Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-20 of 80 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Great online player
11/10/2011

Customer review by Oldgamer50

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by Oldgamer50
by Oldgamer50

NETGEAR NTV Streaming Player (NTV200) When you first look at the device, you will notice how small it is, making this device able to be placed just about anywhere. Installation is very simple just plug in the power adapter, the HDMI cable between the device and TV, and decide if you want it connected to the internet, wired or wireless. Easy on-screen prompts guide you effortlessly through the installation. Once installed, you will find many applications to chose from. For instance Netflix, which I found enjoyable being able to full access without having to place anything in my Queue. VUDU with very affordable HD rentals, which the device automatically adjusts the quality to your service provider. This device allows access to many other applications as YouTube, Facebook and so many others, that would be impossible to list every one. The small, slim remote already comes loaded with batteries. Updates when needed, display on the screen, and are a simple two button operation. For the price you can't go wrong with this attractive device, made by NETGEAR, who has manufactured high quality products for years.

Was this review helpful? (278) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldgamer50
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
2/16/2012

Customer review by justareview1975

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by justareview1975
by justareview1975

I got this box about two weeks ago and I love it. It works great has Hulu Plus the main reason i got it and the Netflix is just like my Vizio Blu-Ray Player almost as easy as it is on computer. It took about 10min. to set up but so far the only things i have set up is Netflix, and Hulu Plus oh and the wi-fi. I will say most of the apps. are worthless if you ask me there are a few good ones and it would be nice if the box had RCA hook ups for older Tv's. I would buy another for my kids room but only has HDMI and I am not gonna buy a new Tv for a bedroom until hers goes bad but Roku has a LT box thats the same price as this that will hook up to all Tv's so I'll give it a try as well

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justareview1975
woodstock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing streaming player for an excellent price!!
9/30/2012

Customer review by BabyBoo26288

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by BabyBoo26288
by BabyBoo26288

I had been looking into a smart TV for a while but they are way too pricy for me. So I decided to go with an updated and reasonably priced TV and a streaming media player. I came across this little gem & I'm so glad I did. I had it hooked up, set up and browsing my Nexflix account in about 10 minutes. Getting Netflix set up was a breeze! Activating Vudu was a snap! There are so many channels and apps I haven't got the chance to check them all out yet. Keep in mind you must have a HDMI port on your TV. I have an LG 27 inch 720p and the picture quality with NeoTV is excelent. Using the device is very easy and user friendly. My main purpose for purchasing was Netflix. It is very simple to browse movies. All in all, I love this device. I highly recomend this for anyone looking for a great streaming player for a reasonable price. Also, I suggest a Link Depot gold plated HDMI cable (sold at walmart.com online only) if you need an inexpensive and good cable to go along with your device(s).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyBoo26288
W.V.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You can't go wrong at this price
4/7/2012

Customer review by aaddderty

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by aaddderty
by aaddderty

I rarely write reviews, but in this case I want to share my experience with this wonderful product. I am a certified computer technician and love gadgets, and this NETGEAR streaming player is worth 3 times what I paid for it. After seeing what this device could do I dropped cable tv and bumped my internet service up to 15Mb. This will work with internet speeds as low as 2Mb but will work better with 6+ Mbs. I am a tv junkie but with this box I can watch endless movies and documentaries. I bought an antenna for my tv and get all the local digital channels free. I am saving over $70 a month by dropping cable. Now for the Box. First off it is very small. 4 inches X 4 inches and 1 inch tall. It was very easy to set up. It has an HDMI output, an ethernet port and digital audio out. The only drawback is that it doesn't have RCA ( composite ) outs, so it will not work on older televisions that do not have an HDMI input. I have it wired direct to my router via the ethernet port. I haven't tried the wireless feature. I use WPA2 security on my router with a 63 character password and wasn't keen on trying to enter the password into the box. But other reviewers have stated that the wireless works fine. Once setup you will be amazed at the amount of applications this has. I subscribe to netflix and huluplus. and the set up with each was easy. It also has vudu apps which adds many more applications to what the box already has. The remote works well and has just the right amount of buttons to easily control/navigate the box. Everything loads fast and I have not experienced any lag or slow downs while streaming. There are many free apps available, but there are also many that require either monthly fees or one time rental fees. The only ones I pay for are netflix and huluplus which are $7.99 each per month, but for what you get the price is well worth it. The video and audio are excellent. Better than what I got through the cable company. The user interface is straight forward and easy to navigate. I've had the box for a month now and have barely scratched the surface on what it can do. I wanted to put one in my bedroom, but I have an older tv there that doesn't have HDMI, so I bought the Magnavox ( same price ) streaming box which does have the RCA ( composite ) outs but it doesn't even remotely compare to the Netgear box. The Magnavox only has a total of 9 applications, but does include neflix and huluplus if you let it update. It is much slower and the video and audio isn't as good as the Netgear, but that could be the difference between the HDMI and composite hook ups. To sum it up, I would not hesitate to buy the Netgear streaming player again. For the money you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aaddderty
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works only on tv's that have HDMI not for older TV
2/20/2012

Customer review by Emjekn

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Emjekn
by Emjekn

I was told this would connect to older tv, does NOT took back and bought Roku 2 like it real well. Netgear Neo would be good if you have a newer tv.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emjekn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good deal for the price!
3/12/2012

Customer review by busdoctor7

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by busdoctor7
by busdoctor7

Very easy to hook up, and if you have a Wifi TV it's even easier. All I did was purchase the HDMI cable with the Netgear media player hooked into one of the HDMI ports, and 5 min. later I was watching Netflix (first month free). I did run into one problem about two weeks after purchase, called the 24 hour Netgear support line and they (in broken English) told me to press the reset button for 30 seconds and I was back in business so all in all not bad. Netflix is OK, but you do have to go through a lot of movies to find the one you want, unless you use the search feature where you spell out the movie, it does take a little time, after all you don't have a keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
busdoctor7
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/18/2012

Customer review by yesIcan

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by yesIcan
by yesIcan

This little box is amazing! I bought a different brand 1 month ago. And it failed 3 days after I got it. It advertised you could receive all these channels but that was not true. Well I am here to tell you with Netgear they Deliver! And for the price you can't beat it from Walmart. Down side it takes a long time to get this unit....almost two weeks. So if you can be patient you won't be disappointed! Note:With certain apps it takes longer to Download

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yesIcan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very user friendly.
3/16/2012

Customer review by MissTinnie

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by MissTinnie
by MissTinnie

Good product for streaming Netflix. With wifi, it's basically a plug and play product. Just register product with Netflix thru a computer and your set to go.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissTinnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/9/2012

Customer review by JayBird3333

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by JayBird3333
by JayBird3333

Like other Reviews before me. Great product because of size, setup, amazing picture, easy remote. Only aggravation was---DOES NOT come with hdmi cord. Write-up or other reviews didn't say that. So order cord from walmart at the same time. The cheap one for $4.39, 1080 resolution worked fine.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayBird3333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/23/2012

Customer review by mrnut

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by mrnut
by mrnut

I have a bluray player that also has streaming video. This unit would not stream video in my bedroom, the farthest location from my wireless router. The netgear geo streaming video unit works quite well in the bedroom and has many more options then the bluray player with streaming. The unit was easy to install. You need a hdmi cable that does not come with the unit, but you can order 1 when you order the netgeo or purchase 1 at the same time. Well worth the extra few dollars!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrnut
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/28/2012

Customer review by geek5

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by geek5
by geek5

I have one each room of the house. It has turned all of my TV's into smart TV's. I have also given a few to friends as gifts. The unit streams all of my VUDU, HULU and netfix videos. At the price it is a steal.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geek5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice
3/24/2012

Customer review by CGr0ve0hi0

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by CGr0ve0hi0
by CGr0ve0hi0

Lots of options easy to use and install/setup. Very happy with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CGr0ve0hi0
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Invested $49 and now saving $100.00 monthly
10/11/2012

Customer review by auntiecrissy

4.0 stars 10/11/2012 by auntiecrissy
by auntiecrissy

I wanted to try out a video streamer before I made the leap of cutting off my cable and I am so glad I did! This baby is saving me $100.00 + a month from my cable bill. With this box you can stream Hulu , Netflix, You Tube and a ton of other net tv, music and game streaming services. I had this now for a year and I havent missed cable tv or the BIG bill. I have the luxury to see a movie when I want to and not try to catch it when its playing or hope its on Demand .. This Neo box on my bedroom tv and I have a Roku in my living room, so I can truly compare the two products. Both do the same thing, but I have to say, the ROKU (I paid $90 ) you do get more channels and a better remote again its was $ 50 more however you can find them at $60 . Overrall, they are about neck and neck with picture quality and sound, they both work on my economy internet service with an occasional buffering due to my low speed and they save me money..... My goal was to stream Netflix and Hulu wirelessly without paying over a $100 bucks for internet connectable blu ray player or upgrade to a fancy internet ready tv and my goal was accomplished! I would say anyone who realizes they are not home enough to justify a cable bill and just want to see movies when they get home , this is the way to go!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auntiecrissy
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would not connect to wireless network
4/29/2012

Customer review by techforyou

1.0 stars 4/29/2012 by techforyou
by techforyou

I am a network engineer, and set up, troubleshoot and maintain multi-thousand dollar routers and other networking gear for companies for a living- all of which are much more complicated than this device. This thing is really a piece. It will not connect to my home wireless network, and for absolutely no reason. Everything else will connect with it and the signal where the d-link is located is good. It will find my network and then ask for the password but then it never contacts my router again per the logs. Why? This makes no sense. I tried a manual setup by hitting the WPS button on the router and also disabling the security on my router, but it made no difference. I'll be taking this back and getting a Roku or running an CAT-V cable in my house...not sure which yet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techforyou
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great streaming video
5/2/2012

Customer review by Jemdmb

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Jemdmb
by Jemdmb
Walmart associate

i bought this item because i bought a 32" led tv and to save a little on the tv i did not get the internet ready. this is exactly what i needed to watch netflix and hulu. was easy to set up took just five minutes with the on screen instructions. very small unit so you can put it just about anywhere. the one thing you will need is a HDMI cable since you can not use A/V cables to hook it up. Save your self some money and get this over the roku....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jemdmb
tobyhanna, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awful!!!
9/8/2012

Customer review by Mrskrb

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by Mrskrb
by Mrskrb

I am truly disappointed in this product! I bought this item to stream Netflix, hulu, etc. and the unit would always run hot, the remote was impossible to use, due to the fact that every time you attempt to press the buttons-even while pointing directly at the unit, the unit would either not respond, or it would take repeated attempts at pushing the buttons for the unit to work! This happened so often that every time I used the unit to stream/watch a show/movie, my fingers would actually be sore from repeatedly pressing the buttons, to no avail. I returned this awful unit and bought the Magnavox streamer instead. It seems to work well so far...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrskrb
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
4/23/2012

Customer review by vikesgirl101

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by vikesgirl101
by vikesgirl101

First of all, other than the Wii gaming system, I have nothing to compare this product to. I know that there are many products that are similar to this one out there. That being said, we are very pleased with this product. It is quite small, and the remote is fairly user friendly. We loved the quality of the screen resolution (1080 vs our Wii that is like 480), and the many menu options. It is even preloaded with a few games like Black Jack, Bubble Blaster and card Matching (plus about 5 more). I would definately recommend this product to anyone. The price is efficient (like $50) and it has alot to offer for a little box.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vikesgirl101
Moose Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/13/2012

Customer review by tobydlg

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by tobydlg
by tobydlg

So far we only use this device for streaming Netflix. Total time for setup from beginning to completion was under 5 minutes. The neotv immediately found my wireless router and connected with the internet as soon as I entered the password. I did have to phone Netflix as their website would not accept the authorization code. A representative answered almost immediately and in less than a minute the device was accepted. We've been using this device daily for about a month. Twice there has been a short pause for buffering but I attribute this to Netflix or Charter servers. I chose this device rather than the Roku because it is not necessary to register a credit card and the higher resolution available. We are completely satisfied with our neotv player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tobydlg
Sylacauga, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
didn't work
6/8/2012

Customer review by Kris4321

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Kris4321
by Kris4321

I have the Netgear router and wireless. No problems with setup or service. Thought the Netgear streamer would be the same but it wasn't. Setup started ok but then kept coming up with message of 'connection time out'. Tried on line support but the only site that kept coming up with one that I had to pay $24+ for advice on how to get past this message. Finally gave up, returned and purchased a Roku.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kris4321
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
don't forget the HDMI cord
2/26/2012

Customer review by taghound

2.0 stars 2/26/2012 by taghound
by taghound

I had this item shipped site to store and it arrived sooner than expected, which is always nice. I live about 25 miles from the store, so when I got home and found there was no way to connect it to the tv I was a little mad. I had to go to my small town Radio Shack and pay over twenty dollars for a cord. No big deal. I got the cord, hooked it up, and everything worked great. We watched something on netflix that night, perfect. The next morning went to turn it on with remote(the only way)and nothing happened. I had to unplug it and plug it in so it would come on by itself. Once on the remote worked fine. I could even turn it on and off with the remote. After having it off again for a couple of hours the same thing happened a gain. It could just be the one I got but I'm taking it back and getting the new roku.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
taghound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews