Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 234 reviews
5 stars
141
4 stars
58
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 224 reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
Excellent BBQ Grill
1/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected. Pros: 1. adjustable height suspended fire tray 2. extremely large grilling area 3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one 4. easy to move around the patio 5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood 6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel 7. temperature gauge - a must! Cons: 1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling. 2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill. 3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill. Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill: 1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00 2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (166)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kingsford
9/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It didn't take long to assemeble, it's very easy. And I cooked on it the other day and the meat turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
3/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love this grill it's everything I thought it would be but it's bigger then I thought it would be wish is a plus
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Third one not a charm
3/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my third purchase of this grill over past few years. We have them at multiple locations and figured it was time to replace one. After assembly, the lid shut crooked, so I thought. After further inspection, the whole barrel was crooked and bowed top and bottom. Also some welds were broken on the wire grates. Obviously we have past experience assembling these but the quality of craftsmanship compared to previous is not even close. I called the manufacturer and was recommended I return but I had already ripped the packaging so that wasn't an option. Not sure what happened to the old days of quality and customer service. Extremely disappointed and unsatisfied. Initially had recommended to some co-workers and family about the value of this grill but so glad I was able to rescind that recommendation before they purchased. Just a warning from a now ex- Kingsford customer, this grill is not what it appears or like it used to be.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible workmanship
6/6/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First off, I'd like to say that I'm sure the grill will be great. We had one like it from a different company and loved it. However I want to warn you that most of the pieces were damaged in some way. Bent, dented, and the wrong nuts which I just replaced with some I had at the house. Assembly didn't take much time; maybe an hour. The problem with the parts being bent/damaged is that the lid doesn't close properly. We were very careful to follow directions exactly and tighten bolts properly so as to avoid this problem, but when the product is so defective it can't be avoided. I should mention that I purchased a Kingsford tabletop grill once and had the same problem with the lid not closing properly and was unable to latch it shut for transporting. Sadly I will not purchase another product from Kingsford. This grill looks like someone threw it down a flight of stairs, which is only a slight exaggeration. A NEW product should look NEW, not beat up. Brings to mind the old saying "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All I can say is, this grill cooks very NICE!!
6/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I just brought this grill in June 2014 for Father's Day and my husband can't stay off of it. I really like how durable the cast iron cooking grates are and how well the food cooks on them; the entire grill is strong/durable. It also gives the food a good smoked bar-b-que taste. As for putting it together...well, you really have to follow the directions exact or you could find yourself taking everything apart and putting it back together again. Only a couple of the parts were a little confusing but, we quickly figured it out. It really wasn't as difficult putting it together, as we actually made it ourselves. However, the lid is slightly off track (manufacture error) but, it's a minor distortion and it didn't take away from the quality of how the food taste or how the charcoals burned...it's just a popping sound whenever we open/close the lid. And we were not about to take that entire thing apart again just to return it for that small concern - for all of that work, we can live with it. Other than that, it was reasonably priced, ready for pick up at the correct scheduled time it was supposed to have been, the C/S Reps were very professional and helpful at the time of pick up and overall...everything was good! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very disappointed
8/25/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is our first grill ever. After reading the reviews, my wife and I decided to buy this grill online . The price was good and our expectations were high. The grill arrived and my wife and my two kids were excited about helping me to put it together. Their happiness didn't last much, the body and the lid were bent and it didn't close properly. Tomorrow I'll call them and see how the return goes. The thing is that summer is going fast and what was supposed to be fun for the family, was not. ....Sad!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
less than one year
4/1/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
use almost every other weekend, it good for family size. But material for body is easy rust. I only could use one year. tire is easy broken down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very happy with this purchase!
4/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (108)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great grill
3/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a 370 lb off-set smoker and I was in need of a charcoal grill. This Kingsford barrel grill looks just like some other "Home Improvement" grills that sell for a hundred bucks more so I took the chance. I am very glad I did. The assembly is very easy and can be assembled by one person if you can't find a helper. Since I have had this huge off-set made out of 1/4 inch steel, I was a little surprised at the thin metal this grill is constructed with. The adjustable charcoal grate though is what will take all the abuse and if you dump the ashes out the next day and keep the grill covered it should last a long time,so the thinner metal is not an issue. When the aah tray is out for cleaning take some paper towels and wipe up excess grease that will build up in the bottom of the barrel. This way if a stray pc of coal happens to fall into the bottom of the barrel you will not have a grease fire. The lid is not airtight but it fits flush on all sides. The room this grill offers is real nice. This bad-boy can hold a bunch of grub. Another big plus is the lid has a stainless steel handle and the front and side shelves are metal. The grills I looked at that were 100 bucks more had the handles and shelves made out of wood. Thermometer is not terribly accurate but this is a grill. If you plan on cooking indirect you might want to grab a better thermometer and replace the original one because temps will become more crucial when cooking indirect. Holding steady temps when slo cooking will become a challenge because this grill is not air-tight but come on...it's a grill and it's under 100 bucks!! This is the grill I have been looking for. It is easy to move around the patio. The cast iron cooking grates offer a bunch of cooking space and this grill just looks good!! If you are looking for a nice charcoal grill and you don't want to break the bank you should grab one of these..you will be very pleased and have a grill you will look forward to using.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (185)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great BBQ for the money
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using for about 2 weeks and am very happy. It may not be as slick as some of the more expensive choices, but it gets the job done. I've cooked burgers and dogs, chicken, carne asada, all on direct heat. Then tried tri tip with coals to one side - direct heat to sear then indirect to finish. All were flawless. Temp control takes a litle practice but works well when you get it dialed in using dampers and stove pipe. Doesn't seal 100% when closed, so don't expect to recycle a lot of charcoal. Well built, although maybe a little thin. Easy to assemble, just follow the instructions and have a cold one ready cause it does take a little over an hour. Normally you get what you pay for, but I took a chance on this at $89 and do not regret it a bit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good overall except the dome was damaged
8/25/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this grill for my son and his family and had it delivered directly to his house. When he took it out of the box, the domed lid was bent in several places. It was bad enough, he had to bang out the dents in order for the lid to close properly. We have no way of knowing it if the damage was done in the warehouse, or by the shipping company, but it should not have been in that condition. It's a good grill, and they have used it several times and love it. It would've been given 5 stars if it had not been damages.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice
9/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice BBQ.....easy to use & clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Grill
3/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Kingsford Grill
9/4/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am really enjoying my new Kingsford Barrel Grill, I would recommend it to anyone that just wants a small grill. Cooks a wicked burger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Grill!
3/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this grill online and got it in a few days. Pretty easy to assemble. I did it by myself in around a hour in a half. The grill is very sturdy and well made. Cooks wonderfully. I have cooked rib eye steaks, hamburgers, hotdogs with toasted buns. Everything cooked very good and evenly. I had my family over and my brother bought one that night online. The grill is huge which is great when I have everybody over but when it just my husband, son and myself I just use one side of the grill. If you are looking for a great charcoal grill you would not be disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Grill
7/4/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not many low priced grill with Cast Iron grids but this one is it. Priced at only $20~$30 more then a simple round charcoal grill, this has a lot to offer. Not only the size is a good size, it has hight adjust for the charcoal, it can be used as a smoker. Only took about 30 min. to assemble.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Real Deal BBQ
2/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was glad to finally get my hands on this grill. I had seen one on vacation last year but my Walmart store didn't carry it before. Now they do. The barrel design is the original true BBQ pit design. More great barbeque has come off a barrel grill than any other grill on the planet. I have done the basics (Burgers and Chicken) and it has been great. This weekend going to do some indirect cooking. I've got some babybacks for the super bowl. Getting one for my brother this spring!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (137)No (65)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great grill! got on sale!
4/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this for my husband as a birthday gift, and he absolutely loves it! Took me about 3 hrs to put it together, but so well worth to see the smile on his face!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very nice grill
3/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband and I just purchased this grill. It did take him a whole morning to put it together by himself. It's larger than what we're use to so will have to experiment with it. Have grill hamburgers and skirt steak and they did real well. Love the cast iron grates. A little more work to empty the ashes but well worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642867, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-