purchased this a month ago, It was easy to assemble, however because of the unstable winter we're having I have only used it once, I made pizza and they were delicious. I look forward to finer weather and a great BBQ season. I'm very happy with this product.

Libb
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Happy of my purchase
6/11/2013

Customer review by Zodiac

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Zodiac
by Zodiac

Walmart has delivered the King Griller a few days after the order was placed. The grill was easy to assemble and after a few weeks of use. I am very impressed with the grill and how it perform. Very happy with my decision of buying this grill at Walmart.

Zodiac
Quebec City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awesome grill
5/4/2014

Customer review by unknownchef

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by unknownchef
by unknownchef

after going between stores looking at the bge and this grill I,am glad I choose the kamado grill.did ribs first cook with apple wood chips.mmmm so tender n juice.easy to adjust heat.love this grill.so will you

unknownchef
Cape Breton Regional Municipality, NS, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
6/13/2013

Customer review by bobloblaw

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by bobloblaw
by bobloblaw

Works excellent ! Looks great! Food tastes like an old time barbeque ! Had to tighten the latch, otherwise haven't had any issues.

bobloblaw
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much better than gas grill
6/5/2013

Customer review by RealtrVal

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by RealtrVal
by RealtrVal

The food tastes great, it takes a few minutes to get the grill going, but it's worth it. Easy to move around the deck.

RealtrVal
Halifax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great cooker
7/6/2013

Customer review by JoeBBQ

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by JoeBBQ
by JoeBBQ

I've had it for about a month and use it 3-4 times a week. It's a smoker, it's a grill and it's an oven at the same time. You can slow cook at 225ºF, sear at 650ºF (it is supposed to go up to 700ºF but I haven't tried). I have made pulled pork, steak, bread, pizza, and more. Watch your temperature: if you go over the desired temperature, it will take forever to cool down - that's the downside of being so well insulated. The upside is that it keeps the heat and moisture inside: your meat dries less, and you can touch the outside wall without burning yourself (don't touch the metal of the iron-cast top vent, though, it does get VERY hot). The dome thermometer is practically useless, it is completely off (by 50-100ºF !) and does not give you instant temp reading (moves too slowly). Do yourself a favour and get a digital probe. For fuel I have used both briquettes and lump charcoal: I prefer lump charcoal - tastes better, produces less ashes. For indirect heat, you can use a metal pizza pan as a deflector. Get a cover if you don't want water to accumulate in the ash tray. Also, it being steel, I expect to see rust eventually. The Akorn is a great entry-level kamado, I love cooking with it. It can do so many things, and everything that comes out of it is delicious. After having used this BBQ, and can't go back to gas. Pros: - kamado cooking for a fraction of the price of a ceramic model - same taste as ceramic cooker - it works using the exact same principles and is well insulated - lighter than ceramic - uses very little fuel, and can run for hours with one load - looks good on the deck Cons: - not as sturdy as ceramic models - I have some doubts about durability, but for the price you can't go wrong - build quality could be better - ash tray hanger was not lined up with the base of the egg, I removed the hanger piece (tray side) so that it closes perfectly (hanger is not essential, it just helps hold the tray while removing/putting it back) - not completely airtight; I have detected very small air leaks, but I am not worried about it as I can still stabilise at 225-250ºF

JoeBBQ
Kitchener, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect fit
2/10/2015

Customer review by Mastergriller

5.0 stars 2/10/2015 by Mastergriller
by Mastergriller

If you have an acorn grill get this it fits perfectly

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mastergriller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes