Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

28 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

28 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 26 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great product. Needed a little work, though.
10/8/2012

Customer review by Willzum1

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Willzum1
by Willzum1

I bought this gladius because 1- I collect swords, and 2- I've never gotten a bad product from cold steel. Out of the box, the tip is needle sharp. The actual edge of the blade, however, had a wicked burr on it. That wouldn't be a problem, as that is best when using a machete, but it was catching on the inside of the sheathe and shredding it. A few passes over my whet stone was sufficient to reduce the burr enough that it didn't catch anymore. Be careful when doing this, as the blade is razor sharp on both sides. One other thing that bothered me was that the coating on the blade was worn out a bit when I got it. That isn't a big issue, as it will wear off eventually anyway with use. The handle is made out of high impact polypropylene. It feels like it is cheap plastic, but it is not. I have smashed it off of rocks and trees more times than I care to count, and there isn't even a scratch on it. The sheathe is exactly what I expected it to be. The buckle holds the machete in place securely. The sheathe is quite durable. It has a plastic plate near the tip that helps the sheathe hold its shape. This is very helpful when trying to insert the blade back into the sheathe. It also helps with the durability. I've used this product numerous times in the woods to clear out paths. I've also used it to cut down small trees. It had held up wonderfully, and I've yet to have the need to sharpen it again. All in all, this is a excellent quality product. I would definitely recommend this product to both people who collect this kind of stuff, and those who would use it in the field.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willzum1
Farmington, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wicked sharp
12/11/2012

Customer review by Castorriv

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Castorriv
by Castorriv

There is a big warning tag on the grip - please read before you pull it out of the sheath!!! Wicked sharp and solid. This thing is so scary, the point is amazing, that I put it in my gun safe for safe keeping. This thing is a serious weapon and looks like it's well made.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Castorriv
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
What a sword!
1/18/2013

Customer review by Killerscott

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Killerscott
by Killerscott

This is an impressive blade indeed! It was very sharp & comes to a fine point @ the tip. The handle is a very tough & functional. This is not a machete; rather, it is a light & tough functional gladius designed upon the classic Roman sword. Excellent, tough high carbon blade designed for a strong forward thrust that might just go clear through the target! Blade is painted w/a light corrosion resistant paint. Sheath is a nice functional cordura type material w/heavy plastic reinforcement @ the tip. Very good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Killerscott
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
super awesome blade!
3/8/2013

Customer review by PrepperPhil

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by PrepperPhil
by PrepperPhil

This thing rocks! Best value for the money! Extremely well made! You can feel it in the weight! Blade is sharp just needs a little de-burring! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrepperPhil
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Home Defense Tool
10/15/2012

Customer review by jflynn12

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by jflynn12
by jflynn12

Design based on Roman fighting sword. Good quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jflynn12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Much Better Than Expected
2/18/2013

Customer review by PeekABooXVIII

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by PeekABooXVIII
by PeekABooXVIII

Let's face it: machetes are for clearing brush and light foliage. We should not expect more than that. The Cold Steel Gladius Machete performs admirably within this scope. The tip could be a problem if you do not keep in mind where the "sweet spot" is. Top 1/3 is for piercing - middle 1/3 is for chopping. I've used the tip to spear fish on lazy afternoons. Nice. I've chopped through 3" vines in one go. Nice. I was surprised when I realized that this is now amongst my favorite camp/hunt tools. More than worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeekABooXVIII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
really good item
12/31/2012

Customer review by chakotay3752

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by chakotay3752
by chakotay3752

sharp with murderous point on the end. Best machete I have ever seen or owned.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chakotay3752
oxford AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the money
6/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It has a nice, thick blade that does not flex under it's own weight and feels more like a sword or an actual Gladius than a machete. It comes very sharp and mine has no defects on the edge. The sheath is extremely functional. Over all I am quite pleased especially considering it was so inexpensive (around $34.00 at the time of my purchase). Only use soapy warm water to remove the extremely annoying sticker that clearly states that it is a "Machete", alcohol or goof-off or something like that will strip the black coating off.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for a serious user
1/27/2014

Customer review by veshon

3.0 stars 1/27/2014 by veshon
by veshon

I am a big fan of Cold Steel Products, but this item is seriously disappointing. Looks cool and feels good until you begin to use it. First off you really need to rework the edge to get it to cut which I know frustrates some users, but my beef centers around the thickness of the blade - it is way too thin for the length. When you make a strike the blade vibrates and that absorbs some of the energy of the swing and that will not work. The energy must go into the material chopped, not the blade. Also, the point is very sharp, too sharp. When the point meets solid resistance it curls up. Another big turn off. It can be worked down to a softer, stronger tip, but the thin blade vibrating convinced me this was something to give away to a friend that prefers looks over use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veshon
Mountain View, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent, durable sword
1/1/2013

Customer review by Fingon

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Fingon
by Fingon

Incredibly sharp out of the box. Nicely styled. Durable, comfortable grip. Very low maintenance. Powerful blade cuts well, dulls slowly. Extremely pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fingon
Sharpsburg, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing
6/4/2013

Customer review by RavenNurse

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by RavenNurse
by RavenNurse

This kniife/sword/ machete is strong, sharp, durable, and reliable. Cold Steel is amazing

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RavenNurse
Bel Air, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice sword
3/15/2013

Customer review by USASF

4.0 stars 3/15/2013 by USASF
by USASF

This review came a bit sooner than it should as I haven't had the time to give it a good test. The looks and heft of the sword is better than expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USASF
Ft. Worth, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
3/16/2013

Customer review by kbhul22

4.0 stars 3/16/2013 by kbhul22
by kbhul22

Is a bit heavy but feels very good in hand. Be careful of point though it is sharp enough to bend real easy. Overall awesome sword for money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbhul22
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Came with a dull tip; finish is asymmetrical
3/25/2013

Customer review by ExaltedHierarch

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by ExaltedHierarch
by ExaltedHierarch

The tip was really dull and the black finish is very asymmetrical but the edge is very sharp. Very sturdy blade, but it was obviously made in a hurry and wasn't inspected at all for quality. Cuts right through branches and foliage. Also the "Warning: Very Sharp" sticker that was stupidly stuck right to the blade was a pain to remove and the adhesive junk is still there making the blade look awful. Would be amazing were it not for the tip, poor finish, and sticker though. If you want something to hang on the wall then get a real gladius but if you want a tool I definitely recommend this. DEFINITELY not a toy this thing is very dangerous.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExaltedHierarch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks bad!
9/11/2013

Customer review by thegifts

1.0 stars 9/11/2013 by thegifts
by thegifts

The tip was misshapen and the edges were grinded uneven. I usually love cold steel products but this was in bad shape I returned it to the store no problem. I don't know maybe it was a lemon but it was not good quality at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thegifts
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dispoint
12/12/2012

Customer review by wiggyjiang

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by wiggyjiang
by wiggyjiang

the head of the blade over sharp and damage cant even cut the paper and handle is damaged. will it is a $30 what can u buy ...

Was this review helpful? (2) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wiggyjiang
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great blade bad sheath
8/30/2013

Customer review by bladesman117

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by bladesman117
by bladesman117

solid blade hacks through everything I've tried so far including accidentally going right through the sheath! Did need sharpening but most blades do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bladesman117
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cold Steel Gladius Machete - Best Buy for Quality
9/4/2013

Customer review by Scott714

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Scott714
by Scott714

Cold Steel Gladius Machete - Best Buy for Quality and Value. Please note this is not a toy. Cold Steel is a well known company and maker of functional edged weapons. This product lives up to that reputation, only at 15% of the cost you would expect to pay compared to Cold Steel Swords.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scott714
Philadelphia Area, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oh YEAH!
2/28/2014

Customer review by HerrMark

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by HerrMark
by HerrMark

That's what a friend said when he handled my new purchase. He added that he wanted one as well. I think i'll get a few more through walmart.com, the best price I could find!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HerrMark
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One heckuva machete!
5/1/2014

Customer review by FIREBASS4

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by FIREBASS4
by FIREBASS4

This sucker is sharp and I'm not kidding! I am going to file the point so that it is not so needle-like. Should be great on brush and if there's ever a zombie apocalypse I'm fixed up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FIREBASS4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews