Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 310 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

310 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

310 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
242
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
3
1-20 of 264 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
Lots of yarn for the dollar
3/23/2013

Customer review by craftit

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by craftit
by craftit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This three pack of yarn was a great value. The yarn itself I've been using over the past 2 years and the projects always turn out well. This pack was enough to make an infinity scarf.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftit
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent yarn
1/22/2014

Customer review by CJHeath

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by CJHeath
by CJHeath
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love working with the Lion Brand Hometown USA yarn! Great colors! Great for making beautiful blankets, throws and scarfs! So very soft, chunky and warm!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJHeath
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for projects
12/10/2013

Customer review by Leiddi

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Leiddi
by Leiddi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this yarn to make hats for kids with cancer. The hats make up quickly and are cute and warm. I order about a dozen balls a week. The only complaint I have is that sometimes the thickness of the yarn is not consistent from ball to ball. The price is cheaper when I order site to store rather than buying off the shelf, and order by the bundle. The price is very reasonable

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leiddi
Columbus, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very soft yarn and easy to knit
3/24/2014

Customer review by BuggandBuzz

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by BuggandBuzz
by BuggandBuzz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This yarn is soft and cuddly. I use it to knit hats and scarves for cancer patients. That's why softness is important. The yarn is also a great value, very important because the hats and scarves are all donated.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuggandBuzz
Yucca, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would not recommended !
8/27/2014

Customer review by beachtowngirl

1.0 stars 8/27/2014 by beachtowngirl
by beachtowngirl

I bought 7 skeins of the garden jersey colored yarn while my mom bought 7 skeins of Tahoe blue . Were both making lap blankets and when I knitted mine up it came out kind of stiff and not soft . My mom started making hers and its so soft!! My yarn made my blanket thick but not soft and flexible like a blanket should be ! Maybe , it's just the colored yarn - I don't know but I would Not order that yarn again!! I was disappointed! Maybe , each yarn - even though it's the same brand name knits up differently . The lap blanket looks nice but not the softness I expected . My mothers blanket is so soft compared to mine ! If you want to use this yarn just don't use that color! To me - the softest yarn to make blankets is caron jumbo yarn or red heart with love or red heart soft ! It may not be as thick but it definitely will be soft!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachtowngirl
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Love this chunky yarn
1/3/2014

Customer review by AnonShopperOhio

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by AnonShopperOhio
by AnonShopperOhio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This yarn is hands down my favorite to work with. I started using it when I was learning to crochet, as it was much easier for me to learn with big chunky yarn and big crochet hooks. I fell in love with it, though, for winter hats and other warm weather wear. I've now made several hats and scarves for my children and friends. Everyone loves it, and it's super soft, fits snugly, and wears well over time. I would highly recommend this product to anyone that does crochet. I absolutely love it, and have invested a small fortune in it. I have an entire tote full of skeins waiting to be used.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonShopperOhio
Mansfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unbeatable Price
9/26/2014

Customer review by MamaSmash

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by MamaSmash
by MamaSmash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

One of my favorite yarns at an unbeatable price. What more could I want? Most places had it listed for over $5 per skein, so under $10 for 3 is great! Makes buying in bulk for afghans less painful, lol.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaSmash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice yarn.
9/20/2014

Customer review by jh426

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by jh426
by jh426
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a soft, bulky yarn that works up very quickly. I used the color Aspen Tweed for a throw and a small pillow cover but it would be very nice for use in a scarf. I will use it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jh426
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skein Weights vary by color!
2/21/2014

Customer review by KnittingLibrarian

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by KnittingLibrarian
by KnittingLibrarian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I enjoy using this yarn for making loom hats. It blends very well with some of the special yarns, such as fun fur, for a nice warm hat. The only negative I found in this most recent shipment is that when I was knitting one of the yarns, Cambridge Tweed, I noticed that the skein was going down pretty fast. When I checked the wrapper I see that Cambridge Tweed was a 4 oz skein while the other plain colors I have are 5 oz skeins. That is a difference between 64 and 81 yards of yarn. I unraveled the hat I had started on the largest loom and made it on the next smaller loom. If I want to make this color in a larger hat I will need to purchase two skeins!! I enjoy buying this yarn online because I can bundle four different colors and save 25% off the regular individual skein price. There are more color choices online too. I have noticed that variegated yarns tend to come in smaller skeins than plain for some reason.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnittingLibrarian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this yarn!
12/26/2012

Customer review by Eg0re

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Eg0re
by Eg0re
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have no complaints about the yarn. It knits up well and I love the way it feels. The price for the yarn was great! ($1.89). However, I had so much trouble putting my order in online. I even checked in our local store to see if it was the same price in the store. It was not the the same price and the selection or colors was terrible. So, I went back home to try ordering them online again. I finally got the order to go through, but was sad to find out that online the website only lets you order one per color. To get around this I did a second order, so that I'd have enough yarn of the colors I ordered the first time for each project. So, I was happy with the yarn, but not with the service provided on the website.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eg0re
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice yarn!
11/9/2013

Customer review by CaboandMoca

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by CaboandMoca
by CaboandMoca
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am in the process of making a baby blanket out of the Red & Gray (Ohio State Colors) and so far the project is coming together beautifully. The yarn is soft and silky making it very easy to work with. this yarn is quite "bulky" so the blanket is taking shape very quickly! Buying the yarn in the bundle makes is so affordable to make a beautiful blanket and the color choices are great. I am making a generous size baby blanket so I purchased one bundle of the red and one bundle of the gray. I then bought 2 skeins of the white in the store for trim. This amount of yarn is going to make a crib size blanket. I will absolutely be starting another project after the first of the year with this yarn.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaboandMoca
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong color, right dye lot
3/13/2013

Customer review by miyumom

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by miyumom
by miyumom

I ordered 4 Cheyenne Wild Iris to contrast with another color for a blanket that I was crocheting. When I received the items I got 2 Wild Iris and 2 Phoenix Azalea, all with the identical Wild Iris lot and dye label on them. I had to look on line to see what it was I received, because it certainly isn't what I ordered. I believe this was an error on the manufacturer's part. Anyone looking at them could tell they are not the same color. Since I order on line, due to being home bound, I am not real sure what I should order to complete the blanket so I may order both colors and see what I get... The blanket will be quite colorful when it is done. Other than this problem, I would recommend the product. It is soft, crochets quickly, easy to handle, doesn't unravel. If you can, get it in the store to see what you are buying. That would probably be the best way to go, otherwise, you may end up with a "coat of many colors".

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miyumom
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Order
11/12/2015

Customer review by Verizon

4.0 stars 11/12/2015 by Verizon
by Verizon

I did not order Cincinnati red nor did I receive Cincinnati red. I ordered phoenix azalea and received phoenix azalea. They weren't all the same lot numbers, but I couldn't tell a difference between one skein and another.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Verizon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
soft good yarn
12/7/2013

Customer review by kitticat

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by kitticat
by kitticat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this yarn is thicker than i expected, works with a size N hook for crochet, i wanted to make granny squares but find it a bit thick for that, but overall is very comfy looking. i can see that if it is handled too heavily it will fuzz up. the strands come a bit unraveled at the ends. It does have knots in the middle of the strand in some spots but since yarn is thick hopefully wont be a problem. colors i got are good but a bit dull, the oakland black, dallas grey, and houston cream. the black is really black, dark. the cream is ok but the color could be a little brighter. if you get the four pack like i did its really good to be able to choose the colors you want. this yarn is recommended for winter items like hats, scarves, mittens, shawls, blankets etc.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitticat
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soft But Cheaply Made
7/1/2014

Customer review by Othercat

2.0 stars 7/1/2014 by Othercat
by Othercat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this yarn to make an afghan. I instantly fell in love with it because it's so soft and thick. I also liked the nice selection of colors. I picked 3 colors and bought 12 skeins. The first 4 skeins were perfect. About halfway through the 5th, I noticed part of it was unraveled. There was no way to fix it so I had to cut the unraveled part out and tie the yarn back together. The same thing happened on the 7th skein. And then on the 12th skein, I was shocked to find that the yarn had been cut and tied together partway through. I've continued to buy and use this yarn only because my afghan is too far along to start over. I've since purchased about 30 more skeins and have continued to have the same unraveled/knotted problems with some of them. I definitely wouldn't recommend this yarn to anyone. And once my afghan is done, I won't be using it again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Othercat
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/18/2012

Customer review by jdp5

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by jdp5
by jdp5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good color, but yarn has a tendency to get fuzzy when constructed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdp5
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soft and Bulky
12/20/2013

Customer review by DiRayne

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by DiRayne
by DiRayne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is great yarn for any bulky projects. I've used it for afghans and scarves and hats. It is so soft! I bought this in the 4-pack, you can mix and match colors. Great bargin!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiRayne
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
soft plush yarn is wonderful
12/23/2012

Customer review by sugar2008

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by sugar2008
by sugar2008
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the skeins need to be bigger, this one skein will make about two potholders or two washcloths, yardage doesnt cover much, but the yarn is awesome to the touch, very thick n soft!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sugar2008
jc,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great rug yarn, great price, HORRIBLE website
3/26/2013

Customer review by yarmmmy

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by yarmmmy
by yarmmmy

i make rugs, i use and buy ALOT of this yarn. wallyworld is by farrr the best price for a 3 pack. thing is, this website will not allow you to order more than 2 of a colour in one order. so i hafta make multiple orders of varying colors until the website "likes" my order....annoying. oh yeah, i would LOVE it if lion brand made better greens and pinks in this line of yarn:)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yarmmmy
textile land
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good yarn
1/19/2013

Customer review by Evansmommy1105

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Evansmommy1105
by Evansmommy1105
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm using this skein of yarn to crochet a scarf for my husband. The yarn is pretty good. My only complaint is that in the middle of each skein, the makers of this yarn decided to tie a knot to connect two pieces of yarn. At first I thought it was just the one skein, but it's been in every skein of this yarn I used (so far 4 skeins). I managed to crochet the knot into the scarf with little difficulty. You can't really tell the difference, but I can see a knot in the middle of the skein being annoying and troublesome to some knitters/crocheters.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evansmommy1105
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews