Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
55
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 164 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews
Damaged upon picking up
4/22/2016

Customer review by Scratched

3.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Scratched
by Scratched

I ordered online and they wheeled it out. It was not in a box. The video I watched on YouTube had it in a box. They held it on a cart behind the counter until someone could take it to my vehicle. The man rolled it outside. It was dark. He loaded it into my van, I had blankets down to prevent scratching. When I got home and lifted it out my wife asked what all the scratches were from. I wasn't sure at first. So I got a friend of mine to help lift it down my 2 flights stairs. Then he told me what the scratches were from. Someone who opened the used a razor blade all the way around the entire circumference. On the top. Middle. And bottom. It's not a huge deal. It still functions. But now I have $10.000 worth of guns and ammo in a scratched up cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scratched
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect solution
5/20/2016

Customer review by Awesome

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Awesome
by Awesome
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being a United States Marine I wanted to keep my Guns secure . This Security cabinet has proven to be the perfect solution to my issue. It was easy to put the shelves in and set it up. The directions could have been a little more friendly as to the different combinations I had with them, but I figured it out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent cabinet if it didn't come damaged.
6/24/2016

Customer review by Bluehaze

2.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Bluehaze
by Bluehaze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like many others, mine came with a dent. I'm my case it was on the front top edge. I was hoping to exchange at a store to make sure I didn't receive another with damage, but the closest store with one in stock was an hour away so I am just going to live with it. Overall it would be nice quality if it didn't come dented.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluehaze
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item damaged
11/9/2014

Customer review by 82HH

2.0 stars 11/9/2014 by 82HH
by 82HH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe was as expected. Unfortunately the safe was a ship to store item that was still in the protective cardboard box when I picked it up at my local store. Once I got it home and moved down a set of stairs to it final location I un packaged it. I was disappointed to see that the top left corner of the safe was damaged. As this safe is a rather ackward and difficult item to move I elected not to return it to the store. The safe itself is what I expected and works well for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
82HH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gun Cabinet
7/3/2016

Customer review by Russ

3.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Russ
by Russ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The delivery of the cabinet came quickly. The UPS man left it right by my door. Upon opening the package the cabinet had a big dent on the right side. The shelves were dented too, and made putting the shelves in quite a challenge! I figure it was not worth trying to send back, because my gun cabinet will not be out in plain sight anyway. I did read similar comments about the shipping issues, some dents are common occurrence. As I said this did not bother me enough to send back. The cabinet itself has been "cheapened" up a bit from the last one I purchased from Dicks ten years ago. The metal is not as thick and the over all cabinet is not as sturdy. It does serve the purpose however as a place to put your guns to keep them from being handled by little ones or adults you do not want to handle or view your guns. I gave it a 3 because it does not measure up to a 5, but does serve the purpose I bought it for. Would I recommend this cabinet, yes, but remember this is NOT a guns safe.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value to keep the kids out
8/20/2013

Customer review by BulldogHawkeye

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by BulldogHawkeye
by BulldogHawkeye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Stack-on must have improved the packaging, because there were no dents or damage despite the box being banged up. The corners are protected by foam and it is shipped in an oversized box. Fed Ex never contacted me to coordinate delivery, they just left it upside down next to my garage door. Luckily the box is very discrete, with only Stack-On and the model number appearing in smallish lettering, no pictures. The keys are loose in the box, but they were still present despite holes in the box. I put 1/4" plywood behind it instead of cutting out the baseboard and purchased 1/2" longer lag screws and added some slightly wider washers. I put the shelves in and installed by myself without any difficulty, I borrowed help to get it through the house because of its size. My only gripe is the key and locking mechanism seems to catch/stick sometimes, I haven't tried adding some lubricant to the mechanism and lock yet. It's still a superb deal when you factor in the free delivery to your driveway.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BulldogHawkeye
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic safety cabinet for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by IPSCtraveler

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by IPSCtraveler
by IPSCtraveler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for additional storage capacity for my rifles to the existing Stack-On cabinet that I purchased last year and noted this one on the Walmart site. As others have pointed out, this is not a safe strictly speaking, and it should be clear that it only provides very basic protection against theft. My aim was simply to keep my equipment out of site and make it more difficult to access, a function that it perfectly fulfills. For the price, you can't beat this product in my view, particularly when you calculate in free shipping. Despite the fact that the cabinet was very well packed, it arrived with a minor dent at the top end, but this is fortunately not visible, as it's situated on the back of the cabinet. Outside of that, the quality is very good and the nice finish means that it fits nicely in the corner of a room without creating an eyesore. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a basic solution for securing firearms.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IPSCtraveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, expectations surpassed.
1/11/2013

Customer review by BLSpur

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by BLSpur
by BLSpur

I've been shopping around for a gun cabinet (actual safes were out of my price range), and landed on this one. I wanted room to expand my gun collection, as well as plenty of space for ammo, holsters, range accessories, etc. I chose this cabinet, though a little bit bigger, for the extra storage. The special rests for scoped rifles work great. I've got 3 rifles on the back wall, 3 shotguns on the side wall, and 3 shelves up the other side. Stack On includes pre-cut foam padding for each shelf, as well as the bottom, which I really appreciated. The key and lock is a little heavier/more quality than I had expected out of a cheap cabinet. It took a little longer than expected to assemble all the shelves, but was not difficult. The gold etching on the outside was a nice touch. I was nervous that the steel would be banged up after reading reviews of other cabinets. I had mine shipped to a local store. It was ready for pick up in less than 24 hours, and it was in great condition. A couple hardly noticeable dings on an edge, but I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLSpur
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ideal for now.
7/15/2016

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Steve
by Steve

I really wanted a 1000 pound fireproof safe but didn't have the funds. I did, however, need to get my stuff stored and locked due to grandkids that we're going to be moving in. This cabinet was a perfect solution. A professional could get into it fairly quickly, I suppose,but, I have some peace of peace of mind with the kids. The cabinet is not fireproof. I really don't know how you would get 18 guns in it neatly. I think you could store 5 long guns on one side and have shelves on the other or leave the side shelves out and have room for 10-12 long guns without banging them up. It doesn't have the nice lining like nice safes have but does include precut foam pads for the shelves and floor. It also has pre drilled 16" on center holes for bolting to Wahhabis studs. Free shipping to my house via FedEx and not a scratch or dent anywhere. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the Price
3/19/2016

Customer review by Terminator

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Terminator
by Terminator

I pick this up ( ship to store ) , Read reviews on damage on the corners and not a true Sentinel cabinet ( made by Stack-on ) , But I ordered it anyway , Taking every review with a gran of salt . So before I left the counter , I open the top of box in front of the Walmart employee and told him why , We both couldn't understand about the bad reviews , The foam around all Four corners were blow foam insulation , it is well protected with about three or four inches of foam , And made sure the word Sentinel was on the Front Door , I put this together with shelves on the right and had little trouble doing myself but not a big problem , The only Con I have with this cabinet is the Barrel rest hole`s didn't line up perfectly , Fix was easy with a little shave with a Drill or rat tail file , And the stickers they put on the front of the door with the warnings were hard to clean off , But all and all Great Gun Cabinet .

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terminator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal for a cabinet but don't expect a "safe"
2/12/2016

Customer review by RC23

4.0 stars 2/12/2016 by RC23
by RC23

I bought this to tie me over until I can afford a real safe. This cabinet is just as others have described - it's made well for what it is and possibly keeps things secure from "grab and go's" or in my case keeping things safely away from children. People complain about it being thin metal and light, etc but its supposed to be. I don't think they realize that you either have to brace your floor or put a real 300+lb safe on a slab. The comments about having two people or orangutan arms to put it together are real - and the instructions are adequate but the illustrations are bad - they only show how to assemble it for one configuration and the direction of the shelve lips is hard to decipher from the small b&w pictures. Overall - you can't beat this cabinet at the price but don't expect to get a $5000 fort knox of Cannon safe. Oh, and mine came dented as well (luckily only a very small one)- the packaging is HORRIBLE.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RC23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best deal going
7/3/2016

Customer review by Sailor70623

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Sailor70623
by Sailor70623

Holds my rifles and pistols. As well as my ammo. Bolted down to the floor and wall, it isn't going anywhere. I would have liked two more keys. $5 a key is pricey. I need to see if any of the local lock Smith shops around here can make some spares cheaper. Assembly instructions are off a bit. Don't put the back gun holders in untill after mounting the center section and top shelf. A damp rid in the safe will keep the moisture down. Could have had the gun barrel holder mount a bit lower as carbines are too short to reach them, and a few more stand offs for scoped rifles would have been nice. Still it is the best deal for a gun safe available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailor70623
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's ok
6/22/2016

Customer review by NotexactlyhappyBow

2.0 stars 6/22/2016 by NotexactlyhappyBow
by NotexactlyhappyBow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading numerous reviews about this product, I was not at all surprised when it arrived with several dents and rubbed places. OK I was expecting this. What I was not expecting was for it to be delivered locked with no keys. To obtain keys I had to make several calls to the manufacture plus sent them proof of purchase and the info off the back of the cabinet. They tried to convince me that the keys must have fell out but they would have had to get out of a plastic wrapper and a box that was taped closed pretty good. These folks need to pay attention to the reviews. Too many are showing up beat up. I'm all for buying "made in America" but they should at least be able to get it to the customer with out it looking second hand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotexactlyhappyBow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, bad shipping
7/16/2016

Customer review by sweeteagle02

4.0 stars 7/16/2016 by sweeteagle02
by sweeteagle02
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product is good. It works for what it is needed for. The lock sticks sometimes but it may take time to get the stickiness to go away. The packaging came torn and the product was dented and scratched, but fortunately it did not affect what it is being used for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweeteagle02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy
7/18/2016

Customer review by Augie

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Augie
by Augie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was on sale and had it delivered. Came Fed X without a dent or scratch......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Augie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I ordered
7/13/2016

Customer review by Charlie

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Charlie
by Charlie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a cabinet not a safe came in good condition

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good to keep kids away from guns, good deal.
11/15/2011

Customer review by GROGX

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by GROGX
by GROGX

I was shopping for a carry case for my latest gun purchase when I saw this item in the store for ~$150, so rather than buy yet another case, I bought this to store most of my guns in. While not heavy duty enough to be considered a “safe” it is a fairly rugged locker. Enough shelving is included to provide many storage options. I opted to install the divider with the top full width shelf and two more shelves on one side. This allowed me to put eight long guns ( mostly pellet rifles and a couple .22’s) on one side with shelves on the other for ammo, part, and accessories. I also had room under the shelves to put some more guns with folding stocks, also in front of the shelves I manage to fit a few more pellet rifles. The paint finish seems good, with the lettering and pin striping being acceptable but I do not think I would put it out in my living room. The barrel rests seem a little shallow to hold some guns securely upright. The lock/latch mechanism works smoothly, and two keys were provided. Assembly was straight forward, just pay close attention to the shelf orientation and do not tighten the hardware beyond hand tight until you have everything in place. As far as security, I would say this would keep young kids safely from your guns (if you hide the keys well enough), but if someone was determined to steal them, they could break into this locker fairly quickly. Price: If you get it for $150.00 or less, I’d say it’s a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GROGX
Cape Fear area NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gun Cabinet
7/10/2016

Customer review by Rich

4.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Rich
by Rich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I didn't inspect the box. There was a hole in the box which transferred to a dent in the cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth it
7/6/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cabinet is poorly constructed cheap lock and was delivered dented and scratched . Don't waste your time or money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BAD CHOICE
4/26/2016

Customer review by POED

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by POED
by POED

I wish someone had explained how cheap this product is. I sent the Cabinet back (with a great degree of difficulty) and I will never use walmart.com again due to the problems I encountered.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
POED
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews