Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 stars
10
1-20 of 116 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Good for $30 plan
9/30/2013

Customer review by bridgesbunch

3.0 stars 9/30/2013 by bridgesbunch
by bridgesbunch

This is one of the best phones for the $30 plan. It is NOT a smart phone, does not have wifi & there are no apps. However, if you want the $30 plan on a Verizon tower & don't plan on using the web then this is your phone. I am a heavy texter & have other means for internet. Texting is limited to 160 characters & that is a bit annoying. It doesn't automatically go over to a 2nd message like my old Samsung phone did. I get great coverage and so far so good this phone does what I want it to do. Another option, if you like AT&T would be to consider the LG 840G, another NONsmart phone but it does have wifi (and also works on the $30 plan). I chose this simply for Verizon coverage. You can download Mini Opera if you must surf the web to be warned it is VERY slow. (just google mini opera). You can also make your own ring & message tones, just connect via usb (not included) and store them on your card. You then have to "copy" them from the card to the phone, even tho your card is already in your phone. Confused yet? I also recommend a "case" and screen protector which can be found by going on ebay and typing in 511C phone case. Very cheap. Again, this does what I need it to do. Make calls and text with a qwerty keyboard. Would I recommend it?Only if you don't want a smart phone and are happy with the $30 plan. All of the smart phones require the $45 plan. The touch screen is nice and seems to work well. The camera takes decent pics but operates in landscape mode only. Easily a 3 star phone because it is just average. Again, if you want AT&T coverage and still want a decent phone on the $30 plan consider the LG 840G, my daughter has that one and loves it but it too is a pretty basic phone. Was this worth 99 bucks? Not really, maybe 50. But Verizon peace of mind is worth it I guess. Eventually will break down and buy a smart phone but holding out for a few more years. I suggest buying a service plan too in case you break your phone. See images.

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bridgesbunch
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent phone with a couple annoying issues
1/10/2013

Customer review by Kybz

3.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Kybz
by Kybz

This is a decent phone - uses Verizon towers and has the touch screen and QUERTY keyboard. Decent web browsing (although the screen is small). I have two huge gripes with the phone, though: there are only a certain number of characters you can use when texting. When you run out, it doesn't start a second screen to continue the text; it just tells you you can't use anymore characters - you have to keep your text within that number of characters, or send the first text then start a separate text to continue. Also, the screen lock is incredibly annoying...you can lock the keyboard/screen, but to unlock it, you just have to touch the lock button on the screen...no sliding or entering a password. It is incredibly sensitive - I have accidentally pressed the unlock button numerous times just by putting the phone in my purse or pocket, and I have "butt-dialed" many, many people. It is embarassing. For the price (I paid almost $200), I would expect more.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kybz
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG 511C Straight Talk phone; Great phone for price
1/10/2013

Customer review by NewTexter

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by NewTexter
by NewTexter

I had a Motorola flip phone for years and was kind of afraid to upgrade to a touch screen. So I picked the LG 511C that is a touch screen and a slide out keyboard. I've only had it for a few days and just had to write a review. I'm so happy with this phone and being able to text, I wished I had upgraded years ago. I'm still figuring out all the features but was able to make calls and send texts the day I got the phone. I was able to keep my old cell number which is why I hesitated going from a two year contracted plan to pay as you go (ST). I've had that number for 15 years back when cell phones were huge and in a bag. I now pay $45 a month and enjoy unlimited talk, text and data with Straight Talk, I used to only get 450 anytime talk minutes, no texting, no data. I love this phone its easy to use yet has all the features the more expensive phones have. I checked my e-mail, face book it was fast and never missed a page. I wished my eyes were better, a 3" screen is hard to read at my age but I'll make due. I love this phone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewTexter
Montpeilier, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
2/28/2012

Customer review by Qts379

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Qts379
by Qts379

I ordered this phone site to store because the store didn't sell it. The woman at the desk insisted that phone will NOT work in our area and I would be returning it within 24 hours! I should go back just to let her know - it does work, and it works wonderfully! I love this phone! It's not a smart phone and it's not your standard phone either, it's just what I need! I love it, and the camera takes GREAT pictures for a phone camera! The internet works well, calls are never dropped, and the ringing volume goes much higher than the Samsung I had previously. The alarm only option on the ringer volume is also a great thing!!! I love this phone! And for the people who complain that it doesn't download email to your phone, that's because it's not a smart phone! Email works just as well though, you can read and reply, and open attachments! Love this phone!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qts379
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
1/22/2012

Customer review by tonize

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by tonize
by tonize

This is the best of Straight Talk's phones that run on Verizon towers. The phone has Java and apps can be installed on it. ALSO you dont have to use the phone's native browser to web browse. I use Opera Mini on mine. It also has a games store under the apps section where you can purchase games for it. While it may not have to where e-mails can be directly sent to your phone, when you load the browser, it DOES have a button to touch that will bring you directly to a selection menu to choose from various e-mail clients. Web can be used with the phone slid open or with the phone closed. If the font writing is too small, you can magnify it to your liking. It is not fair to compare it to a smart phone because it is not a smart phone. I prefer it to ANY smart phone Straight Talk has though.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonize
Dothan AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/4/2012

Customer review by triphazzard

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by triphazzard
by triphazzard

I am switching from Verizon to Straight Talk. Received a straight talk phone for Xmas, but did not have service at my house. Was looking for a replacement... Found the LG 511C. Have had it for 1 day and LOVE IT. It is not as fancy as the Android, but it is pretty nice. Am planning on getting this for my husband, too! Love the fact that it has the QW---Keyboard! Has a touchscreen! Have loaded links to my email, ebay, the weather! Have yet to load an music on...but will be soon! Can use a Micro SD card for more storage space!! Was really easy to activate and get started. I am truly in love with this phone. And the time of my purchase there was only 1 review, it had only 1 star. I was a little scared but am TRULY in love with this phone!!

Was this review helpful? (157) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triphazzard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice 3" Screen
9/19/2013

Customer review by MAFT

4.0 stars 9/19/2013 by MAFT
by MAFT

The reason I purchased this is for a screen size large enough to view photos and the Qwerty keyboard. I can see my photos quite well as they are no longer postage stamp size! No need for the $45 card either, although you can use that one if you need data in those amounts. So far, as I figure out the different features, I am very happy with it. The sound from the speaker is a bit raspy and there are absolutely no choices in ringtones other than junky sounds and beeps etc. So, you might want to buy a couple of ringtones you like. Straight Talk offers a good selection. The keyboard is good size and very smooth so you can slide from key to key. You will need to go to the LG site if you want a decent manual as the one on the Straight Talk site is limited. Also, the case is not so slick around the edges that you cannot hold onto it. I will buy a case anyway though. It does take a standard USB connection for charging. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAFT
Saint George UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pricey, BUT over all savings makes it worth it!
1/17/2012

Customer review by LBAMOM

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by LBAMOM
by LBAMOM

I wanted to wait before letting a review to give a fair review. So far I am very happy with the phone. It uses VERIZON TOWERS and I needed that. The screen is colorful and the buttons on the touch screen are large and work great, the Qwerty slide is a plus for texting. I had the LgNv2 and this Lg511c has done all I need it to and more. BONUS is the net, which I didn't have before, and surfing speed seems fine to me. I am ordering one for my husband today, we will be saving $540 a year leaving Contract Phones, and the savings more than pays for the new phones. I would recommend getting the accidental protection plan from walmart at $40 for a peace of mind. Also my brother is a ST user and had the R451c the past 2yrs. He really likes my Lg511c and is going to be getting one soon too, and I think that says a lot. YES, we all agree it is over priced because it's the same basic phone as the Lg Rumor Touch at about $60, but I believe the cost is from Verizon not ST, because its their towers ST is using. But if you need VERIZON as we do, the over all savings makes it worth it in the end, just do the math. HOPEFULLY StraightTalk will get smart phones that work on the verizon towers in the near future, but for now ST smartphones are only AT&T or Sprint and we just don't have good service in our area with them as of yet.

Was this review helpful? (132) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBAMOM
Central, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
1/3/2012

Customer review by Snickett

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Snickett
by Snickett

I got this phone for christmas so i havent had it for long but so far this phone has been great! it works as well as a verizon phone!!!! i have had no trouble with the battery it stays charged for about three days even with me using the phone often! the phone works great for checking your email or going onto facebook and adding a status or commenting on other friends status'. i look at pictures and search on the web for info or other fun things! this isnt a i phone or a high end phone but it sure does get the job done!!!

Was this review helpful? (121) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snickett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/1/2012

Customer review by clodfairy

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by clodfairy
by clodfairy

This phone has proven to be a great choice. It is not at the top of the phone chain but does do some of the things the real sophisticated ones do. I was mostly concerned about volume which I had with others, not a problem. The Querty board is good,sometimes a little awkward,small keys. Cool that you can put on the face any options you want like; contacts, note pad, calendar and then just click on those to use instead of having to go through the menue each time. Every time I sit down with it I discover new options. The latest is that I can hand write a text; plain, in rainbow colors. Real fun. I love being able to keep notes on it and having a calendar cuts down on what I have to carry with me. So far a good decision. It works on Verizon

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clodfairy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST PHONE YET, NOT AN ANDROID BUT CLOSE TO IT
3/3/2012

Customer review by sabrina41

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by sabrina41
by sabrina41

WHEN I GOT THIS PHONE I WANTED A TOUCH SCREEN AND A BEST PHONE AND THIS IS IT. SOME OF MY HUSBAND FRIEND GOT AN ANDROID BECASUE OF IT NAME ANDROID AND WHAT THEY SUPPOSE TO DO. BUT I RATHER HAVE A BETTER PHONE THAT HAVE SERVICE ANYWHERE THEN TO HAVE A PHONE CAUSE OF IT NAME. THIS IS THE BEST PHONE FROM STRAIGHT TALK YET AND I HAVE HAD ALL OF THEM, THE ONE THAT HAVE VERZION SERVICE CAUSE I NEED SERVICE ANYWHERE I GO AND THIS DOES I HAVENT HAD ANY DROP CALL YET. THE PRICE IS KIND OF HIGH BUT ALL WAY GET THE INSURANCE CAUSE THAT HOW I UPGRADE ALL THE TIME AND IT EASY AND FAST.PAY THE EXTRA MONEY CAUSE IT WORST IT.NEVER NO WHEN U WILL NEED IT. THIS PHONE IS GREAT AND WORTH THE MONEY IN EVER WAY..NO REGRETS HERE.......

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sabrina41
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk LG 511c cellphone
1/3/2012

Customer review by seltaeb

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by seltaeb
by seltaeb

This phone is an improvement over my old Samsung phone. It has a bigger screen, more room for information in my contacts, downloads apps, it's easier to navigate, a faster internet connection, a louder ring. It's a good phone.

Was this review helpful? (234) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seltaeb
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Worth $199.
1/29/2012

Customer review by rebelbfly3

2.0 stars 1/29/2012 by rebelbfly3
by rebelbfly3

To start off, this phone IS the best Verizon phone that Straight Talk has. If you don't know how to tell what phones are "Verizon Phones", you simply look for a "C" after the model name. For example, this LG 511C. If the phone ends with a G or says GSM anywhere on the box, it is NOT a Verizon phone and is more than likely provided by AT&T or T-Mobile. With that being said, I have no choice in my area but to get a phone with Verizon service, because all the others' reception is terrible. But in reality, this phone is not worth almost $200 and I feel like I seriously wasted my money. The touch screen works well, but the phone is very heavy and uncomfortable to hold to your ear. The QWERTY keyboard has very small keys and it is almost impossible to type out a text message without making errors, unless you type extremely slow, which almost defeats the purpose of having a keyboard in my opinion. And as for this phone being "app capable", there are no useful apps available for this phone that I have been able to find. No email apps. The Facebook for Every Phone app does not work on this phone. GetJar.com has no apps for this phone. So for $199 you really just get a basic mobile web browser, an itty bitty keyboard, and Verizon service. Great service yes, but this phone is just not worth the money. This phone should carry a pricetag of no more than $99.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebelbfly3
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone with signal everywhere in our area
1/18/2013

Customer review by dkachel

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by dkachel
by dkachel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great phone if you do not need data. My wife only does texting and voice and it is super for her. Tried doing some surfing via the built in browser and email and it does not work the best for that. From someone who manages a couple hundred phones at my place of employment, stick with either the Droid, iPhone or Windows 8 phone for data. Only other comment on this phone is that the touch screen is not quite as nice as what you would expect from an iPhone or comparable. It is very adequate and the screen size is great for texting. Just trying to set the expectations. For what we purchased it for, I would do it over again in a heart beat! You will probably have to call Straight Talk to activate this phone. Tried activating online for my wife's and the one we got for my mom and had to call for both as something does not work in the porting of numbers from Verizon. They have you manually type in a bunch of codes and within minutes you are up and running. As with most services, some of their support people are better than other. Once you are up an working it works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkachel
Lititz, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone
1/16/2012

Customer review by SilverBuckleRodeoQueen

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by SilverBuckleRodeoQueen
by SilverBuckleRodeoQueen

I got this phone for christmas and it works great. It takes amazing pictures and videos. Although I would like to put music on my cell phone and I haven't figured it out yet. Im more of a texter then a talker and the battery lasts me from 6am to like 7pm with using mobile web every 4 hours. I love this phone. You can adjust anything on it. You can even adjust how much you want it to vibrate.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilverBuckleRodeoQueen
Greenville,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Replaced our expensive land line.
8/7/2013

Customer review by Nomoretaxes

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Nomoretaxes
by Nomoretaxes

After researching and reading all reviews on Straight Talk we finally took the plunge and switched our cell phone. We have never been happier, works better than our Sprint service. We purchased this phone to replace our land line, so now this is my husbands phone and he loves it. It takes great pictures and with the larger screen you can view them better, now we just need to get a cord to transfer them to computer. We had no problem porting our old cell number or our land line number that we had had for 28 years. Also if we had any questions we have been able to get support via the phone or e-mail, no problems at all. I think all of the bad reviews are because of operator (customer) error. We are so happy with Straight Talk and tell everyone about it. It does seem too good to be true that we are saving so much money. Also we are on auto pay and that has gone off without a hitch also. As far as using the internet we have only just dabbled on that, don't think this phone will be used for that but in all fairness we haven't really done much with that. We just use the $30.00 1000 minutes and have never run out.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomoretaxes
Walla Walla, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/12/2012

Customer review by ZombieGirllovesgore

4.0 stars 2/12/2012 by ZombieGirllovesgore
by ZombieGirllovesgore

It wasn't holding a charge at all at first, and I'm not very technology savvy so my brother looked at for me. It didn't have the energy saver on it. If my brother didn't look at this phone for me, I wouldn't have known this at all, I would have had to continue to charge this phone several times at day. I couldn't figure out the problem, but thanks to him the problem was fixed quickly. Overall the phone meets expectations!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZombieGirllovesgore
Sterling, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Big Disappointment
12/22/2011

Customer review by Jeleki

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Jeleki
by Jeleki

I bought this phone on 12/03/2011 to replace my Nokia E71 phone. First thing that was a big let down was that it does not have email capabilities! You can access webmail such as yahoo or gmail, but if you want to receice your emails directly to the phone - Do not buy this product - it can't do it. The second issue that I have with this phone is the battery life. I find that I have to charge it every morning on my way to work and then when I get to my desk, I have to plug it in and let it charge. It seems to charge pretty quickly; however, it runs down just as quick. I left my office yesterday at 3:00 PM with a full battery, made about 5 phone calls that night and then went home and didn't use the phone all night. I got up this morning and the phone is completely dead! The charge didn't last a full 24 hours! Surfing the web is slow. If you are looking to get 3G or speeds that are equivalent - don't buy this phone. I got this phone because I wanted an upgrade from my E71 phone (which I really love but I have dropped it a few times and the screen is cracked slightly in the upper area). I feel that I spent $200.00 for a downgraded phone. I am returning this phone today and reactivating my E71 phone which still works and I would rather live with a cracked screen than this piece of junk anymore.

Was this review helpful? (143) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeleki
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/15/2012

Customer review by MawmawDA

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by MawmawDA
by MawmawDA

Switched from a contract phone to Straight Talk. Savings of approximately $65 to $75 per month. Purchased $45.00 unlimited service card but actually think the $30 card would provide me with plenty of service. Very pleased with the LG 511C phone as it works off Verizon towers which is great for my area. Phone very easy to setup and use. Internet access is much faster than my previous phone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MawmawDA
Central Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, but not worth the $$
1/14/2012

Customer review by Inkeye

3.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Inkeye
by Inkeye

After handling and using many Straight Talk phones, I have to say that this one felt sturdy. The sliding keypad was easy to use, the touchscreen and menu were user-friendly, and the Verizon service it provided was reliable. However, there are some cons: #1 this phone is near impossible to get apps to work #2 the camera is awkward to use, #3 couldn't really justify the price for what it actually did. I am going back to the r451c for now til I can either find a decent phone or Straight Talk offers more high-end options that actually compete with the big dogs. Of course, what I save a month offsets my disappointment with phone options.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Inkeye
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews