Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 79 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Good to keep kids away from guns, good deal.
11/15/2011

Customer review by GROGX

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by GROGX
by GROGX

I was shopping for a carry case for my latest gun purchase when I saw this item in the store for ~$150, so rather than buy yet another case, I bought this to store most of my guns in. While not heavy duty enough to be considered a “safe” it is a fairly rugged locker. Enough shelving is included to provide many storage options. I opted to install the divider with the top full width shelf and two more shelves on one side. This allowed me to put eight long guns ( mostly pellet rifles and a couple .22’s) on one side with shelves on the other for ammo, part, and accessories. I also had room under the shelves to put some more guns with folding stocks, also in front of the shelves I manage to fit a few more pellet rifles. The paint finish seems good, with the lettering and pin striping being acceptable but I do not think I would put it out in my living room. The barrel rests seem a little shallow to hold some guns securely upright. The lock/latch mechanism works smoothly, and two keys were provided. Assembly was straight forward, just pay close attention to the shelf orientation and do not tighten the hardware beyond hand tight until you have everything in place. As far as security, I would say this would keep young kids safely from your guns (if you hide the keys well enough), but if someone was determined to steal them, they could break into this locker fairly quickly. Price: If you get it for $150.00 or less, I’d say it’s a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GROGX
Cape Fear area NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, expectations surpassed.
1/11/2013

Customer review by BLSpur

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by BLSpur
by BLSpur

I've been shopping around for a gun cabinet (actual safes were out of my price range), and landed on this one. I wanted room to expand my gun collection, as well as plenty of space for ammo, holsters, range accessories, etc. I chose this cabinet, though a little bit bigger, for the extra storage. The special rests for scoped rifles work great. I've got 3 rifles on the back wall, 3 shotguns on the side wall, and 3 shelves up the other side. Stack On includes pre-cut foam padding for each shelf, as well as the bottom, which I really appreciated. The key and lock is a little heavier/more quality than I had expected out of a cheap cabinet. It took a little longer than expected to assemble all the shelves, but was not difficult. The gold etching on the outside was a nice touch. I was nervous that the steel would be banged up after reading reviews of other cabinets. I had mine shipped to a local store. It was ready for pick up in less than 24 hours, and it was in great condition. A couple hardly noticeable dings on an edge, but I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLSpur
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value to keep the kids out
8/20/2013

Customer review by BulldogHawkeye

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by BulldogHawkeye
by BulldogHawkeye

Stack-on must have improved the packaging, because there were no dents or damage despite the box being banged up. The corners are protected by foam and it is shipped in an oversized box. Fed Ex never contacted me to coordinate delivery, they just left it upside down next to my garage door. Luckily the box is very discrete, with only Stack-On and the model number appearing in smallish lettering, no pictures. The keys are loose in the box, but they were still present despite holes in the box. I put 1/4" plywood behind it instead of cutting out the baseboard and purchased 1/2" longer lag screws and added some slightly wider washers. I put the shelves in and installed by myself without any difficulty, I borrowed help to get it through the house because of its size. My only gripe is the key and locking mechanism seems to catch/stick sometimes, I haven't tried adding some lubricant to the mechanism and lock yet. It's still a superb deal when you factor in the free delivery to your driveway.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BulldogHawkeye
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cabonet but missing paint and barrel rests h
3/9/2013

Customer review by firebert

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by firebert
by firebert

I brought this gun cabinet as a medium security storage system for my guns and ammo. I found it in stock at my local walmart for $25 less than the internet price so I was delighted. I got it home and opened up the box and it was in wonderful condition with no dents or scratches. Looking inside the cabinet with a flashlight I found a few areas by the door which was unpainted and was starting to form surface rust. Aside from that I found the holes to screw in the plastic barrel rests positioned too high for my Ruger 10/22 (normal size) and 16" barreled AR-15. So I would suggest anyone who purchase this to pick up a can of rustoleum to paint the unpainted areas inside the cabinet and find a drill to drill some holes to position the barrel rest lower if you own anything smaller than a full sized hunting rifle or shotgun. There were four lag bolts supplied to secure the cabinet to the walls of my bedroom closet but I went to the hardware store and added a couple more for extra security. All in all this cabinet is more solid than I was expecting (definitely more secure than a high school locker as some have suggested) and is a great value. I plan on adding some battery powered LED lights and a dehumidifier inside the cabinet and I’m set.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firebert
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best deal going on a simple security cabinet
1/12/2013

Customer review by xmuskyguide

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by xmuskyguide
by xmuskyguide

Purchased for my son in law to keep his long guns safe from my grandson. It is very versatile in the way you can put the shelves in(or not.) Adequate for everything but determined thieves.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xmuskyguide
Homosassa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cost Effective Gun Storage
2/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this cabinet because my small gun collection was beginning to include rifles that would not fit in the smaller cabinet I had purchased for handguns. I really (really!) liked the idea that you can set up this cabinet with shelves on one side for handguns and ammo while still storing rifles on the other side. That was a major selling feature for me. The foam padding for the bottom and shelves is also a nice feature. Saves you the time of getting and cutting your own. As others have commented, the cabinet arrived with minor cosmetic shipping damage. Noticeable, but not bad enough to detract from the product rating. Packing wasn't bad, but FEDEX can break anything. I did Site to Store shipping to save the shipping costs. This worked very well. Local WM wheeled it out to my truck and helped me load. I unpacked the cabinet in the garage and then carried it into the house. In the packaging it was just too bulky for me to carry it. Unpacking first also let me remove the inner package that had the shelves and mounting HW. Made it about 10 pounds lighter when I carried it up to the 2nd floor closet where it now lives. Assembly instructions are not great, but this cabinet is not that complicated, so just pay attention to the diagrams. The 18 gun advertised capacity is probably a bit optimistic, especially if you don't want your guns banging each other when you put them in or take them out. I'd say 6 or 7 on each side is more realistic. A number of other online sellers offer this cabinet. Most price it $100-$150 more than Walmart, even when they say "it's on sale"! Overall I am very satisfied with this cabinet, except for the extra space which I now need to fill up with a pair of Ruger SP101s (22 & 357)!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
18 Gun Stack-On Gun storage cabinet
2/22/2013

Customer review by Khronos

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Khronos
by Khronos

This is an excellent value for your dollar. Very popular item, out of stock most of the time. Found a couple holes that were drilled really sloppy from the factory at the back of the cabinet. They had missing/scratched paint around them, like the drill got away from the assembler. Otherwise, no shipping damage at all and well packaged. If you have 6-8 guns you can install shelves for your supplies in the other half of the locker. Good for ammo and gun cleaning supplies to keep them out of the kids little paws too. Looks great and has decent keyed locking mechanism.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Khronos
WA, State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice security cabinet
8/24/2014

Customer review by Kwired

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Kwired
by Kwired

I consider it a very good value for the price. Great for storing long guns, handguns and ammo. It had a small dent on one side. Mine came with no keys included, but I called Stack-On and the friendly service person got them put in the mail to me that same day. Overall, the cabinet meets my expecations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kwired
Chattanooga , TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice security cabinet with good options.
8/14/2013

Customer review by NotSoOldMan

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by NotSoOldMan
by NotSoOldMan

Walmart makes this a tough value to beat. I've seen cabinets like this on other sites at $100 more, which probably explains why the item is often out of stock. Once I picked out what I wanted, and saw it on Walmart's website, I continued checking every few days until it came back into stock, and then ordered it, "site to store," right away. It was delivered to my local store within about a week, and here's what I got. This is Stack-On's Model No. GCWB-18S ... the "S" is for "Sentinel" ... apparently a trade name used by Stack-On for this model ... just a little nicer than the lower cost GCWB-18 (also sold by Walmart, for about $30 less). The dimensions and function of the two cabinets are identical. The cabinet comes in a big cardboard box, with the cabinet, two keys, an instruction pamphlet, one top shelf, one center divider, four half-shelves and all the hardware you need to put it together and do a basic anchor to your floor and wall. The cabinet is held in place inside the box by four of those expanding pads ... one at each corner. The pads do a pretty good job of protecting the corners of the cabinet, but not the sides between the pads. So, if the people moving the carton puncture the side, or drop the container so that it hits a hard edge somewhere in the middle of the box, the cabinet WILL get dented. That is -- flat out -- just a packaging error on the part of Stack-On ... something they really need to remedy. Mine had a pretty big dent on one of the rear edges ... certainly not something you should see on a brand new item (and the reason I took one star off in this review), but for me, not a big enough deal to haul the cabinet back to the store and request a replacement. Stack-On could completely eliminate this common problem by improving their packaging, at a minor increase in cost. Stack-On ... are you listening? I specifically bought this cabinet because I currently have no rifles, and wanted a cabinet with maximum shelving options, for storage of pistols, ammo, reloading supplies, and the like. This cabinet comes with sufficient shelving to make the whole thing into shelving storage (a top shelf, center divider and two lower shelves, separated by the divider. Even with all the shelving installed, it still has enough room for a rifle or two in front of the shelves. The laquer finish is very glossy, and the pin-striping and "Sentinel" logo are a nice touch ... they make it look like a safe. I was able to do the assembly by myself in an hour or two, but I really took my time, because I wanted to make sure everything was tight. The instructions were adequate, and I found that all the shelves and hardware fit together nicely. The three-point locking mechanism is solid, and is operated by a beefy key with a polymer grip. If you properly anchor this cabinet to your floor and wall, you will have a very secure cabinet, but NOT a safe. A motivated thief with the right tools and adequate time WILL be able get into this thing. However, this cabinet will repel ALL smash & grab thieves, kids and nosy guests. At Walmart's price, it's an excellent value in low-to-medium level security for your firearms and related supplies.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotSoOldMan
Santa Barbara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Basic Safe
8/25/2014

Customer review by gundealer

4.0 stars 8/25/2014 by gundealer
by gundealer

Received the first one and it was dented, the second one was good. I am still waiting for them to pick up the dented one, it has been over a week and a half.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gundealer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for gun sotrage
9/28/2014

Customer review by Grampsx3

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by Grampsx3
by Grampsx3

Arrived earlier than stated, great condition, easy to assemble. Exactly what I was looking for. With shelves have plenty of room for rifles, handguns and ammo.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grampsx3
Southern NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic safety cabinet for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by IPSCtraveler

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by IPSCtraveler
by IPSCtraveler

I was looking for additional storage capacity for my rifles to the existing Stack-On cabinet that I purchased last year and noted this one on the Walmart site. As others have pointed out, this is not a safe strictly speaking, and it should be clear that it only provides very basic protection against theft. My aim was simply to keep my equipment out of site and make it more difficult to access, a function that it perfectly fulfills. For the price, you can't beat this product in my view, particularly when you calculate in free shipping. Despite the fact that the cabinet was very well packed, it arrived with a minor dent at the top end, but this is fortunately not visible, as it's situated on the back of the cabinet. Outside of that, the quality is very good and the nice finish means that it fits nicely in the corner of a room without creating an eyesore. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a basic solution for securing firearms.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IPSCtraveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for first safe
9/29/2014

Customer review by oldguy7077

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by oldguy7077
by oldguy7077

Got it quicker than I though. Will serve to keep whatever I put in it safe from kids.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldguy7077
indianapolis,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for Apartment
3/14/2014

Customer review by Texanada

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Texanada
by Texanada

My husband and I were looking for a way for us to lock up firearms and important documents without having to buy one of the heavy duty safes while we were in an apartment (we didn't want to have to move one of the super heavy and big ones when we got into a house of our own). This was definitely perfect for what we needed it for and the value was great. The only thing I would recommend is that it ships put together (apart from the shelving), so unless you have a truck to pick it up in, I would order it site to home.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texanada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Falls way short
8/21/2014

Customer review by coinhog

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by coinhog
by coinhog

This item is flimsy at best. Not even sure if it could keep my children from my firearms. Look for something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coinhog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product - Fair Service
5/31/2013

Customer review by GunneryBuck

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by GunneryBuck
by GunneryBuck

Product is nice. Price point is excellent, $50 less than May-nards , $100 less than Ca-belsa, $140 less than Bass-Proo-shoppe. It won't stop an experienced thief but it will secure your firearms from curious fingers. The shelving is straight forward and easy to assemble in many configurations. Some of the screws are difficult to reach for one person to do by himself. Don't expect your unit to show up in store in pristine condition. It wont be. It WILL arrive with dents or scratches. You really wont be able to examine it until you get it home. Hopefully yours will be in usable condition. Mine had 3 dents in the right side which will not bother its function. This comes from rough handling and careless employees. If they treated it like a light refrigerator rather than a heavy box of stuffed toys it might be better. If your carton is unsealed or has puncture marks examine it carefully. You might save yourself a trip back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GunneryBuck
Glenwood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Options are great.
3/3/2014

Customer review by IndianaHep

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by IndianaHep
by IndianaHep

Great cabinet and having the exrtra shelving is perfect for storing all you handguns, ammo and gear. It comes mostly assembled which was really nice.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianaHep
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price for a quality cabinet
2/1/2014

Customer review by Jlmiga

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Jlmiga
by Jlmiga

Picked up at store, box was beat up a little but cabinet was unharmed! The only complaint I have is the little Baggie that holds the cabinet keys is taped on the top of the outside plastic covering the cabinet and the little Baggie was ripped and the keys were missing. I called Stack-on 800 number and faxed them requested info. Cabinet is just sitting there locked while I wait for the new keys to arrive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jlmiga
Brentwood CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What I was looking for.
2/7/2014

Customer review by jamgm

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by jamgm
by jamgm

Cabinet is exactly what I wanted. Shelves have plenty of room. I had it shipped to the store vice my home given other reviews of damaged shipping. No problem with damage shipping to the store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamgm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smokin Deal
10/13/2014

Customer review by Everybodywhoisanybody

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by Everybodywhoisanybody
by Everybodywhoisanybody

Beautiful Cabinet. Hate to try to conceal it. Much better quality than anticipated. Great deal for under $150. I got a Sentinel, which says it is made in US.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Everybodywhoisanybody
Flagstaff, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews