Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 302 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

302 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

302 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
237
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
3
1-20 of 256 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 256 total reviews
1-20 of 256 reviews
Love this yarn!
12/26/2012

Customer review by Eg0re

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Eg0re
by Eg0re

I have no complaints about the yarn. It knits up well and I love the way it feels. The price for the yarn was great! ($1.89). However, I had so much trouble putting my order in online. I even checked in our local store to see if it was the same price in the store. It was not the the same price and the selection or colors was terrible. So, I went back home to try ordering them online again. I finally got the order to go through, but was sad to find out that online the website only lets you order one per color. To get around this I did a second order, so that I'd have enough yarn of the colors I ordered the first time for each project. So, I was happy with the yarn, but not with the service provided on the website.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eg0re
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of yarn for the dollar
3/23/2013

Customer review by craftit

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by craftit
by craftit

This three pack of yarn was a great value. The yarn itself I've been using over the past 2 years and the projects always turn out well. This pack was enough to make an infinity scarf.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftit
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for projects
12/10/2013

Customer review by Leiddi

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Leiddi
by Leiddi

I use this yarn to make hats for kids with cancer. The hats make up quickly and are cute and warm. I order about a dozen balls a week. The only complaint I have is that sometimes the thickness of the yarn is not consistent from ball to ball. The price is cheaper when I order site to store rather than buying off the shelf, and order by the bundle. The price is very reasonable

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leiddi
Columbus, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent yarn
1/22/2014

Customer review by CJHeath

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by CJHeath
by CJHeath

I love working with the Lion Brand Hometown USA yarn! Great colors! Great for making beautiful blankets, throws and scarfs! So very soft, chunky and warm!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJHeath
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice yarn!
11/9/2013

Customer review by CaboandMoca

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by CaboandMoca
by CaboandMoca

I am in the process of making a baby blanket out of the Red & Gray (Ohio State Colors) and so far the project is coming together beautifully. The yarn is soft and silky making it very easy to work with. this yarn is quite "bulky" so the blanket is taking shape very quickly! Buying the yarn in the bundle makes is so affordable to make a beautiful blanket and the color choices are great. I am making a generous size baby blanket so I purchased one bundle of the red and one bundle of the gray. I then bought 2 skeins of the white in the store for trim. This amount of yarn is going to make a crib size blanket. I will absolutely be starting another project after the first of the year with this yarn.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaboandMoca
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thick and soft yarn
10/27/2012

Customer review by ZombieApocalypse

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by ZombieApocalypse
by ZombieApocalypse

The thickness and softness of the yarn makes really warm and soft hats and scarves. It is quite thick so working with a double strand can be difficult. It is softer and not as itchy as wool based yarn.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZombieApocalypse
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skein Weights vary by color!
2/21/2014

Customer review by KnittingLibrarian

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by KnittingLibrarian
by KnittingLibrarian

I enjoy using this yarn for making loom hats. It blends very well with some of the special yarns, such as fun fur, for a nice warm hat. The only negative I found in this most recent shipment is that when I was knitting one of the yarns, Cambridge Tweed, I noticed that the skein was going down pretty fast. When I checked the wrapper I see that Cambridge Tweed was a 4 oz skein while the other plain colors I have are 5 oz skeins. That is a difference between 64 and 81 yards of yarn. I unraveled the hat I had started on the largest loom and made it on the next smaller loom. If I want to make this color in a larger hat I will need to purchase two skeins!! I enjoy buying this yarn online because I can bundle four different colors and save 25% off the regular individual skein price. There are more color choices online too. I have noticed that variegated yarns tend to come in smaller skeins than plain for some reason.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnittingLibrarian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Soft
8/29/2012

Customer review by breezee58

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by breezee58
by breezee58

Used the Honolulu Pink to make a hat for a little girl. The color is very pretty. The yarn is easy to work with and super soft.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breezee58
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/18/2012

Customer review by jdp5

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by jdp5
by jdp5

Good color, but yarn has a tendency to get fuzzy when constructed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdp5
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
soft plush yarn is wonderful
12/23/2012

Customer review by sugar2008

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by sugar2008
by sugar2008

the skeins need to be bigger, this one skein will make about two potholders or two washcloths, yardage doesnt cover much, but the yarn is awesome to the touch, very thick n soft!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugar2008
jc,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent yarn for class project.
12/5/2012

Customer review by Teachemtoknit

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Teachemtoknit
by Teachemtoknit

Wide range of colors available online that are not carried in my local store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teachemtoknit
Placerville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very soft yarn and easy to knit
3/24/2014

Customer review by BuggandBuzz

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by BuggandBuzz
by BuggandBuzz

This yarn is soft and cuddly. I use it to knit hats and scarves for cancer patients. That's why softness is important. The yarn is also a great value, very important because the hats and scarves are all donated.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuggandBuzz
Yucca, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soft and Bulky
12/20/2013

Customer review by DiRayne

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by DiRayne
by DiRayne

This is great yarn for any bulky projects. I've used it for afghans and scarves and hats. It is so soft! I bought this in the 4-pack, you can mix and match colors. Great bargin!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiRayne
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great rug yarn, great price, HORRIBLE website
3/26/2013

Customer review by yarmmmy

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by yarmmmy
by yarmmmy

i make rugs, i use and buy ALOT of this yarn. wallyworld is by farrr the best price for a 3 pack. thing is, this website will not allow you to order more than 2 of a colour in one order. so i hafta make multiple orders of varying colors until the website "likes" my order....annoying. oh yeah, i would LOVE it if lion brand made better greens and pinks in this line of yarn:)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yarmmmy
textile land
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
8/30/2012

Customer review by samlilly

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by samlilly
by samlilly

Shopping for the product on the walmart site was very easy. The items came to the store right away,and the price was great.The people at the store were eager to help .It was a pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samlilly
scottsbluff nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
soft good yarn
12/7/2013

Customer review by kitticat

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by kitticat
by kitticat

this yarn is thicker than i expected, works with a size N hook for crochet, i wanted to make granny squares but find it a bit thick for that, but overall is very comfy looking. i can see that if it is handled too heavily it will fuzz up. the strands come a bit unraveled at the ends. It does have knots in the middle of the strand in some spots but since yarn is thick hopefully wont be a problem. colors i got are good but a bit dull, the oakland black, dallas grey, and houston cream. the black is really black, dark. the cream is ok but the color could be a little brighter. if you get the four pack like i did its really good to be able to choose the colors you want. this yarn is recommended for winter items like hats, scarves, mittens, shawls, blankets etc.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitticat
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality, Price Increased
10/29/2013

Customer review by Nancy77

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Nancy77
by Nancy77

I just ordered a 4 pack last week at $7.94 and now the 4 pack price raise up to $8.96. Walmart online does this a lot. I order online quite often, so I notice the difference. It happens on many items. Once I ordered a bike rack for about $69, and a week later the price dropped to $49. You just have to watch, if prices matter to you. Otherwise, the yarn quality is quite good. This yarn is super bulky, will not last long for a project. But if thick and warm is what you are looking for, go for it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nancy77
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good yarn
1/19/2013

Customer review by Evansmommy1105

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Evansmommy1105
by Evansmommy1105

I'm using this skein of yarn to crochet a scarf for my husband. The yarn is pretty good. My only complaint is that in the middle of each skein, the makers of this yarn decided to tie a knot to connect two pieces of yarn. At first I thought it was just the one skein, but it's been in every skein of this yarn I used (so far 4 skeins). I managed to crochet the knot into the scarf with little difficulty. You can't really tell the difference, but I can see a knot in the middle of the skein being annoying and troublesome to some knitters/crocheters.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evansmommy1105
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/27/2013

Customer review by craftwich

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by craftwich
by craftwich

The yarn is soft enough but it pills even as I was working it. The 3 skeins are all of different lengths. One knitted 1 1/2 rows more than the other. Same pattern and number of stitches per row. The pattern I am using is from Lion Brand and it called for 3 skeins to make lap robe. I have used 6 skeins to almost get to the finished size and it looks used due to the pilling. Very disappointing. Won't use this yarn again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftwich
baltimore, md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to restock
2/15/2013

Customer review by mommyagain23

2.0 stars 2/15/2013 by mommyagain23
by mommyagain23

I purchased this yarn originally because it was a value pack. However, when I needed more the system would not let me purchase more than one of the same color. This was a big disappointment. It meant I would have to buy more additional packs than needed to get enough of what I wanted. Very disappointed that I could not choose the quantity of color I wanted in this bundle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyagain23
Portsmouth,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 256 total reviews
1-20 of 256 reviews