Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
Easy to use with great coverage
9/29/2012

Customer review by Katie20rvw

5.0 stars by Katie20rvw

I have never had much luck with dying my hair. It would usually come out spotty, mainly in the back where I couldn't see what I was doing too well. I thought I'd give the foaming hair color a try, and I'm glad I did! John Frieda's foam color had the best reviews, so naturally I chose to use it. I decided to go with the 8G (Medium Golden Blonde). I was already blonde, but a dark dirty blonde. I wanted to add more shine and life to my hair. Before I get to how my color turned out, I'd like to talk about the process first. The foam went on so smooth and easily. It took me a little while before I could get my hair fully saturated, but that's just because I have really thick hair. It really does help if you pile all of your hair on top of your head. Once my hair was fully covered in foam, I had no doubt that I would end up with even coverage. With saturation like that, there'd be something wrong if your color came out spotty! When I finally washed the color out, it was definitely what I expected, which was a surprise. Normally whenever I dye my hair, the color never ends up looking like the box- but this time it did! My hair feels soft and looks shiny and has more "life" to it than it did before. I will DEFINITELY be using JF hair foaming color from now on. It's so easy even I can do it, which is saying ALOT. I can finally feel confident dying my hair again, KNOWING I'll get even coverage! Sorry for such a long review, but I couldn't just sum my great experience up with a few sentences.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Katie20rvw
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great product!
6/25/2012

Customer review by luvtazz

5.0 stars by luvtazz

I have been using this product for about 6 months and I absolutely love it.. far better than paying 130 bucks to have my hair done in a salon and the results are very close to what I usually get without the price... I use 8N and it is right on the money as far as color. Your not suppose to go higher than 2 shades up or down so keep it too what you normally have and it will look great.... :)

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
luvtazz
Newman,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good especially for grays
8/13/2012

Customer review by MamaOfTwoTweens

4.0 stars by MamaOfTwoTweens

I've been coloring my hair for 20 years, and I really like this one. It does not smell as bad as many you buy, and it is easy to put on. It comees with plenty for even my very thick hair.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MamaOfTwoTweens
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Going to sound like a John Frieda spokeswoman...
12/30/2013

Customer review by Swiggles

5.0 stars by Swiggles

As a child I have always had long, straight, thick, beautiful hair. When I hit puberty that changed big time. Since then it has been dull, dry, (still thick), curly/wavy, frizzy and completely unmanageable. I have had hair stylists that were completely stumped on what to do to get my hair nice. Sure, I could straighten it and have it look ok for a few hours, but it was obviously not really that 'nice'. I have always been a fan of John Frieda products. They have seemed to tame my hair the best, or as best as it can be tamed. Then one day I got a coupon in the mail to try their new boxed dye. I figured, "why not? Their products have been working well so far". It was the best decision I have EVER made for my hair. I used 2 boxes because my hair, as I stated before, is long, and very thick. When I dried my hair after coloring it that day, it was like my hair came to life. I can not straighten my hair in 20 minutes instead of an hour and no matter how I style it, it looks and FEELS amazing. I am not even close to kidding when I tell you that I received a ton of compliments after coloring my hair. I will attach a couple of before and after pictures. I used the box with the color code 4BG. It has been about 6-7 weeks since I colored my hair and the color and livlieness is still absolutely wonderful. My roots are coming in but otherwise I wouldn't need a touch up.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Swiggles
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
15 years dying my hair BEST HAIR DYE EVER!!!!
5/11/2014

Customer review by redroseapps12

5.0 stars by redroseapps12

Like I said I have been home coloring my hair for 15 years. And I have been every color under the sun. I have used every brand of hair color there is but something told me this time to just give this one a shot. I bought preference but then went back and bought John Freida... Ok, you know after you wash out the dye your hair feels straw like cant run your fingers through it and have to use an obscene amount of conditioner just to get it back to some sort of silkiness? Well with John Freida that is NOT THE CASE! Lets start with the process its a foam so its not as messy as the other bottle jobs. No splats on your shoulder or on the sink or the toilet and if you get it on your forehead and on your ears and back of your neck taking a wet wash cloth gets it right off straight away not like the other ones that actually stain your skin leaving you walking around with marks on you for a few days. 20 mins total unless you have grey or go blonde so much nicer than the 45 or more mins it takes on other ones. Washing out was easy easy easy didnt take forever didnt keep me in the bottom of the tub forever trying to get it off my skin didnt stain the white tub either. Conditioner they give is a good decent amount! Not a little tiny packet you have to attempt to open with wet hands because who the heck brings scissors to the bathroom? I did not shampoo after rinsing out the dye just went straight to the conditioner. This is the 2nd day and did shampoo as soon as I shampooed I could run my fingers smoothly through my hair used the john freida conditioner and my hair is silky smooth and pin straight no dead ends showing no fly ups on the ends its a masterpiece and I did not use any product afterwards. I would highly recommend reading this whole entire review because its all 100 percent truth and I will never use another dye as long as I live. Im going to look for his shampoo now cant wait to see what wonders the shampoo will do!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
redroseapps12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Better than the salon
12/11/2012

Customer review by Mammy9xstt

5.0 stars by Mammy9xstt

This is the best there is. Most natural looking. Also, it covers the greys. The color stays fresh until my next color about 6-8 weeks after the growth :) YES! It WORKS! Great product Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mammy9xstt
Calhoun, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best At Home Hair Dye
2/5/2014

Customer review by Breezy561

5.0 stars by Breezy561

Love this stuff! I used to color my hair at home years ago, but then for the past 4 years or so I only went to the salon and was hesitant to use anything else since. Decided to try this product out, and it exceeded my expectations! I have had many colors put in my hair over the years and wanted to change it up and go natural. Also, my hair is very damaged from my straightener and all the dye jobs, but this stuff felt like it did some damage control! Felt so soft and vibrant after. Great great coverage, unlike other brands I've used in the past where you run out before you have covered all your hair, I still had some left when I was finished! Great product, Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Breezy561
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
one box out of 6 damaged. Product great!
6/23/2012

Customer review by dixiejazz

4.0 stars by dixiejazz

The color and condition of my hair after using this product is great, but when shipped by walmart, one of the boxes was smashed and the developer had leaked out. The shipping box was undamaged.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dixiejazz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Sooo soft! Very pleased customer!
11/8/2012

Customer review by bn2shy

5.0 stars by bn2shy

I love this product! So easy to use. I have been buying this product for about a year now. It works better and blends better than what my hairstylist used on me. My husband even says the color is better than the salon's color! Covers grays very well. And soooo soft too! Very pleased customer!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bn2shy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Easy to Use - Fantastic Color!
11/1/2013

Customer review by CycloneHoops

5.0 stars by CycloneHoops

As a first time home colorist, I was apprehensive about trying this. But in the interest of saving time and money, I rolled the dice and tried the John Frieda Precision Foam Colour in 7NBG. I could not be happier! Now I get compliments on my hair color from professional stylists! This product is a great value, do not hesitate to try it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CycloneHoops
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/28/2012

Customer review by sonorashopper

5.0 stars by sonorashopper

I use this product often. It is the best product I have found since my previous product is always out of stock. Great product, easy to use and great color.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sonorashopper
Sonora, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2012

Customer review by RamonaM

5.0 stars by RamonaM

Glad that WALMART stocks this product- cant get it anywhere in Richmond, Va other than thru the Walmart online order process-Thanks Walmart for being there for me

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RamonaM
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gorgeous easy use color
7/28/2014

Customer review by LakePlacidmom

5.0 stars by LakePlacidmom

I was always terrified to color my own hair, but finally had too much gray. My first trial was the dark caramel blonde. The color was GORGEOUS, but a bit darker than I wanted - I will probably go back to it in the fall and winter. For Spring/Summer I have switched to a medium warm blonde and it makes my hair look just like a younger version of itself. Same pretty color, minus the grays. And it's nice and shiny. Definitely super easy to do. I will be a repeat customer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LakePlacidmom
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Amazing!
12/29/2012

Customer review by brooklynewyork

5.0 stars by brooklynewyork

I love this product. It lasts very long,I dye my hair every three months.I use the luminous blue black and I love it! I've used tons of different hair dyes and this is by far the best!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
brooklynewyork
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Beautiful color but fade away quickly
12/14/2012

Customer review by JoannaG

3.0 stars by JoannaG

I don't know if it's just my hair too dark and I colored it without bleaching it first. I got a lot of compliments from people but the hair color doesn't stay longer than a month.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoannaG
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but...
3/5/2014

Customer review by HereForABargain

3.0 stars by HereForABargain

The foam was easy to use and it smelled nice. Not harsh smelling at all. The color turned out just like the box color showed which was nice; but a quarter size of color spilled onto my eye glass lens and permanently stained it. I used the red color and it shows on my lens. I've used other brands over the years and have had an occasional spill on my lens but it never once stained it. Now I have to buy a new pair of eyeglasses. I put the color on for 35 minutes hoping it would cover my stubborn grays and though it did a very nice job not all of my grays were colored. I probably should have left it on for another 10 minutes. So beware that if you have to wear eye glasses be sure to take note that it can easily stain the lens. For stubborn gray hair leave it on a bit longer than the initial suggestion of 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HereForABargain
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Don't waste your money trying to cover gray hair!
1/13/2013

Customer review by TonysGirlAlways

2.0 stars by TonysGirlAlways

The product is relatively easy to use, although the foam was not quite like the picture (yes, I tilted 5 times and did not shake!). The color was MUCH darker than it shows on the box and I went to their site and used the color selector based on my hair, etc. The biggest disappointment is that I now have MUCH darker hair with gray as it did absolutely nothing to cover the gray around my forehead and temples (yes, I allowed extra time and I massaged the areas).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TonysGirlAlways
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Pleasantly surprised
6/18/2013

Customer review by Sydlit

5.0 stars by Sydlit

I've been coloring my own hair for around 30 years and occasionally went to a hair salon. This is more expensive than most other dyes but way cheaper than a professional. I was nervous about using the foam but it turned out to be easier and less sloppy than the liquid hair dye. And the results shocked me. My color was dark caramel blonde and my hair looked exactly like the color on the box. Cool. That never happened before. And I had lots of gray hair since it had been many months since I had dyed it. Very pleased and recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sydlit
Charlotte County Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
John Frieda Precision Foam Colour
11/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I am glad to have the opportunity to purchase this hair colour on line. It is of high quality and better than the salons hair colour. I color my hair at home and save a lot of money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
West New York, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy it.
9/24/2014

Customer review by nkotbsavestheday

5.0 stars by nkotbsavestheday

I've been through more than my fair share of boxed hair dye over the last 15 years... I finally found one I really like. I purchased the "deep cherry brown." It is easy to use and works very well as long as you FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!! It wasn't messy, didn't feel like I was burning my hair off, didn't stink up my whole apartment, and it was a piece of cake to apply half asleep at 5:45am.. best of all, it worked! So spend the few extra bucks and buy this. It comes with a decent amount of conditioner, too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nkotbsavestheday
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1-20 of 44 total reviews