Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

34 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

34 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

47%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
18
1-20 of 32 total reviews
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Eclipse MP3 Player
5/10/2013

Customer review by Emmes

1.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Emmes
by Emmes

I purchased this at my local Walmart (Orig $24) for $12 because I don't like using up the battery in my smartphone to listen to music at work. It's fairly easy to download songs onto this little device (about the size of 2oz cheese#, and the sound is pretty good, but the charging cable that came with the device is a piece of junk. I had charged it #so I thought) and used it at work for about 20 mins and got the "low power" error and the music shut off. Several times. I sent Google feelers out to see what the problem could be - to give this cheap MP3 the benefit of the doubt and found that nearly everyone who has this model has the same piece of junk charging cable, and to use a different one. So I did. It worked perfectly!! Charged up in a couple of hours. In fact, I put songs on it and used earphones ALL NIGHT with no problems. I was excited to use this at work! Got to work and listened for about an hour this time .. and BOOM! "Low Power" error again, and again. GRR! Frustrating, to say the least. So, I'm returning it and getting something else. I wouldn't recommend it .. at $12 or ESPECIALLY $24. I wouldn't recommend it if someone GAVE it to you. Not worth the aggravation.

Was this review helpful? (75) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emmes
Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little player...
6/30/2014

Customer review by ohsteve71

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by ohsteve71
by ohsteve71

It's a great size and value... I did have difficulty with the volume control but I read the instructions and it was then easy... see below if you are also having trouble. Volume Control -To increase the volume, press the volume button and the volume icon will light up. Next press the next track button to increase volume and the previous track button to decrease volume. -When the desired volume level is reached, press the volume button again.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohsteve71
Hamersville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Good for the price
6/20/2013

Customer review by baj7460

4.0 stars 6/20/2013 by baj7460
by baj7460

For $12, this is a steal. I wanted a small MP3 player for the car that wouldn't drain my smartphone battery. So far this has worked well. No issues with charging or battery life. You will need a magnifying glass to read the menus, and they are not very user friendly, but it serves it's purpose for $12. You can tell it is cheaply made, but like i said, it's $12.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baj7460
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!
7/1/2013

Customer review by med78

1.0 stars 7/1/2013 by med78
by med78

I bought this and used it one time and never again. The battery dies after 2 or 3 songs, and the earphones are terrible. I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT AT ALL

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
med78
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this piece of junk!!!!!
10/31/2013

Customer review by ItsOnlyMe49

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by ItsOnlyMe49
by ItsOnlyMe49

This player costs less than $15 and you get what you pay for! It is hard to read, cumbersome to adjust the volume and overall unimpressive . . Mine is going back to the store in the next day or two.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ItsOnlyMe49
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mine didn't work
6/29/2013

Customer review by MarkK7

1.0 stars 6/29/2013 by MarkK7
by MarkK7

I charged it the full one and a half hours as it said it needed and couldn't get it to work but about 15 seconds. I checked reviews and found I'm not the only one that had problems. I learned a good lesson, I thought I would save some money but the time I spent messing with it, about 2 hours, really cost me something more precious than a few dimes. Next time I'll check reviews before I buy!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkK7
Sandia Park, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Its alright
9/30/2013

Customer review by Coolkid19

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Coolkid19
by Coolkid19

Pretty good device it comes with a handy clip and it holds a good amount of songs the only problem I had was the cheap headphones. But I bought my own pair and it was good :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coolkid19
Charlotte,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk!
9/1/2013

Customer review by Momof2inIL

1.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Momof2inIL
by Momof2inIL

I purchased this for my 9yr old son for a 5k color run. It was inexpensive and was just what he needed... It claimed to be drag and drop, as far as loading songs to it. I dropped several files into the folder and nothing. It didn't recognize any files on it, other than the "sample" music already there. I messed with the stupid thing for over an hour. (I am fairly technologically savvy, and this little bugger completely irritated me). I FINALLY got it to recognize a song, so I plugged it back in and put more songs on. I 'ejected' the drive, and went to test it again and it wouldn't work at all, as in none of the buttons worked, I couldn't access the music files or any other features on the player. I turned it off and back on and it displayed "Eclipse" for about 4 minutes, the only way I could get it off of that screen was to plug the usb cable back in and then 'eject' it again. It still wouldn't work. I reformatted the drive and that didn't help either. I returned the stupid thing. I guess it is not wise to buy the cheapest mp3 player available. But my Wal-mart only had this and 2 other players, which were more than I wanted to spend at the time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof2inIL
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Fabulous Once I Figured It Out
6/20/2014

Customer review by Frangi

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by Frangi
by Frangi

I purchased this mp3 just this evening. Admittedly I'm not tech saavy at all... My old mp3 player quit, and I needed a new one for the gym/hiking. I easily downloaded a bunch of songs from playlists on my Windows Media Player. Once I got the songs downloaded, to my dismay I got no sound out of the player. I could see the song titles scrolling, everything looked as if it were working, but nothing. I tried another pair of headphones from my old mp3 player, and still nothing. I read the brochure and it directed me to the website for more information. I went to the website, but there was no troubleshooting info. Now I'm getting frustrated. I did e-mail their tech support to ask if I was doing something wrong or if I had a faulty player. I'll have to e-mail back and say, "Nevermind..." Anyway, I'm pushing buttons like crazy and next thing you know, I hear music! Then I lost it again and couldn't figure out what I'd done to get it to play a second ago. Long story short, I didn't realize the center button MUTES the sound! I must've hit it before I tried to listen, and that's why it was quiet. So, now I have music, but it sounded awful. I had the volume all the way up to 31 and it was horrible. It never would've worked at a gym, all of the outside noise would easily drown out the music even at the highest volume. Until I had the idea to plug my other headphones in that I'd just tried. Almost blew my eardrums out on full volume! The volume at 15 with the different headphones is stronger than max volume with the headphones that came with this player. So now that I've got it down, it's a fantastic player, easy to download music, and with better headphones, very powerful. It was sketchy at first, but now I'm glad I made the purchase!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frangi
Camillus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
7/10/2013

Customer review by Spoff3

3.0 stars 7/10/2013 by Spoff3
by Spoff3

Does everything I needed and expected to be provided at this price. Excellent tech support. Nice little unit that I use primarily for audio books. Very compact and handy for when I'm going to face a wait (doctor's office, etc.). Better battery life would be nice but fine as is.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spoff3
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Battery Life Is Bad
8/20/2013

Customer review by Wharfage

1.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Wharfage
by Wharfage

This product would be great, but u can hardly see the menu and the battery drains out so fast, i would say if you were lucky you could get 20 min of play before you would have to recharge it again, so i would say if you only have about 20 min to listen to music its a great buy, otherwise stay clear of this item...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wharfage
Webster
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MP3 should be pulled from shelves.
7/31/2013

Customer review by rjwright

1.0 stars 7/31/2013 by rjwright
by rjwright

This MP3 only functions half the time and it has a low battery life. Most of the song that I downloaded only play partway or are skipped over all together. The sound quality is poor with headphones or earbuds. Also the earbuds that come with it are junk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjwright
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
buy something else or learn how to whistle
10/15/2013

Customer review by HockeyOgre

1.0 stars 10/15/2013 by HockeyOgre
by HockeyOgre

PROS --low cost --small size with clip (great for running or --4GB storage (plenty of space) CONS -- VERY POOR battery life -- Difficult to charge (plugged in but is it charging?) -- poor button layout/deisgn -- screen busy with symbols RECOMMENDATION --buy something else or learn how to whistle The size, storage capacity, and shape are great if you're looking for a small mp3 player. That's where the good ends. The battery doesn't last but an hour tops... And once you put it down the battery continues to die. I've had it plugged in to the computer overnight and it worked for about 15 seconds. It did work ok the first time I charged/used it and now all down hill. Going to ebay for a used ipod.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HockeyOgre
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/20/2013

Customer review by lovevibrationhealer

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by lovevibrationhealer
by lovevibrationhealer

It served the purpose for which I needed it. I was able to pick it up within hours of ordering it online. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovevibrationhealer
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Product
4/19/2014

Customer review by Valraven

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Valraven
by Valraven

I have have had mine now for just over a year, No Probs w/ battery or sound. Only prob I had was the songs would mix together, meaning one song would come on then after a few seconds it would stop and another would start. But all I did was defrag and optimize it when charging it and its fine again. Like any other computerized devices that holds memory you have to defrag it. If you don't know how just use Smart Defrag. I am frugal so I used the free version. As far as sound I used a better set of ear buds and it sounds great. This little device is great for my aerobic workout and HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training). So all my moving about doesn't mess with it. Follow the instructions to set it up and I don't think you will have any problems. I didn't. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valraven
Richland Center, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A worst MP3 player I have ever seen..!!
8/15/2013

Customer review by Raaag

1.0 stars 8/15/2013 by Raaag
by Raaag

This is the worst MP3 player I have ever seen.. It stopped working on the 2nd day I purchased this. The buttons are also not getting pressed to change the title. I'm really having a bad experience with this device and 100% wont recommend to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raaag
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth a dime.
8/5/2013

Customer review by Jambo4

1.0 stars 8/5/2013 by Jambo4
by Jambo4

I bought this for my daughter who is 8. She didn't need anything fancy so this looked like the perfect thing. Loading music on it was easy enough, but less than a month later (of causal use), it stopped being able to be charged.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jambo4
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Even when it worked it was horrible
7/14/2014

Customer review by Beiname

1.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Beiname
by Beiname

Less than a year! Just long enough to get it filled up with some music and audio-books. Kaput. When I first purchased the mp3 player the screen was already skewed and difficult to read (blue on blue). I thought, you get what you pay for and it was cheap, so I didn't return it. It was always difficult to navigate through (to change folders and settings) without any apparent rhyme or reason. The volume was not loud enough in certain circumstances so be prepared to go through all of your mp3 files and adjust them to suit the needs of this device. Today I decided to throw some full length albums on it for the gym and it allowed me to do so. When I got there it would only play the first 3 seconds of a song and shuffle to my audio-book folder play 3 seconds and the shuffle back continuously. Any attempt to get into the settings and adjust them turns the player into spaz mode. I just removed everything except for a couple of songs and I still am having the same problem. 1 star is too generous for this garbage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beiname
Would recommend to a friend? No
I took it back to the store on Day 2.
6/28/2013

Customer review by Tehery

1.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Tehery
by Tehery

The screen was way too small. No software comes with it. No way to make up play lists. Could not down load play lists from my computer to it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tehery
Celina,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I'm a tech. This thing has issues
5/21/2014

Customer review by glitchsys

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by glitchsys
by glitchsys

I'm a computer tech. This mp3 player has issues. Randomly fails during writes, can't handle simultaneous reads/writes, DiskIO errors, strange errors. My Mac corrupted the fat32 file system which strangely is formatted 8192 bytes sector size. I ended up have to reformat it with Windows computer. Windows randomly fails to write files to it, coming up with all sorts of odd errors. I can't delete things from it, it ends up locking up. I resort to formatting the thing and dropping files onto it, and cross my fingers all the mp3 files writes to it. It seriously has issues, I think it uses insanely cheap insanely slow memory and has a very under-powered CPU. Borderline unusable. Sadly, not worth $15. Seriously consider the $20-$25 mp3 players, they may do better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glitchsys
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews