Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

7 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

7 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Nice set , good price.
12/18/2011

Customer review by walmartmommy16

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by walmartmommy16
by walmartmommy16

This will be a christmas present for my 2.5 year old son. We opened it up to make sure all the pieces were there and to make sure it was what we wanted. We were pleasently surprised. Very nice set. We put it together and even tried it out for a while one night. lol. The only complaint I have it that the wheels on the passenger car was bent. I emailed the company and they are sending a replacement. Also for everyone asking the Thomas brand WOODEN trains do fit. We have a few die-cast ones and they are too small for the track. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartmommy16
Vancouver , B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
mommy vlogger
12/28/2011

Customer review by cjksdhiu

2.0 stars 12/28/2011 by cjksdhiu
by cjksdhiu

I was really excited to get this for my toddler. Sadly after we started to put it together we noticed how easily it falls apart. The plastic pieces that hold up the tracks fall if bumped and thats very frustrating for any small child. It looked like it would have been great if the pieces were screwed into the track somehow but this one isn't ideal for our 2.5 year old. I honestly can't see him enjoying it if the track falls apart when he tries to play with it. We will be returning this item and finding a new train track.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjksdhiu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Better sets out there
1/10/2012

Customer review by haj921

3.0 stars 1/10/2012 by haj921
by haj921

We got this as a gift from S.C. for our 3 year old. We had looked at a TON of sets online and this looked like a nice one for the price. We were wrong. 1st it needs to be noted that this ships in a generic looking brown box with a drawing of the set on the outside. We wish this would have been noted in the information on the website. As noted above this was a gift from S.C. as it did not say the package could reveal contents, we had it shipped to our home. We got home from errands and it had been delivered with the picture facing up...almost a disaster. Since is shipped in a plain box, we set it up Xmas eve and wrapped a large box to sit over top of it. When we were putting it together, we saw how poor the quality was. The elevated pieces do tip over very easily causing the track to constantly fall apart. The magnets on the train aren't quite strong enought to keep the train pieces together when driving the train around. The "coal car" quickly became disassembled and had to be glued back together. The crane is very poorly put together and is a string around a wooden dowel. It does not have enough tension on it to keep itself up if there is anything on the other end. Not only that, but it is very difficult for our son to get it started to wind up. The other pieces are okay. All the people look the same, but my son doesn't really care. The police call will drive on the track and so will the plane to an extent. It won't fit through the bridge or the tunnel. This set does work with other wooden tracks. He received additional track pieces from another store and the fit well. Luckily he got another crane that works great. He really liked it the first few days, but doesn't play with it much now since it constantly falls over. Wish we would have spent more and got something nicer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haj921
Taylor, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Ok but not great!
7/2/2012

Customer review by cdb76

2.0 stars 7/2/2012 by cdb76
by cdb76

My son just received this train set for his 3rd birthday. Once it's set up it looks great!!! However, the train set falls apart very easily. This is really frustrating to my son and to me as I'm getting up every few minutes to adjust the tracks. The plastic pieces that elevate the train tracks should have been made with a steadier base or something. Anything that would make it harder for it to be knocked over. Toddlers aren't gentle by any means so this set just doesn't work, at least not for my son. He loved the idea of the train set (as did I). I had to reassemble without all the elevated pieces so that he can actually play with. Also, all the extra pieces like the people, helicopter pad, crane, etc. was just an annoyance. My son could care less about the little people and the police/gas station. All he cared about were the trains. Also, what is the point in having the coal, etc. come off the trains. Just more pieces to have laying around the house or getting loss. This train set is really a disappointment. Hopefully you can make some improvements to make it a studier train set for a child.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdb76
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Train Set For a Toddler!
4/17/2012

Customer review by Grandpa622

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Grandpa622
by Grandpa622

I bought this set as an addition to a KidKraft Table Set that I bought in a Closeout Sale at our local Tuesday Morning Store. After setting up the set and table, I found that my Grandson liked to play with the trains and decided to expand this set to give him more flexibility in his playing with them. I looked at adding track and pieces to this original set but I found that the piecemeal cost was ridiculous. I decided that it would be cheaper to buy an additional set rather than the pieces. I selected this set as it has lots of track, an elevated incline, a bridge, a mountain with a tunnel under it, a helicopter and landing pad, an airplane, a boat and a crane and besides it was cheap compared to other sets that are available. (Read this as meaning: you get a lot of good stuff and a lot of play value for the money). This set is also a KidKraft Set but I have also learned that it is compatible with Thomas the Tank Engine and Melissa & Doug WOODEN STYLE tracks and sets. So if you want to use this set with them, it will work just fine. When fully assembled (half an hour if you follow the directions) this Set will fill up a train table space of roughly four feet by three feet square. The Set itself is excellent and you do not need a train table to set it up on. It will work just as well on a wood floor. Deep pile carpet may be a problem as the elevated piers need a stable base to keep them from tipping when the chid pushes the train around. My twenty month old grandson just loves this set with all its features and plays with it for hours. Also I shopped this set and found that Walmart's price was the best and that delivery was free to my neighborhood Walmart store. The set came faster than was posted when I bought it online and the Pickup Service was fast and excellent. One thing to keep in mind is that you will need a Driver's License or other form of ID when picking up the item. I had no problem but two people in front of me did not have ID and the Walmart Associate could not deliver their items to them because of the lack of ID even though they both had a printout of the order. I think this is a good procedure as it precludes anyone from picking up your item which you already paid for if you lose your printout.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa622
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good price and quality is OK
4/5/2012

Customer review by fortunemommy

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by fortunemommy
by fortunemommy

I searched online for several this kind of wood train packages. This set is with fair price. The quality of the product is fine. However, they did miss two parts when shipping to me at the beginning. they must have the same situation before often b/c there is a paper asking you to call for missing parts. I called and they shipped to me the missing parts immediately. My 4-year-old son enjoyed this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fortunemommy
palo alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun, interesting toy
8/16/2012

Customer review by NannaandOlPa

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by NannaandOlPa
by NannaandOlPa

Bought this for my nephew for his 6th birthday. At first I was worried it'd be a little to young for him - but he loves it and plays with it for hours. Not only that his older sister and cousins enjoy it too - Plenty of parts to change scenes and keep them entertained.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NannaandOlPa
Dayton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day