Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 105 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

105 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

105 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 96 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Great intro smart phone
2/10/2012

Customer review by Grandpawshopper

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Grandpawshopper
by Grandpawshopper

Having lost my blackberry to a fall, I began the search for a replacement smartphone. I use the AT&T prepay, and wanted apps for document storage and a few 3G functions. I didn't want high data charges, having a home wifi that access was also important to me. After searching higher priced phones with more features, this fit the bill. Other reviews gave a good picture of it's capabilities and they have all been correct. The one negative was battery life. I am not a full time talker but was finding a charge barely lasting a day. The solution is to get one of the battery saver apps. I got JuiceDefender and have had great results, often going 2+ days with limited phone activity between charging. Be sure to check it out. I like the landscape keys for entry, one of the reasons I didn't go back to the BB, along with the price. Overall, a great little droid phone so far, about 3 weeks into use. Also, get the extended coverage for piece of mind, include accidental dunking, it happens.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpawshopper
Bastrop, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FANTASTIC Phone...
1/11/2012

Customer review by travnky

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by travnky
by travnky

I did some looking b4 I made a final decision looked at alot of different phones, even looked at the att&t fusion, but after reading the reviews on this phone, it made up my mind that and seeing one at the AT&T store being able to hold it in my hand and see it. The screen is a Very Nice Size at 3.5" don't have to strain your eyes to see things on it. It has the GPS which is GREAT, and all the feature's of that I had as a long time AT&T Customer under contract, but w/this phone IF you have AT&T and want to switch to pre-paid they can do that for you with NO CONNECTION FEE, Loved that part to. I had an HTC phone but to get it on the pre-paid plan AT&T wanted a bunch of money to do that, but with this phone..it's just $50 a month an You get Unlimited Talk, Unlimited Text, and Unlimited Data. I'd recommend this phone to ANYONE and EVERYONE that wants a Cell phone but DON'T want a Contract...IT'S AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? (243) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
travnky
Somerset, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great first Android and prepaid phone
6/24/2012

Customer review by SaphirSkorpion1

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by SaphirSkorpion1
by SaphirSkorpion1

Got tired of paying high Verizon prices for plan and phones, so decided to go with prepaid. Looked at several phone models, companies and plans. Went with AT&T because it compared in coverage with Verizon. Compared AT&T Fusion with the Avail and decided on Avail based on the features we were used to using with old phones. Also bought one for my son. Took awhile for both of us to get used to a complete touchscreen phone, as we were used to a touchscreen/qwerty slideout keyboard. LOVE the voice option - I have gotten spoiled on this instead of typing out messages! This is a great first Android phone. We are still learning about it, which has made it fun, interesting. You DO NOT have to buy a data plan if you have WIFI access at home, work, travel. And it automatically picks up AT&T wifi hotspots. Only cons: No flash for camera, and if you have alot of apps going on - phone will freeze momentarily on occasion.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaphirSkorpion1
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I don't like the calling and data plans
9/6/2012

Customer review by Friends4

2.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Friends4
by Friends4

While it is nice not having a contract, if you don't keep enough money in your AT&T account to pay the monthly calling AND data plans (you have to have both plans to fully utilize this phone#, it is very difficult to get your phone working if AT&T can't automatically fund the monthly renewals. It never works to access account info from the phone -- I always have to log into the AT&T site. I find it difficult to determine what uses up my data, too. Some months I maintain a full balance and other months all of my available data disappears within a week. When that happens, it is very difficult to buy more data before the monthly renewal date. Between the cost for the call plan AND the data plan, to have decent availability, I would be better off going with a call plan/data contract that might give me roll-over minutes #not available with the plan I have) and unlimited data. I think the price would be the same and I wouldn't have to deal with adding funding to my AT&T account all of the time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Friends4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
ALL U NEED AT A VERY LOW ANDROID PRICE!!!
2/22/2012

Customer review by MrNiteWriter

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by MrNiteWriter
by MrNiteWriter

Because I am a writer I do a lot of research on subjects..So when it came down to smartphone shopping for a great deal at a low price..I found that the AVAIL was the best buy for anyone who wants a android 3G phone..I had no problems with the set-up & since I was already a GO-PHONE customer I got 2 keep my number..Phone looks & feels great as is..Sound is PURE & the screen is big & bright..Everything feels great..I have been with AT&T 4 almost 7 years & never had a problem with drop calls or bad reception & I still don't..With the AVAIL unlike the FUSION you get a free car charger..So not only do u get a better phone u get a free accessory..I have already told my brother & mother 2 get 1..Especially since it's NO CONTRACT & u can purchase the data that u need anytime u need it..Walmart gives u 15 days 2 return the product..3 days if u want 2 purchase the $20 18 month warranty..If u are use 2 4G or Iphones..I suggest u stay with them if u overuse your phone with them 4 it may be a downgrade but u cannot beat this deal if u tried..Now since I have a landline & a home PC..This works 4 me & will work 4 others as well even if u don't..Get rid of your contract & FREE YOURSELF WITH THE AVAIL..Hope that helped because reviews helped me A LOT..=-)

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNiteWriter
Arlington,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AT&T Z990 Avail GoPhone
12/28/2011

Customer review by Great2Bme

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Great2Bme
by Great2Bme

Love this phone... Pros: Touch screen, 5mp auto-focus camera with video capability, bluetooth, feels durable. With wi-fi on you can connect to the internet through your home wi-fi connection at no extra charge. With the included 2GB microSD card we were able to connect the phone to the computer and download music and pictures to the sd card. This was a replacement phone for our goPhone service. Put our old sim card in this phone - thats it! Cons: Battery drains fast with wi-fi activated. Save the battery life by turning off the wi-fi when not in use. Other phones we looked at were a bit cheaper, but none had the 5mp camera. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (264) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Great2Bme
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/23/2012

Customer review by Faithieboo

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by Faithieboo
by Faithieboo

Omg! I am so pleased with this phone! I have always been pretty big on having the best contracted phones. But... $$ is tight with me having a family of my own right now, so I can not afford flashy phones anymore! So my husband talked me into getting a pre-paid phone. I am so GLAD that I did and choose this model as my first. It has the android market, swype keyboard, touch screen, rubberize backing for better phone damage protection, call record, block call options, user friendly and more. I love this phone and the price. This phone does the same things as those pricey phone.

Was this review helpful? (150) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Faithieboo
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money.
3/25/2012

Customer review by MykesMommy

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by MykesMommy
by MykesMommy

Ive had this phone for about 6 weeks now. The first month I had no problems with it. Now, it randomly shuts off and starts back up again in the middle of doing something. One morning my alarm went off and after hitting the snooze the ringer continued to go off. Even after I turned the volume off, turned the alarm itself off, changed the alarm time, and changed the alarm ringtone. I just had to yank the battery out of it in order for it to stop going off. I also have the phone set so I have to draw the pattern on the screen to unlock it, sometimes it doesnt show up so it just goes right to my home screen without asking for the pattern to unlock my phone. Today I tried tapping the messaging icon and it took me to music. So I hit back. Tapped messages agian and it took me to the MyFitnessPal app, and so on and so on until I had to power the phone off and turn it back on in order for it to work right. Im kind of disappointed with this phone after spending $125 dollars on it. You think for that kind of money it would be a better phone. I guess not.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MykesMommy
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful phone
2/11/2012

Customer review by siloam

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by siloam
by siloam

This is my first smart phone, and I am pleased. The phone is intuitive and easy to learn. It has a soft rubber backing which makes damage less likely. The 5 MP camera and video are great. Images are very clear. It has GPS, and can help you find anything nearby through Places or the YP app. It gives spoken directions using GPS! I find myself using the phone for things I would have used the computer or Garmin for before. Oh, and phone reception is clear and there is call fowarding and all of that. I use wi-fi at home, and gmail instead of texting, and have been able to get by with about $25 per month using the 10 cents/minute and $15 data plan. Love it! My daughters with their contract phones are jealous.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
siloam
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, Basic Smart Phone-Moderately Priced
2/11/2012

Customer review by OldDuffer67

4.0 stars 2/11/2012 by OldDuffer67
by OldDuffer67

Purchased two weeks ago to replace a Land Line Phone in a outlying area near St. Louis. AT&T service is very good and I wanted reasonably priced phone service as I am near retirement. The Z990 has very competitive features with the top cell phones in this market. Voice calls are clear, but without excessive volume. The battery life is not as long as expected but a download of a battery saving app from market extends the useful life by 8-10 hours usually re-charging every two days. The camera is overrated but this is a phone, not a camera. Access to very useful apps is a positive and g-mail is wonderful as is SMS Texting sometimes my only way to reach my mid-20's adult daughter. Will respond after 6 months to verify longer term usability. Currently very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDuffer67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone, Poor Battery
2/27/2012

Customer review by Stacey89

3.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Stacey89
by Stacey89

This phone is great! I can't afford a full contract smartphone so this is the perfect alternative. I usually don't talk much on my phone, I like to text more. If this is like you, this phone would be perfect for you. I am on the $25 plan, 250 min. and unlimited min. so it's a great value for your money. The only bad part is the battery life. It's just plain bad! I've only had it for about 2 days and only used it for texting and I've run the battery to its death before the end of the day. You definitely need a car charger or an extra battery on hand all the time with this phone. Other than that, I love it. It's got a great texting feature, the speak and text capability that may be old news to some but it's new for me! I love being able to speak my texts and not worry about typing them out. Makes me get it done much faster.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stacey89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good phone for price
1/21/2012

Customer review by memphis623

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by memphis623
by memphis623

This is a good phone for the price. There are a few things that could be different, but overall it is nice. One thing that I wish were different is the 3G data on/off option. You have to go through settings to switch it on/off. It should be a shortcut you could put on your screen. Not enough of an issue to not purchase the phone. The battery charges very quickly, but it also drains quickly unless you shut down a lot of the apps. It does have the swype keyboard as well as talk-to-text, so that is a nice feature. No designated camera button and no camera flash. There are 7 home screens to personalize. Overall, the phone is worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
memphis623
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/30/2011

Customer review by michael51

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by michael51
by michael51

I just got this phone and it is outstanding. It does more than expected. It has and does twice of what the AT&T fusion has. For the price and what it does it cant be beat

Was this review helpful? (115) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michael51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first smart phone!!!
2/9/2012

Customer review by hill40

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by hill40
by hill40

OMG... I absolutly love this phone. It like a mini computer. I researched all phones for pre-piad and this one had the best ratings by far...I absolutly love this phone.. takes awesome pics as well. I am so glad I chose this phone.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hill40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Ok phone
5/19/2012

Customer review by 12Teacher

2.0 stars 5/19/2012 by 12Teacher
by 12Teacher

I was with Verizon but could no longer handle the monthly payments. With Verizon, I had a Samsung Galaxy S...awesome phone! I hated to part with it. I purchased the Z990 online to use with a straighttalk SIM card. Little did I know the phone is made by AT&T and it uses the their towers, regardless of the SIM card from straighttalk. Needless to say, I had terrible coverage. Also, the phone was a little to girly for me - to small and light-weight. The Android 2.3 gingerbread is not that impressive. I decided to return it at my local Walmart...no issues with returning it. I needed a phone immediately because I started a new job and needed to give the company a permanent number. I did a lot of research and ended up going back to straighttalk and purchased the Nokia E71. I absolutely love this phone! Of course I have to get use to things it doesn't have that my Samsung had, but it does what I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12Teacher
E. City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
2/11/2012

Customer review by Educator2000

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Educator2000
by Educator2000

After looking around and studying the many different cellular telephones I have found that this one gives you the most features for the price. I have only had it for approximately two weeks but since that time it has worked flawlessly. I have been able to load the various programs that I needed – such as for my credit union account. I have been able to load a distinctive ringtone on it. The camera has taken good pictures.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Educator2000
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ZTE AVAIL
2/6/2012

Customer review by jessss12000

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by jessss12000
by jessss12000

Does everything the more expensive adroid phone does. Runs on Android 2.3.4 Gingerbread. I like how it's smaller and lighter than the other phones. No contract needed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jessss12000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great phone for the price
5/29/2012

Customer review by theyachtsman

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by theyachtsman
by theyachtsman

i'm 75 so i needed a phone that was easy to use, but a phone i could text on, and this one is great. It has talk to text, wow. I have had it about two weeks, but i'm still under contract, so I haven't used the smart part of this phone yet, but everything else is great. I have had no problems with the battery life. it lasted for days right out of the box, on the first charge. I had a friend show me how to make the screen bright and its fine now. I am very happy with this phone. I really liked my old simple phone and really didn't want to get this kind of phone, BUT, I'm really glad I bought this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theyachtsman
stockton, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK 1st Android but outgrown quick StraightTalk SIM
3/4/2012

Customer review by Thunder427

3.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Thunder427
by Thunder427

Okay first Android but will be quickly out grown. Works great with Straight Talk SIM card. (Uses the standard size AT&T SIM not the micro) Comes with home, USB , and car chargers. Also a 2gb SD card. My biggest complaints: Not too much room to add more apps. If you need to add much more than about half a dozen apps find another phone. It has a few AT&T apps that even an AT&T user wont use. I mean seriously what pre-paid user is going to pay an extra $10 a month for AT&T navigation app when the Google nav app that is also on the phone is free. Battery charge run time seems a little short I am charging it 2-3 times a day but that is with heavy use.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thunder427
Palestine Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than meets expectations of an AT&T Gophone
4/16/2012

Customer review by Nevedita

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Nevedita
by Nevedita

Unbelievable value at a contract-less great price! This phone comes with Gingerbread out of the packaging and delivers a great android smartphone to your surprise. I bought this phone for my preteen daughter after she saved money for an upgrade, I put in half of her costs as a gift. You get the quality of an Android/iPhone without breaking your bank. The screen is amazing for the phone cost, accessories are cheap on amazon and ebay. I would say the only thing that anyone could remotely complain about is the lack of internal memory (although you can expand the phones capabilities up to 32 gigs,) you need internal memory to run much of it and store cache files natively and the screen keyboard which is on the small side. Still we managed to download and/or transfer around 15 apps to the sd card. The screen is great, the touch feature is extremely responsive, the apps that are available are in demand, and the phone does it's primary function of calling/texts extraordinarily well. No matter what I won't take away a star from a product that more than met expectations in a prepaid market saturated with overpriced, cheaply made and feature lacking phones. This one looked nice, felt nice and more importantly, functioned well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nevedita
Suffern, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews