Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 105 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
Item damaged
11/9/2014

Customer review by 82HH

2.0 stars 11/9/2014 by 82HH
by 82HH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe was as expected. Unfortunately the safe was a ship to store item that was still in the protective cardboard box when I picked it up at my local store. Once I got it home and moved down a set of stairs to it final location I un packaged it. I was disappointed to see that the top left corner of the safe was damaged. As this safe is a rather ackward and difficult item to move I elected not to return it to the store. The safe itself is what I expected and works well for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
82HH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value to keep the kids out
8/20/2013

Customer review by BulldogHawkeye

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by BulldogHawkeye
by BulldogHawkeye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Stack-on must have improved the packaging, because there were no dents or damage despite the box being banged up. The corners are protected by foam and it is shipped in an oversized box. Fed Ex never contacted me to coordinate delivery, they just left it upside down next to my garage door. Luckily the box is very discrete, with only Stack-On and the model number appearing in smallish lettering, no pictures. The keys are loose in the box, but they were still present despite holes in the box. I put 1/4" plywood behind it instead of cutting out the baseboard and purchased 1/2" longer lag screws and added some slightly wider washers. I put the shelves in and installed by myself without any difficulty, I borrowed help to get it through the house because of its size. My only gripe is the key and locking mechanism seems to catch/stick sometimes, I haven't tried adding some lubricant to the mechanism and lock yet. It's still a superb deal when you factor in the free delivery to your driveway.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BulldogHawkeye
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal for a cabinet but don't expect a "safe"
2/12/2016

Customer review by RC23

4.0 stars 2/12/2016 by RC23
by RC23

I bought this to tie me over until I can afford a real safe. This cabinet is just as others have described - it's made well for what it is and possibly keeps things secure from "grab and go's" or in my case keeping things safely away from children. People complain about it being thin metal and light, etc but its supposed to be. I don't think they realize that you either have to brace your floor or put a real 300+lb safe on a slab. The comments about having two people or orangutan arms to put it together are real - and the instructions are adequate but the illustrations are bad - they only show how to assemble it for one configuration and the direction of the shelve lips is hard to decipher from the small b&w pictures. Overall - you can't beat this cabinet at the price but don't expect to get a $5000 fort knox of Cannon safe. Oh, and mine came dented as well (luckily only a very small one)- the packaging is HORRIBLE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RC23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value, expectations surpassed.
1/11/2013

Customer review by BLSpur

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by BLSpur
by BLSpur

I've been shopping around for a gun cabinet (actual safes were out of my price range), and landed on this one. I wanted room to expand my gun collection, as well as plenty of space for ammo, holsters, range accessories, etc. I chose this cabinet, though a little bit bigger, for the extra storage. The special rests for scoped rifles work great. I've got 3 rifles on the back wall, 3 shotguns on the side wall, and 3 shelves up the other side. Stack On includes pre-cut foam padding for each shelf, as well as the bottom, which I really appreciated. The key and lock is a little heavier/more quality than I had expected out of a cheap cabinet. It took a little longer than expected to assemble all the shelves, but was not difficult. The gold etching on the outside was a nice touch. I was nervous that the steel would be banged up after reading reviews of other cabinets. I had mine shipped to a local store. It was ready for pick up in less than 24 hours, and it was in great condition. A couple hardly noticeable dings on an edge, but I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLSpur
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic safety cabinet for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by IPSCtraveler

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by IPSCtraveler
by IPSCtraveler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for additional storage capacity for my rifles to the existing Stack-On cabinet that I purchased last year and noted this one on the Walmart site. As others have pointed out, this is not a safe strictly speaking, and it should be clear that it only provides very basic protection against theft. My aim was simply to keep my equipment out of site and make it more difficult to access, a function that it perfectly fulfills. For the price, you can't beat this product in my view, particularly when you calculate in free shipping. Despite the fact that the cabinet was very well packed, it arrived with a minor dent at the top end, but this is fortunately not visible, as it's situated on the back of the cabinet. Outside of that, the quality is very good and the nice finish means that it fits nicely in the corner of a room without creating an eyesore. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a basic solution for securing firearms.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IPSCtraveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gun Safe
2/2/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We had problems with order from the delivery. We had a snow storm, and although the roads were cleared, FedEx delivered 2 days late. (Jan 27) They left it in the middle of our driveway, even though our crushed stone sidewalk had been cleared to our 35 foot covered porch, My husband is a disabled vet, we had help available on the day it was supposed to be delivered, and even the next day. We were not at home, when it was delivered, I called both FedEx and Walmart to let them know what the driver had done. We finally got it into our garage, and had to wait until Sun (Jan 31) for our son to come from Winston Salem to help put it in the house. When they unpacked it they noticed it had been dropped, the side edges were bent around the lock area, and on left side panel. The keys were also missing, the top of the box had been opened. We took the whole thing back to our local Roxboro store, they took it back and am waiting for the credit to show up on my credit card. Walmart was not responsible for the way it was delivered, they were very upset at the way FedEx had left the package. The ground was wet it was left less than 50 ft from the garage door, were it would have at least been out of the wet. We will never us FedEx again for anything. The damages could have been caused by FedEx, not sure where the keyes went????? Product rating is unfair because of the delivery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Security cabinet
2/12/2016

Customer review by Happy

4.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Happy
by Happy

The cabinet is a good size with a lot of room. The hard plastic holders for the guns are much better than the soft foam. The only thing is it came with a dent in the side but I chose not to contact customer service because I felt that it would probably happen again. Strictly my choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the money.
2/11/2016

Customer review by Toadster

4.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Toadster
by Toadster

There were to dings in the cabinet that were very minor. Assembly was easy and unit is light. It stands without having to be screwed down.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toadster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
2/11/2016

Customer review by Thewoofy

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Thewoofy
by Thewoofy

Great product for the price. Very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thewoofy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Gun Cabinet at a good price
2/1/2016

Customer review by Butch

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Butch
by Butch

The gun cabinet arrived faster than I imagined.(In 2 to 3 days to my door.) There was little assembly required , only for shelves . The 3 point locking system is very secure and it is great to know my guns are out of reach of children when they come. I wish I had bought this cabinet first - the other I bought not from Walmart was very difficult to put together. I would highly recommend this cabinet for the price. Very pleased

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price, Great Item
10/19/2015

Customer review by PG13

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by PG13
by PG13

Before purchasing this item I had read multiple reviews from multiple sites saying that this item will be shipped to you and when it is received it will be dented and beat up. When I received mine, it was in emaculate condition. If you are reviewing this product from what the shipping company did to your product, you might want to go review your local FedEx instead. Now onto the actual product, it is exactly what I was looking for. I just wanted a place to store all my firearms and my ammo, wasn't looking for a bullet proof, fire resistant, water proof, drop proof, abduction proof item. So if you are looking at this expecting any of that, you are viewing the wrong product and you need to build your pockets a little more to have that luxury. Anyway, the cabinet is wonderful, probably could fit 18 guns if you organized them well enough, would be tight but it would be possible. I would suggest this to anyone looking for a CABINET.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PG13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
gun cab
2/1/2016

Customer review by theoldguy

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by theoldguy
by theoldguy

This is a good quality gun cabinet for the money but if you have 18 guns you are going to try to jam into it they better be 4 long guns and 14 small pistols. For my use I would buy it again but if you have lots of long guns I would go for a bigger one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theoldguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy and well built
2/2/2016

Customer review by Shooter45

4.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Shooter45
by Shooter45

Cheat arrived early. Unpacked and found a small dent in lower right side. This was his by the wall where I placed it. Shelf was easy to install. Over all I am very satisfied with the gun chest.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shooter45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good to keep kids away from guns, good deal.
11/15/2011

Customer review by GROGX

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by GROGX
by GROGX

I was shopping for a carry case for my latest gun purchase when I saw this item in the store for ~$150, so rather than buy yet another case, I bought this to store most of my guns in. While not heavy duty enough to be considered a “safe” it is a fairly rugged locker. Enough shelving is included to provide many storage options. I opted to install the divider with the top full width shelf and two more shelves on one side. This allowed me to put eight long guns ( mostly pellet rifles and a couple .22’s) on one side with shelves on the other for ammo, part, and accessories. I also had room under the shelves to put some more guns with folding stocks, also in front of the shelves I manage to fit a few more pellet rifles. The paint finish seems good, with the lettering and pin striping being acceptable but I do not think I would put it out in my living room. The barrel rests seem a little shallow to hold some guns securely upright. The lock/latch mechanism works smoothly, and two keys were provided. Assembly was straight forward, just pay close attention to the shelf orientation and do not tighten the hardware beyond hand tight until you have everything in place. As far as security, I would say this would keep young kids safely from your guns (if you hide the keys well enough), but if someone was determined to steal them, they could break into this locker fairly quickly. Price: If you get it for $150.00 or less, I’d say it’s a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GROGX
Cape Fear area NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
StackOn 18 gun cabinet
1/24/2016

Customer review by mtlmstr

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by mtlmstr
by mtlmstr

I now own 4 of these cabinets, and for the money they are hard to beat. I am a little concerned about the way they are handled in shipment. The shipping carton has 4 baseball size holes in it. I haven't unpackaged yet, so i hope there are no surprises. Also, I have found that if you need to contact StackOn customer service, call them, as they apparently don't respond to e-mail.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtlmstr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Security Cabinet dents
12/5/2015

Customer review by BlackHillsPhotoJunkie

4.0 stars 12/5/2015 by BlackHillsPhotoJunkie
by BlackHillsPhotoJunkie

All in all its a pretty good deal because of the free shipping, The box was damaged in front, there was a fist size hole in it. The man at Walmart helping me opened the hole bigger so we could see if the face of the cabinet was damaged, it wasn't even scratched so we loaded it in my SUV and I took it home. Once I had it out of the carton I found a couple of dents along the front and back left hand corners. the one on the front corner was the worst of the two, I didn't like these dents but I expected them since others rating this Cabinet had experienced the same thing. Didn't think it worth my time to box it up and drive the 15 miles back to Walmart to return it. STACK-ON needs to put additional cardboard or Styrofoam on the corners to protect them. Assembly was easy and it suits my needs, I gave it only 4 stars because of the dents.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackHillsPhotoJunkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gun Safe
1/22/2016

Customer review by Momof2

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Momof2
by Momof2

It was exactly what I ordered

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Cabinet
10/19/2015

Customer review by gunlover

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by gunlover
by gunlover

i bought two of these cabinets they came as promised on time, they didn't call as requested but i was home when Fed ex dropped them off and ran away. there was one small ding on one cabinet that is on the back, out of sight no real issue.... But the second cabinet was totally missing the keys, i called the customer service people at Stack-on and sent e-mail to her with copy of my receipt. She sent back no prob keys there in 2-3 days.... now day 5 and still no keys. the box that is working is great would love to put the rest of my guns away though.....the boxes are very easy to assemble have arm in cast and still did with my 4 year old daughters help in less than an hour. the packing is substandard. the card board is cheep but the hole that was in sealed bag allowed keys to fall out and hole in cardboard box allow them to wind up some-ware in the shipping or storage process on floor or truck etc, the boxes are beautiful finish and will hold plenty of guns ammo and holsters defiantly bolting together than anchoring to floor and wall they are light but as one unit will be harder to move

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gunlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product but terrible packaging.
12/7/2015

Customer review by Real2U

4.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Real2U
by Real2U

The cabinet was exactly as pictured and described. I ordered one even though many of the reviews stated that theirs arrived damaged. Because of that I decided to have mine sent to the store and picked up there. I looked in the box which was very abused and as far as I could tell without completely removing it, all looked OK. At home I discovered I was wrong there were two large dents in the sides and the bottom corner was crushed in. - So as many others did I kept it anyway because of the trouble of returning it. (Re-borrowing a truck). It also became "Out of stock" that same day. I guess I bought the last one. Advice: Make sure you inspect it completely. The packing is in adequate and the shippers must throw them around a lot!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Real2U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product - Fair Service
5/31/2013

Customer review by GunneryBuck

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by GunneryBuck
by GunneryBuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product is nice. Price point is excellent, $50 less than May-nards , $100 less than Ca-belsa, $140 less than Bass-Proo-shoppe. It won't stop an experienced thief but it will secure your firearms from curious fingers. The shelving is straight forward and easy to assemble in many configurations. Some of the screws are difficult to reach for one person to do by himself. Don't expect your unit to show up in store in pristine condition. It wont be. It WILL arrive with dents or scratches. You really wont be able to examine it until you get it home. Hopefully yours will be in usable condition. Mine had 3 dents in the right side which will not bother its function. This comes from rough handling and careless employees. If they treated it like a light refrigerator rather than a heavy box of stuffed toys it might be better. If your carton is unsealed or has puncture marks examine it carefully. You might save yourself a trip back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GunneryBuck
Glenwood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews