Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

46 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

46 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 38 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Dude, I like this grill.
11/27/2007

Customer review by SplinterPDC

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by SplinterPDC
by SplinterPDC

This is your basic 22 in kettle with a lot of bells and whistles. If cost is a factor you can get the same culinary results on a cheaper model. If not this is a pretty good option to spend your money on to reap the flavor of charcoal with as little hassle possible. Assembly is pretty easy, took me an hour including unpacking. The propane fired charcoal ignition system is very nice. 7-10 min burn to light the charcoal and another 10-15 min for the coals to develop and you are ready to grill. Yes it is not as easy as propane but the payoff is in the added flavor charcoal brings to the party. You could use a chimney to achieve the same results, but it’s pretty nice to open the gas hit the ignition button and walk away in the rain and snow. The ash collector is well sealed and has good capacity so you can grill on your deck for hours even in windy conditions without the worry of burning little holes in the finish. Another great feature is the attached work surface. It’s a solid and stable piece of heat resistant plastic, something you would expect to be Weber quality. It is very smooth so it’s easy to clean if contaminated. The cooking grate is hinged on both sides so you can add charcoal during cooking with out removing the food from the grill; this is great for smoking large pieces of meat. The charcoal hopper is nice to help try to contain your grilling operation to one place, but when full it really inhibits this grills mobility with the added weight on substandard wheels. The thermometer in the dome a nice feature and is fairly accurate. There is a top and bottom air vent for temperature control. They are well insulated for easy adjustment. The bottom one can be tricky as there are no markings to indicate a true open and close of the vent. I took a sharpie to mark out the exact location of a full close and open position. This kettle holds high heat like a champion, so you can grill and sear to your heart’s content. Holding the temperature stable at lower temperatures is more of a challenge, so smoking is a bit tricky. I did a 12 lb turkey for thanksgiving at 220 F no problem, but it was warmer out with no wind. If you want tight low and slow temperature control for smoking, go for something ceramic like a green egg or a true smoker. One last advantage is that this grill is sealed pretty well. When you are done cooking you can close both vents and put the remaining charcoal out for use in the future. I would buy this grill again, but I will not have to because it’s a Weber and will last forever. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SplinterPDC
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A wonderful replacemen
4/10/2008

Customer review by labradd

5.0 stars 4/10/2008 by labradd
by labradd

No let down here this is wonderful replacement for a fifteen plus year old weber kettle grill that is still in good shape.This grill was a recommendation from a co-worker and his rave review of this grill was no let down.The quality of this product is great.The ease of lighting the charcoal is superb.I have no regrets,Looking forward to many years of grilling.There is a different taste to the food grilled on this grill,I assume maybe it could be not having to use lighter fluid.I highly recommend this product to those who have to have charcoal.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
labradd
Mooreville Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
New Grill On The Block!
7/7/2009

Customer review by MadeInTsina

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by MadeInTsina
by MadeInTsina

I decided to get the Performer and really impressed on how easy it was to assemble. It solidly made! Love the work counter and charcoal storage! Charcoal was very fast to heat up (10 - 15 minutes), it's like owning a gas grill but cooking with charcoal. Fine product. I highly recommend this grill for those who love to cook on charcoal and don't have the patience to wait for charcoal to heat up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadeInTsina
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worth Every Penny
4/5/2009

Customer review by Wisneaky

5.0 stars 4/5/2009 by Wisneaky
by Wisneaky

This grill does cost more than other grills, but worth every penny. I had it shipped Site to Store which doesn't take long to get. I thought the box would be real big, but was not. I was able to fit it into my car with no problems. It took me about a half hour to assemble the whole grill. It takes about 10 minutes to get the grill nice and hot. Grills perfectly even. The work/prep surface is a nice addition for lots of room. I have cooked chicken, burgers, and steak and they all turn out great. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good grill that will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wisneaky
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great grill!
4/28/2009

Customer review by Jojo58

5.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Jojo58
by Jojo58

It took me about 45 minutes to put the grill together.Very easy to do. Son and I could not believe how well it lit and how evenly it cooked. This is not like any other charcoal grill that you have ever used. Highly recommend this grill and 2 of the adult children asked me to remember this grill on their birthday.....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jojo58
Georgetown,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The taste of charcoal with the ease of propane
7/11/2009

Customer review by fordfury

5.0 stars 7/11/2009 by fordfury
by fordfury

I really love my grill, the built in gas ignition takes the hassle out of lighting the charcoal. I have been using a gas grill for the past 10 years and I really missed that charcoal taste. I had switched to gas years ago after tiring of the hassle of lighting the charcoal and scooping out the messy ash afterward. This grill is easy to light just turn on the gas press the ignitor and after about five minutes your coals are evenly lit and you shut off the gas. It's about another 15 to 20 min before the coals work up to temp but that's just enough time to go and get your meat ready. Unlike gas it cooks very evenly, the vents work (and seal) very well which allows very good temperature control and the ability to snuff the coals out quickly after you're done cooking which allows you to reuse the charcoal again the next time you cook. Clean up afterward is a lot easier with the quick release ash pot that comes off easily, you just dump it and your done. I have to say I'm very happy with what Weber did with this grill and there are so many accessories available such as a smoker and a rotisserie, I'll never go back to gas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fordfury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
read instructions
3/11/2009

Customer review by welden

5.0 stars 3/11/2009 by welden
by welden

I assembled wrong with the bottom shelf, I thought the curves and all in shelf was clearance for axle but it was for bbq briquets, it plainly shows which end to put it too, so just read and follow.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
welden
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sweet !!!!!!!!
2/8/2009

Customer review by totalsportsnut

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by totalsportsnut
by totalsportsnut

I just went to work for Kingsford Birquets in Springfield OR. It is a given that i had to put the gas grill aside and go with birquets. The company alows us all the birquets we need. I purchased the Weber Performer the day before the Super Bowl and haven't looked back since. I have done hambergers, chuck eye steaks and a 6 lb prime rib on it so far. I can't believe how much better the flavor is when cooking with birquets. The Performers gas ignite is an awesome feature, as well is the easy clean ash system and built in thermometer. I also love how they built the holder for the top of the kettle right on the base so you don't have to sit the lid down while checking your food.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
totalsportsnut
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great purchase
1/6/2009

Customer review by MultiTaskingMomma

4.0 stars 1/6/2009 by MultiTaskingMomma
by MultiTaskingMomma

Very glad I purchased this grill! It makes charcoal grilling so much faster. It's a bit pricey, but saves so much time. Plus, my husband is actually offering to cook dinner...need I say more ladies?! It's a Weber, so I expect it to last quite a while. All you need to get it fired up is a small propane bottle and some charcoal. That's it! We grill year round, so this is the best bet for us in the winter months. And the results are fantastic. Quick, efficient and delicious meals - no nasty after taste from lighter fluid - just chargrilled goodness!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MultiTaskingMomma
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
8/19/2009

Customer review by RaeAnn82

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by RaeAnn82
by RaeAnn82

I bought this grill for my husband for his birthday. He loved it! Small amount of time spent on assembly. Very soild and sturdy after assembled. Easy to use! He has grilled on it almost every night since recieving it. The small gas tanks are cheap and we still are on the first tank after using the grill for 3 weeks. Do hesitate to buy this grill!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RaeAnn82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Igni
7/5/2009

Customer review by WannaBeDoorGreeter

2.0 stars 7/5/2009 by WannaBeDoorGreeter
by WannaBeDoorGreeter

Way too many pieces, should have been more assembled!

Was this review helpful? (2) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WannaBeDoorGreeter
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You can't beat a Weber
9/29/2007

Customer review by Redfox58

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by Redfox58
by Redfox58

For people who love the flavor you can only achieve with a charcoal grill you will love this one. The gas ignition system makes charcoal grilling so easy. This grill is a must have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redfox58
Garrett, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WEBER PERFORMER
8/5/2008

Customer review by Galvestonian

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by Galvestonian
by Galvestonian

Nobody else makes chacoal grills like WEBER... This Grill is very well built and balanced. Using it now again for our hurricane party. ( Tropical storm, expected to become a low grade hurricane "EDOUARD" )

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Galvestonian
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Grill
10/13/2008

Customer review by srjayhawk

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by srjayhawk
by srjayhawk

This Weber makes it all so easy from starting the charcoal, without smelly lighter fluid, to emptying the ashes. I t works great! It is probably overpriced somewhat, but it is worth it for the ease of use!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srjayhawk
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Investment!
4/18/2009

Customer review by msaimee

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by msaimee
by msaimee

I have had my weber performer now for 2 yrs. It replaced a 16 yr oldie but goody weber that was still in great condition. If you love to grille with charcoal this is the way to go. Coals are ignited with the push of a button, they are ready in 10-15 minutes, it's extremely easy to clean, no more lifting grille to pour in trash. This last week end was Easter and I slow cooked a leg of lamb, so easy and extremely tasty. The only drawback to it. is that I wish I had two! Buy it you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msaimee
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Weber is the best
12/28/2007

Customer review by gsmdave

5.0 stars 12/28/2007 by gsmdave
by gsmdave

Our family have owned Weber grills and products for as long as I can remember. This one is actually an upgrade to our traditional kettle grill. I orderd this as a christmas gift for my dad and Walmart came through as promised. Product was on time and in good shape all parts were present. As far as Weber, U just cant go wrong. Its the best charcoal grill on the market and this one has an ignition system that lites the charcoal for you. No More Liter Fluid... Weber hit it on the nose again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gsmdave
Ft Myers Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/21/2008

Customer review by pinkflamingonut

5.0 stars 8/21/2008 by pinkflamingonut
by pinkflamingonut

Had to have this grill. Not available in any of the major home stores. Got it at Walmart at a great price not to mention free ship to store... Fantastic.. The grill is also fantastic...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkflamingonut
Warrenton, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Great Grill!
7/2/2008

Customer review by GrillinRobb

5.0 stars 7/2/2008 by GrillinRobb
by GrillinRobb

I've had this grill for nearly two years now and it is wonderful. Weber really makes some quality products and this one is the best charcoal grill I've come across yet. It's a little expensive but is loaded with features. The covered charcoal storage is a great feature as is the ash catcher. The cart has room for storage below and a nice, durable working space up top. The coals light quickly and cleanly with the propane assist. My only advice to someone buying this grill is to get the propane adapter so the large tanks can be used, it'll pay for itself in no time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrillinRobb
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product, great price!
7/4/2009

Customer review by BandRocks

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by BandRocks
by BandRocks

A super nice grill. Easy to assemble. Built in thermometer. Can hardly wait for the chicken to be done!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BandRocks
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Easy Grilling!
7/5/2009

Customer review by CTYankee007

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by CTYankee007
by CTYankee007

This charcoal grill has it all - propane tank supplies gas to get charcoal started with an easy push of a button (no matches), large prep table, storage of charcoal underneath the grill, Weber design with easy ash disposal and good size surface area. High quality (strong cart). A bit heavy to move. Can hang 3 BBQ grill tools from hooks on side of table, keeping them in easy reach. Assembly directions were clear and easy. Price is lowest I could find, and free shipping to store saves more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTYankee007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews