Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 89 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 80 reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
7/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I saw one of these at a Nascar race. The guy camped beside me had one. He cooked every meal for he and 3 other people on the grill! Since I've bought mine I have cooked almost every day on it. Steaks, chicken, burgers, chops, corn, eggs, baked beans, bacon, baked potatoes and pancakes. Tomorrow I'm going to try soft shell crab. It is so easy to use, cooks absolutely fabulous and is so easy to clean... At least one of my friends that has eaten with me over the past month is getting one for her new house. I also got a second grill, cooking grate, travel bag and the full size cover. Frugal on gas, too. I only used one of the small bottles of LP for 5 meals at the races last week! Very easy to clean if you add water to the tray like the instructions say. It seems that the water also keeps anything you cook moist. I also use the grill at softball tournaments and have cooked for up to 60 people. Hotdogs, hamburgers, grilled cheese, chicken, onions and mushrooms. Best grill I have ever owned!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
quick and easy to set up and take down
7/10/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We use this grill when we go camping. It is easy to set up and take down, and stores nicely back in the original box. I like this because I am kind of a neat freak, and I like everything put away at the end of our vacation. I simply clean it up, stick it back in the box and slide it under the bed. It is sooo easy to clean...just don't make the same mistake I did the first time I used it...NO grill brushes!!! It is nonstick, and they mean it! Everything has washed off so easily with soap and water. I didn't give it 5 stars because I think the price is a touch high. I would have also liked there to have been 2 grill plates and 2 griddles instead of having to order the extra ones separately for additional $25 each. It is a little tough to grill more than 4 chicken breasts at once...so if you are looking to grill for a large party...maybe look somewhere else for a grill.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extremly liked the grill!
9/5/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this grill because we wanted something portable and easy to use. This grill was extremly easy to put together, mainly just take it out of the box and snap a few components together. The most difficulty I had was taking it out of the box! For home use we bought an adapter so we can use a larger propane tank, but love we can use smaller propane bottles for on the road. I would highly recommend this grill. It would have been nice to have had two each of the griddle and cooking racks come with the grill, but since there is usually only 2 of us, it's grill cooking area is big enough. The stand would be easier to move around if it had wheels. Lights very easy! If your needing something smaller and portable this is the grill to get.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Camping Grill
10/19/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this grill for camping trips. I have to say I am very pleased with it performance. Nothing sticks on the plates. It’s super easy to clean. Make sure you put water on the bottom tray before using it, so it will be easy to clean. The plates scratch easily, so make sure to use a soft sponge and soft plastic utensils ONLY. This is not the kind of grill to leave in the back yard to use regularly. It is a bit delicate for that. Besides using this grill for camping, I have used it at home couple of times and I cleaned it right after I finish grilling. Then I put it right back inside the house. I am planning to buy another heavy duty grill for the back yard. The Coleman RoadTrip grill will be strictly for camping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Grill
8/27/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a very handy grill, easy to set up and take down, and that includes the propane bottle. I bought this grill after considering a recommendation by another customer, and found the review to be true to the product. The non-stick surfaces make this grill extremely easy to clean up, including the lid and side shelves. The stand folds and unfolds easily, but the grill itself may be used safely on a table. Traveling and camping with this grill is a breeze due to its light weight. Like the reviewer I referred to, I kept the box for traveling. I highly recommend this grill for anyone who does not want the bigger models or who do some camping. In spite of it being smaller, there is plenty of space for cooking steaks, dogs, burgers - you name it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bethsurprise
9/7/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a nice grill for the camper or tailgater that wants to carry it in the trunk, yet have a full size grill on hand. The compact feature is nice for packing. It is easy to assemble and take down. The griddle and grill features are nice to have for an entire meal or just a quick snack. Don't expect to be able to cook for an army in one setting, it is not that large. Being able to connect to your trailers lp tank saves having to carry an extra one in the trunk also. I feel it is well worth buying and would consider it a great gift for another grill friend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for a balcony or small patio!
8/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I did lots of research before buying this. I wanted a good quality propane bbq grill that wouldn't take up half the space on my small balcony. This Coleman grill cooks well. It's perfect for my needs- usually 2-4 people for dinner, so the cooking surface is ample. So far, I am really happy with this purchase. I compared the portable Webber at a similar price- but the stand is sold separately...which made it more expensive for a similar product of the same quality. I bought the blue one ( you can get red, black and green, I think) I like that it takes a smaller cylinder again, great for smaller spaces. And the bonus is that it actually looks sharp- unlike any regular big chunky-looking grill.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, but not quite what I expected
6/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was more than happy with how easy it was to assemble. Nothing to it! But, I had no idea you had to put water in the pan that surrounds the two burners - the grease from cooking then drips into the water. Then what is one supposed to do with the greasy water? Can't put it down the kitchen sink, pour out on the grass or into the trash. So last night I left the water out and the chicken and vegetables still came out great, so I probably won't mess with the "water" that's recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good grill
6/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
this is my second Road Trip grill. First one lasted 7 or 8 years of hard use being left outside in the rain or whatever. It was so good that I bought another one. What more can I say.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SO great I bought it TWICE
5/5/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second time I bought this particular grill. I loved it so much tat after I accidently melted the plates in the first one, I just had to find the exact grill again. Will the grill side and griddle side, you can cook steaks on one side and sautee' onions and mushrooms on the other. This grill is a must have for everyone. It is easy to clean up and leaves you more time to enjoy the meal. (oh BTW don't turn the grill on high and get in an arguement with your spouse. 3 hours later the plates will be melted..)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very useful grill for traveling -
7/25/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the RoadTrip grill for my husband for his birthday to go along with the new camper trailer we had just acquired. This grill is so fun! It fits perfectly under the kitchen table bench in the camper and is so easy to set up to use. We have ordered the cooking pot grill for it and plan to order another grill and griddle each to complete our set. It cleans up very easy with using the water in the holding area under the burners and the grills are Teflon for easy cleaning.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap Material/Poor Customer Service by Coleman
5/13/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this grill a couple of years ago, used it 3 times, most of the time it sat in the storage passage in our camper. The supply line that goes into the grill from the regulator broke at the threads, I have been told that this component is called a "venturi tube" by Coleman Customer Service (who I had to finally call because they would not return my email I sent them through their website). I was told that the Venturi tube is a "non-replaceable part" by Coleman, even though it is clearly shown as a separate part on the part diagram in the owner's manual and I know they have access to them because they are still making this grill. The venturi tube is nothing more than a cheap piece of aluminum that would probably cost less than $5 to replace. The Coleman Customer Service representative acted as if they could care less and kept telling me that there is nothing they can do for an "non-replaceable part". So I spent $230 on a grill that I can not use anymore because of a $5 part that they refuse to replace. No more Coleman products for this camper. My cheap deck grill is more reliable and better than this thing and cost $100 less!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great portable grill
4/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is another Coleman product that I love. Although it is a little more expensive than others like it, this one wins hands down. The design is excellent, set up is easy, the grates clean up really easy too. They are no-stick, so all you need is a run in the dishwasher or a little soak in some warm soapy water and the stuff just peels off. I just cooked Teriyaki chicken last night, and you know how the sugar in that stuff burns and sticks. It cleaned up in 2 minutes. I can't wait to take it tailgating or camping this summer. It does burn through some propane so I am definitely going to buy the 20# adapter kit for it. The heat from this thing is awesome! Sears any steak you have perfectly. Nice dark grill marks on everything. I do like the griddle, but am going to buy another grill grate as I do more grilling than anything else. The only negative point is the folding leg set up is a little wobbly. Not too sturdy and I don't like the way the side shelves help support the legs with pins when you attach them. They are made of plastic and look like they will break long before the grill wears out. I love the feature that you can just leave the legs home and put the whole thing on a picnic table or whatever. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the price.
9/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fits in our rv perfectly for those times when open fires are not allowed to cook our steaks! Would have liked a drip pan area but the clean up after spraying with Pam cooking spray is not bad at all. We also bought the roll carry case to keep it all neat and tidy. Love Coleman products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than your average camp grill
7/22/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this grill a few times from hot dogs to chicken breasts w/bones and steaks. Everything has come out perfect. It is easy to use. A little heavier than I thought it would be but the benefit of the grill and griddle make it worth it. Easy set up and easy to clean. You can't use a metal scraper but with the nonstick surface a little soap and water works fine. I think the price is a little high because you need to buy all the extras. Extra grill, Travel case w/wheels, extra gas hook up. But grills works well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks nice but not powerful enough
4/20/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: beautiful blue enamel color, convenient easy to clean parts, option of griddle and grill Cons: The leg stands are poor quality, NOT easy to move around and a bit flimsy. REQUIRES cleaning after each use because it captures all the debris. Manual recommends you fill the well with water with each use. Expensive for what you get. You are paying for the looks and portability. It's not that portable as I find it heavy, bulky. Food took a long time to cook despite it being on the highest heat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for the tailgater or camper
5/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This grill was very easy to set up, grill space is much larger than it looks and is a great deal for the price. When you get the grill, it comes with 2 cast iron pieces, each covering half of the cooking surface. One side is a griddle and the other is a grill. I ordered the other grill for more grilling space, it wasn't expensive. I also ordered the carry case which is durable and the grilling utinsils. I am set! I can't wait to use this on my first camp trip of the year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
6/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My only complaint, I wish it had wheels like one of the other models had for ease in moving. Cooked a London Broil and veggies - was delicious and cleaned up easily.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A handy dandy portable grill
8/1/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This grill will come in handy at home, its primary location, or at the river and maybe even a guest appearance at work for a hot dog luncheon. Very portable. I ordered the extra grill, griddle and two stove converters from Coleman directly as it only comes with one grill and one griddle. It is a portable unit and for a larger situation you would have to have something with a bigger cooking area. For a portable unit, it is fine for my use!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it & will use it often while camping!
6/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great grill & so versatile. Bought the carrying case which makes it easy to transport! Easy to assemble, leave it up & then tear down when breaking camp! Also bought some of the accessories but haven't used yet!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642849, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-