Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 32 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Met My Expectations
3/1/2012

Customer review by Pulpfictionshooter

4.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Pulpfictionshooter
by Pulpfictionshooter

I really liked the small thin reticle and the magnification this scope provided. I was able to zero in about 6 rounds. I zeroed this scope at 50yds and could consistently hit my point of aim which was a one inch square. I was able to keyhole or (place one round atop of another round) fairly easy. I mounted this scope on a Tactical Solutions (Ruger type 22 rifle) and shot walmart purchased Remington 22 ammo and I think its a pretty good fit. I have yet to try the BDC & the Spot on program to reach out to greater distances but Im sure it will handle shooting out to 100yds-150yds just fine. My only complaint is that when I ordered this item the discription read that the scope would come with scope rings well that was not the case... the (SCOPE RINGS WERE NOT PRESENT) when I picked item up from my local walmart. The kid at the counter for site to store shipping asked if I still wanted the scope. I said yes since I had waited a week to get the scope as Sportsmans Warehouse was sold out. Hope this helps.. Sal :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pulpfictionshooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Riflescope. Low Price. Perfect for Rimfire.
3/13/2014

Customer review by Target Shooter

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Target Shooter
by Target Shooter

I purchased this for my Savage Mark II BTVS .22LR. Mounted with Nikon P-Series mounts. Adjusted the scope fore-aft for my eye position and the eye relief allows a clear view with every draw. I appreciate the quality build, lifetime warranty, multi-coated lenses, BDC 150 reticle, and BDC phone app. While I did heed other reviews on the plastic caps, I don't have a problem with them as I feel the plastic will make a better seal for waterproofing than aluminum. I have had other scopes with aluminum caps tend to leave aluminum filings with repeated on/off turning and was not happy. In addressing the magnification ring issue, I do feel the pound of torque needed to turn could be better served with a few ounces of force to turn. We are shooting rimfires here, not .50 cal. With that noted, it is a wonderful scope for the price.

Target Shooter
Ohio, NE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hit or Miss
12/8/2014

Customer review by JimKY

3.0 stars 12/8/2014 by JimKY
by JimKY

In the specs review, says it crystal clear sighting in and can set your settings to zero. Been to the range twice in one week to zero in, instructions say point to the sky and adjust for sharpness. Done this, but when you put it on paper you are out of focus. Adjust to see the target, the Reticle is out of focus. Anyway, zeroed in for 25 yards, shot a good pattern, set my turrets to zero, moved out to 50 yards and using the next BDC reticle for 50 yards I'm shooting 2 inches low. Not using the BDC reticle and using the #9 full power, I raised the sight 7 clicks or 1 3/4" and was dead on. So forgetting the BDC Reticles and using the cross hairs, I can go from 25 yards to 50 yards and shoot a 2 inch pattern. If the focus was clearer, I could shoot a 1 inch pattern. Is this a nice scope, I think so, is it any better than any other scope, probably not, just a few extra gadgets that do nothing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimKY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rimfire Excellence
2/10/2015

Customer review by Backbeach

5.0 stars 2/10/2015 by Backbeach
by Backbeach

This scope is a great match for an accurate .22, .22wmr or .17 HMR rifle. The click adjustments are solid and accurate. The scope is well made and Nikon's "Spot ON" app( $4.99) gives you specific and extensive load ballistics at your fingertips at the range or afield. It isn't too heavy at 15 oz. so it doesn't compromise the balance of my Ruger American Rimfire rifle. In that application I chose Weaver no.12 mounts fore and aft; and mounted the Scope in Weaver Quad Lock rings in Medium height, just clearing the folding front sight with the objective bell and giving approx. 3 and 1/2" eye relief. This keeps the scope at a comfortable height with the high comb module provided.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Backbeach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great price if you receive the rings
2/23/2014

Customer review by 71207

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by 71207
by 71207
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not received the Rings for my scope. I have friend who had the same problem. He finally received tactical Rings from Walmart. The scope is high quality. The Scope is perfect for the Ruger 10/22 Tactical. Walmart needs to make sure when the Scope is sent that the rings are with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
71207
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well Built, High Quality
11/20/2014

Customer review by Rimfire Scope

4.0 stars 11/20/2014 by Rimfire Scope
by Rimfire Scope

High quality, the optics are absolutely stunning. I can check a squirrel's dental health with this thing. Much better than I expected. I'm retired military and the highest compliment I can pay this scope is that it is built like a tank!!! The only detractor on this scope is the variable power adjustment ring is stiff and hard to turn, while I appreciate it being solid and not sloppy, I think a little less torque should be required to adjust the scope. On other scopes, I adjust magnification while observing the target through the scope, this is almost impossible on this scope, it takes too much force to move the ring. I'm going to recommend this product, but only if you intend to use it as a fixed power scope.

Rimfire Scope
Tifton, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't find better for the money
6/26/2012

Customer review by 10ring

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by 10ring
by 10ring

Great scope. Very clear and bright glass and the bdc is cool And accurate. I like the ability to zero after zeroing and it looks sweet on my 10/22 target though I will be getting a sunshade for that target scope look. All in all very pleased with purchase even though no rings came with it ( I always replace stock rings anyways ). Are there better scopes yes but for the money spent this is one smokin' piece of glass.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10ring
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Scope!
12/8/2014

Customer review by satisfiedowner

5.0 stars 12/8/2014 by satisfiedowner
by satisfiedowner

So far everything I have found with this rifle scope is positive. The optics are extremely clear with no appreciable distortion that I can see and this one has a large enough rear lens to make viewing through it Great. Adjustment knobs are precise, well marked and easy to set. I especially like not having to use any tools to make the adjustments. This scope will be mounted on a Ruger 10 22 very soon and I am quite sure it will be the "ticket" for this rifle. So far from what I see the Nikon ProStaff rim fire scope would work well on almost any rim fire 22 rifle. The idea to make these scopes for particular calibers and trajectories is a great one. This should make figuring out bullet drop at distances much easier. I will try to update this one after it is on the rifle and it gets sighted in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
satisfiedowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BDC Reticle Works Great
7/15/2013

Customer review by TMan51

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by TMan51
by TMan51

I have several Nikon scopes on various rifles and I was looking for a scope that would take some of the guestimating out of long range shots for my 77/22 VBZ. The reticle works perfectly with standard velocity ammo, but you need to check POI for faster stuff. Aguila Interceptor turns it into a BDC 185, and for pinpoint accuracy in between, you will need to determine where things land in between. It does have a big advantage in that sighted in at 50yds with the interceptor, the 75yd aim point is dead on at 50yds with several flavors of standard velocity and subsonic.

TMan51
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the money.
3/18/2012

Customer review by Skipperchip

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Skipperchip
by Skipperchip

Excellent scope, it substantially increases the usefulness of the 22. Zero it a 50 yards and it's good for 75, 100, 125, and 150 yards. Also no tool is necessary for windage and elevation adjustment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skipperchip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent all the way
2/8/2013

Customer review by Tackdriver

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Tackdriver
by Tackdriver

Looked for a nice scope for my rimfire Marlin 81 that belonged to my father. Needless to say it is old, since I am old. Purchased this scope for 50-75 yard shots. Wonderful. Sighted in and set knobs to zero. Then sighted in a hotter load and recorded those numbers. Now I have two instant settings for two different loads. The zero setting is my mild load and the other is my hot load. Optics are extremely clear and sharp. Holds zero with no problem. Old eyes "love it".

Tackdriver
Lexington, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Custom made for my Ruger 10/22 and me!
12/12/2012

Customer review by merlink

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by merlink
by merlink

When I decided to purchase a new 10/22, I wanted an exceptional rifle to start with, so I picked Ruger's VLEH model. My experience with Nikon optics made that part easy. And when I heard about the Prostaff Rimfire with a BDC, my mind was made up. I bought the two items together, and with a couple other minor mods to the rifle, I made the best .22 that I have ever owned in my 50+ years of shooting. Thank you Nikon! Great product!

merlink
Ogden, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very bright and clear.
10/28/2013

Customer review by Missouri Squirrel Hunter

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Missouri Squirrel Hunter
by Missouri Squirrel Hunter

Bought this Prostaff Rimfire 3-9x40 BDC to mount on my Savage MKII .22lr. That had to be one of the best decisions I have made in a scope purchase. It is very clear, very very easy to zero in, and a lifetime warranty. That makes it a winner all the way around. The only thing that could make it better would be for Nikon to clean and cook all those squirrels I have shots since I mounted the scope.

Missouri Squirrel Hunter
Cape Girardeau, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A winner for .17HMR too!
4/19/2013

Customer review by the burg

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by the burg
by the burg

Added this to my new Browning T-Bolt and it's extremely bright & clear, holds it's zero perfectly. I sighted in in at 100, 150 & 200 yards. The finish of the scope matches the synthetic stock & the barrels armor coating. I also have one of these mounted on a Savage Arms .17HMR. I am now a true Nikon fan.....no more spending extra $$$ on the "L" brand.

the burg
Cherry Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great scope for the price
6/13/2013

Customer review by JDF

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by JDF
by JDF

Highly recommend. User friendly. Zeroing is simple and easy. Snap rings let's you zero set once you've zeroed in. Parallax capability lets shoot short or long range targets - quick, easy, and accurate.

JDF
Derwood, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Seller - UnbeatableSale.com
12/18/2014

Customer review by Ezloper

1.0 stars 12/18/2014 by Ezloper
by Ezloper

I cannot speak for the quality of the scope, because we never received it !!!! When the order was placed the confirmation email indicated a backorder with expected delivery 10 days. Fifteen days later I get an email that the order is canceled. So much for the gift arriving in time !!!! Walmart needs to reconsider their partnership with this seller. Good thing Amazon is more reliable. As far as the scope - the exact same model ordered from Amazon that arrived on time. Is an incredible scope and well worth the price. We were very impressed with the quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ezloper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Labeled wrong
1/19/2015

Customer review by Sons1stscope

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by Sons1stscope
by Sons1stscope

The Nikon 3x9x40 bdc scope that i ultimately purchased is a great product. I originally ordered on line from Wal-mart. However the product was label wrong on there web site. Nowhere in the description did they mention "rimfire" so to my amazement when i received the scope it was indeed a rimfire scope. We had to return this scope to the store and purchase a "centerfire" scope. The return and repurchase process was easy and quick,so no complaints there. Just several days of inconvience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sons1stscope
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
False Advertisement
2/23/2014

Customer review by paulaskye2

2.0 stars 2/23/2014 by paulaskye2
by paulaskye2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product did not come as advertised. Advertised as coming with mounting rings but rings not included in package. Returned product for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulaskye2
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great scope so far
1/1/2015

Customer review by Tw1sted

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by Tw1sted
by Tw1sted

I bought this scope last night and went to the range to zero it. It took me all of 5 minutes to zero this in at 100 yards. Once it was zeroed, I hit my target every single time at 100 yards with all kinds of ammo. I used Remington, Federal, CCI, and Winchester. All hit the target within a 5 inch group. The optics are very clear and the magnification was good. I couldn't be happier and will put this on all my Ruger 10/22's.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tw1sted
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You do not get what you think you are getting
1/7/2014

Customer review by sbc400man

3.0 stars 1/7/2014 by sbc400man
by sbc400man
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just bought this scope from the Wal Mart website and I thought I was getting the Nikon BDC riflescope but instead they gave me the Nikon BDC Rimfire Rifle scope which is designed for 22 long rifles. I am putting it on my 7 MM Magnum so I am relying on Nikons Name Brand reliability to hold up to the shock recoil difference. I have not used the scope yet but just wanted people to know what they are getting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbc400man
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews