Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

199 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

199 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
39
1-20 of 186 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
Love both the litter and Wal-Mart Intetnet
5/9/2012

Customer review by windycheryl

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by windycheryl
by windycheryl

When my Breeze Litter System became to expensive for 12 cats, I went searching for an easy to use cheap litter. I was using a rather difficult, but very cheap litter when my sister found a $2 off coupon for Arm and Hammer. It is amazing. I have tried all the different types of Arm and Hammer Litter. My favorite is the MultiCat. It smells wonderful. All types clump quickly, control the smell and makes cleaning the litter box so quick and easy. We don't always have Arm and Hammer litter at our local Wal-Mart so I was delighted to learn I could order it online. And Wal-Mart shipped it free. I am homebound in a wheelchair so I use Wal-Mart internet a lot. Everything I order arrives quickly and is usually free shipping. If the shipping is not free, itis rarely more than $3. Imagine 144 pounds of litter delivered free. Where else could I find that. I love Wal-Mart internet. It gives me my shopping fix without leaving home.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
windycheryl
Southwest Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Arm & Hammer Double Duty Advanced Odor cat litter
10/12/2013

Customer review by chanceyanne

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by chanceyanne
by chanceyanne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Two words describe it all ... THE BEST !! I have tried others and nothing can compare to this product. I am very fastidious about keeping my cat's litter box clean throughout the day so there are no odors and there isn't thanks to this product. However, when I went into the hospital for major surgery for 4 days, my boyfriend was suppose to clean it twice a day when he came to feed her. Turns out when he came, he did not clean her litter box, consequently, I came home from the hospital to a pretty dirty litter box and STILL there was no odor in my apartment or even in the room where the box is. I'll be in that room at my computer when she might decide to go potty and there is still no feces smell. This litter instantly masks the odor, hence, I would never be without Arm & Hammer Double Duty. My kitty deserves the best and she gets it and I am also a winner in this scenario. It's not dusty, it clumps very nicely nor does it stick to her paws so there's no tracking it on the floors. Perfect product all the way! I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chanceyanne
Wakefield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
some good, some not so good
10/24/2013

Customer review by Sabrefan61

3.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Sabrefan61
by Sabrefan61

I tried this cat litter in hopes that it lived up to the advertised claims of "99% dust free", "low tracking", "rock-solid clumps" and eliminates both types of odor. The first two are accurate, there really is almost NO DUST :#! I also noticed much less tracking than the brand I was using #Fresh Step#, I keep the litter box in the basement but I still get litter granules upstairs, just not as much as the other litter. What I'm disappointed in is not only does the litter NOT stay clumped #for liquid waste: when you scoop it the clump breaks apart#, the odor control is awful for solid waste. I have 3 kitties who use one large litter box and I'm diligent in cleaning the litter at least twice a day. When one of them poops you can smell it thru the whole house #Fresh Step was better in this regard & in liquid waste staying clumped#. I won't buy this litter again. I'm going to try Dr. Elsey's cat litter & see if that's a better fit, it does have great reviews :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sabrefan61
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Emits horrible chemical smell
6/15/2014

Customer review by Lafayette58

1.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Lafayette58
by Lafayette58

I bought a 37 lb box of Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter. For the past couple of days there has been an overwhelming chemical smell in my house. At first, I couldn't figure out where it was coming from as I hadn't done any kind of cleaning recently. I went from room to room trying to find the source, only to discover it was coming from the new cat litter I purchased. I had to dump the cat litter out and get rid of the entire box of new cat litter in order to get rid of the smell. I only bought it because Walmart quit carrying my preferred cat litter, plus they had the product in the wrong place, so I thought it was much less expensive than it turned out to be. I paid $14.99 for that box and it was like throwing it down the drain. I don't have this kind of money to waste. I am hoping to get my money refunded somehow, but I can find no way to email Arm and Hammer from their website. I will never buy this cat litter again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lafayette58
Would recommend to a friend? No
used to be better
7/21/2016

Customer review by Wilykit

3.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Wilykit
by Wilykit

We have been using this litter for the past 3 years and over the last 6 months something in the formula has changed. The grains got larger and the clumping ability diminished. As we scoop, the urine clump falls apart and leaves a lot behind that cannot be scooped out, which in turn makes the box smell. We have loved this product but feel it has gotten to such a poor quality that we are going to try something different.

Wilykit
New York, NY, United States
Gender:Female
Double Duty...I'll say!
5/15/2014

Customer review by NinaSky2

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by NinaSky2
by NinaSky2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is a winner. I don't like to smell odors of any kind. I buy the auto air freshener units and get deodorized trash can liners...I use the most effective and fragrant items on the market. When I first heard about this product, I didn't expect much. But when I finally got it home and used it, my worries were over. I can't smell anything but a sweet fragrance. Not only does the cat stepping on it release a fresh odor, but when I clean up the potty, it does the same thing. As for clumping, without fail, it clumps immediately and it saves money on buying and buying and just buying so much kitty litter. I've bought other brands and they can't compare. They don't really clump and they don't fight odor at all. As soon as you try to clean up, you can smell the odor...it just doesn't work as well as Arm & Hammer. It has "SUPERIOR" odor control. You've got to get it. Oh, and by the way, I've gone to grocery stores to buy it and even to popular pet stores and the prices there are ridiculous. Here at Walmart, you get the biggest and best value for your money. I'd highly recommend this product and I'll be placing another order today!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NinaSky2
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great with 2 cats
5/4/2012

Customer review by Denver27

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by Denver27
by Denver27

We have 2 cats that were using the cheapest litter we could find. Using cheap non-clumping litter was a mistake. We switched to Arm & Hammer brand and are thrilled with it. You *do* need to attend to the litter box daily or twice daily to remove / scoop out the rock hard clumps, otherwise after multiple uses the surface of the entire box can get hard and the cats don't want to use the box. Great stuff. The fragrance of the litter is nice but maybe a bit too fragrant. Caution: don't put a lot of litter in the box to start with ... add more litter periodically as necessary (after scooping out the clumps). One box might be serviceable for 30 days before dumping it all and starting over. Scoop out the box often to keep you kitty happy~

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Denver27
Denver, CO
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
worse litter ever
7/8/2016

Customer review by mari1983

1.0 stars 7/8/2016 by mari1983
by mari1983

i just bought this litter about a 1 week ago and never again will i be purchasing it my house smells like Ammonia even after 2 days of having it, let me tell you we clean our litter everyday I rather Pay more For Fresh step best litter ever that never smells. Arm and Hammer No good.

mari1983
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The WORST!
7/3/2016

Customer review by Rcamp

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Rcamp
by Rcamp

We purchased this cat ;litter a few days ago. I have two 3mo. old kittens. After one day the smell was bad. So , I immediately scooped it and thought I would give it some time, maybe the kittens just used it. It only got worse. After two days my litter box had to be emptied for us to be able to be in the same room. I refilled it. By the next morning it smelled so bad that it needed to be changed again! I will never buy this again!

Rcamp
Kingsville, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good Product/Vastly Improved Packaging!
6/20/2016

Customer review by Ellen47

4.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Ellen47
by Ellen47

I have been using the Double Duty cat litter for our four cats for years. The product has always performed just as the package promises. My only gripe has been the packaging! Hauling the 40 pound box has always been difficult with the one tiny little handle. Defeating the glue used to keep the box sealed also was a battle. I definitely approve of the new box I bought. It has two handles built in. Opening the box was much easier. Discovering that there are two smaller boxes inside was a treat. A lot of cardboard is used to do this but handling a 21 pound box is much easier than the jumbo 40 pound box. Thanks for the improvement.

Ellen47
Stephentown, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
New formula??
7/5/2016

Customer review by sc11

2.0 stars 7/5/2016 by sc11
by sc11

This has been my favorite litter for a long time but suddenly seems different the last few times I purchased. Bigger/darker granules and much less odor protection. 1 cat/ I scoop daily and all of a sudden the box smells awful, when in the past the smell has been barely noticeable. Anyone else notice the same issue?

sc11
Baltimore, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Exactly what I need.
7/9/2016

Customer review by vee 38

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by vee 38
by vee 38

All their products are worth it and it is easy to scoop and the scent is long lasting.

vee 38
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Works great!
6/26/2016

Customer review by Tbeau

4.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Tbeau
by Tbeau

It seems to help keep the odor under control without smelling obnoxious

Tbeau
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Only litter I use
6/17/2016

Customer review by Mary6416

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Mary6416
by Mary6416

I used this when my previous cat became old and ill. He was indoor/outdoor and very picky with litter and this was the only product he would come near. I just got a new kitten and started him on this litter as well and he does great with it. I like that it's natural enough to interest the cats but hides odors without any overwhelming scent, as I have extremely sensitive sinuses.

Mary6416
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
What changed?
6/12/2016

Customer review by NicM

1.0 stars 6/12/2016 by NicM
by NicM

Recently have noticed a change in your product & not a good one. I have been using double duty cat litter for years. Recently it is flaky & clogs up the scoop and all the urine circles go straight to the bottom of the pan. So now I spend even more time doing something no one likes. Not sure why it has changed, but I will not be purchasing again.

NicM
Elmira, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best Litter Evar
10/26/2012

Customer review by loriann14

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by loriann14
by loriann14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Four Cats Two litter boxes No smell... actually, a fragrant odor... Best.Litter.Ever. OH and scoops beautifully - doesn't stick to sides or bottom!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loriann14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mud
6/2/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I have an automatic litter box that calls for "premium clumping litter" which according to the packaging, this is supposed to be. Well, it's not. It doesn't clump solidly. It doesn't contain odor. I have one cat. She doesn't urrinate that often, but somehow this litter has turned to mud and it's basically one large clump after 3 days (remember, automatic box, supposed to be emptied once a week).

Disappointed
Southern US
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Nasty smell!!
7/18/2012

Customer review by zuzupetals81

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by zuzupetals81
by zuzupetals81

I decided to try this cat litter since I use baking soda for many cleaning purposes. I was sadly surprised to find that the smell of the litter is offensive BEFORE the cat uses her litter box. Nevermind how badly it permeates the room after she goes. It doesn't clump very well either. I can't even finish the container because I can't handle how awful it smells.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zuzupetals81
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it really works
5/17/2016

Customer review by jannez

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by jannez
by jannez

I have tried many different cat litters and have found that this double duty litter does the job. it clumps well and there is no odor from feces or urine. great product

jannez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The Best!
1/12/2016

Customer review by Hotrock

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Hotrock
by Hotrock

We have 3 cats (2 of which are very large). This litter controls both urine and feces odor the best of any litter that we have found, and I think we've tried about all of them, at least the name brands. Due to the number and size of our cats, we use under the bed storage containers as the litter boxes. Arm and Hammer Double Duty Litter is also a great value ( we use approximately 15 pounds of litter in each box). In addition, I have asthma, and several of the litters effected my breathing, either with the dust content or strong scent.....this was noticed when I clean the litter boxes twice daily. As long as this product is manufactured, we will purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hotrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews