Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 48 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Is this the best seat for you?
2/17/2012

Customer review by IAMCARSEATMOM

1.0 stars 2/17/2012 by IAMCARSEATMOM
by IAMCARSEATMOM

As a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and Instructor I've installed the Discovery 5 many many times in the 11 years I've been certified. While this seat does tend to fit newborn babies quite well and the price is great. It does have many downfalls. First, you must loosen and tighten the harness webbing from the back of the seat. Why is this such a big deal? Because with newborn babies, they are quite small (even the bigger newborns) and when the harness is properly fitted there is not a lot of webbing to work with. So when putting baby in and taking baby out of the seat it is quite difficult if you do not loosen the webbing some. This is not an easy task with this seat. I recommend that parents to play with the adjuster before purchasing. Put a doll in the seat and see if you can easily tighten it, and then loosen it. The second major downfall to this seat is that it does not fit well in most vehicles. Evenflo REQUIRES that the handle be in a down and locked position in the vehicle, and that there be 1.5-2 inches of clearance from the handle in all directions. In most vehicles this would put the front seats pushed dangerously forward for whoever rides in that seat. I highly suggest to anyone considering purchasing this seat that they try it in their vehicle prior to purchasing. Another downfall is that it is hard to put in and remove from the base. There is a lip on the front of the base that "holds" the seat into the base. This makes it more difficult to get the seat in and out of the base. I suggest playing with it before purchasing. So in summary... Pros: Seat fits newborn babies well and the price is great. Cons: Handle must be down and locked and requires 1.5-2in of clearance around it. Has a rear harness adjuster making it harder to loosen and tighten. And its difficult to get in and out of the base. Parents, choose a seat with will fit your car, your baby, and one you will use correctly each and every single time. Do your research and try seats out, play with the adjusters etc... prior to purchasing. Before your baby is born, find a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician in your area and visit them to ensure your seat is installed correctly and you know how to use it correctly.

Was this review helpful? (133) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Merchandise Buyer - 3/7/2012

Thank you for your comments regarding our Discovery Infant Carrier. A best practice is to adjust the harness position with each use to ensure a good fit. This car seat does fit in MOST vehicles and it is required that the handle be in a down and locked position, but the gap between the front seat need only be 1.5 inches. If this is a problem for smaller vehicles, a good fit can also be found in a center rear seating position. The “Stay-in-Car” base does have a lip on the front, which makes the installation different from other seats but allows the base to lock to the seat without the need for additional parts.

IAMCARSEATMOM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic car seat for the price!
4/15/2012

Customer review by ArmyOfficersWife

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by ArmyOfficersWife
by ArmyOfficersWife

I purchased this car seat for my daughter to use while we were on vacation so we wouldn't have to take her car seat on the airplane. I decided to get a "cheap" car seat since we would only be using it for a week or so. The only thing "cheap" about this car seat is the price! I was pleasantly surprised at the quality. We own another very expensive, "top-rated" car seat, and this car seat worked just as well as the one we have at home. I love that it's lightweight (ours is SO heavy), the fabric is stain-resistant, the handle is designed to be easy to carry, and the design is so cute. The only thing I would change about it would be to make the strap adjustment feature easier. It was not easy to do. However, that was a minor flaw in comparison to all the other great things about it. I have definitely learned my lesson...more expensive does NOT always equal better. This seat is absolutely fantastic, and I will keep it in mind if/when we have future children.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArmyOfficersWife
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Does not work with the Snap and Go Stroller
5/3/2012

Customer review by MontclairMomToBe

3.0 stars 5/3/2012 by MontclairMomToBe
by MontclairMomToBe

The price is a deal and the safety ratings are up to par, however it does not work with the Snap and Go stroller or any other frame stroller that we could find. The Snap and Go site states that the stroller works with Evenflo carseats, however we found out after we purchased it that it does not work with this particular Evenflo car seat. We have registered for an alternate stroller, but had originally been looking for that convenience. I called the Evenflo customer service hotline, but they do not have a list of any frame strollers that would work with this car seat.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MontclairMomToBe
VERY CHEAP CARSEAT you get what you pay for......
5/4/2012

Customer review by ourkidsparents

2.0 stars 5/4/2012 by ourkidsparents
by ourkidsparents

We bought this for our daughter the day she was born. She was early and we had to have a seat. The Walmart store only had three seats to choose from. This one this seat in boy and a Graco. We should have bought the Graco. I have only had this seat for four months and the sunshade has already broken on it. The seat is very inconvient to wash, and it doesn't have much padding. The prongs that hold the seat straps in at the crotch are made of very flimsy plastic. I am very disappointed with this seat. If you are considering buying this seat do your self a favor and don't do it. Don't waste your money. I had a Graco seat with my other 2 kids and NEVER had one ounce of trouble out of it. Please spend the few extra dollars and buy the GRACO. THis is a very cheap carseat. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ourkidsparents
RoseBud AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very cheaply made!!
9/25/2012

Customer review by jellybelly2118

1.0 stars 9/25/2012 by jellybelly2118
by jellybelly2118

I ordered this product for my newborn child, I hate it!! The seat sits way to straight up which makes her head fall forward. The car seat gets stuck in the base that buckles into the car it took me over 15 min to get it loose. I got my money back and will never buy this brand of car seat again!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jellybelly2118
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Beautiful seat!
2/19/2012

Customer review by lovemypitty

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by lovemypitty
by lovemypitty

I just got this carseat and I love it! It's beautiful, very easy to figure out. I also got the matching infant carrier.

Was this review helpful? (14) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemypitty
80015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great car seat for an infant
8/25/2012

Customer review by zulmamolina

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by zulmamolina
by zulmamolina

I am very happy with the Evenflow-Discovery 5 infant car seat Marianna, is very light and you can carry it around almost every where. not too expensive. I love it, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zulmamolina
chantilly VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good car seat for travel
7/8/2012

Customer review by reneeaggie98

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by reneeaggie98
by reneeaggie98

I bought this car seat to use on a trip so we didn't have to take our great big Britax with us. Buying and shipping this one to our destination was a lot cheaper than renting a car seat from the rental car co. and I didn't have to worry about our expensive car seat getting lost or damage going through baggage. My daughter is 10 months old and she fit nicely in the car seat and seemed comfortable. The car seat was easy to adjust and install when we arrived at the rental car co. Overall it worked well however there were a few cons. I am sure it is not as safe as our regular car seat and the clearance required from this car seat to the front seat required us to have a big rental car (which we needed anyway). I would do this again!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reneeaggie98
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous
5/10/2013

Customer review by Beauty4

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Beauty4
by Beauty4

Gorgeous and affordable. I was surprised this item didn't cost much. It is extremely cute and exceeds my expectations......go for it....order one today.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beauty4
Greenville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price.
7/8/2012

Customer review by Ginkat

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Ginkat
by Ginkat

I would purchase this again. Easy to install. Easy to carry. Typical adjustment, best done remove from vehicle. The car seat does not fit well in the back seat of a small car, but works great in the mini-van. We did need to purchase a separate neck support for the new born, but the additional cost was still less expensive than most other car seats in the store. I like the fabric, it should be easy to keep clean. The price and shipping cost couldn't be beat. Arrived in less than a week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginkat
Estelline, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No compatible stroller available
11/9/2012

Customer review by ShopPA247

2.0 stars 11/9/2012 by ShopPA247
by ShopPA247

The Marianna car seat is okay. Pretty pattern and easy to install, not much cushion, had to purchase that separately. Eveflo customer service has advised that they DO NOT OFFER A STROLLER IN THIS STYLE. Apparently the only stroller that accepts the Discovery 5 is the Journey stroller (no numbers following the name) which is only offered in a brown multi print and only sold at Kmart. I wish I knew this before purchasing. Hopefully, I can exchange this headache.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopPA247
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
As a grandmother,I would not buy it
11/25/2012

Customer review by ponytail4

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ponytail4
by ponytail4

Does not support my granddaughters head,I was told to put something under back of the base to make it lean back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ponytail4
Waco,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1/8/2013

Customer review by Tremyne

3.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Tremyne
by Tremyne

I bought this for $54.88 and it was cute however I did not read the reviews. It does not connect to a stroller so it would not be feasbile to use. Also after I purchased Walmart lowered the price to $41.00. I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tremyne
Riverdale, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poorly Built
1/14/2014

Customer review by mormonmommy123

2.0 stars 1/14/2014 by mormonmommy123
by mormonmommy123

We bought this right after our daughter was born. Before this one we had a Graco and expected more from this carseat. A month after we bought it the umbrella part on it broke. It's a pain in the neck to adjust. The quality of it feels very poor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mormonmommy123
Rigby,ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a Christmas gift.
11/12/2013

Customer review by Izzysmom2

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Izzysmom2
by Izzysmom2

I cannot truly review this product at this time as it is a Christmas gift. However, I can say delivery time was exceptional!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Izzysmom2
Trafalgar, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!
12/18/2013

Customer review by Duke1922

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Duke1922
by Duke1922

Arrived on time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duke1922
Jackson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price car seat
10/25/2013

Customer review by isabellasmommy1113

4.0 stars 10/25/2013 by isabellasmommy1113
by isabellasmommy1113

The only thing I did not like is that the car seat seemed a little hard/uncomfortable inside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
isabellasmommy1113
Centreville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Car Seat for baby girls.
6/28/2012

Customer review by santhir

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by santhir
by santhir

The design was as amazing as the price. how could you get a better seat for $49? the shipping was super fast. I just paid 97 cents shipping and ordered the seat on wednesday night. the car seat was delivered on Friday.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
santhir
paramus, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Evenflo Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat
8/4/2012

Customer review by DIVINEDAUGHTERNANCYC

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by DIVINEDAUGHTERNANCYC
by DIVINEDAUGHTERNANCYC

IM GLAD I WAS A WILLING VESSEL THAT WAS ABLE TO BLESS MY SISTER CARISSA WITH THIS CAR SEAT FOR HER UP COMING DAUGHTER

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIVINEDAUGHTERNANCYC
MIAMI FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
6/10/2012

Customer review by SophiaW

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by SophiaW
by SophiaW

I never thought I could find a prettier car seat for my niece!

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SophiaW
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews