Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
88
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 246 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews
What a value for the money - WHY pay more?
10/16/2008

Customer review by Hairballz

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by Hairballz
by Hairballz

I have to say I am very surprised by this product. Like many other reviewers, I was searching for an alternative to paying the high prices associated with the larger Brand Name product shown in all the infomercials. I was happy to find this alternative at Walmart.com and after reading the reviews and doing some more research, I ordered it online and then started carefully watching some of those weekend/late night presentations of the BrandName product that costs hundreds of dollars more, really just to see what the gym did so I'd have a good basis for comparison when my Weider 5000 arrived. I did Site-to-Store, so there was no charge for shipping and a very helpful Walmart associate hauled the thing out to my vehicle. The box it comes in is very heavy on one end, light on the other, but had packing straps that made it easy enough to grab and maneuver. Getting it in the house by myself (near 50-year old female) was no easy feat - it's HEAVY! - but I managed. I had access to a hand-truck that would have made the move easier, but I opted to just grab the packing straps and lug it in to my home gym room. Opening the box I was very pleased to find only a few parts - the foot pad/platform and the handrail/grab bar (okay, I had to slide pads onto the grab bar), and one foot/support bar, which went on easily with provided 3 screws. It took me - seriously - less than 10 minutes to assemble the entire thing, by far the simplest assembly of any product I've ever ordered. 3 screws for the one platform piece, slide the foot pad in place & insert the locking pins, slide the handrail in place and insert the locking pins. That's IT. It nearly took me longer to get the thing out of the box and get the plastic protective covering removed than it did to get the thing together. Impressive. Next I must comment on the construction. For the price, I actually didn't expect heavy-duty construction, I frankly expected thin diameter tubing and an "okay" pulley system that I'd have to handle gingerly to make sure it lasts. That's simply not the case - this is solid, heavy duty tubing throughout, heavy cables that are plastic coated for protection. The foot platform is solid as a rock and I did note in my research that the big BRANDNAME manufacturer requires you to order the foot platform as an extra on many of their models - with the Weider it's included. In some cheaply made gym equipment I've noticed that the clearance in the grab bar, which also functions as a sit up bar, is very narrow - almost like they're made for small-framed people instead of the average American person. The sizing/clearance on this one is quite generous. I worked on a BrandName gym similar to this years ago, and when doing a pull up with the hand grab bar I was always having to raise my head at the end to avoid smashing into the bar. The Weider provides plenty of clearnace for your head to just smoothly slide in between your arms when doing a pull up. As other reviewers have noted, the problem with this thing, which I immediately recognized, is it's ADDICTIVEY FUN. I played with a lot of different exercises when I first set it up and have already found I can't WAIT to get to it again. For the money, this is just an unbeatable value. I'm accustomed to having to "settle" for something less than ideal if I want to buy a less expensive piece of gym equipment, and I know a lot of articles tell you that you "get what you pay for" and to buy the more expensive pieces of equipment. This is the exception to that rule. It is a solid piece of workout equipment that I know I'll get years and years of enjoyment from.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hairballz
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent bargain
7/21/2007

Customer review by mtvinson

4.0 stars 7/21/2007 by mtvinson
by mtvinson

I bought this product rather than the Total Gym and was cautious to look up other reviews. It had received favorable reviews elsewhere so I went ahead and bought it. It is less than half the cost of the Total Gym and is just as good if not better. I would prefer the pull up bar be a little wider but otherwise I have no complaints. I would definately recommend if thinking of purchasing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mtvinson
Largo, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent work-out
7/27/2007

Customer review by SouthernGirl

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by SouthernGirl
by SouthernGirl

This is exactly what I was looking for. It uses your own weight or resistance straps to build and tone muscles. There are many positions and levels of use. I would recommend this for my mom who has arthritis. You can use it to tone or to build a muscular physique. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernGirl
Smithfield, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great For The Money
7/30/2007

Customer review by kram1015

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by kram1015
by kram1015

I have worked out my entire life with free weights, machines, etc., & I have found that the Total Body Works is a great piece of equipment - esp. for the price! (what a bargain!!!) It provides adequate resistance & the movment is very smooth. I've used mine for over a year & am amazed how much I enjoy using it. It does not store very easily - but I am able to leave mine out. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kram1015
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Blows away the Total Gym..and everything else
9/28/2007

Customer review by Death

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by Death
by Death

I owned the Total Gym but after it was destroyed in a disaster, I needed to replace it. This unit is by far superior. It's equal to the Total Gym models that sell in the thousands yet it's minuscule fraction of the cost. When you adjust this machine, it is EFFORTLESS. The basic total gym, you can strain yourself. Folding it up is a cinch too. The basic total gym, you can strain yourself! It also includes some other great additions aside from the far superior design like the bungee cords to add even more resistance and the foot plate is included rather than being extra. Since using these designs, my body has permanently transformed. If I do put weight back on, it doesn't show like it used to nor does it store on my body in the same way. We had a massive, all in one machine with the assorted stations on it for one exercise or another, free weights, tread mill, stair climber, bike..you name it. NOTHING works as well as this machine, not even basic compound exercises. I do 20 minutes on this and you can literally see I'm physically larger right afterward and the mass stays. You can see fat that may have built up in my face or neck is actually gone right afterward and without breaking a sweat. I've never seen anything that can give those type of results in 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Death
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Total gym what?
6/11/2009

Customer review by bvansick

5.0 stars 6/11/2009 by bvansick
by bvansick

FLAT DOWN RECOMMEND! My best friend has the top of the line total gym that costs $1400. This thing will replicate just about anything it can do minus an extra type of grip. This is just about the only piece of home gym you need.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bvansick
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rescued
4/24/2009

Customer review by GravelGuard

5.0 stars 4/24/2009 by GravelGuard
by GravelGuard

I have not had enough physical activity over the past three (3) years and had gained forty (40) pounds. The wieght gain had a negative effect on my blood pressure and my Dr had started me on medicine for it. Since I bought this unit (2 weeks now) I have lost near twenty (20) pounds and my blood pressure has decreased greatly and I've started sleeping better. I would (and have) recomend this Weider Total Body Works 5000 to everyone! I'm even giving one to my nephew who is getting married next month!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GravelGuard
Cedar Creek, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lazy Girl's Dream
2/28/2009

Customer review by mysteryshopper007

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by mysteryshopper007
by mysteryshopper007

I was once a gym rat, fell off the wagon. I haven't worked out in about 2 years. I've been using the gym almost daily for about a month now, and really enjoy my workouts. This is actually fun and I can see myself using it for years because of the versatility. I'm already feeling stronger and more flexible. One of my favorite things to do on it is to set the incline high and "hang" upside down for relaxation and to get a good ab workout. I have a tip about the non-existant guide for exercises: watch the total gym infomercial for ideas or go online. I found at least 40 more exercises to do, plenty for each body part.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mysteryshopper007
SoCAL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Total Gym without the cost
11/1/2007

Customer review by limey

5.0 stars 11/1/2007 by limey
by limey

Does everything a total gym can do, but at about half the price. Would be nice to see as a ship to store item as the postage is over $30, which still means it's a bargain but not as good as it could be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
limey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
little heavyweight great workout
4/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

easy setup, packaged well , with 2 day delivery. this machie will kick out the burn in short order . My only complain is that it has a tendecy to scratch floors. Just keep the foot of the macine on a folded towel and ir should be good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jackson,mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Total Gym
2/24/2008

Customer review by WarGameVet1

5.0 stars 2/24/2008 by WarGameVet1
by WarGameVet1

This machine is much much better, all the accessories that you need is included (something you have to pay extra with the total gym) and it also comes with 4 bands for extra resistance and a workout chart. The price is unbeatable and you can't go wrong, don't be fooled by the total gym because that's a waste of extra money when you can get this for half the price and still get quality workouts just the same.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarGameVet1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
8/3/2007

Customer review by KeepWorkingOut

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by KeepWorkingOut
by KeepWorkingOut

The Weider Body Works 5000 is very well constructed; more so than the Total Gym. The bungie cord resistance system was an unexpected pleasant suprise that adds to the resistance of the incline of the bench. Materials used are heavier duty than on the Total Gym. It stores easily and, in my opinion, is designed better than the Total Gym costing more than twice as much. I can strongly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeepWorkingOut
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great way to get in shape at low price
11/10/2007

Customer review by rosesharon

5.0 stars 11/10/2007 by rosesharon
by rosesharon

I don't have time for the gym, nor do I wish to spend hundreds of dollars for work out equipment. This work out equipment has done wonders for me. I have lost inches as well as pounds. Wonderful workout. Go as easy as you want or hard it is here. Each family member uses it even those who go to the gym for body building. It Works!! Have fun

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosesharon
Live Oak, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product. Great Price.
2/26/2008

Customer review by tmzc1998

5.0 stars 2/26/2008 by tmzc1998
by tmzc1998

I purchased this product for my husband to have an effective workout at home. I have used the gym that is featured in the infomercials before and I must say that this seems to be just as sturdy. We both enjoy this and would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmzc1998
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great workout machine
1/23/2009

Customer review by KMinAZ

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by KMinAZ
by KMinAZ

I purchased this item a few weeks ago, and it's been great so far. The construction is much more heavy duty than I expected - thick gauge tubing, all-steel pulleys, thick vinyl on the pad. It all seems durable and should last a long time. This machine gives you a much harder (and better) workout than it would appear.....and it's easy to adjust to different workout levels. And when you're done, it can be folded up and put in a corner where it needs less than a 2' by 2' footprint for storage. The only drawback is that this item is very heavy, but (of course) it's much lighter than any regular home gym or free weights. So, if you're limited on space and need a great home workout, this is probably your best option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMinAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Son's Birthday
8/13/2007

Customer review by MrsClaus

5.0 stars 8/13/2007 by MrsClaus
by MrsClaus

We purchased this as a birthday present for our son. He is very pleased with it. His sister saw it and now she would like one, too. The web site is easy to use, product was shipped promptly, and actually arrived a day earlier than expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsClaus
Malone NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Best bang for your buck!
8/27/2007

Customer review by YankeeLady

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by YankeeLady
by YankeeLady

The Weider Total Body Works 5000 is definately the best purchase I have made in years. It is very easy to put together, doesn't take up too much space, works with your own body weight as well as some extra resistance bands for those who want something heavier, has an unlimited number of exercises for all different fitness levels, and the cost is a great deal! My husband, my two step sons, and I, all use the machine with ease. I only weigh 115 pounds but have no trouble moving the equipment from place to place or adjusting the incline. The seat glides with ease and is quite comfortable when sitting or lying down on it. The Weider is so versatile that your imagination is the only limit to what you can do with it. I have had insulin dependant diabetes since I was very young and this machine has been a great addition to my daily routine for keeping my blood sugars low and keeping heart healthy. I would recomend it to anyone wanting to stay fit at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YankeeLady
Seven Springs, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very well made
12/8/2007

Customer review by SaintJack

5.0 stars 12/8/2007 by SaintJack
by SaintJack

This product is very well made and will give many years of good service. It is just as good as other products costing twice as much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaintJack
El Paso, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
12/11/2007

Customer review by Boogietunes

5.0 stars 12/11/2007 by Boogietunes
by Boogietunes

For the money this product is great. It works better than I expected. I use it almost every day. It's the bomb! For Shizzle!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boogietunes
Riverton, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent buy
4/8/2009

Customer review by nes1263

4.0 stars 4/8/2009 by nes1263
by nes1263

Product is great. Haven't had any problems with unit. Very easy to assemble took about 2 minutes. It took more time taking is out of the box. You can definitely feel the burn. Only 2 complaints if you can call them that. The unit is kinda of hard to expand for the wife. Second if you want to move it from room to room it is cumbersome. (needs wheels) Anyways it does do its job for sure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nes1263
North Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews