Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-11 of 11 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

a good radio
7/9/2012

Customer review by sonyradioman

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by sonyradioman
by sonyradioman

my only disappointment was no program for automatic on/off for a period of hours, there is a program for minutes less than an hour, which is good for showering or bathroom time. battery life is approx. 60 hours for weatherband and fm, and approx 120 hours for am reception. overall a good product for the price. yes would recommend this to anyone as a shower radio, or just as a portable radio also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sonyradioman
central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best shower radio for the price by far.
6/17/2012

Customer review by dtmajor

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by dtmajor
by dtmajor

Best shower radio for the price by far. It's durable and gets very good reception in the shower. I listen to AM for news and weather and it really delivers good sound. One tip: set the presets beforehand it's a little difficult to program with soapy hands etc.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dtmajor
Port Jefferson, Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/13/2013

Customer review by kittennip

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by kittennip
by kittennip

Love this radio, and the weather band is very handy. I love Sony radios and I've been using them for many years. I'll always keep buying them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kittennip
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1st rate radio
5/4/2013

Customer review by JJrunner

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by JJrunner
by JJrunner

It's a well made am/fm radio with a good sized speaker along with 5 pre-sets for radio stations. It works great. Great reception. Very happy with it except it costs too much. However, this model says its "splash resistant" not water proof. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJrunner
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great radio. Sound very good.
6/12/2012

Customer review by nsez

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by nsez
by nsez

Service at the pick-up counter has improved since our last order. Thank you.ez

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nsez
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would buy again
11/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have had this radio for at least 15 years and it has been great. We are ordering another cause the top cover finally cracked.

An anonymous customer
Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get one now
12/16/2011

Customer review by bbarley

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by bbarley
by bbarley

I have had this for over two years and never had trouble it picks up stations very good.I have it in the shower and in the bath room no problems.I just bought two more for the house and to take Camping.

bbarley
Austin Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS LITTLE RADIO
8/6/2009

Customer review by terryboy

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by terryboy
by terryboy

I have had this radio going on SIX YEARS now. I was purchasing a speaker system and checked to see if Sony still offers it just to see. I bought it in my senior year of High School and was a little weary of spending $50 on a shower radio but I have clearly gotten my money's worth. I use it when in the shower, while cooking in the kitchen, have brought it to the beach a number of times, and everywhere in between. I would say I only have to change the batteries (3-C) every six months or so and I play it EVERY DAY. OTher than the seal on the top cracking bit by bit as the years go on, it still works, clear as a whistle...or a nice radio!

terryboy
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great radio!
1/31/2012

Customer review by CindyJ

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by CindyJ
by CindyJ

I ordered this radio to replace an oldie that finally quit! The features are terrific, especially the timer - will definitely save on batteries! Love having the station presets - now we can easily find all our favorites. Excellent reception on the bathroom windowsill - sound is amazing, too! I am so impressed, I'm ordering 2 more for my kids.

CindyJ
Rotonda West, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing to make it better - Bluetooth
1/9/2015

Customer review by smv927

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by smv927
by smv927

I really love this AM/FM/Weather Band Digital Tuner Shower Radio (ICF-S79W), I have 2 of them, however I hope Sony will be considering adding a Bluetooth functionality to update this. It would be perfect then and better than any shower radio on the market today.

smv927
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Radio, Disppointing design change
12/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this to replace a previous model that was broken. I was disappointed to find that the unit no longer has the local TV band. This is a big disappointment in a otherwise great unit,

An anonymous customer
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes