Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 66 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
This Grill rocks!!!!
7/24/2012

Customer review by TLB311

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by TLB311
by TLB311

There is not much this grill can't do. You can cook low and slow with a bit of smoke or you can cook high enough to put a good sear on steaks or even cook a pizza. The grill is easy to put together, i completed mine in about 1 hr by myself. Out of the box this is not completely air-tight and there are some things that you need to do, all of which are simple and can be readily found by searching for this grill on the youtube. With the addition of a heat diffuser there isn't much you can cook with this grill. I have done Bread and Pizza to slow smoking pork butts for 10-12 hrs without having to reload charcoal. I purchased mine in May and have used it approx 50 times. It's holding up well. Heat-up time doesn't take long typically 15 min and when you are done you just shut down the air vents and it snuffs out the coals so they can be used on the next cook. I am a big fan of this grill. I would argue that it's everybit as efficient and effective as the ceramic Kamados that cost 3 to 5 times as much.

TLB311
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Still Waiting for Good Weather
9/29/2016

Customer review by Gimmick Lover

4.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Gimmick Lover
by Gimmick Lover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received the grill about a week ago and just assembled it. It took about 30 minutes to assemble and now we have to pre-treat it before we use it. The weather has not been cooperative with getting the grill out to pre-treat and use. It recommends lump charcoal instead of briquettes and that is more expensive. I plan to use both together.

Gimmick Lover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, works well
9/12/2016

Customer review by calvin McMahon

4.0 stars 9/12/2016 by calvin McMahon
by calvin McMahon

well built works well ..suggest getting the indirect ceramic plate.. also purchased a pizza stone ( reason for buying ) makes great pizza. Smoked Brisket & various pork roasts. construction is solid & robust..well recommended

calvin McMahon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Switching to charcoal!
5/11/2012

Customer review by sunshine

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by sunshine
by sunshine

We bought this grill for our son and daughter in law. We liked that the ashes did not come out of the bottom when grilling as they have a small child and it always seemed dangerous to us. Also there old grill got so hot on the outside that we always worried about our grandbaby touching it and getting burned. This grill has all the things we did not like about the old charcoal grill. Our son has sent pictures of what he is grilling and it looks excellent. One of the first things he made was two beer can chickens and both of them came out of the grill evenly cooked and browned. He has nothing bad to say and he was not real excited about anything but a weber before. Time will tell how long it lasts. No complaints yet and we are switching from gas to charcoal. Excellent buy.

sunshine
Custer, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value for money!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Ranger

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Ranger
by Ranger

I own several gas grills and was considering a Big Green Egg or a Big Steel Keg.A comparable size BGE will cost you $1000 with all necessities and the BSK easily $600.This one was [$] delivered to my doorstep in two days.It takes awhile to assemble but is well packaged and it is built very well.The overall quality of this product is excellent.As is the case with similar products, some minor owner modifications are needed. A tube of high temp. sealant for both dampers will seal this baby completely for truly efficient long,low heat cooks. This is has all of the flavorful cooking features of a ceramic kamado with none of the practical drawbacks.It is built to last with minimal care(a cover and seasoning care of the grates) will last a long time. It is also easier to move around and use then a ceramic cooker.I'm a novice to kamado cooking but had outstanding results the first few times I fired this Char-Griller up.I would recommend a reasonably digital BBQ food thermometer...an essential, must-have item for smoking and slow cooking of meats.That will cost you another $30-$40 but is well worth it.Hayneedle is a pleasure to deal with.Mine came with a slight dent in the lid and they took care of the problem immediately.Excellent customer service.

Ranger
Cape May County NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smoker!
11/2/2011

Customer review by Ryan, Charcoal grill enthusiast

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Ryan, Charcoal grill enthusiast
by Ryan, Charcoal grill enthusiast

Having used a large ceramic Kamado Kooker before, I was skeptical that this (much) less expensive Kamado grill could perform as well. However, I was amazed at how easy it was to use and most of all, how well it performed. I have now smoked ribs and pork shoulder and they both turned out better than what I've had at BBQ restaurants. I smoked the ribs for 6 hours and the pork shoulder for 9 hours and was pleasantly surprised that I only had to add a few coals every hour or so to maintain 225 degrees. The one other benefit was that the exterior of the grill does not heat up like an aluminum grill. And when you're smoking all day and leaving the grill unattended for an hour at a time, it's nice to know the kids playing outside won't burn themselves if they happen to touch it. The only complaint I have is the cast iron grill grate does not have a large removable section that would allow easy access for adding coals or wood chips during the smoking process. However, there is a tool provided that allows you to lift the grate with one hand while adding coals with the other. Not ideal, but better than having to use your tongs. All in all, this is well worth the money and a much smarter buy than something for hundreds of dollars more. Highly recommend.

Ryan, Charcoal grill enthusiast
Omaha, NE
Amazing
11/9/2012

Customer review by Ozarkhawk

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Ozarkhawk
by Ozarkhawk

Mine was put together when I bought it, so I can't comment on that part of it. I had been looking for something like this, but couldn't justify a big green egg. I was worried that, since this isn't ceramic, I would have trouble stabilizing the heat. Uh - not a problem. I took off the lower vent after I bought it (it unscrews with 3 screws# and put a bead of fireplace caulk around the inside of the vent to seal against air leaks. It took 5 minutes. Today I smoked my first Boston Butt. I put about 6 lbs. of charcoal and some hickory chips in the pan, and a foil pan full of apple juice on the deflector tray to humidify the butt, and catch the drippings. The deflector grill dowsn't come with, but you can buy a weber replacement grill for a 22 inch weber #about 15 bucks) and it fits perfectly. I let the cooker get to about 175, then shut down the dampers to barely open. It actually held, steady, at 207 degrees. By the way, that is measured with a Maverick thermometer, not the dial gague, which is off by 50 degrees or so. I actually had to open the vents a little, and it settled in at 230 degrees, no problem. Prior to this, I have cooked a pizza on this, and grilled a steak at over 700 degrees. Great build quality, and awesome heat control.

Ozarkhawk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Money well spent
6/5/2014

Customer review by bbqguy

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by bbqguy
by bbqguy

I've had my smoker a little over a year now. We are in Central Ontario Canada and the smoker gets used no matter the weather. I've dug it out of the snow to use. I've enjoyed using it both winter and summer. Fantastic ribs, smoked pork, great smoked turkey. Money well spent. Very economical, just close the vents and the charcoal extinguishes itself, ready for the next time. Over the last year I think that I have used it at least twice a week and only gone through maybe 20 pounds of charcoal. Do not use briquets. Natural is best. I use a lot of apple, hickory, and cherry for smoke. Two things. First cover it when not in use, it will collect rain in the bottom. Second, use a meat thermometer, a remote one if possible.

bbqguy
Hastings, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Well Worth It!
3/7/2012

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Rick
by Rick

Just received last week and was excited to assemble and get cooking. Fast, free delivery was appreciated. Easy assembly (from someone with very little patience.) Found the unit to be well constructed and easy to move. It was simple to prep and season the smoker and the cast iron grill. Don't skip either step as you will need to burn off the some of the interior chemicals, paints, and residues that are normal in the manufacturing process. Very nice cast iron cooking surface. Found the temperature gauge, arguably one of the more important components of a good smoker, to be dead-on when tested. Fired up a test rack of ribs. Had to play around to get to and maintain 225 required for smoking. Unit tends tends to burn hotter than expected. Would recommend lighting only the top of the charcoal and let the bottom of pile feed the fire to get lower, slower heat. Even in 40 degree temp, no problem holding temp for 4 hours-pretty impressive! My only issue so far has been the lack of optional products such as a cover and a ceramic heat deflector for true indirect smoking like other dome smokers. I'm starting to look around to see if Weber or other manufacturers have a cover that will fit. Looking forward to searing some steaks as well firing up for longer smokes-pork butts and briskets. It's gonna be a great summer!

Rick
Fairfield County, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality in question so far
4/8/2012

Customer review by Dub

2.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Dub
by Dub
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product came missing the axle for the wheels. Called the manufacturer and they would not overnight the part. Very frustrating. Some of the screws do not tighten on the legs and the bowl of the hood does not fit flush with the lock to keep it sealed. You have to twist it a bit to get it to lock down. Now, I am super impressed with the heat retention and temps. One chimney starter of charcoal lasted several hours at high temps. No problems getting this to 700 degrees. I really want to like this and I think I will. Just concerned about longevity.

Dub
Atlanta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Expected More.....
6/20/2012

Customer review by Judith L

3.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Judith L
by Judith L
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This basic grill is very nice. However, there were a few problems-the included hardware was incorrect (specifically half of the lock washers that put the base together were the wrong size.)Also, there was a big chip out of one of the wooden side shelves. These are manufacturer defects and should not count against Hayneedle. The free shipping on 98 lbs. was AMAZING and the lead time was great. Kudos to Hayneedle but shame on Char-Griller. Also, accessories (like the smoking stone) are NOT easily available online so forget trying.

Judith L
MARTINEZ,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooks great, quality control is lacking
5/20/2012

Customer review by Sm1nts2escape

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Sm1nts2escape
by Sm1nts2escape

Just got mine yesterday and had my first cook on it last night. It went together very easy but the metal for the legs could be a guage thicker. The front latch for the lid doesnt pull the lid down snug and seat the gasket so I had to ream the holes out on the latch so I could adjust it so it does... Also got the matching cover for it but it doesnt have a spot for the top vent handle so it just sits over top of that... and would prefer a cover that doesn't require you to fold the tables up.. It cooked super nice I put a half bag of cowboy lump in there and it cooked for over 6 hours till I went to bed and shut it down. Held a steady temp the whole entire time. Cooked around 250 and brought it all the way up to 700 back n forth cooking various things through out the night with friends. The grill sealed tight and the vents work very well controlling temps. I like how the outside of the grill is only warm even when the grill is at 700+. I really wanted a primo xl but didnt like the price and the weight of the grill. I can easily wheel this thing where I want to on the deck and two people can easily carry it if need be. I also like the second story sliding grill rack. You can just twist it to the side when working on the main grill and when you shut the lid it moves itself back to center cause of the design. Pretty cool trick :) Bottom line is you may have to fiddle with it cause of lacking quality control but this is dang near the best charcoal grill out right now and for a decent price.

Sm1nts2escape
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does Not Disappoint
4/6/2012

Customer review by Captain Bob

4.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Captain Bob
by Captain Bob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grill itself is solid and it comes up to temperature quickly. The thermometer is a minus 15 - 20 degrees off but calibration is easy. Assembly is pretty straight forward but my left ash receptacle handle snapped off while latching it. Metal handles would be much more sturdy especially since it would be advisable to empty the ash receptacle until it was cool to the touch. I am pleased with my purchase and I am looking forward to experimenting with this style of cooking.

Captain Bob
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste, look elsewhere
5/5/2015

Customer review by NickName9

1.0 stars 5/5/2015 by NickName9
by NickName9

The key feature, smoker, cannot be used out of box. You must buy a smoking stones which is an additional $50. If you happen to find a place, anyplace that sells that smoking stone you may be able to smoke. Otherwise you just bought a $300 grill that add no benefit over any other grill. If you ant to smoke get a weber or something else. If you want a grill, same advice. Overpriced waste. i took mine back an hour after arrivial and opening the box.

NickName9
Romeoville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Just Great!
6/14/2013

Customer review by ryan19191919

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by ryan19191919
by ryan19191919

Once I received my Kamado, I was able to set it up in less than an hour and was cooking in two. Great BBQ, heats up super quick with a decent grilling area. It goes through quite a bit of charcoal, but it's worth it after you take a bite of that steak you just had on. Never going back to gas! Wish Walmart didn't mess up the delivery on me, or at least call me to tell me when it was showing up, but it was worth the wait. Highly recommended!

ryan19191919
Pickering, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Kamado Club!!
3/19/2015

Customer review by Jeremy

4.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Jeremy
by Jeremy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just recently purchased my Akorn in early March, overall, very pleased with this product. Easy to assemble, light in weight, and the rolling wheels and side table were a no brainer vs BGE. I sold my large wood fired smoker and went ceramic in order to save money and time. This thing is pretty efficient, only needs checking 1x per hour or less. All, if your looking for a more inexpensive alternative get the Akorn.

Jeremy
Lenexa,KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor construction
5/19/2012

Customer review by welderguy

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by welderguy
by welderguy

Grill was poorly welded. I actually had 3 parts that were broken that I sandblasted and rewelded. The inside fire ring did little to nothing and the handles for the ash collector burned off on the 1st use as did the paint. To top it off, no wheels came with the grill. I would recommend that you buy a cheap Weber knock off and pitch it at the end of the summer because I have a feeling that's what will happen with this [$] monstrosity.

welderguy
dysart, iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
this is a great product
5/16/2013

Customer review by David394

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by David394
by David394

There are a lot of more expensive ones on the market they weight at least double. The fact is they do about the same thing . I ordered mine on line and walmart.ca had it delivered in about 4 days. Its a grill , a smoker and a baker all in one with a few accessories. Unfortunatly walmart doesn't sell the special cover that is made for it and I had to get that online. Very happy with my purchase. David

David394
Ontario, Canada
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Oh Yeah... Now we're cooking.
2/17/2012

Customer review by Dickn52

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Dickn52
by Dickn52

I grill once every two to three days. Rain or shine I grill. Just now getting into this new style, and I like it. For a long time I lived on the dark side and used "gas". Never again. Vegetables are something new to me on a grill, and I'm learning to eat my veggies all over again. Flavor is fantasic, and the textures are so great I can feel the crunch and still know they are done. This is fun again.

Dickn52
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so easy my 11 year old daughter...
3/18/2012

Customer review by Smokin'

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Smokin'
by Smokin'
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter assembled it easily (and with pride). Watch out for the left versus right leg thing lest you think the axle will not fit. Easy to move due to big solid wheels. Followed instructions and made very tasty smoked burgers and a whole chicken on the first day. Used lump charcoal and apple smoking chips. Well insulated so I don't worry about melted hand rails on my deck.

Smokin'
almost haven, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews