Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-17 of 17 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great specs and value but has its flaws.
11/25/2011

Customer review by DeoFavente

3.0 stars 11/25/2011 by DeoFavente
by DeoFavente

7/10 This phone has some great features such as the FM tuner, video capability and gravity sensor. It uses AT&T towers. After playing with it for a few hours here are some flaws I have noticed so far: 1. The screen could be more responsive. To unlock the phone sometimes you have to swipe the screen several times to get it to work. You cannot text quickly as there is lag. 2. The keys for texting aren't very big, so big thumbs will have difficulty texting. It seems faster to use only one hand with the included telescoping pen. 3. There are limited phone settings. For example, the only way to turn off sounds (Phone turning on/off, etc) is to put the entire phone in vibrate only. You might wake up your significant other while turning the phone on or off because of this. 4. FM tuner only works if you have head phones plugged in. I'm sure I will notice more flaws soon, but I'm still happy with the phone because of all the features. For $35 it's a steal, if it was more than $75 I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeoFavente
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
11/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased the Kingfisher on Black Friday. It's an amazing phone. Nice features, everything is amazing. A few cons: The touch screen is a bit hard to manage, The network coverage was very poor, I'm not sure what carrier it uses but I couldn't talk to anyone in the house, and to download apps, you have to have a memory card. Otherwise, a nice phone. Will be taking it back though.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
AMAZING Smartphone for the price!
11/26/2011

Customer review by JayJayx

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by JayJayx
by JayJayx

Purchased on black friday for only $35 and i am extremely satisfied with it. The keys on the touchscreen are a little small but easy to adjust to! Had no problems activating/transfering my number over, did it at straighttalk.com and it only took about 20 minutes until I was making my first call from the new phone.. All and all deff cant beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayJayx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/25/2011

Customer review by prodigy1

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by prodigy1
by prodigy1

I like the phone so far however there is one very annoying feature. The airtime information scrolls across the main display screen.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prodigy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it is ok , for a Temp, phone.
11/28/2011

Customer review by Jhawking

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Jhawking
by Jhawking

I was sooo, excited to stand in line for 3 hours and get one of the phones, for $35 on Black Friday.was looking forward to enjoying my first Touch Screen Phone. The volume on the phone is lacking. it seems to down load slowly. It looks good, but i will be looking to buy another phone in the near future. i am very disappointed in Wal-Mart for this one. i had another Straight talk Phone before this one, that was wonderful !

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhawking
Kansas City. MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
11/29/2011

Customer review by mpowell08

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by mpowell08
by mpowell08

I was lucky enough to find a stray one on Sunday. This is an awesome little phone. Not sure why some are saying the volume is too low, I keep mine on low & it's still loud. I do have the earpiece volume up high but I'm a little hard of hearing. Sometimes I do have to try a couple times to drag the unlock button but that's no big deal. I use the stylus that was included for texting & getting the hang of that was quick. Great phone for an awesome price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mpowell08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ok I guess for the price
11/29/2011

Customer review by mariemarie1978

3.0 stars 11/29/2011 by mariemarie1978
by mariemarie1978

I stood in line for over 6 hours to get this phone but was so disapointed. I got the phone because of thinking I could put apps etc on the phone only to realize that you can not do that with straight talk phones. It is just like any other phone in that sense. Yes it is touch screen even has a radio on it. However if you want to use the radio or listen to music you download on it you have to have head phones. Yes you can take videos with it however once you save them I have not been able to find out how to delete them, so the videos I took while messing with the phone when I first got it are just sitting on my phone taking up space. When you go to get online it is the same generic on line stuff that all the other straight talk phones have nothing special about it. Yes you can check your email on it however if you get more than a few emails a day I wouldnt recomend it since it can take forever to download more than just a few emails. The most annoying thing is that the service time you have remaining scrolls across the main screen all the time and there is no way to turn that feature off. So when you are on your main screen you constantly see that scrolling across the screen. Over all ok phone but really no different than the other phones. If it goes up above the $40 buck range dont waste your money just get basic phone cause really no different.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mariemarie1978
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
11/28/2011

Customer review by Cobalteagle

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Cobalteagle
by Cobalteagle

My husband and I have had stratight talk for almost two years now. We decided to upgrade our phones and thought these were a great deal (we stood at walmart for 4 hours to get them for black friday). I've been trying mine out for two days now. The sound quality on a call is ridiculous. I can barely hear on it. The ringtones are loud, which is a plus. It didn't take this long for me to figure out how to work my Ipod. I wouldn't suggest this phone to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cobalteagle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/3/2011

Customer review by Seyser

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Seyser
by Seyser

I bought this phone for my wife on the Blitz sale online. They flew off the shelf at the store. Ordered it Friday and got it on my front step Tuesday, I was amazed. The phone seems to be a good phone, takes a little bit to get used to it, learn the phone. The website says that there are some still in the stores in my area, about a half hour drive, Probably get one myself. The best part is the load ringers, All the Straight Talk phones if have used before haven't had this loud of ringer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seyser
AR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected!
11/29/2011

Customer review by BamaGirl4Real

2.0 stars 11/29/2011 by BamaGirl4Real
by BamaGirl4Real

I bought this phone on Black Friday for $35. I loved the big touch screen. The camera and video recorder are cool as well. However, it is not a good phone for texting. The screen is sensitive. But, the pen (which I didn't know was available until I read the reviews) helps a lot. The reception is not good either. Videos are not good quality but viewable. The volume levels are loud, which is a good thing for me. I'm considering taking it back. Maybe once I learn more, I will decide to keep it. I do agree with the other reviewer: if this phone was more than $70, I would definitely return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaGirl4Real
Sulligent, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love it
12/5/2011

Customer review by christi77

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by christi77
by christi77

i bought 3 of these on black Friday, one for me and one for each of my daughters. we love it, the texting buttons r small but if u turn it sideways it is alot easier. the stylus helps to when u r online. we r addicted to facebook so the app that we downloaded for it is awesome. much better than the other straight talk phones we have had. my girls wanted an mp3 player a camcorder and a phone this yr, this phone has all three and they r very very happy with it them all being in one and so am i cause i saved money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christi77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Motorola KingFisher
12/1/2011

Customer review by MillerTroubleX2

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by MillerTroubleX2
by MillerTroubleX2

My husband and I purchased two of these via the internet on Black Friday. Overall we are very pleased with them. Of course these are not I Phones but they are definitely well worth the $35.00 bargain. The camera is ok as well as the camcorder. This is our first touchscreen phone and again we are happy with the purchase. The volume is great, I have read a few reviews with complaints of this but ours is good. I actually think I have mine up too loud. Service is good also, as it was with our previous Straight Talk phone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MillerTroubleX2
Jonesborough, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by lovella

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by lovella
by lovella

I like this phone a lot. The only thing i dont like would it running off at&t towers and the texting on it. the texting im getting used to. the weird thing is is when im in my apt i get signal but when i pick it up the bars drop lol but i can still talk on the phone with 1 or sometimes no bars and everyone says they can hear me clear as day. no breaking up or anything. how weird is that? when im in town i get signal obviously. other than those 2 things i really love this phone. great phone for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovella
Crossville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Middle of the road.
11/28/2011

Customer review by jsnentwick

3.0 stars 11/28/2011 by jsnentwick
by jsnentwick

I got this phone on black friday for $35.00. For the price it was great. I think this phone regular retail should only be $50.00. It can be a pain in the butt. I have been using it since saturday morning. I let it chrage all the way but with me using the internet throughout the day it kills the batt by night. The sound quality is great and so is the loudness of the speakers. There is lag on the phone bad so texting is alot alot slower. I am glad it came with a stylus though. Camera leaves alot to be desired and the camcorder is ok. I downloaded a video from the internet and there is no where in the phone for it to be deleted so i am stuck with it. When i open a text the countdown stays on the screen for to long and it makes it annoying. This is a great touchscreen starter phone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsnentwick
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
How do u turn on speaker when using phone to talk?
12/4/2011

Customer review by Imgemini40

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Imgemini40
by Imgemini40

I purchased the Kingfisher on Black Friday, I like the overall function of the phone, but where is the button to turn on speaker phone? I would like to have all the functions off the screen when phone is not in use so i can enjoy my grandkids picture on the wallpaper instead of the radio function or the days i have left from my card. FYI* to turn off phone keypad lock go to: settings-security-auto keypad lock-turn off, that will take away the lock you move when you screen up phone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Imgemini40
Madison Heights, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone is good for the price BUT...!
12/3/2011

Customer review by rush2399

2.0 stars 12/3/2011 by rush2399
by rush2399

I was excited to have gotten this phone at such a low price (under $40), plus it is touch screen and all but you get what you pay for. Some nice features are that it is a touch-screen but you have to try to unlock phone by sliding your finger across the screen and it doesn't work sometimes. You are better off using the stylus that it comes with. Adding contacts to phone is a bother cause the icons are so small, you always have to hit the "back" button and re-enter a letter to spell things right. The calls are not that great. Not very clear. I can't always make out what people are saying on the other end of the call. Sounds echoe-y (not sure if thats a word). But I have to ask people to repeat themselves sometimes. I guess it runs off of AT&T. I get good reception at home but no reception at work and that's cuz I work in an open building at the city next to my home town. It looks like an expensive phone and really nice but not really worth it. Gonna return it and look for something else. I would have kept the phone IF the buttons on screen were a little bigger or had better sensitivity, the voice calls sounded better, and had better reception. I guess it is good for your young kids who just want a phone to show off to friends because it doesn't really have great quality. Sorry. Nice looks but looks are deceiving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rush2399
Edinburg, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Before Buying...
12/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I went and bought this for my daughter for Christmas (and one for myself). I tried to activate this phone and there is no service for my area. Why does Walmart sell phone in a store, but there is no coverage for this area. I am not happy with this. Next time, I'm dealing with Straight Talk directly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No