Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

144 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

144 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 134 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews
Great grill
3/17/2012

Customer review by chooglin

4.0 stars 3/17/2012 by chooglin
by chooglin

I have a 370 lb off-set smoker and I was in need of a charcoal grill. This Kingsford barrel grill looks just like some other "Home Improvement" grills that sell for a hundred bucks more so I took the chance. I am very glad I did. The assembly is very easy and can be assembled by one person if you can't find a helper. Since I have had this huge off-set made out of 1/4 inch steel, I was a little surprised at the thin metal this grill is constructed with. The adjustable charcoal grate though is what will take all the abuse and if you dump the ashes out the next day and keep the grill covered it should last a long time,so the thinner metal is not an issue. When the aah tray is out for cleaning take some paper towels and wipe up excess grease that will build up in the bottom of the barrel. This way if a stray pc of coal happens to fall into the bottom of the barrel you will not have a grease fire. The lid is not airtight but it fits flush on all sides. The room this grill offers is real nice. This bad-boy can hold a bunch of grub. Another big plus is the lid has a stainless steel handle and the front and side shelves are metal. The grills I looked at that were 100 bucks more had the handles and shelves made out of wood. Thermometer is not terribly accurate but this is a grill. If you plan on cooking indirect you might want to grab a better thermometer and replace the original one because temps will become more crucial when cooking indirect. Holding steady temps when slo cooking will become a challenge because this grill is not air-tight but come on...it's a grill and it's under 100 bucks!! This is the grill I have been looking for. It is easy to move around the patio. The cast iron cooking grates offer a bunch of cooking space and this grill just looks good!! If you are looking for a nice charcoal grill and you don't want to break the bank you should grab one of these..you will be very pleased and have a grill you will look forward to using.

Was this review helpful? (140) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chooglin
Van Nuys, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very happy with this purchase!
4/10/2012

Customer review by Txmxgirl

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Txmxgirl
by Txmxgirl

My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? (83) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Txmxgirl
El Paso,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Grill
3/26/2012

Customer review by monie57

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by monie57
by monie57

Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!

Was this review helpful? (58) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monie57
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent BBQ Grill
1/18/2013

Customer review by gg32068

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by gg32068
by gg32068

I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected. Pros: 1. adjustable height suspended fire tray 2. extremely large grilling area 3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one 4. easy to move around the patio 5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood 6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel 7. temperature gauge - a must! Cons: 1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling. 2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill. 3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill. Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill: 1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00 2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gg32068
Middleburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Real Deal BBQ
2/2/2012

Customer review by Steakmaker

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Steakmaker
by Steakmaker

I was glad to finally get my hands on this grill. I had seen one on vacation last year but my Walmart store didn't carry it before. Now they do. The barrel design is the original true BBQ pit design. More great barbeque has come off a barrel grill than any other grill on the planet. I have done the basics (Burgers and Chicken) and it has been great. This weekend going to do some indirect cooking. I've got some babybacks for the super bowl. Getting one for my brother this spring!

Was this review helpful? (131) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steakmaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quite satisfied!
7/6/2012

Customer review by FATBUOY

4.0 stars 7/6/2012 by FATBUOY
by FATBUOY

I purchased this particular grill after much deliberation and shopping around. There were 4 units (all pre-assembled) at my local store and all but the inside display unit had a dent or a ding, but the head guy on duty at the garden center graciously allowed me to have the one inside. I have a strong mechanical background and I knew up-front what I was purchasing. This is not a "professional" grade cooker. it is very simple in design, made of relatively light materials, but I am very confident that I can get quite a long service life out of it. I already plan to add a bar across the front (under the shelf) with "s" hooks on it to hang grilling tools, a paper towel roll hanger under the side shelf. The first thing I did when I got it home was to "season" the grill.i first coated the entire unit, inside and out with olive oil , olive oil doesn't go rancid and will prevent rust as well as provide a good seasoning to the cast surfaces. I fired approx. 2 lbs. of Kingsford coal in my chimney ( I NEVER use lighter fluid) and spread it evenly in the coal pan. This brought the temp. up to 400 deg.peak then I just let it burn out. Next day I cooked on it for the first time. 2 small prk loins, a 10" x 12" dish of potatoes and 4 ears of corn. The unit held the temp. pretty well, I will have to learn how it likes the dampers adjusted for optimum efficiency, it took about 4 lbs. of coal and 2 i/2 hours for this meal and itcame out very good. I did discover that when I need only 1/2 or 3/4 of the cooking surface, I will wrap the unused cooking grates(the one(s)) directly under the chimney stack with heavy duty aluminum foil thereby creating a more efficient convection of heat where needed. So far very pleased, only 4 stars because the 5 star rating denotes excellence and that is very rare. I am happy so far!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FATBUOY
Wilson, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A very nice grill
3/19/2012

Customer review by PJ1952

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by PJ1952
by PJ1952

My husband and I just purchased this grill. It did take him a whole morning to put it together by himself. It's larger than what we're use to so will have to experiment with it. Have grill hamburgers and skirt steak and they did real well. Love the cast iron grates. A little more work to empty the ashes but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PJ1952
Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
it's worth it
8/9/2012

Customer review by theunkownreviewer

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by theunkownreviewer
by theunkownreviewer

I've been looking for a grill with cast iron grates for awhile. I was tired of buying grills with cheap wire grates rusting after two cookouts. After reading the reviews about all the dings, dents and cheap materials of this grill I was hesitant about buying it. But after buying it I can honestly say I was very pleased with it. It was packaged with care. Each item was protected in it's own plastic bag. Nuts and bolts are on a bubble pack cardboard, clearly marked. There were cardboard spacers to keep everything tight in the box. I had no dents or scrapes on the paint. Everything is painted, even the nuts and bolts. Every hole lined up perfectly and the lid is of quality heavy metal and fits the bottom barrel squarely and tightly. The lid is heavy when fully assembled. The instructions are drawn out clearly. You must assemble and FINGER TIGHTEN the bolts of the base and bottom barrel on a FLAT surface (not on the grass or gravel driveway) and THEN tool tighten them in order for the lid to fit properly. Assembly took me about 2 hrs. I seasoned the cooking grates by coating them with Crisco shortening (not wesson oil) and baked them in my oven on 350* for an hour. The idea is to create a varnish-like glaze on them so they don't rust and food wont stick. Use a brass brush to clean them, not a steel brush. I also seasoned the inside of the grill as per their instructions. I bought a cover for it at H.D. for less than $17. Over all : this grill is less than $100. and worth every penny. It's well made, well packaged and Kingsford should be commended for it. And thank you Walmart for selling it at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theunkownreviewer
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great grill
4/16/2014

Customer review by cheff1450

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by cheff1450
by cheff1450

easy to put together,took us an hour & half to get it together. cooks great.fixed some ny strip steaks on it,cooked them 15 minutes on each side,meat never stuck & no flare ups. even cooked breakfast on it.came out great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheff1450
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great so far!
4/2/2012

Customer review by jla8908

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by jla8908
by jla8908

I was looking for an affordable grill that wasn't a tiny little grill. So far this grill is amazing and cooks food quick! a lot of space so I can cook large quantities so I don't have to cook all week. A busy girl appreciates that!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jla8908
Rantoul, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great bang for the dollar
4/19/2012

Customer review by Cougenstein

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Cougenstein
by Cougenstein

I am extremely satisfied with this grill it is exactly what I was looking for. My only complaint is I am unable to find a grill cover to the specification measurements, rather disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cougenstein
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great barbecue grill
3/28/2014

Customer review by MississippiMaddogg

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by MississippiMaddogg
by MississippiMaddogg

( 1) easy to assemble. (2) good-sized . (3 ) the way you can raise or lower the heat.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MississippiMaddogg
Crystal Springs, ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
an awesome choice for a grill
3/30/2014

Customer review by grillmasterbill

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by grillmasterbill
by grillmasterbill

I bought this grill a little on the iffy side. I was really pleased with it upon completion of putting it together. Sturdy and solid. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grillmasterbill
Shorewood, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what my husband wanted
4/7/2012

Customer review by shopper329

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by shopper329
by shopper329

My husband has wanted a new grill for months. He saw this one online one day and decided this was the one. The price is great. It was easy for him to put together. It has a large area for cooking. Almost twice as big as grills the same price. He loves that it can be used as a grill or a smoker. So now he can sell the smoker he got last year. I love that you can check the temp... no more burned food, hopefully :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper329
West Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for the price.
4/10/2012

Customer review by Chaneljackson30

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Chaneljackson30
by Chaneljackson30

I love this grill. By looking online, I thought it was small but it was large. I am so happy I purchased this grill. It didn't take a long time to assemble it, either. I am very pleased that I have purchased this grill and it will be used a lot since it is hot. It is not cheap steel and I love the cast iron grates.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chaneljackson30
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
4/12/2012

Customer review by owensjr

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by owensjr
by owensjr

We love this grill. It is spacious and allows us to cook a large quantity of food at one time. Best Buy Ever. Thank You Walmart for many fun filled outdoor evenings.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
owensjr
Elizabeth City,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Grill
7/4/2012

Customer review by Fort123

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Fort123
by Fort123

Not many low priced grill with Cast Iron grids but this one is it. Priced at only $20~$30 more then a simple round charcoal grill, this has a lot to offer. Not only the size is a good size, it has hight adjust for the charcoal, it can be used as a smoker. Only took about 30 min. to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fort123
Fort Washington, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good value
6/10/2014

Customer review by CharcoalConvert

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by CharcoalConvert
by CharcoalConvert

Got this grill for $98.88 and it does a great job for the price. I wasn't looking to spend a lot and was surprised at how heavy duty it was at this price point.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharcoalConvert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spacious
6/21/2012

Customer review by twhite876

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by twhite876
by twhite876

I bought this as an anniversary gift to my husband. It's big and it looks nice. We're only a family of 3 but could easily put enough food for many more. According to him, it heats up quickly and cooks well. The meat was very moist and tender. We grilled up some asparagus and that was great as well. Took him just under 2 hours to put together. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twhite876
Houma, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
stagecall
6/26/2012

Customer review by stagecall

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by stagecall
by stagecall

I ordered this because it has a big grill area.Heat control works excellant.It smokes great too with the stack.Assembly was easy.Great instructions.A great value that. Quality built...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stagecall
Black River Falls,Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews