Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

20 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

20 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 20 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Titanium beats Ceramic
2/17/2014

Customer review by Onlineshopbug

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Onlineshopbug
by Onlineshopbug

I have owned a Revlon Titanium Plated Iron for two years and it still functions as if I just purchased it. I have had my share of Ceramic irons and from my experience the plates become scratched in months and they build up hair product residue over time making the plates look rusted. I have read the reviews with low ratings and it is my belief that those with thick wavy hair who have used the flat iron and have not achieved straight results are using the product incorrectly by trying to straighten large sections of hair at a time. It is important to straighten small sections when it comes to using a flat iron on thick wavy hair. Also, I have seen reviews that state that the iron did get their hair straight but their hair did not maintain the straightness. To touch on that, the purpose of the iron is to straighten out the hair so, the tool did what it was intended to do. I would advise that users apply a heat protectant product and or a frizz control serum in order to retain straightness for a longer duration of time. To sum things up, I am "African American" and I have very thick medium wavy hair. I am able to straighten my hair with this tool effectively--In fact, after using the flat iron my hair looks like it has been relaxed. This is my reasoning for my rating.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onlineshopbug
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Doesnt do the job. Hair is still wavy
12/1/2011

Customer review by madpassion

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by madpassion
by madpassion

The only good thing about this flat iron is how smoothly it glides through your hair. But it absolutely does not get the curl out. I have thick wavy hair and have used many many different flat irons. In this 10 years that ive been flat ironing my hair, This is by far the worst iron ive used. When I finish the wave is still there. It glides through SO smoothly that it doesnt really do anything. It doesnt pull the hair enough to straighten it. I gave it to my daughter who has biracial hair, she said she doesnt want it because it doesnt straighten her hair either

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madpassion
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/9/2012

Customer review by Clarkk0203

1.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Clarkk0203
by Clarkk0203

I have dark, thick, curly hair and this did no justice to it. It was still curly after going the same section multiple times! It does not get hot enough at all. I took it back after using it only one time and got a Remington.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clarkk0203
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Dull hair
5/24/2012

Customer review by trcdale

2.0 stars 5/24/2012 by trcdale
by trcdale

I have been looking for a good inexpensive straightener for a while now. I have the 2" Wet to Straight but it drys out my hair bad. My mom has the Revlon smooth stay 1.5" and I tried it the other day after I had already used my wet to straight. I made my hair silky and smooth and I loved it. So I went yestarday and bought the 1" Smoothstay and used it this morning after my hair dried naturally over night. I have major thick hair and its kinky and wavy. After using this straightener I would not recomend it at all. My hair is fluffy....not the good volume way either its just fluffy. It works great if you use it after another straightener but not on its own. I am returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trcdale
crossville tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
works with fine hair not THICK AND WAVY
7/14/2013

Customer review by JBielieber69

5.0 stars 7/14/2013 by JBielieber69
by JBielieber69

It works great with thin hair that has little curl. So if you have THICK WAVY HAIR OBVIOUSLY DO NOT BUY THE PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBielieber69
Pittsburg, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for us "normals"...bottom line here folks!
3/25/2015

Customer review by AmyJ716

5.0 stars 3/25/2015 by AmyJ716
by AmyJ716

If you want professional results on thick, wavy hair -- go to a professional beauty store and PAY the price for a professional straightener, use products recommended for your hair type, and please stop whining that your hair won't straighten when using this. You've purchased a $22 straightener. It works on NORMAL hair. It heats to a certain temperature. You MUST take precautions to protect your hair anyway, thick or thin, wavy or permed. And if your hair is permed (as stated in some other reviews), you're ALREADY damaging your hair to begin with. My hair is a fine texture, so this probably works better for me than most. My daughter uses it as well (thicker and wavier hair), with no issues. We BOTH use heat protecting products. No issues. If the product stops heating up after a few days, geez -- return it! You've got a defective product....Wal-Mart will take it back. We've had this one for about 5 months now and are extremely happy with it. Agree with the reviewer who said the dial is on the edge -- it's a bit in the way, but manageable. Also -- someone also reviewed that there isn't a place to hold the end of the barrel. Hmmmm....what? Yes...hold the "outside" of the unit. Guess I'm not understanding her issue. Overall, for your price, this is a great straightener. Once in awhile, you'll get a defective product -- it happens. That's life, people. But, I love this one for the price, and for our "normal" hair. If you have unmanageable hair, thick hair, extremely wavy hair, etc....go out there to a professional salon store and get the correct item for your needs, and expect to pay over $100 for it -- this isn't the product for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyJ716
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Flat Iron
7/4/2014

Customer review by HailSouth

4.0 stars 7/4/2014 by HailSouth
by HailSouth

I have semi thick but fine African American hair. I've had this straightener for about 2 years now and it never fails to keep the natural shine of my hair and get it straight! Now it doesn't get it all the way bone straight but it does the job. I believe that the products you use in your hair also contribute to how your hair looks and feels after washing, blow drying and straightening it. Overall this product does the job well even at its inexpensive price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HailSouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The Compact is Worth More Than the Straightener
6/27/2013

Customer review by tml23

1.0 stars 6/27/2013 by tml23
by tml23

This straightener is, for lack of a better word, junk. It doesn't even come close to getting hot enough. It feels hot to the touch, and even kind of feels hot when you first apply it to your hair, but instantly seems cooler. Even with running it through my hair for an hour it didn't get the job done...what it did straighten instantly waved. Although cheap, it still isn't worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tml23
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
BURNED MY HAIR OFF!!!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by REVIEWERKS

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by REVIEWERKS
by REVIEWERKS

I have had this straightener for about 6 months. At first I will admit I loved this product. I would straighten my hair and it would glide through smoothly. Did not burn my hair or cause any kind of problem. Today I went to straighten my hair and on one of my last passes I smelt a strange smell. When I looked at the straightener it had burned off a chunk of my bangs. I now have a small section of hair that is about a 1/4" from my scalp. My hair was completely dry and I ALWAYS use a heat protectant when straightening my hair. The straightener over heated.... It was to the point that it burnt the area that I placed it down on 5 seconds after trying to fix my horribly burnt hair. As much as I love REVLON products. This one I highly suggest NOT buying!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REVIEWERKS
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst straightener Ever
8/4/2012

Customer review by korryn

2.0 stars 8/4/2012 by korryn
by korryn

I haven't even had this 6 months and one of the plates has a lump on it where it looks like stuff got under the coating and it ended up burning my hair. I have tried two of these and they do not work well and do not last long at all. I have wavy hair but I still straighten it because it gets poofy and frizzy and this couldn't even handle that. Worst straightener ever used!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
korryn
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Straightener
5/28/2012

Customer review by JH1978

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by JH1978
by JH1978

This straightener got my hair straighter and smoother in less time than my $150 straightener. I'm very pleased with the results with this iron.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JH1978
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
eh
1/25/2014

Customer review by caraberry

2.0 stars 1/25/2014 by caraberry
by caraberry

I have medium/thick, wavy hair, and while it would mostly straighten it, I'd look in the mirror in a few hours and it was wavy again. Doesn't keep it straight, and isn't worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caraberry
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
1/3/2013

Customer review by Yisha25

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Yisha25
by Yisha25

I had this since summer and today I plugged it in like I normally do...smelt something funny after 15 minutes of turning it on only to find it this hair straightener stopped working! The outside got too hot to where there's no place for you to hold at tip of straightener.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yisha25
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TERRIBLE!!!!
6/3/2013

Customer review by bambambambam141414

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by bambambambam141414
by bambambambam141414

This is the worst flat iron ever. I have super fine, thin, permed hair. All this does is make my hair SUPER frizzy and it takes forever to straighten my hair. DO NOT BUY THIS!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bambambambam141414
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Very helpful
10/8/2014

Customer review by Shopaholic135

5.0 stars 10/8/2014 by Shopaholic135
by Shopaholic135

It's a good working flat iron . it doesn't burn & smell like my other ceramic flatirons .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopaholic135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It has swag
11/16/2014

Customer review by Swagmasta

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by Swagmasta
by Swagmasta

It works very well (:

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swagmasta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST straightener ever. (Thick hair)
7/24/2015

Customer review by girlyyyy

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by girlyyyy
by girlyyyy

I've had this straightener for over four years and it's just now starting to die down and lose heat which is AMAZING considering I use it everyday. I have extremely THICK wavy hair too and this does so good on my hair. If you don't know how to use this product you might not get my results but this is by far my favorite straightener and it's well worth the price!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
girlyyyy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Too Bad
6/24/2013

Customer review by Monicocoa

4.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Monicocoa
by Monicocoa

I've had this for a year, and when I first got it I thought it was wonderful! It works pretty good, but unfortunately it can never really get the ends of my hair 'bone' straight. Another bad thing is that the heat dial is right on the inside, so I always end up bumping it and turning the heat setting on accident. My friend has the same one, and she loves it though! It does its job, and that's all that's important I guess!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monicocoa
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Short-lived
3/14/2015

Customer review by Leeh

1.0 stars 3/14/2015 by Leeh
by Leeh

I only owned this flat-iron 2 months before it quit heating. When it did work I felt it didn't do a very good job on my thick, wavy hair. You get what you pay for. Am taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leeh
Would recommend to a friend? No
HORRIBLE! MADE HAIR STRINGY AND DIDN'T STRAIGHTEN!
8/12/2014

Customer review by CopperWoman

1.0 stars 8/12/2014 by CopperWoman
by CopperWoman

Bought this only because my other straightener gave out and I wanted to try a smaller plate. Oh how wrong was I. It made my semi-thick hair stringy and oily and took forever to straighten and it doesn't stay that way! I run it over a wave, and it stays wavy.It gets hot fast, but does nothing but damage my hair. It is breaking and falling out now! It gets so hot that you cannot grab it or use both hands. Now I don't like to straighten it, Id rather leave it wavy. Do not buy this item! I want my money back!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CopperWoman
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days