Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

190 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
52
4 stars
60
3 stars
28
2 stars
15
1 stars
35
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 177 total reviews
It is a great idea but engineered wrong
4/8/2012

Customer review by PHold

3.0 stars by PHold

What a great idea. A covered gazebo for your grill. My wife and I loved the idea when we saw it on display at our Walmart. I ordered it immediately online and we set it up. There is where we found the flaws. For one thing, the instructions are not clear so you sort of have to figure it out on your own on how to connect the frame. The frame can be anchored down to but no recommendations for what is needed for that are given. I had to go to Lowes and figure it out. The biggest complaint I have is the canopy. It is not designed to allow rain water to run off, instead it gathers 4 separate pools of water every time it rains, which stretches the canopy out, stains/discolors it and makes our 1 month old gazebo look like it is several years old. I have tried reinforcing it with thin sheets of paneling but did not work. We just are putting up with the way it is. The canopy needs to be made out of a stretchy, form fitted material or something else that can handle the rain better.

Was this review helpful? (244) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PHold
Hickory Nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money on this!
3/15/2013

Customer review by FaithfulShoppers

1.0 stars by FaithfulShoppers

My wife and I bought this gazebo for our grill last summer when they first came out. It seemed like a great idea since I like to grill and sometimes I end up having to grill in the rain. The grill gazebo seemed like a great idea at first, but it turned to repeated frustration with this product. I could not get the Velcro straps on the canvas cover tight enough to keep it from holding water when it rained. I would constantly have to drain it after it rained or try to re-tighten the straps, but the canvas had already started stretching. After a year of ownership it has not held up well at all. The canvas cover has faded and is now ripping from constant water gathering on the cover and exposure to the sun. Additionally, the canvas cover becomes a huge sail when it is windy out. I have had to put it back up multiple times because the wind has picked it up and blown it over which has damaged the cross supports along the bottom and crack the cover frame. The stakes are not adequate enough to keep the gazebo anchored to the ground securely. I supplemented the stakes with additional weight in the form of pavers and buckets filled with water and placed them over the staked bottom cross members. None of that worked to keep the gazebo securely planted on the ground. The only pros to this gazebo is that it does keep the rain off of you and your grill should you be grilling during a light rain as well as give you some shade depending on which direction you have it facing. Outside of those two pros, I do not recommend this grill gazebo to anyone! You would be wiser to either buy a more expensive model (without a canvas top) or build one yourself. I have opted to build my next grill gazebo so it can be securely mounted to the ground and built to withstand the wind. Finally, after pricing materials to build my own, it is going to be cheaper to build than the next model up.

Was this review helpful? (86) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FaithfulShoppers
Linden, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bought this to cover my patio entrance as a shade.
12/16/2013

Customer review by brucinator

4.0 stars by brucinator

First this fits perfectly over my patio sliding glass doors (which by the way have a western view). This is a perfect shade that prevents the sun from overheating the room, and provides a rain block so I can leave the doors open in the rain. Must cheaper than trying to install a regular awning - simply bolted it to my wood deck. Was very easy to assemble by myself. Only complaint is same as many others - it does sag just enough to hold water. My solution was simple and cheap - bought a plastic chicken wire like fence roll, removed the cover, trimmed a couple of pieces of the fencing to fix over the top, attached tightly it with plastic zip ties, then put the cover back on. Works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
brucinator
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's What You Paid For
3/31/2012

Customer review by jeomo

3.0 stars by jeomo

I have the frame up, but am holding off on adding the canopy, because I want to get some more stakes to secure it better from the wind. It took about an hour for my neighbor and his teenage son to set up the frame. The instructions were pretty clear and straightforward. They included this information on Use and Care: 1. Is not a permanent structure and should be disassembeld and stored away after use. 2. Do not repack until completely dry. 3. Must be assembled by four or more adults. 4. Must not be left erect in windy conditions. The clear possibility of it taking flight in a strong (or not so strong) wind seems to be the main downside to this canopy. That is true of any canopy, but this is a cheaper one, so it may be more prone to wind damage. Otherwise, for the price, it seems like a nice little product. I gave it only three stars because it is nothing special really, and may not survive more than one season, but it does the job and met my expectations given the low price.

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jeomo
Charlottesville VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not great for rain
3/26/2012

Customer review by SilverPDX

2.0 stars by SilverPDX

We had problems with the canvas roof filling with water in the rain. Not usable in the rainy Northwest so we returned it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SilverPDX
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/19/2012

Customer review by DAL55

4.0 stars by DAL55

Easy to put together, takes 2 people because of size. Just enough to keep sun off of you while you're barbequing.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DAL55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Large shade area.
4/24/2012

Customer review by Luvshelties

4.0 stars by Luvshelties

Only took my husband and I to put it together, instructions says to use 4 people. Went together good. We screwed it to the floor of our deck and attached it to the deck rail too. Wind would be a problem. We got a few showers and the water did lay in 4 places and stretch the material. We had to go buy PVC pipe that would bend and support the canopy or it would have torn eventually. The PVC (6 pieces) worked great. We got over 2 in of rain and it held no water. Just be prepared to do some extra supports. On a sunny day it's great!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Luvshelties
South Eastern York County Penna.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for our needs
3/4/2013

Customer review by crypticmood

4.0 stars by crypticmood

First, don't even try to understand the directions. Steps are omitted. Wording is confusing. Once you get the first frame built, it's pretty easy going from there, though. So far, the frame seems sturdy enough and the design and functionality is smart. That being said, I would agree with what everybody says about the fabric holding water. I'll be monkeying around with fashioning some tin to the frame or something similar as other reviewers have done and I've already secured bamboo fencing around the frame to help with shade. But, I like the price and I like the dimensions and it works very well for our needs. I'd recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
crypticmood
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
3/6/2013

Customer review by mostdifficulttofillout

5.0 stars by mostdifficulttofillout

I put this together by myself and a $25 power tool and I am 70+ year old woman. So, if you don't follow the directions which are not that good after step #1, you can do it. It fits up aginst my stucco California home and shields the doors from weather. I bought one for my bedroom door and just ordered another for the dining room door. The instructions are small illustrations and step #2 is confusing. I just put the sides together, leaned them against the house, then put up the top cross bars and went from there. I have it sitting on a concrete patio with bricks on the bottom to anchor it. Windy and raining today and it is doing well. A regular gazebo, which I also have, cuts off too much light. To get sunshine I plan to just undo the velcro tabs and roll it up. The canvas top went on easy too, I did that without help. I do have sawhorses and a worktable of a door, and some experience in figuring this stuff out. I would not leave it up in Florida winds or snow country but for my weather it is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mostdifficulttofillout
Central Coast California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Cover
3/25/2012

Customer review by tk8saw

4.0 stars by tk8saw

Easy to put together....Great for adding shelter over your grill....The only con is that when it rains the fabric gets full of water.....Overall looks great and serves its purpose

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tk8saw
zwolle,la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice for the price. So nice gotta say it twic
6/4/2014

Customer review by BigJayBird

5.0 stars by BigJayBird

Great shelter great price. $66 on clearance. For those that are complaining about this not doing well in rain, you get what you pay for. If you want something that does good in rain then buy something more expensive that is waterproof. This is mainly to protect from the sun and heat.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BigJayBird
East Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hold Water
5/31/2012

Customer review by dcs1958

3.0 stars by dcs1958

Looks great until it rains, 4 pockets of water develop 2 are very large holding a few gallons each if it rains hard enough, I put thin wood strips 1/8" x 1.5" x 6' long front to back under the canopy and that solved the problem.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dcs1958
East Petersburg Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coverage but....
3/14/2014

Customer review by RKYB

4.0 stars by RKYB

The Mainstays Curved Grill Shelter is great except for one thing....the top does hold water. I read in previous reviews about this but I also did what a previous reviewer did to help out the problem. Before putting the canvas on the top, we lined it with a mesh wire and it did help somewhat but it still holds a little bit of water but it's not really that hard to just use a broom handle to push up on the canvas and the water just sheets off. Otherwise this thing is pretty stout. We have wind here on the coast but we spiked the legs in the ground and have had no problems.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RKYB
Lake Jackson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/12/2012

Customer review by dgcraig

4.0 stars by dgcraig

Not bad for the price. But it could be so much better. The corners are pull over, but they come right off.. need more material.. My fix was to sew wide elastic a few inches from that and slip that over the frame. The painted surface was poor, Rusting right off. My fix was a quick spray with a rust paint.. Over all I am glad I got this..

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dgcraig
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Love this item!
3/16/2012

Customer review by vivalasvegas

4.0 stars by vivalasvegas

Easy to assemble, provides great shade over the grill. We added a few extra bolts to hold it down in the event of a heavy wind. Great item for the price!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
vivalasvegas
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/24/2012

Customer review by cyn05

4.0 stars by cyn05

We are very happy with our purchase of the grill shelter & it looks great tucked into a corner of our deck. Yes, the fabric cover does hold rain water & we will be replacing it with a solid "roof" of some sort but for the price we are pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cyn05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
4/16/2012

Customer review by LeRoy205

3.0 stars by LeRoy205

It works fine for keeping the cook out of the sun, however, if a cloud burst or storm comes up, it is not very stable in the least bit of wind. Make sure it is anchored down, but that may not help either. The canopy can become a sail !

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LeRoy205
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Sunshade and "umbrella"
2/28/2012

Customer review by geemee

5.0 stars by geemee

Very pleased with product. Easy to put together and serves us well.

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
geemee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CANOPY IS DESIGNED POORLY
5/8/2012

Customer review by likenicknameisimportant

1.0 stars by likenicknameisimportant

The canopy top on this is HORRIBLE - it collects water and the corners come off all the time - I would not recommend this and plan on going back to Walmart to find out if I can get my money back - POOR design on the canopy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
likenicknameisimportant
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY * BUY ONE WITH A HARD TOP
5/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

FIRST OF ALL, THIS WAS DIFFICULT TO ASSEMBLE - TOOK QUITE SOME TIME. SECONDLY, THE CANOPY TOP STRETCHED & POOLED WATER THE VERY FIRST RAIN. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS GRILL SHELTER. SAVE YOURSELF THE FRUSTRATION OF PUTTING IT TOGETHER & DISCOVERING HOW FLIMSY THE TOP IS. SPEND A LITTLE MORE & BUY ONE WITH A HARD TOP!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 177 total reviews