Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 25 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Great Machine, Poor Manual
4/1/2013

Customer review by JukeNewOwner

4.0 stars 4/1/2013 by JukeNewOwner
by JukeNewOwner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having owned several bread machines, I can already tell that this will be the best ever. A beginner might slip a bit early on, owing to a manual that thinks everyone weighs their ingredients, and flour measured by the cup is some kind of alternative baking method--and the digital display can be confusing. Inexplicably, NO recipe for whole wheat bread (I've fixed that; see below). But the SD-RD250 is the quietest bread maker I've ever used and barely moves out of place. A nice break from the rockers I've owned in the past. I like the fact that the yeast goes in first, protecting it from the wet stuff. It also has the smallest footprint I know of among machines in its class, allowing me to store it in a cupboard. The lack of a window on top is not a problem. It's OK to lift up the cover for a quick peek. WHOLE WHEAT BREAD Adjust this for altitude. I bake in Albuquerque, where we're a mile high, like Denver. Yeast 1 Tbs plus 1 Tsp Flour 4 1/2 cups Sugar 3 Tbs plus 1 Tsp Splenda 3 Tbs plus 1 Tsp Dry Milk 2 Tbs Wheat Gluten (optional, but makes the bread stretchy) 1 Tsp Salt 2 Tsp Olive Oil 3 Tbs plus 1 Tsp Water 1 3/4 cups I used the Basic, Bake settings (4 hours), XL size and Light crust, though Dark should be just fine. This recipes makes for a big loaf of substantial bread.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JukeNewOwner
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough
1/18/2016

Customer review by Julia W

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Julia W
by Julia W

The machine has the basic function to me. But I'm looking forward to buy newer model to make more dessert.

Julia W
Tullahoma, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Healthier alternative to better testing bread. A+
11/3/2015

Customer review by dikyparesh

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by dikyparesh
by dikyparesh

First, this is an excellent product that serves awesome loaf of bread one after another… Highly recommend this product and we are very happy with it. Bit more details… we are family of four and used to spend sizable money in buying better quality breads from Wegmans and they makes great breads and many variety of it, but after a while, it was getting expensive so after much research and review we bought this machine last year. I know nothing about baking and I was nervous about it, but since first day of use, it won us over on how easy it is to use, consistency of breads and reliability. We’ve tried few different breads, but mostly we bake about 2-3 types of bread about 2-3 times a week. So far… 200+ loafs. We are at the point now that our kids don’t eat store bought bread any more. We haven’t tired baking fancy breads, cakes, jams or other baking goods in it and reading online, other brands seems to have more features and functionality so I can’t comment on how this compares to others…, but we are for sure very happy with it and recommend this product. Last months, we purchase two more of these for a family member and so far… they are enjoying it…

dikyparesh
Massachusetts, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
1/31/2013

Customer review by AG82

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by AG82
by AG82

Pros: I got this product during the Christmas '12 and love it. Excellent Product, simple to use. Tried Wheat, White, Cranberry Breads so far, all of them came out great.The instruction sheet (manual) comes handy which comes with a few recipes. Con: Does not come with a display window, so if you are eager to see what is happening while the bread / dough is in its build process- the only option is to open the lid (which is not recommended as per documentation).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AG82
Alpharetta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Bread Maker!
8/20/2012

Customer review by N98765

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by N98765
by N98765

This is a great bread maker! Not only is it super easy to use, it makes delicious bread. I have never used a bread maker before and I had no problem with this one. For my first loaf, I made cinnamon raisin bread. What is great about this machine is that it has an automatic fruit and nut dispenser so it dropped my raisins in at the perfect time during the kneading process resulting in full raisins, not broken up, in my finished loaf of bread. Definitely a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (58) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
N98765
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
worst ever purchase
12/16/2015

Customer review by ebif

1.0 stars 12/16/2015 by ebif
by ebif

this is my second machine. first was great. this is dreadful.

ebif
Scotland, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expensive unreliable breadmaker
3/25/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/25/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased a Panasonic SDRD250W breadmaker on Feb 7 2012. It made beautiful bread and I used it weekly until Oct 29 2012 when it developed a problem. I returned it to the deaker and his work order read "Display locks up will not allow select options also when start hit it will jump to French and locks up". I received a replacement on "exchange" on Nov 12 2012. It worked well until Feb 2 2012 a mere 3 months later. This time the work order read " Appearance item defect "battery problems #I don't understand that# squeaking when making rotations'" #the latter was my complaint#. I received a replacement on Feb 25 2013. On approximately Feb 1 2014 the bread failed to rise. I tried a second time then purchased new yeast but the same thing happened. The authorized repair agency #not the dealer# has confirmed that there is a problem, but he cannot locate the specific deficiency other than there is a problem with "the board" which cannot be remedied.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far working well...
1/14/2013

Customer review by HALMONY

3.0 stars 1/14/2013 by HALMONY
by HALMONY

I've used 5 times since I got the Bread maker (Dec 12). I used 3 different brand Bread maker before, this is 4th one. Over 20 years I've been used Automatic Bread maker. So far working well and Bread comes out easy.2 things I don't like about this bread maker. No window to see (check) the bread in the machine and making a more noisier then other brand.I picked this brand after I read review. little over price I think.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HALMONY
MADISON AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great machine, love the fresh bread in the morning
6/6/2013

Customer review by CharlieQ

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by CharlieQ
by CharlieQ

I really have enjoyed using this breadmaker. The timer feature is wonderful, fresh bread in the morning with minimal effort. I was disappointed that the breadmaker does not have a setting for 100% whole wheat bread. The other feature I would have really liked was a setting to add additional extras (nuts, fruit) beyond what can be held in the dispenser tray; perhaps a alarm that goes off when the timer is dispensing so I could open the machine and add more. Obviously this is a large device; I would like it if it came in other colors/finishes. My kitchen has stainless steel appliances and the plastic sticks out like a sore thumb. Also, the cookbook/Quick Start Guide does not fit well with my other cookbooks; it would be great if the unit could include recipes that could be displayed on the LCD and updated manually so they were always convenient to the machine itself. Again, I really have enjoyed using it and the smell of fresh bread in the mornings is pretty fantastic. I've enjoyed trying the recipes provided and also tweaking them to create different recipes.

CharlieQ
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Bread Machine!
7/31/2013

Customer review by daBilbo

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by daBilbo
by daBilbo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I previously owned a Hitachi Bread Machine that was excellent with similar features as this Panasonic. I have made the basic White bread and branched out with a Sun Dried Tomato bread. Both were hearty and fresh! I need to experiment a bit with the times, but I can see my Egg Bread and Cinnamon Raison bread being excellent. I like the resting and the nut/fruit drop feature also. An excellent Bread Machine for the money and features!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daBilbo
Alaska Bush country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review for Panasonic SD-RD250 Breadmaker
6/5/2013

Customer review by Los Angelino

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Los Angelino
by Los Angelino

I want to first start off by saying that my wife and I do not have much experience with breadmakers. Without getting into a comparison between other breadmakers and the Panasonic SD-RD250, the derivative of what makes this the perfect complement to any kitchen is that this appliance works and works flawlessly. I believe I speak for the majority when I say that when kitchen appliances do not work - they turn out to be more of a headache than a convenience. This SD-RD250 is the quite possibly the most straightforward appliance we own in our kitchen. It's a breadmaker that makes delicious, hot bread. From presentation to execution, Panasonic nailed it with this one. The aesthetics, the functionality and the ease of this product make this a winner for me. Definitely and highly recommend!

Los Angelino
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as the SD255
12/14/2011

Customer review by breadedcod

3.0 stars 12/14/2011 by breadedcod
by breadedcod

We had to leave a 240V Panasonic SD255 behind in Europe when we moved continents and hoped to pick up a new machine of similar specs here. This particular model is roughly analogous to the SD255, but has a smaller program range to it for baking. It also has the *supremely* annoying habit of dropping open the nut dispenser on *every* program. What this means is that heat escapes out of the oven via the open flap, ultimately leading to an unevenly cooked loaf. Quite why Panasonic would need to have such a marked difference in the machines operations is a mystery to me. Yes the flour types are different on the N American market (although not that much), however this still doesn't explain such an inane engineering choice.

breadedcod
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful Results Every Time
6/2/2013

Customer review by Minute Made Mama

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Minute Made Mama
by Minute Made Mama

After many failed attempts at baking bread in the oven, my husband and I were extremely excited to receive the Panasonic Automatic Breadmaker. The machine, though a bit bulky, does fit nicely onto our countertop. I'm sure it has to be a bit bigger to accommodate the extra large loaf which is an excellent option for larger families. My husband was thrilled with how easy the machine was to operate. He put in the ingredients and set the timer. We woke up to the delightful smell of cinnamon raisin bread. Better still, the raisin and nut dispenser had worked! There were raisins distributed through each slice! We also liked that we were able to choose whether the bread had a light or dark crust. The SD-RD250 is quite versatile as it makes dough and cakes as well (and apparently it even bakes a lasagna!). So far we've only made the white bread, milk bread, an pizza dough, but we are confident that the lasagna will turn out well this week. We're not really bakers in this house so we were relieved that the manual came with easy to read instructions, recipes, and measurements. They even sent utensils to measure some of the less common quantities. I would recommend having a scale on hand for accuracy. With this machine, if you have your recipe and measurements down, you'll get a gorgeous, aromatic, springy loaf of bread every single time.

Minute Made Mama
Sacramento, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
make your own
3/24/2015

Customer review by '72 Buckeye

5.0 stars 3/24/2015 by '72 Buckeye
by '72 Buckeye

we bought this as a mutual gift for the holidays and have had it for three months now. the bread is excellent and as long as you follow the directions closely, it comes out perfect. we looked at other bread makers and decided on this one based on the reviews. after 90 days of use, i'm glad we picked it.

'72 Buckeye
Saint Marys, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun to use!
3/24/2015

Customer review by Phil

5.0 stars 3/24/2015 by Phil
by Phil

Me and my family enjoy the smell of fresh bread in the morning and the timer delay function allows us to wake up the the wonderful aroma!

Phil
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy with results
10/21/2013

Customer review by Neogranny

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Neogranny
by Neogranny

Pros: It's much quieter than my previous breadmaker. I am very pleased with the texture and even consistency throughout the loaves, especially after I tried bread flour instead of regular flour. I also appreciate how easily the loaf slides out of the pan when finished. Cons: Sometimes flour stays in the corners of the pan when mixing, but I have good results if I manually scrape the corners with a rubber spatula while it's resting during the initial mixing. I wish there were more recipes, especially whole wheat.

Neogranny
Chambersburg, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just to have old Panasonic Breadmaker for 10 years
12/29/2014

Customer review by Peter

3.0 stars 12/29/2014 by Peter
by Peter

but decided to go with a newer model since the pan on old one after 10 years was start chipping. got this model..one year later after warranty expired of course, KNEADING BLADE coating come off! Yes I do bread weekly, but I did that on old machine for 10 years as well. Quality is not the same as old one fr sure.

Peter
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? No
One of the best Kitchen Machines that I owe
6/12/2013

Customer review by Inna5683

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by Inna5683
by Inna5683

I never knew that owning the Bread Machine can be such an exciting experience. With my new bread machine I started using yeast in my kitchen again and this machine is doing all the kneading, rising, more kneading and more rising. My previous laborious and hand kneading bread baking experiments were a failure until I started using this machine. I just put all dry ingridients in, set options, time and come back to the most tasteful and best looking bread that I and my family ever eaten. I made my first white bread the moment my machine was delivered. By selecting Bake Rapid option the bread was ready within 2 hours (including putting all ingridients into a baking pan). My family devoured all of the bread the moment it cooled down. In the days after, I made rye bread, milk bread and even made dough for home made bagels which were a hit with my three men. I also made a white milk bread and added dry cranberries, raisins and walnuts - that was the most delishious bread that I ate with dry fruits. The taste reminded me of some bread rolls that my family ate in some fancy rastaurants in Manhattan. There are many more positive thinkgs I can say about this machine, but I would just make one point - with this machine I stopped buying store baked breads. When my boys see Bread Machine on the counter they are counting mintues until the bread is ready. I am in love with my Bread Machine. Its just wonderlful to make bread without putting any hard labored effort into it and get great results in return!

Inna5683
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes tasty bread and very fun to use!
6/17/2013

Customer review by grlantern42

4.0 stars 6/17/2013 by grlantern42
by grlantern42

I've never used a breadmaker before but this was very very easy to get the hang of. My first attempt WAS a bad one but it was just me misunderstanding the directions. Luckily, my second loaf was extremely tasty! The instructions were easy to use, the measuring cups (INCLUDED!) are of high quality, and the thing just WORKS! Now I'm making fresh bread every week and my family is loving it!

grlantern42
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed
11/25/2014

Customer review by MJ

4.0 stars 11/25/2014 by MJ
by MJ

In thepast 6 months I have been having some health problems. I have always wanted a bread machine. This machine does everything for me. It's wonderful. Thank You.

MJ
Corbin, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews