Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 266 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
87
3 stars
26
2 stars
12
1 stars
22
1-20 of 243 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews
Worth the money
5/11/2011

Customer review by LVBusyMom

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by LVBusyMom
by LVBusyMom

We just purchased 3 of these. Yes, they do take some time to put together. However, given the price and quality look of the finished product, they are certainly worth the money and effort. My husband put them together entirely on his own, given that I am 8 months pregnant, but now the bookcases are beautiful. We are planning on purchasing 2 more for another area in our home in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LVBusyMom
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2011

Customer review by Club616gal

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Club616gal
by Club616gal

Instructions are very detailed, but it still took over an hour to put together. A tip that we learned...put the shelves in first and then adjust the edging. It made it easier than going back and forth doing little adjustments. We are very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Club616gal
Oakland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/14/2013

Customer review by Hamdog

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Hamdog
by Hamdog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my bookshelf. It only took me 3 days to recieve my item onced shipped. I love the color. Plus the bookshelf is sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hamdog
Waynesville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible Buy
6/11/2012

Customer review by Bob12074

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Bob12074
by Bob12074

The assembled sample in the store looked great. Brought this home and took hours to assemble. The parts do not fit together well and cheap back does not properly fit dimensions of the bookcase so that parts of the back stick out on one side and you can see through the back on the other side. No matter how the back was turned it still did not fit well. Cannot tighten screws so that all parts fit together solidly. Would not have bought this had I known. Will keep until I can find and afford a better, more expensive bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob12074
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Item came broken
6/30/2014

Customer review by Ratchetto

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Ratchetto
by Ratchetto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I opened the package for the bookcase it was broken in two... I'm so upset because I was so looking forward to putting it up.. I will return the item to walmart

Was this review helpful? (1) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ratchetto
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
These bookcases look great.
2/20/2014

Customer review by Deputy1981

4.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Deputy1981
by Deputy1981
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife and I are building a small library for our den. We purchased the Sauder Heritage Hill series. For laminated particle board they look great. You can't tell they are not solid cherry wood once you have them put together. They seem to be very sturdy. It took us about 2 and a half hours to put the first one together. We took our time and followed the instructions step by step. We did find ourselves rereading the instructions a time or two but got through the process We are not mechanically inclined but if we can put them together anyone should be able to do so. All you need is a small hammer and a #2 phillips screwdriver. I would recommend getting a long shafted phillips screwdriver as it make it easier to screw in the "hidden screws." The bookcase includes a pen to help hide scratches. We had one small scratch and the pen worked great. Can't even see the scratch. The price is very reasonable for the bookcases. I would go as far as saying you get more than what you paid for and they are made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deputy1981
Prineville, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good bookcase for the price
11/2/2013

Customer review by menolike

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by menolike
by menolike
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like most (or all?) Sauder products this unit requires assembly. And, it will take time to assemble it. It took me about 3 hours to assemble. However, the unit looks good with it's dark cherry finish and it looks nice in my home office. One thing you definitely need to do is to read the entire set of instructions first, and then come back and determine what they are trying to tell you as you go through each individual step. I found that I could actually assemble things in a slightly different order which made it easier, especially when it came to the triangular screw blocks holding everything together. If I had complaints they would be 1) the screws seem to easily strip the trim material when applying the front trim panels, and 2) the back (laminated cardboard) needs to be flattened for a day or so, so that it will lie flat against the back of the unit. However, overall the unit would get about 4 -4 1/2 on a scale of 5 when considering price, features, etc.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
menolike
Snellville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bookshelf for the price
8/20/2014

Customer review by Poppyberry

4.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Poppyberry
by Poppyberry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We really like the way this bookshelf looks and so far it's holding up under the weight of the books (each shelf has a 25 lb. weight limit, except for the bottom shelf, which has a 50lb. limit and the 3rd shelf down, which is not adjustable and has a 40 lb. limit). We received the parts with some of the edges scraped or peeling, but most of these edges ended up behind other pieces, so they didn't show. We covered up the remaining scrapes with the "touch-up pen" (I guess that's why they include the marker). As far as assembly, it took 2 of us about 3 hours to put it together. Most of the instructions were understandable. The hardest part was placing the "adjustable brackets" in the right spot. We wouldn't find out if the bracket was in the right position until we were putting all the pieces together. When they didn't fit, then we had to unscrew the brackets and reposition them and try again. Overall, we're happy with the bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poppyberry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Pleased
4/17/2009

Customer review by DallasBuyer

2.0 stars 4/17/2009 by DallasBuyer
by DallasBuyer

This product looked very nice as I was putting it together and did not come with any nicks. It was very well packaged. However, the cardboard backing to the bookshelf is actually a tri-fold, so it is really obvious that it isn't made of the same material and makes the product look alot cheaper. Once I have books on the shelves that won't be obvious, though. However, all of the edges to the shelves are too short. At first I thought it was just a mistake, but I ordered 2 of these bookshelves and all 8 were 2 short. I just decided not to attach the front edge on the adjustable shelves and no one will know the difference. However, the permanent shelf...there is nothing I can do. I didn't feel like going through the pain of boxing the whole thing back up and returning, so I am just hoping it isn't that obvious to people that are walking into the room.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DallasBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent product, price & service
7/22/2013

Customer review by JohnNZ

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by JohnNZ
by JohnNZ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product met my expectations. The cardboard backboard is the only real downside, but it still looks good. Overall the design and quality is very good for the price. The bookcase is flat packed and the packing is superb. the book case parts of packed & padded with polystyrene to ensure parts don't move inside the cardboard case (it would be useful to have another thin layer next to the thicker boards as a couple very minor blemishes from rubbing surfaces during handling/travel - the marker pen included conceals it very well). In addition to the cardboard box, all ends and side edges are covered by a heavy duty angle cardboard, then the whole lot is vacuum packed. This is one of the best examples of packing I have seen for componentry furniture and it works exceptionally well. Full marks!! In addition, Walmart delivered ahead of schedule. I purchased two bookcases and will likely buy another from Walmart as the product & service were great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnNZ
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall good bookshelf - made some enhancements
12/17/2013

Customer review by Nib138

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Nib138
by Nib138

Overall the bookshelves are great (ordered two along with 1 that has the doors on the bottom two shelves. BUT like everyone else the backing is horrible however I came up with an awesome idea that makes these look much better. I went to my Home Improvement center and bought Unfinished Wood Wall Panels (they are thin tongue and groove panels typically used on walls). I also bought some minwax stain (Red Mahogany). It doesn't match exactly but its close enough to work. I stained and polyurethaned the panels and installed them on the back of the bookshelves. This makes the bookshelves look 100% better than the tri-fold cardboard that is provided. Some small nails (about 3/4 inch# will work just fine. If you can't stand the cardboard back, this will resolve your issue. However you need a tablesaw to rip the final piece to fit on the back #or a circular saw).

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nib138
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nightmare to assemble!
3/31/2009

Customer review by LoveQuinley

3.0 stars 3/31/2009 by LoveQuinley
by LoveQuinley

This bookcase was literally a nightmare to assemble, and this wasn't my first time buying Sauder furniture! I have never had trouble assembling furniture before, even by myself. This bookcase was a different story. My husband and I worked together on this bookcase for 3 days, often times getting so mad we had to come back later and try again. If you follow the directions step-by-step, that only makes it worse. You are asked to used peices of the bookcase as "spacers" during assembly, but if you are off even one tiny bit, the whole thing will not go together and you have to take it apart and start all over. We bought two of these bookcases, so fortunately when we started the second one, we knew better than to follow the directions given by Sauder. The second bookcase only took us 30 minutes. The overall appearance is pretty good. I wish it would stand up and be sturdy without the cardboard backing, because it looks much better without it. Overall.. I don't think this bookcase is worth what we paid for it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveQuinley
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
IT'S GREAT
6/1/2015

Customer review by RKYMTMOM

5.0 stars 6/1/2015 by RKYMTMOM
by RKYMTMOM

I HAD LOOKED AT A BOOKCASE FROM A FURNITURE/ACCESSORY STORE AND IT WAS $600. WHEN I SAW THIS ONE ON LINE I THOUGHT IT WOULD LOOK CHEAP BECAUSE IT COSTS SO MUCH LESS. THEY DIDN'T HAVE ONE AT THE STORES TO LOOK AT, BUT THEY HAD A TV STAND SIMILAR TO THE BOOKCASE. I DECIDED TO GIVE IT A CHANCE. I ORDERED IT AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP I CHECKED OUT THE BOX. EVERYTHING WAS FINE. THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR PUTTING IT TOGETHER WERE SPOT ON. THE BOOKCASE WAS IN PERFECT CONDITION AND DID NOT HAVE ONE SCRATCH OR DENT. I LOVE IT. IF I HAD ONE THING TO CHANGE, IT WOULD BE TO LEAVE THE BACK ON A FLAT SURFACE FOR A DAY OR TWO TO TAKE OUT THE FOLD MARKS. ONCE IT IS PUT TOGETHER I HESITATE TO TAKE IT OFF AND TRY TO CORRECT IT. BY NOW, I AM USED TO THE CREASES SHOWING AND WON'T DO ANYTHING. IT IS MY ONLY COMPLAINT. OTHER THAN THAT IT IS GREAT - ESPECIALLY SINCE IT DIDN'T COST ME ANYTHING NEAR $600 AND THE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RKYMTMOM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value for the price
2/8/2010

Customer review by Suzanne130

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by Suzanne130
by Suzanne130

I purchased two of these to go with the two-door case of the same line. Overall, I think this is a fine bookcase. I'm happy with it's look (except for the high gloss on the backing... more below) and functionality. There are a few things one must be aware of, however. While I'm very experienced with assembling Sauder products, I found this bookcase to be a bit challenging when it came to attaching the shelf moldings and the valance. The moldings themselves don't come marked, and that's a pain because you have to match them carefully with the diagrams in the instructions (I solved this by using a marking pen to label the back of each piece as I checked it off the inventory of parts). During assembly, one has to be extremely careful to attach the moldings and valance correctly. It's not always clear which side is "up" (in the case of the valance) or "out" (in the case of the modlings). I found myself referring to the picture again and again to get these on correctly. However, with patience and a good cup of coffee to sip on while contemplating the manual, it all went together as it should. The first one took about 3 hours including taking a careful inventory of parts / hardware before assembly. The second one took about 2 hours 'cause I'd already worked through the bugs on the first one. Another problem I found is with the size of the L bracket Sauder supplies to tie these to the wall. It's simply not big enough if you've got an electrical outlet behind the case and use it to run power to anything on the case (and I use a belkin surge protector that fits into the wall socket and has pivoting outlets on it - about a 2" profile). I ended up purchasing a larger L bracket to span the necessary space between the bookcase and the wall. The last issue with this piece that I found irritating was the dang high-gloss on the cardboard backing. It is terribly reflective and bothersome. A less reflective finish on this part would enhance the look of this bookcase and not be so distracting. Overall tho' I'd purchase this set again as it really looks pretty nice all put together and it hold a lot of books and other stuff.

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suzanne130
Silsbee, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
6/9/2009

Customer review by hobbitmom

1.0 stars 6/9/2009 by hobbitmom
by hobbitmom

I purchased a Sauder bookcase in the past (over ten years ago) was pleased with that purchase. I was under the impression from that experience that I would be receiving the same quality merchandise; however, I was very disappointed with this bookcase. It was not very sturdy, the pieces were cut too short so there were gaping holes between the trims, the areas to plug in the bolts were chipped. It was not up to the standards of the past. I won't be purchasing any other bookcases from Sauder in the future.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hobbitmom
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for the money
1/9/2016

Customer review by Marilyn

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Marilyn
by Marilyn

They are just as the appear in the photo. Wanted to get something inexpensive to put my collectibles on and these served the purpose just fine. The shelves are sturdy and the molding finishes them off nicely.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marilyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this style
8/25/2007

Customer review by TruBlu

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by TruBlu
by TruBlu

I have bought 7 of this item so far 2 @ office depot and 5 @ walmart even with shipping walmart beats office depot in price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruBlu
San Antonio , TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very sturdy
6/25/2009

Customer review by saebosmom

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by saebosmom
by saebosmom

A side rail split as we drove the side screw through it, and a support sleeve was missing. The manufacturer had replacements to us within 5 days, including the weekend. Terrific service.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saebosmom
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this!
5/6/2012

Customer review by Healthyr

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Healthyr
by Healthyr

I ordered this because it was so pretty in the picture. Two of the four shelves I ordered arrived. I opened the box and the longest pieces of "wood" were broken in half. I opened the second box and it was broken in the exact same way. Of course, Walmart is easy with refunds, but it was pretty annoying! I now have beautiful shelves from Ikea, sturdy, attractive and even cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Healthyr
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Attractive Bookshelves
10/27/2015

Customer review by lazybones

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by lazybones
by lazybones

These are easy to assemble and have a "furniture" type look that would go well in any room. They seem sturdy and stable for books and heavier objects.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lazybones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews