Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 39 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Tremendously Efficient Camcorder
10/27/2012

Customer review by IBEagle

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by IBEagle
by IBEagle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camcorder is great. First, it offers many features in which an individual can understand and use it effectively. The camcorder has great optical zoom and great light absorption. Also, the touchscreen 3" LCD screen is sweet! The screen is easy to maneuver through and offers great ease with the finger. Finally, the battery life is alright. I haven't used it and had my battery die, so I think it's battery life will not propose a problem for anyone who wishes to use it for a long period of time (buying a spare battery is always an option). In conclusion, this Toshiba camcorder is great for the range of film makers that are beginners to experts, it offers great features and styles that many other camcorders do not. Good Luck in your decision!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IBEagle
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A lot of camera for the price.
10/20/2012

Customer review by Delthecraz

5.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Delthecraz
by Delthecraz

I have been looking for an HD camera with the features this camera has. The time lapse and telephoto zoom to start with is a real plus. The quality of workmanship and packaging was another. The bundling of the camera, SD Card, and the camera case was also a great deal. The still photos are sharp with vivid color, the video is also sharp and vivid. To get quality results from this camera, become familiar with it and refer to the instructions often. I also like the touch screen menu features. I judge a video by the texture of the grass and the leaves on trees. If you can see grass blades and leaves on the trees instead of blobs of color, you can say that's High Definition. This camera does that, a lot of camera for the price.

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delthecraz
TOOL,TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Okay camcorder for price
10/30/2012

Customer review by vralex

3.0 stars 10/30/2012 by vralex
by vralex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camcorder has problems stabilizing. Besides that it seems fine for the price. Just keep in mind that in the middle of your videos your camcorder will start to refocus itself.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vralex
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good little cam for the money,
11/10/2012

Customer review by fender444

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by fender444
by fender444
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Battery life is less than expected with the optional light on. BUT easy to handle and carry.Simple to explore options thru the touch screen.It was a special ,came with an SD card and carrying case. I have a Mac and was happy to see the card plays well on it . Good deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fender444
denton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Camcorder
10/26/2012

Customer review by Xmystic

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Xmystic
by Xmystic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks good, works well, and has a good price. Photos are a little low quality, but it's a camcorder, right? Also struggles a bit in low light...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xmystic
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/30/2012

Customer review by fishbob43229

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by fishbob43229
by fishbob43229
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good product for the money, couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishbob43229
cols.,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WONDERFUL
10/26/2012

Customer review by Oreodog

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Oreodog
by Oreodog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

VERY SIMPLE AND COMPACT AND EASY.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oreodog
PORT ST. LUCIE, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good family camcorder. Just used it on Thanksgivi
11/26/2012

Customer review by frombrownsville

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by frombrownsville
by frombrownsville
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It takes good video and is easy to handle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frombrownsville
brownsville, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/28/2012

Customer review by kpuck

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by kpuck
by kpuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use . Quality videos.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kpuck
vernal,ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I'd hoped it would be
12/28/2012

Customer review by kip

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by kip
by kip

Got the camera for our anniversay and was excited to use it for the holidays. I videoed my grandson's Christmas and other events and all seemed to go well. Until I tried to download it on my laptop so that I could transfer it to DVD later. Then that's when all my trouble started. I had loaded the software - then connected the usb port cable - yet, it kept telling me no device connected even though it was clearly connected. After hours of frustration and being non-user friendly my wife read the instruction book and hit the format your sd card and lost all the video we had recorded. Add to that the fact that I visited toshiba.com almost 4 times looking for troubleshooting methods to fix my download problem and you have a good picture of why I will never buy toshiba. It shouldn't be that complicated.

kip
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I had hoped
10/30/2012

Customer review by internetshoplady

1.0 stars 10/30/2012 by internetshoplady
by internetshoplady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not happy with this camera. Not hard to use, but the result is grainy and not good quality. I am planning on returning it pronto.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
internetshoplady
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing... DON'T BUY!!!
1/27/2013

Customer review by sekjr

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by sekjr
by sekjr

This camera is packed so thoughtfully, you think you are getting something terribly expensive!- the box is so gorgeous! And your anticipation is hard to control!!! But -- when you start trying it out, your anticipation wanes to disappointment... You must get an expansion memory card. You only get like 30sec on the internal memory... The Start/Stop button is hard to push, making it difficult AND - doesn't protrude out enough for you to have a good 'feel'... Why it has to be so BIG compared to the OTHER buttons is a mystery... The Zoom button is either full zoom or nothing. There is no such thing as 'slow' zoom. You can't put a bigger battery into the camera - and it is a mongrel non-standard... It's available on eBay for a shocking $19.99 ! What a rip! The recorded sound level is WAY too low!!! THAT is enough reason to return it! The operating icons on the screen aren't big enough. The icons in the Menus aren't big enough! Plan on using a stylus - if you can FIND one! (I hope you have tiny fingertips...) Ditto when recording. You have to squint to see if you are recording or not... You can't attach a lens hood, so make sure the sun is BEHIND you - not on the side of you! The supplied Toshiba camera bag is too small, and just too tight for the camera, and you can't carry anything else, like the charger... It's worthless... The Walmart bonus bag is roomy enough for the camera, but the side pockets are too small for the charger... If you want to plug in an ext mic, you have to open the LCD, which turns on the camera. The ext mic does not help the audio problem!!! The video output connector doesn't make a good connection! I went thro TWO of these. I returned the 1st one because of low audio, and the 2nd one because of low audio AND NO HI DEF PICTURE!!!! Will I buy a 3rd? nawwwwww... Don't forget - You only get 15days to return it if you don't like it!!! I'm really glad I bought it from Walmart instead of eBay! I'd be stuck with it if I bought it on eBay...

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sekjr
Pomfret, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by Roscoe1946

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Roscoe1946
by Roscoe1946
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The camera has a 23X Optical Zoom but it will not zoom. I am taking it back to the WalMart closest to my home for either repair or getting a new camera. Not pleased at all!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roscoe1946
Sugarland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this camcorder!
12/16/2012

Customer review by Tobyluv

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Tobyluv
by Tobyluv

I ordered this camcorder after searching for one for several months online. I thought the packaging was very nice and it looked very expensive. (although it wasn't) I had bought another camcorder and it went back because it basically had no directions and was very grainy and hard to navigate. However, this one is AWESOME I LOVE IT! Super easy to work and trust me I'm no pro, but I was camcording my grandchildren in no time at all! The only thing I've had problems with is when we view what we've taped we have icons on it that I can't figure out how to get them off, we watch it on the tv or on the camcorder itself it has icons on top and bottom, but I'm sure I'll figure it out after I play with it for awhile. I would recommend this camcorder to anyone, it's a keeper! Very very affordable also!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobyluv
Springfield, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
bang for your buck!
1/7/2013

Customer review by missthangchickenwang

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by missthangchickenwang
by missthangchickenwang
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my fiance is obsessed w this camera. works well- probably should invest in a tripod (focus a little shaky with movement). other than that- grrrreat value for the low price. add about $35 to the overall price though, no memory card.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missthangchickenwang
Bridgewater, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some good features
12/14/2012

Customer review by jsl

2.0 stars 12/14/2012 by jsl
by jsl

I see many complaints about the video being blurry from the auto-focus not working properly. I have had that problem, but can usually make it work OK. The trick seems to be to turn the camera on, open the viewfinder and have the subject framed for at least 5 seconds before recording. If I try to record immediately it is blurry. The auto-focus is not too fast. It also seems to have a problem deciding what the focus point should be sometimes. After some movement it usually will figure out what the subject is and focus OK. To avoid likely disappointment, I would advise looking at other products before buying this one.

jsl
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/10/2012

Customer review by cmacg

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by cmacg
by cmacg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice camcorder however it was too small for my hands. I could not seem to grip it properly with one hand so I ended up holding it mostly between my fingers without it seated in the palm of my hand. Then I would need to steady it with my other hand. Distance focus was very good. Close up, and video within 10 ft was grainy. My backyard is habbitat for mourning doves and other birds, with feeders etc, and sometimes they get close to the window and I wanted to take closeups of normal and unusual bird activity. Also after the full 4hour plus charging, the battery was more than 50% spent after 7 mins of video according to red and green bars on the battery indicator. I returned the camcorder to wallmart store. I read the reviews about grainy photos and short battery life bfore I bought. I still think this is a good deal but the battery life was really the reason I was concerned and returned it within the Wallmart 15 day return window. Also I was comparing the photo quality with my Sony digital camera which is excellent. If wallmart return period was 30 days or more then maybe I would have adjusted to the camcorder but I did not want to risk being stuck with something I was not satisfied with. As always Wallmart was excellent with customer service nd I am thankfull for that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmacg
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Features but Video is Blurry!
4/19/2012

Customer review by abpanman

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by abpanman
by abpanman

Last December I purchased the Toshiba Camileo X400. I purchased it primarily to record my son's gymastics meets. I was impressed with the features of the camera and wanted to upgrade to HD from my old mini DV camcorder. In trying out the camera I shot some handheld outdoor video in my backyard. The resulting video was exceptionally clear, colors was vibrant and I thought I had made a good choice. Then I recorded indoors at the next gymnastics meet. The camera would go in and out of focus and the resulting video was quite blurry. It was strange that even when there was little movement you can see the picture going in and out of focus. I called Toshiba support hoping it was a camera setting or user error that could be corrected. They told me it might be defective and to return it so I did. Since I really liked the camera, with the credit for the return I purchased the next model, X416. It is the exact same camera except it has 16GB of internal storage. Unfortunately this camera exhibits the same video blurriness that the X400 did. I tried several adjustments to the settings including resolution, stabilization, lighting, etc. but still the resulting video is blurry. I should add that I am using a monopod so the camera holding is very stable. I think I will be returning this camera also unless this issue can be resolved. Based on my experience I cannot recommend this camera. Although it has a great feature set, the primary function of recording HD video is not acceptable.

abpanman
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst ever
7/20/2012

Customer review by tj

1.0 stars 7/20/2012 by tj
by tj

by far this is the worst comcorder ever built. if you want to waste your money, go ahead give it a try and buy one, make sure to keep your receipt, because you will need it. recording is horrible, high definition (HD) is awful, taking still pictures is even worst. these people better stop manufacturing bad products and focuse at what they are capable of manufacturing.

tj
MIAMI, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
blurry
11/30/2012

Customer review by nearsighted

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by nearsighted
by nearsighted

I'm busy looking for the extra cords to put in the box to send back on warranty. Bought it for an important family event. All the video was blurry. It will not focus on anything but close up and even then it can loose focus. This must be a manufacturing error because no company would ever put this on the market. Should be good but so far, isn't.

nearsighted
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews