Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
84
3 stars
25
2 stars
12
1 stars
21
1-20 of 234 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews
Good Value for the price
2/8/2010

Customer review by Suzanne130

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by Suzanne130
by Suzanne130

I purchased two of these to go with the two-door case of the same line. Overall, I think this is a fine bookcase. I'm happy with it's look (except for the high gloss on the backing... more below) and functionality. There are a few things one must be aware of, however. While I'm very experienced with assembling Sauder products, I found this bookcase to be a bit challenging when it came to attaching the shelf moldings and the valance. The moldings themselves don't come marked, and that's a pain because you have to match them carefully with the diagrams in the instructions (I solved this by using a marking pen to label the back of each piece as I checked it off the inventory of parts). During assembly, one has to be extremely careful to attach the moldings and valance correctly. It's not always clear which side is "up" (in the case of the valance) or "out" (in the case of the modlings). I found myself referring to the picture again and again to get these on correctly. However, with patience and a good cup of coffee to sip on while contemplating the manual, it all went together as it should. The first one took about 3 hours including taking a careful inventory of parts / hardware before assembly. The second one took about 2 hours 'cause I'd already worked through the bugs on the first one. Another problem I found is with the size of the L bracket Sauder supplies to tie these to the wall. It's simply not big enough if you've got an electrical outlet behind the case and use it to run power to anything on the case (and I use a belkin surge protector that fits into the wall socket and has pivoting outlets on it - about a 2" profile). I ended up purchasing a larger L bracket to span the necessary space between the bookcase and the wall. The last issue with this piece that I found irritating was the dang high-gloss on the cardboard backing. It is terribly reflective and bothersome. A less reflective finish on this part would enhance the look of this bookcase and not be so distracting. Overall tho' I'd purchase this set again as it really looks pretty nice all put together and it hold a lot of books and other stuff.

Was this review helpful? (73) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suzanne130
Silsbee, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Pleased
4/17/2009

Customer review by DallasBuyer

2.0 stars 4/17/2009 by DallasBuyer
by DallasBuyer

This product looked very nice as I was putting it together and did not come with any nicks. It was very well packaged. However, the cardboard backing to the bookshelf is actually a tri-fold, so it is really obvious that it isn't made of the same material and makes the product look alot cheaper. Once I have books on the shelves that won't be obvious, though. However, all of the edges to the shelves are too short. At first I thought it was just a mistake, but I ordered 2 of these bookshelves and all 8 were 2 short. I just decided not to attach the front edge on the adjustable shelves and no one will know the difference. However, the permanent shelf...there is nothing I can do. I didn't feel like going through the pain of boxing the whole thing back up and returning, so I am just hoping it isn't that obvious to people that are walking into the room.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DallasBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this style
8/25/2007

Customer review by TruBlu

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by TruBlu
by TruBlu

I have bought 7 of this item so far 2 @ office depot and 5 @ walmart even with shipping walmart beats office depot in price.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TruBlu
San Antonio , TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2011

Customer review by Club616gal

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Club616gal
by Club616gal

Instructions are very detailed, but it still took over an hour to put together. A tip that we learned...put the shelves in first and then adjust the edging. It made it easier than going back and forth doing little adjustments. We are very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Club616gal
Oakland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very sturdy
6/25/2009

Customer review by saebosmom

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by saebosmom
by saebosmom

A side rail split as we drove the side screw through it, and a support sleeve was missing. The manufacturer had replacements to us within 5 days, including the weekend. Terrific service.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saebosmom
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
5/11/2011

Customer review by LVBusyMom

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by LVBusyMom
by LVBusyMom

We just purchased 3 of these. Yes, they do take some time to put together. However, given the price and quality look of the finished product, they are certainly worth the money and effort. My husband put them together entirely on his own, given that I am 8 months pregnant, but now the bookcases are beautiful. We are planning on purchasing 2 more for another area in our home in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? (33) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVBusyMom
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall good bookshelf - made some enhancements
12/17/2013

Customer review by Nib138

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Nib138
by Nib138

Overall the bookshelves are great (ordered two along with 1 that has the doors on the bottom two shelves. BUT like everyone else the backing is horrible however I came up with an awesome idea that makes these look much better. I went to my Home Improvement center and bought Unfinished Wood Wall Panels (they are thin tongue and groove panels typically used on walls). I also bought some minwax stain (Red Mahogany). It doesn't match exactly but its close enough to work. I stained and polyurethaned the panels and installed them on the back of the bookshelves. This makes the bookshelves look 100% better than the tri-fold cardboard that is provided. Some small nails (about 3/4 inch# will work just fine. If you can't stand the cardboard back, this will resolve your issue. However you need a tablesaw to rip the final piece to fit on the back #or a circular saw).

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nib138
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
6/9/2009

Customer review by hobbitmom

1.0 stars 6/9/2009 by hobbitmom
by hobbitmom

I purchased a Sauder bookcase in the past (over ten years ago) was pleased with that purchase. I was under the impression from that experience that I would be receiving the same quality merchandise; however, I was very disappointed with this bookcase. It was not very sturdy, the pieces were cut too short so there were gaping holes between the trims, the areas to plug in the bolts were chipped. It was not up to the standards of the past. I won't be purchasing any other bookcases from Sauder in the future.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobbitmom
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These bookcases look great.
2/20/2014

Customer review by Deputy1981

4.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Deputy1981
by Deputy1981

My wife and I are building a small library for our den. We purchased the Sauder Heritage Hill series. For laminated particle board they look great. You can't tell they are not solid cherry wood once you have them put together. They seem to be very sturdy. It took us about 2 and a half hours to put the first one together. We took our time and followed the instructions step by step. We did find ourselves rereading the instructions a time or two but got through the process We are not mechanically inclined but if we can put them together anyone should be able to do so. All you need is a small hammer and a #2 phillips screwdriver. I would recommend getting a long shafted phillips screwdriver as it make it easier to screw in the "hidden screws." The bookcase includes a pen to help hide scratches. We had one small scratch and the pen worked great. Can't even see the scratch. The price is very reasonable for the bookcases. I would go as far as saying you get more than what you paid for and they are made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deputy1981
Prineville, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy this!
5/6/2012

Customer review by Healthyr

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Healthyr
by Healthyr

I ordered this because it was so pretty in the picture. Two of the four shelves I ordered arrived. I opened the box and the longest pieces of "wood" were broken in half. I opened the second box and it was broken in the exact same way. Of course, Walmart is easy with refunds, but it was pretty annoying! I now have beautiful shelves from Ikea, sturdy, attractive and even cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Healthyr
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A very good bookcase for the price
11/2/2013

Customer review by menolike

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by menolike
by menolike

Like most (or all?) Sauder products this unit requires assembly. And, it will take time to assemble it. It took me about 3 hours to assemble. However, the unit looks good with it's dark cherry finish and it looks nice in my home office. One thing you definitely need to do is to read the entire set of instructions first, and then come back and determine what they are trying to tell you as you go through each individual step. I found that I could actually assemble things in a slightly different order which made it easier, especially when it came to the triangular screw blocks holding everything together. If I had complaints they would be 1) the screws seem to easily strip the trim material when applying the front trim panels, and 2) the back (laminated cardboard) needs to be flattened for a day or so, so that it will lie flat against the back of the unit. However, overall the unit would get about 4 -4 1/2 on a scale of 5 when considering price, features, etc.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
menolike
Snellville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waist of money and my time
1/1/2011

Customer review by Shameonthem

1.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Shameonthem
by Shameonthem

Well I ordered the 3 shelve set to make one unit. Started to assemble the first one and was very disappointed. The middle stationary shelf and 3 movable shelves were cut too short by the manufacture. This means when the unit was fully assembled, you could see gaps in the front covers. I would deal with it maybe if this was a 50 dollar item but not for this price. Not to mention I had to drill my own holes, some parts were not labeled, screws did not come individualized packed, drill some more of my own holes. I did not bother opening the 2 other shelves, took back to store.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shameonthem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
4/14/2013

Customer review by Hamdog

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Hamdog
by Hamdog

I love my bookshelf. It only took me 3 days to recieve my item onced shipped. I love the color. Plus the bookshelf is sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hamdog
Waynesville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful product
11/19/2007

Customer review by CrazyForWalmart

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by CrazyForWalmart
by CrazyForWalmart

The bookcase was exactly what I was looking for. I am glad I bought two! The color was just right. The assembly instructions were very straightforward. I put both bookcases together myself. The online shopping experience was excellent and the site-to-store shipping was error free! I will definitely use site-to-store shipping in the future.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyForWalmart
Frankfort, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible Buy
6/11/2012

Customer review by Bob12074

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Bob12074
by Bob12074

The assembled sample in the store looked great. Brought this home and took hours to assemble. The parts do not fit together well and cheap back does not properly fit dimensions of the bookcase so that parts of the back stick out on one side and you can see through the back on the other side. No matter how the back was turned it still did not fit well. Cannot tighten screws so that all parts fit together solidly. Would not have bought this had I known. Will keep until I can find and afford a better, more expensive bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob12074
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice bookshelf for the price
8/20/2014

Customer review by Poppyberry

4.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Poppyberry
by Poppyberry

We really like the way this bookshelf looks and so far it's holding up under the weight of the books (each shelf has a 25 lb. weight limit, except for the bottom shelf, which has a 50lb. limit and the 3rd shelf down, which is not adjustable and has a 40 lb. limit). We received the parts with some of the edges scraped or peeling, but most of these edges ended up behind other pieces, so they didn't show. We covered up the remaining scrapes with the "touch-up pen" (I guess that's why they include the marker). As far as assembly, it took 2 of us about 3 hours to put it together. Most of the instructions were understandable. The hardest part was placing the "adjustable brackets" in the right spot. We wouldn't find out if the bracket was in the right position until we were putting all the pieces together. When they didn't fit, then we had to unscrew the brackets and reposition them and try again. Overall, we're happy with the bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poppyberry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
complicated assembly, shelves not fully laminated
5/20/2013

Customer review by WDick

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by WDick
by WDick

The bookcase looks okay when finally assembled. Along the way, the directions are rather sparse, the pieces look fairly similar to each other. It is pretty cheesy--shelves laminated on one side, lots of braces, lots of paper-feeling things to screw into. I would not recommend. The main problem was trying to use the Wal Mart website. the only slower one is Sam's Club.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WDick
MIchigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product, price & service
7/22/2013

Customer review by JohnNZ

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by JohnNZ
by JohnNZ

The product met my expectations. The cardboard backboard is the only real downside, but it still looks good. Overall the design and quality is very good for the price. The bookcase is flat packed and the packing is superb. the book case parts of packed & padded with polystyrene to ensure parts don't move inside the cardboard case (it would be useful to have another thin layer next to the thicker boards as a couple very minor blemishes from rubbing surfaces during handling/travel - the marker pen included conceals it very well). In addition to the cardboard box, all ends and side edges are covered by a heavy duty angle cardboard, then the whole lot is vacuum packed. This is one of the best examples of packing I have seen for componentry furniture and it works exceptionally well. Full marks!! In addition, Walmart delivered ahead of schedule. I purchased two bookcases and will likely buy another from Walmart as the product & service were great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnNZ
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Careful when putting together
6/15/2008

Customer review by DogDoc99

4.0 stars 6/15/2008 by DogDoc99
by DogDoc99

Very good design but be careful when putting it together. There can be gaps in certain areas (that can be adjusted). The shelves can be a little frustrating to put in because of some of the plastic brackets used to screw the sides to the front, but overall looks very nice and is solid. Instructions were clear and concise. Took me about 3 hours to put it together with a screwdriver. Close quarter drill would be easier as my knuckles were raw by the time I was done from manual screwdriver.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogDoc99
Port St Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/7/2013

Customer review by Threecatlady

3.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Threecatlady
by Threecatlady

Very nice cabinet, nice finish. However, the cheap backing panel which folds greatly detracts from the overall appearance. The backing should be one solid piece with no folds.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Threecatlady
Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews