Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
88
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 246 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews
Great workout, for a great price
7/31/2008

Customer review by Value4Price

4.0 stars 7/31/2008 by Value4Price
by Value4Price

I got my Total Works in early July. I've worked out on it since and loved it. Pros: Easy set up. I just needed to attach 4 bolts, the rest was done. I get a great workout in 30 mins. The bands offer an intense work out for your legs...calf raises rock with those, you feel the burn in 30 secs. Cons: I do sit ups on the first notch, the extension knob on the bottom makes the unit wobble. Pulling out the extension before working out is a bit of a pain. It's in there really tight, so I have to put one foot on the leg and push it out with my foot. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to dip their toe into pulley machines such as this. It will make you sore the next day. And it is addictive. So be careful! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Value4Price
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best bang for your buck!
8/27/2007

Customer review by YankeeLady

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by YankeeLady
by YankeeLady

The Weider Total Body Works 5000 is definately the best purchase I have made in years. It is very easy to put together, doesn't take up too much space, works with your own body weight as well as some extra resistance bands for those who want something heavier, has an unlimited number of exercises for all different fitness levels, and the cost is a great deal! My husband, my two step sons, and I, all use the machine with ease. I only weigh 115 pounds but have no trouble moving the equipment from place to place or adjusting the incline. The seat glides with ease and is quite comfortable when sitting or lying down on it. The Weider is so versatile that your imagination is the only limit to what you can do with it. I have had insulin dependant diabetes since I was very young and this machine has been a great addition to my daily routine for keeping my blood sugars low and keeping heart healthy. I would recomend it to anyone wanting to stay fit at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YankeeLady
Seven Springs, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I don't regret the purchase...
7/25/2007

Customer review by irisheyes1222

4.0 stars 7/25/2007 by irisheyes1222
by irisheyes1222

The Weider Total Body Works is very similar to the Total Gym, but for a lot less money. I previously owned a Total Gym, so I'm in a good position to compare. There are no additional attachments with the Weider, but I can only think of about 1 excersise from the Total Gym that can't be done on the Weider, and it's about half the cost. The biggest downfall with this product is the weight. It's heavier than the Total Gym and much harder to manuever. Even though it's designed to "fold up" for easy storage, it's not that easy. Unlike the Total Gym, it doesn't fold, but rather slides together. Two of my guy friends work construction, hardly weaklings, and I have to get them to move the machine or slide it apart, and even they struggle with it a little bit. So, if you have a space where you can set up the machine and it can stay in one place, it's worth purchasing. If you need something you can move easily by yourself on a regular basis, I'd recomend looking at the Total Gym instead.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irisheyes1222
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT WORKOUT!
11/2/2008

Customer review by masterofhalloween

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by masterofhalloween
by masterofhalloween

This product is very well fitted for getting you in shape. The weider totally rocks, and is way cheaper than the total gym. It is not cheaply made, it is very sturdy, and you will feel the burn. I love to work out on this. I have had mine for 2 weeks now, and i have only taken one day off. It is already put together when you take it out of the box, all you have to do is put in 3 screws and 4 l shaped locks. 10 min and its done. it comes with 4 strectchy cords at the bottom, so you can add extra resistance, and you can set the incline to various angles for more or less resistance. I know some ppl said that theirs was noisy, but mine is pretty quiet, some noise is expected. if you want a really great workout for not a lot of money, then this is your ticket. Also other exercises can be done that are not on the chart, but the chart does show alot of them. In closing i would like to say thank you to my SMART, ATTRACTIVE, wife for getting me this for my birthday, and for giving it to me early!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
masterofhalloween
ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent bargain
7/21/2007

Customer review by mtvinson

4.0 stars 7/21/2007 by mtvinson
by mtvinson

I bought this product rather than the Total Gym and was cautious to look up other reviews. It had received favorable reviews elsewhere so I went ahead and bought it. It is less than half the cost of the Total Gym and is just as good if not better. I would prefer the pull up bar be a little wider but otherwise I have no complaints. I would definately recommend if thinking of purchasing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtvinson
Largo, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a value for the money - WHY pay more?
10/16/2008

Customer review by Hairballz

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by Hairballz
by Hairballz

I have to say I am very surprised by this product. Like many other reviewers, I was searching for an alternative to paying the high prices associated with the larger Brand Name product shown in all the infomercials. I was happy to find this alternative at Walmart.com and after reading the reviews and doing some more research, I ordered it online and then started carefully watching some of those weekend/late night presentations of the BrandName product that costs hundreds of dollars more, really just to see what the gym did so I'd have a good basis for comparison when my Weider 5000 arrived. I did Site-to-Store, so there was no charge for shipping and a very helpful Walmart associate hauled the thing out to my vehicle. The box it comes in is very heavy on one end, light on the other, but had packing straps that made it easy enough to grab and maneuver. Getting it in the house by myself (near 50-year old female) was no easy feat - it's HEAVY! - but I managed. I had access to a hand-truck that would have made the move easier, but I opted to just grab the packing straps and lug it in to my home gym room. Opening the box I was very pleased to find only a few parts - the foot pad/platform and the handrail/grab bar (okay, I had to slide pads onto the grab bar), and one foot/support bar, which went on easily with provided 3 screws. It took me - seriously - less than 10 minutes to assemble the entire thing, by far the simplest assembly of any product I've ever ordered. 3 screws for the one platform piece, slide the foot pad in place & insert the locking pins, slide the handrail in place and insert the locking pins. That's IT. It nearly took me longer to get the thing out of the box and get the plastic protective covering removed than it did to get the thing together. Impressive. Next I must comment on the construction. For the price, I actually didn't expect heavy-duty construction, I frankly expected thin diameter tubing and an "okay" pulley system that I'd have to handle gingerly to make sure it lasts. That's simply not the case - this is solid, heavy duty tubing throughout, heavy cables that are plastic coated for protection. The foot platform is solid as a rock and I did note in my research that the big BRANDNAME manufacturer requires you to order the foot platform as an extra on many of their models - with the Weider it's included. In some cheaply made gym equipment I've noticed that the clearance in the grab bar, which also functions as a sit up bar, is very narrow - almost like they're made for small-framed people instead of the average American person. The sizing/clearance on this one is quite generous. I worked on a BrandName gym similar to this years ago, and when doing a pull up with the hand grab bar I was always having to raise my head at the end to avoid smashing into the bar. The Weider provides plenty of clearnace for your head to just smoothly slide in between your arms when doing a pull up. As other reviewers have noted, the problem with this thing, which I immediately recognized, is it's ADDICTIVEY FUN. I played with a lot of different exercises when I first set it up and have already found I can't WAIT to get to it again. For the money, this is just an unbeatable value. I'm accustomed to having to "settle" for something less than ideal if I want to buy a less expensive piece of gym equipment, and I know a lot of articles tell you that you "get what you pay for" and to buy the more expensive pieces of equipment. This is the exception to that rule. It is a solid piece of workout equipment that I know I'll get years and years of enjoyment from.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hairballz
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent alternative to Total Gym
3/8/2009

Customer review by recycleohio

5.0 stars 3/8/2009 by recycleohio
by recycleohio

I had previously owned the basic model of Total Gym so that's what I can can compare Weider's Total Body Works 5000 model to. I find that it's easier to change heights on the fly than Total Gym, it only takes one spring loaded pull pin to make the change. The same can be said about the length, too. Through a different design approach Weider made everything easy to customize with the use of spring loaded pull pins instead of removable "L" pins that you can drop. Although very similar in looks, I'm more impressed with the design of Weider's Total Body Works 5000 over Total Gym. I'm not crazy about the fact that my box arrived at Wal-Mart looking like it was dragged through a mine field. It was re-taped and parts of the steel tubing of the machine were dented. It may have been the fault of the expeditor but I wasn't happy. Save yourself some big time money and consider the Weider 5000 over Total Gym. Compare the features and see why they can afford Chuck & Christie's salary.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
recycleohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
3/30/2008

Customer review by MOfamily

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by MOfamily
by MOfamily

We purchased this product several months ago after carefully reading the reviews. I didn't think that I would be especially impressed with the machine considering it's low price, but was I ever surprised. I had it shipped 'site to store', so I didn't have to pay shipping on it from walmart.com. The assembly was a breeze with just a few bolts to attach. I literally had it done within ten minutes of opening the package. The Weider Total Body Works 5000 is a great product. We are a family of seven, and have all used it every day since purchasing it, so it is getting a lot of use. It is very sturdy and works perfectly. It is easy to make the needed adjustments and stores very flat and compact. I love the added feature of the bungies that add resistance to your workout. This is a heavy item, however, and would be difficult for a smaller person to move around on their own. I would not hesitate to purchase another one if something happened to the one we have. It is that good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOfamily
Lebanon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent deal!
8/27/2007

Customer review by Rhodes

4.0 stars 8/27/2007 by Rhodes
by Rhodes

I recently purchased the Weider Total Body Works 5000 for use in my home. My husband and I wanted something we could both use and that wouldn't take up a great deal of space. I wanted something that would give me a full workout without the cost of a gym. I was completely thrilled with this machine. Already my husband and I can see the possitive effects of excercising on the Weider each day. Even my step sons enjoy working out on it. There are so many different body shaping excercises for everyone in the family. The adjustable incline means we can all do similar excercises but with more or less difficulty. The resistance bands allow me to use extra weight when working on my legs. One of the best things I have discovered that can be done on the equipment is a hand stand. It works the upper body and abs like crazy! There is not a muscle group that can not get a great work out with this machine. I would definately tell people to buy this equipment. It is easy to use, versatile, easy to set up and store, and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhodes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great For The Money
7/30/2007

Customer review by kram1015

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by kram1015
by kram1015

I have worked out my entire life with free weights, machines, etc., & I have found that the Total Body Works is a great piece of equipment - esp. for the price! (what a bargain!!!) It provides adequate resistance & the movment is very smooth. I've used mine for over a year & am amazed how much I enjoy using it. It does not store very easily - but I am able to leave mine out. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kram1015
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent work-out
7/27/2007

Customer review by SouthernGirl

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by SouthernGirl
by SouthernGirl

This is exactly what I was looking for. It uses your own weight or resistance straps to build and tone muscles. There are many positions and levels of use. I would recommend this for my mom who has arthritis. You can use it to tone or to build a muscular physique. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernGirl
Smithfield, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality product at the right price!
1/19/2009

Customer review by 24anonymous

5.0 stars 1/19/2009 by 24anonymous
by 24anonymous

After having a baby by c-section I needed a way to get back in shape without going to the gym. I researched the Total Gym and realized it was way too expensive for my budget. I found this home gym and had to get it. It really works. I get a great workout and you can really feel the burn. The product also comes with a chart of numberous excerises to do.(The same exact excercises that are advertised with the Total Gym). With every excercise, you can really feel your core abs working. I am very satisfied with this product and would recommend this to anyone. After my c-section I couldn't even do a full sit-up. I've only been using it for 4 weeks, work out 5 days a week, and my midrift area is getting stronger and now I can do a full sit-up. In additon, I use the lowest level to tone the rest of my muscle groups. This machine is also great for doing squats. It is so much better than using weights or the machines at the gym. I just love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
24anonymous
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product!
7/12/2009

Customer review by luv2exercise2

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by luv2exercise2
by luv2exercise2

I've long considered buying another well known product that is comparable, but couldn't afford it. I did some research and reviewed others' opinions of this product before I dove in. I agree with most others on here who said this piece of equipment is easy to put together (and i'm about as non-mechanical a woman as you can get), and a ton of fun (if you are an exercise buff like me) to use. Yes, it was more than a notion bringing this sucker from my car into my 2nd floor apartment, but it was another form of exercise, that's all. :) The only thing I wish this was better at is the incline moving. It is a bit of a challenge for me to move it up or down because you have to move the top part of it, pull on the lever and then move it. But it's not a huge deal; i'm working at being really adept at the incline I have now before jumping it up to make it harder. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, especially women in their 40's and up since we need to work on our toning! This is easy to put together and very solid. For the money, you get great value!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv2exercise2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth it.
11/28/2008

Customer review by AOjeda

4.0 stars 11/28/2008 by AOjeda
by AOjeda

This is my honest review of the product. It's is a very good product and worth the price. I don't necessarily have a complaint, because I understand they made this product generically for "everyone". But I'm 6'2" 185-190lbs. Because I'm tall, I have to really adjust myself on one end of the board; otherwise, I will not be able to fully extend the cable in some excercises. The resistant bands are a huge plus; they take away the "tone" aspect of the machine and actually give you a challenge. The pull up bar is very study; although, I would've like it to be a bit wider to offer different variations on the back. It's great for backs, arms, legs, and abs. But I do not give it high remarks on the chest. It's decent with flyes, but in my opinion horrible with a chest press. Good product, I do recommend it. Shipping was good, came quickly. And all items were in the box. I hope I touched everything to help you make a sound decision. Also, I tried out a total gym before purchasing this item, and I would say they are virtually the same product. Except the total gym is a lot more overpriced. Have fun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AOjeda
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Home Gym
2/29/2008

Customer review by PersonalFitnessTrainer

5.0 stars 2/29/2008 by PersonalFitnessTrainer
by PersonalFitnessTrainer

This is the coolest exercise machine I have ever seen. It is very conveniant to have and easy to use. The price is not bad either. I was planning on buying this or the Total Gym. The price made the decision for me. Some parts were missing and one was bent when I opened the box, but I called the manufacturer and they sent the parts UPS. There was like only four bolts required for assembly. Wow. This is a great product for working out all the muscles; upper and lower. This product only lacks in one area...cardio. It does have a cardio pull exercise but it didn't get my heart rate up high enough to sufficently burn calories. I think it needs a cycling attachment at the bottom for a good calorie burn. That would be a sweet attachment that would make this a better machine than the Total Gym even with a slight increase in price. Again this is a great product for any level of fitness.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PersonalFitnessTrainer
Coastal Area, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great workout machine
1/23/2009

Customer review by KMinAZ

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by KMinAZ
by KMinAZ

I purchased this item a few weeks ago, and it's been great so far. The construction is much more heavy duty than I expected - thick gauge tubing, all-steel pulleys, thick vinyl on the pad. It all seems durable and should last a long time. This machine gives you a much harder (and better) workout than it would appear.....and it's easy to adjust to different workout levels. And when you're done, it can be folded up and put in a corner where it needs less than a 2' by 2' footprint for storage. The only drawback is that this item is very heavy, but (of course) it's much lighter than any regular home gym or free weights. So, if you're limited on space and need a great home workout, this is probably your best option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMinAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Blows away the Total Gym..and everything else
9/28/2007

Customer review by Death

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by Death
by Death

I owned the Total Gym but after it was destroyed in a disaster, I needed to replace it. This unit is by far superior. It's equal to the Total Gym models that sell in the thousands yet it's minuscule fraction of the cost. When you adjust this machine, it is EFFORTLESS. The basic total gym, you can strain yourself. Folding it up is a cinch too. The basic total gym, you can strain yourself! It also includes some other great additions aside from the far superior design like the bungee cords to add even more resistance and the foot plate is included rather than being extra. Since using these designs, my body has permanently transformed. If I do put weight back on, it doesn't show like it used to nor does it store on my body in the same way. We had a massive, all in one machine with the assorted stations on it for one exercise or another, free weights, tread mill, stair climber, bike..you name it. NOTHING works as well as this machine, not even basic compound exercises. I do 20 minutes on this and you can literally see I'm physically larger right afterward and the mass stays. You can see fat that may have built up in my face or neck is actually gone right afterward and without breaking a sweat. I've never seen anything that can give those type of results in 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Death
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what we wanted!
4/2/2009

Customer review by MomandSon4

5.0 stars 4/2/2009 by MomandSon4
by MomandSon4

This is just what we were looking for, I have an 8 year old son who is very athletic and on off seasons of his favorite sports we were looking for something to keep him in shape and I am always looking for something to TRY to keep me in shape. Although we have only owned this a couple of weeks, we both absolutely love it!!! Since you work against your own body weight, I am very comfortable with myself and my son using it. We are each others trainers and spotters, we work out as a team and are having a blast with this. We cannot wait to get home from school and work to use it. I have shopped around and seeing what the other reviews said about this product decided to go with this. We couldn't be happier! Great price for a great piece of equipment, we are VERY happy with our purchase and highly recommend this product! Ten stars... if we could give that many! :o)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomandSon4
Ostrander, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!!!
2/9/2009

Customer review by Gatorsrn1

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by Gatorsrn1
by Gatorsrn1

Ok..I was a little skeptical about purchasing this machine since it was so cheap compared to the Total Gym, (Chuck Norris gym). When it arrived today and I took it out of the box, all I could say was, OMG!! This thing is constructed VERY well. I've played around with the Total Gym floor models at Sears, Dicks Sporting Goods, etc. and found them to be very cheap feeling and not very sturdy feeling. I put this together out of the box in less than 10 minutes and let me tell you......IT IS AWESOME! Very sturdy, very smooth, and even though I thought this would just be a good addition to lifting heavy free weights.........Well, I am struggling with it set to the top level. I'm actually going to have to work up to the top level. If you have EVER considered buying the Chuck Norris model, DON'T!! Buy this one instead....You will NOT be dissappointed. I LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gatorsrn1
Jasper, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like it but there was a problem
9/14/2007

Customer review by CaptainKirk

4.0 stars 9/14/2007 by CaptainKirk
by CaptainKirk

This a good product for the price. I have really enjoyed using it and it gives me a good workout. I did have 1 problem with it ... The pulley bolt on the bottom of the sliding seat hit the steel cross member. You could still use it but it did not slide smoothly. I believe this is rare occurrence but shows a lack of quality control. I took a rotary tool to the cross member and shaved off some metal so that it now moves smoothly. I probably should have returned it for another but did not want the hassle. I really like the Bar at the top for sit ups, pull ups and, curls. The elastic bands are a nice touch for added resistance. I would have liked some leg attachments for the pulleys. It does offer a lot of exercises and you can quicky move through them making it possible to get a good workout in a short period of time. There are some muscles (like deltoids) that you can't target very well because of the nature of a pulley system. You can't do shoulder lifts or lateral raises. But this system is not meant for the serious body builder. I would suggest getting some dumbells to workout the muscles it misses. Using a treadmill (folds up), The total bodyworks (folds up), and some dumbells ... I can get a pretty good workout in a short amount of time. And they don't take up much space. For under $100 it is a very nice piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainKirk
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews