Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 45 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Total Bummer!!
4/26/2012

Customer review by sad tv

1.0 stars 4/26/2012 by sad tv
by sad tv

My fiance and I bought this TV and were very impressed by the price--I guess you can say you get what you pay for. Within 5 days of having the set, a small black line (one pixel wide) appeared all the way across the TV. We will be returning the TV and steering clear of Toshiba. I've had a Vizio for about 3.5 years now and have never had a problem--I'd go with them again in a heartbeat, just didn't want their 3D 65" model. Even if the line had not appeared on the screen, I was not overly impressed by the picture quality--it was just OK. There was ghosting and movements appeared blurred during action scenes. I would have let it slide and kept the TV though, since the price was great--but the line is a definite no-go. Even though it's a great deal, if you go with this TV you should definitely consider the extended warranty. Had this problem happened after the store's return window, I would have blown a gasket. Best of luck!

sad tv
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba 65HUT2U 65 inch LCD HDTV
11/26/2011

Customer review by chief

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by chief
by chief

Well i Just got this TV and I am Impressed. Bang for Buck you cannot beat this deal, it is the best i have found. This TV has Excellent and i do mean Excellent picture quality! Seriously i can not say enough about the quality image. Here is my experience thus far. I replaced a 53 inch Bravia and aside from the enormous size and weight difference i noticed the picture quality first. The sound quality is somewhat lacking but sounds pretty normal compaired to the other TV's i have dealt with. it wont blow you away with quality sound but most people are not as picky in this dept as i am so i'd bet most would think its good to great quality. As mentioned this is a HUGE tv, it takes 2 people to lift this thing safely. i believe it weighs 99lbs if i remember correct. It has some nice features but there is also plenty of inputs..not as many as the Bravia i replaced but enought..see the spec sheet. All in all i say this is the best purchace i have made in home entertainment. Huge in size, Great Picture, Sleek fit and finish, and price that i believe is too good to be true for the overall product i got. Very Very Very Happy with this TV so far.

chief
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor facial tones, Blurred sports
11/29/2011

Customer review by EDA

2.0 stars 11/29/2011 by EDA
by EDA

This is a very large set. I personally like the sound it is clear and un-colored for the most part. There are a lot of issues with facial tones. The faces look as though they are made up of very few colors and result in splotchy faces (unless close up) When watching sports (football) the TV has a lot of problem processing the action and distorts. When watching a football being passed, the football turns into three distinct blurred images. The processor in this thing just seems to be severely lacking in its ability to handle anything quick. DVD's and Blue Rays are better but still have the same issues as mentioned above. We are seriously looking at returning the unit for a different brand. We had hi hopes for this but they did not pan out with this Toshiba. Poor Picture quality except for slow action or stills.

EDA
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Performance for the Price
11/28/2011

Customer review by Kike

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Kike
by Kike

This is the perfect theater-at-home experience. It has a great built-in speaker system that delivers great sound even without a home theater system on. The image looks great in sport events and HD movies. It does include a Digital Optical Audio output, but not a regular RCA audio output. I did had to play around with the display settings to get the most out of it, so don't let the default settings frustrate the satisfaction of your purchase... once you tune it in, it will be worth it! The only missing part is the internet capability, but that would be too much to ask for the price paid on a 65 in.

Kike
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Price
4/12/2012

Customer review by Super

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Super
by Super

After looking for a 65" tv, we decided to buy this one because of the price. Eventhough I wanted an LED, this one is not bad. So far I love the Blue Ray movies they look awsome, regular DVDs im not to impresed or maybe i just need to stand a little far from the screen. The tv is good when the camera is not moving so much, but when is moving a lot i think that there is a blur. But definetly we will enjoy it....

Super
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best LCD Big Screen Value Ever !!
12/9/2011

Customer review by Bossman

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Bossman
by Bossman

About 4 mos ago, we bought our first LCD TV. A 40" Toshiba that was so impressive, we had to get the new 65HT2U. I literally plugged it in and it has been flawless. The internal sound could be improved but it is amazing with our home theater system. The picture quality is as real as being there live. We have watched more football the last 2 weeks than we have the past two years. This is an incredible value.

Bossman
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very poor VERY POOR
3/9/2014

Customer review by Tennessee364

1.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Tennessee364
by Tennessee364

I have had this 2 days now the 65HT2U and no matter what we try, we can got get any type of decent clarity. No matter the program sports, news or general TV shows...faces fussy and dark, blurring all over the screen and don't even think about watching hockey or football, the processor can not keep up. I have 2 other TV's... 1 LG and 1 Samsung both 55" and the picture quality is "MUCH" better hands down. I don't like writing the reports such as this but with this TOSHIBA purchase and the very very poor picture I had to express my concerns of this product. I will make the standard comment here and you get what you pay for. Facial colors change from channel to channel like they are a combination color blend...my wife does not like it AT ALL. She will go to another room to watch TV. NASCAR is on this afternoon and if it can not provide a good picture for watching racing I will throw this out for the dump next trip I make. I am so disappointed at this point you have no idea. Other comments say the if you watch it from a longer distance then it's ok...now really why do i want to sit 25 feet away to be able to watch TV. I am at my home not a bar ( but I am not sitting close enough to kiss the screen either). OK I am starting to ramble on but you get the picture (because I don't). I will tell everyone I know and anyone (and everyone) I meet that when (or I will bring it up) the word TV comes up in a discussion/conversation...let me tell you about a TOSHIBA we bought...your not gonna believe this horror story. If it has the word TOSHIBA on it I will not own it.... I promise!!!.

Tennessee364
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not go past 1360x768 am I wrong?
1/4/2012

Customer review by ghoster

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by ghoster
by ghoster

This TV is not what it says. Has anyone else tried a computer on it? It fails at 1360x768 and then unsupported video format after that. Even at 1360x768 it wont go past 60hz. This TV is not what it is advertised as. Watch movies with DVD player or cable box great, but no computer. Last time I had to run @ 1360x768 at 60hz was when LCD's first came out.

ghoster
Spokane, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Nice
1/6/2012

Customer review by Timothy Baines

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Timothy Baines
by Timothy Baines

Wow, I really Like this TV, didnt think I would get another tv when I bought my Toshiba 47" tv. But when I seen this one had to have it. the only thing wrong as others have expressed the sound is lacking, but with a sound system all is OK.

Timothy Baines
Monroe, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible for games, big gray blob
11/3/2012

Customer review by patsnut

1.0 stars 11/3/2012 by patsnut
by patsnut

Bought this tv tinking of watching football. The night we bought it we set it up and as soon as we plugged it in noticed it has a giant gray blob over 3/4 of the screen! Thought maybe it just needed to warm up, we have given it a week and it is still there. It makes the colors look really dull, noticable difference! And on the darker images you can see it very clearly! Then When we watched the football game, the picture was so horrible!! Very pixally!! Couldnt even make out the faces at some points, couldnt enjoy the game at all!!! This tv is just overall JUNK!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patsnut
maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
ATTENTION GAMERS, DO NOT BUY THIS TV!
9/30/2012

Customer review by Katbell918

1.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Katbell918
by Katbell918

I bought this tv with high hopes of enjoying many football games, playing games, and watching movies. I had begged my wife for months, until she finally said I could get it. I checked tons of stores, and this tv was the cheapest for this size. I went to the store and bought this tv, came home and put it together and set it up. The first thing I did was tune into a football game (hd, of course), just to have my hopes crushed when I saw how the picture lagged. Then, my son quickly cut his wii on in hopes to play mario on a big screen, and the game lagged so badly, he could not even play. I can not blame the lagging on the size of the tv, since there are many large big screens that work perfectly with games. I am returning this tv, and I have decided to pay more money for samsung, since I own a 51" samsung and that has the best picture quality in my opinion. So if you are planning on shelling out about $1200 dollars on a tv, just spend a couple extra hundred and buy a different one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katbell918
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ill founded complaints
1/3/2013

Customer review by VisualReview

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by VisualReview
by VisualReview

No the TV does not look great out of the box. You need to take some time and modify the settings based on your type of connection (Cable, off air and satellite all look different). The color takes some tweaking but then the picture quality is just as good as TV's costing much more. The complaint about the gray blob elsewhere in these reviews is indicative of a poor installation where someone pressed against the LCD and pressed the membranes together - if this happened to you - it is a very large TV - just take a soft cloth and rub the entire screen firmly - the gray blob will go away. Keep in mind - this is a massive 65" TV - if you stand right in front of it and complain about the picture quality you are very much missing the point. You need distance and the correct viewing angle to fully appreciate this TV but that can be said about all sets.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VisualReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tv Great Price
11/26/2011

Customer review by dannthemann

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by dannthemann
by dannthemann

I have only had this TV for about 12 hours now, so my review is somewhat limited, but I thought with the price Walmart is offering for black Friday, most people are dying for a review. This is the 4th hdtv I have owned. My first and probably still my favorite is my 42" Samsung Plasma. The picture on that tv is awesome. I also own a 50" Vizio LCD and a 73" Mitishubi DLP. I would rank this tv #2 in picture quality right behind my Samsung. To be honest, I may just be biased to my first true high def tv. I am still playing with the adjusts, and trying to get the "perfect setting", but I really like this tv. My only complaint is that all the inputs for this tv are very far to the left side of the tv. All my HDMI cable are only 6 feet in length, so I'm probably going to need to buy longer cables. I made them reach, but they are stretched to their limit. This is not a big deal to me, because I do not buy those overpriced cables from big box stores. Monoprice.com is the best place to buy great cables at a great price. The remote is also not great looking, it works fine, but it's appearance is not impressive. This is not a big deal to me, because I use a logitech harmony remote....but that is really digging deep to find a flaw. lol Overall, I do not believe you will find a better tv for a better price.

Was this review helpful? (159) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dannthemann
Eastern NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV, Better Price
11/28/2011

Customer review by jtsains

4.0 stars 11/28/2011 by jtsains
by jtsains

I bought this TV during the Black Friday event. I LOVE the picture size. For those of you out there who want a BIGGER picture at a price you can afford, this is the one. The 65" picture is great with my HD programming and Blu-Ray player. THere are VERY few "extras" with this TV, so only expect to get a big picture TV, not much more. The price is well worth the HD 65" tv.

Was this review helpful? (81) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jtsains
Rogers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Turn off Clearframe
12/1/2011

Customer review by edan

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by edan
by edan

So I hated this TV out of the box the picture seemed to be behind and slow. It was like watching a boot-legged film. After making some adjustments and turning off the clear Frame feature I found it to be much better. Clear frame is suppose to improve the picture by increasing the refresh rate from 60 to 120hz, but I’m guessing the cheap processor that Toshiba uses can not keep up with it. Overall for under $1000 its has really good color and sound, the picture is just alright.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edan
50266
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/8/2012

Customer review by bearcat64

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by bearcat64
by bearcat64

Saw this tv on sale at wal-mart, pic looked nice, and after thinking about it for a couple days decided to take a chance. When I got it hooked up wasn't real happy with pic had a problem with reception dish tech told me I did'nt have it on 1080 since then I simply could not be more pleased with this tv

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bearcat64
metropolis,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
9/5/2012

Customer review by Dogrs01

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Dogrs01
by Dogrs01

I just wall mounted this monster in a Bar/ restaurant for football season. It's HEAVY! I needed 2 other guys just to lift it up. The picture looks great, there are 3 HDMI inputs for different devices and for the price, I think it's a wonderful deal at $1298.00. Most other brands/models are at least twice the price. Once it was on, the initial set up was simple. It took less then a minute. I installed a Panasonic 2 weeks ago and that was 20 minutes, just getting it set up to view a picture. This model does not have all the bells and whistles of the newer 65" sets, but for watching sports in a big room, it's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dogrs01
Newburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
save your money
2/7/2012

Customer review by dunkindog

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by dunkindog
by dunkindog

I returned this unit back to walmart 4 days later. They had 2 and i waited in line black friday ,along with an eye doctor. When i returned mine the girl said the other guy brought his back this morning. This picture was terrible exspecially from a slight angle .I have a 55 inch toshiba plasma which has a great picture ,save your money on this model. The faces on hd news were blotchy very disappointed and hired someone to help hang it and take it down.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dunkindog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Picture Quality Lacking...
11/30/2011

Customer review by SamStew

2.0 stars 11/30/2011 by SamStew
by SamStew

I purchased this TV on black friday for $998. The good things about it are the sound quality and size. The sound quality is very good for a flat panel; which are usually very bad. I found out about the sound quality, because I had to temporarily use the TV sound at first; until I purchased an optical cable. As there was no digital coax out (which is the type of cable I had/used on the previous TV). 65" TVs look big in the store, but HUGE at the house. This was an upgrade (so I thought) from a 55" Philips. However, the picture is pretty bad in comparison. The display is very pixelated. It's especially noticeable on faces/images that are not closeup and/or are in the background. I can see the pixelation on both live feed [DirecTV] HD channels (some channels worst than others) AND on DVDs! More noticeable, of course, on live feed. At times, the picture reminds me of that movie Scanner Darkly... Not as bad, of course. But that's the best way I can describe it. The shadows and detail are not smooth or clear. Lowering the blacklight level to zero, and adjusting the contrast seemed to help a little. But it's still very noticeable, and who wants to watch a darker screen to makeup for the manufacturer's flaws? I'm currently trying to contact Toshiba's technical support to see if there is anything I can do about this. Because I would hate to have to package this thing back up and return. But until I am able to contact them, to see if the picture quality can be improved... My advise is to save your money for a TV with better picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamStew
Fort Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by ashjas01

3.0 stars 11/28/2011 by ashjas01
by ashjas01

We have had this tv for about 3 days now. Its a very nice tv but Im not enitrely impressed with the picture quality. Im not sure if the picture is just so big that you notice every movement or if the picture seems to run a little slow/behind. The price was very good for this tv but I def would not pay anymore for it. The Black Friday price was $998. My husband loves it to watch football but watching movies on it is not that great.

Was this review helpful? (64) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashjas01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews