Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-16 of 16 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Superb E-Reader and Good Tablet
1/17/2012

Customer review by IdahoDealSeeker

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by IdahoDealSeeker
by IdahoDealSeeker

What you need to know: 1. The Vox was a gift for my wife who reads an average of 50 books a year. 2. After fully charging the Vox, I started and connected it to my wireless router. Almost immediately, the latest update was pushed to the Vox. The update reported failing indicating the Vox did not have sufficient memory to install the update. I did a full power off and started the unit up a second time. This time the update downloaded and installed normally. 3. After a solid week of use, my wife report the battery will last 7 hours as long as Wi-Fi is used sparingly or turned off. If used as a tablet, you can expect 4 to 5 hours depending on what you are doing (surfing the web, video, music, etc). She uses Airplane mode to disable Wi-Fi while reading. 4. The screen responds to tapping or touch more accurately than swiping. Since most of the time she is reading, typing emails, turning pages or selecting applications having to swipe a second time every now and then doesn’t bother her and she is satisfied with the screen’s responsiveness. 5. I read reviews that the Vox screen would bleed through white light on dark backgrounds. My wife’s Vox was manufactured mid-December 2011 as doesn’t exhibit any bleed-through issues. 6. My other area of concern was system performance. I own an HTC 7” tablet that is very fast. The Vox cost about 2/3 the price and performs nearly on par with my HTC and is actually better in displaying flash enabled websites. 7. I’ve installed the Kindle and Nook readers on the Vox and they work perfectly. With the native Kobo reader my wife can read essential all popular e-books currently on the market regardless of format. Prices and availability also vary between Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Kobo, so she feels she has the most flexible solution by not being tied to just one store. 8. My wife enjoys her Vox as an e-reader and in 10 days of use has had it slow down or lock up only once—a quick power off and on and all was good. 9. As a tablet, she thinks the 7” display is a little limiting and prefers her netbook for more serious web browsing. Email, music, watching videos and occasional web lookups (with pinch to zoom) are perfect on the Vox in her opinion. 10. Her only real qualm with the Vox is its middling battery life—not an issue if plugged in every other night. If Kobo builds a Vox 2 with 10 or more hours of battery life they will have a homerun on their hands. 11. Walmart’s New Year’s promotion of $168 + tax was the best price I could find and I like having a local store for returns if needed. One tip my wife wanted me to add. The bookshelf doesn’t show new books purchased and with her extensive library it can be time consuming to scroll through the list of books. If you open a book it is displayed on the book widget (showing 5 books) on the home screen. So after buying her latest batch of books she simply opens each one before reading so they are always immediately available on the home screen when she starts up her Vox. She will be asking Kobo to add a new book sort option to their book shelf. If you couldn’t tell from this review, my wife is extremely pleased with her Vox and also likes the reading statistics, awards and encouragement that the Kobo Vox provides. Such as: You have been reading for the last 4 hours and 35 minutes, I guess you don’t watch much TV. Keep reading to earn more rewards. Thank you Kobo for a great e-reader!

Was this review helpful? (95) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IdahoDealSeeker
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great eReader
12/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Kobo Vox is a great eReader! I am so very pleased with it. It's a nice size and weight. Has a nice stylish look to it. Nice big, color screen. Not too expensive either. Worth the money. Useful for many things, even cooking in the kitchen! I use it for recipes and instructions. I'm looking forward to the free book a month club starting in Jan. Great gift for Christmas!

Was this review helpful? (70) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty decent eReader
12/12/2011

Customer review by Schuly

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Schuly
by Schuly

I've had my Vox for a couple of weeks. I had some trouble when I first started it up, but I did the firmware update and found that fixed the lag. The Reading Life is a pretty cool feature. I'm looking forward to more graphic novels to be uploaded.

Was this review helpful? (57) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schuly
Toronto / New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the best value option
1/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

In looking at the other color eReaders, I think this is the strongest one. Great with .PDFs and magazines. It has the read-to-you function, so really handy with kids books. Plus there's much better connectivity with Facebook for sharing reading stats. Bang for your buck I think this is best.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This thing stole my heart !!
10/12/2012

Customer review by studiografixgal

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by studiografixgal
by studiografixgal

I was on the fence about this one and had been looking around at some other popular e-readers. The more I looked onlline and read, the more I became confused, so I would just forget the whole thought of buying one all together. A few days would go by and I would look again and the same thing , I would just get overwhelmed. After reading the review from IDAHODEALSEEKER I was thinking , well, his wife seems to love it and it does everything I want it to do. So, I bought it because of his review and the fact that it is Pink AND Black. I opened it, charged it, turned it on and from the moment the thing turned on, it STOLE MY HEART.... I love it. I did not sit there and look at it and say, what the heck, how am I supposed to know what that is.... !!!!! It basically ran itself. I did not do much, then it connected, the library came up. The Google books was already loaded. I am not into things that take me forever to figure out. This is not one of them. Right out of the box and ready to go after charging. I have listened to my music, read some yummy recipes, looked at their library, downloaded my Google books , earned some achievements on the Reading app. I love this and have truly fallen in love with it. I also immediately ran outside in the sun to see if I could really read in bright sunlight. I could if I made the font bigger. I am sure there were other tweaks I could have made but it was good enough for me. If you are the kind of person that likes to get a good item for a low price. This is the item for you !!! The screen size is great, the touch screen is easy. I have a 10 inch tablet that drives me crazy with the touch screen. This spelled everything correctly without 5 other letters magically appearing out of nowhere .. ONLY thing that could make it better is a camera...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
studiografixgal
Reynoldsburg, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
absolutely lovemy kobo
7/16/2012

Customer review by arian6391

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by arian6391
by arian6391

ive always wanted a kobo. and now i have one. it works great. it has apps and internet and a facebook link on the main screen. the battery lives a long time when wifi isnt on. i read for hours on it and it doesnt overheat.i love how the library can be set up to look just like a bookshelf. and everything else about it. oh it works off the android market for anyone wondering. and requires .epub format for books.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arian6391
festus mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Better than expected
3/15/2012

Customer review by TKD2DAN

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by TKD2DAN
by TKD2DAN

The KOBO VOX is an excellent e-reader. If you are looking for something to read KOBO books on, you can't go wrong w/this. However for the price I would have liked to see more bells and whistles. It does not compare to my wife’s (rhymes with dwindle). If you want a tablet, get a tablet! Since I purchased it strictly for an e-reader, I am very pleased with the VOX, the OS and the unit’s performance. I added a 16GB mini-SD for extra book storage, I have about 700 books now and I have still not used all the available space on the unit. Set up was simple and did not take much time. Updates are painless. I can get about 8 or 9 hours out of the battery if I am reading, considerably less if I am connected to WIFI. It is portable, easy to operate and can download any/all Android apps (they take up considerable storage). The unit comes pre-loaded with several apps (most of which I had no interest in), they were easy to remove. Overall, this is a good unit if you want a high end e-reader. If you want a tablet - buy a tablet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TKD2DAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
versatile color ereader
3/1/2012

Customer review by stumbeliena

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by stumbeliena
by stumbeliena

Love my kobo vox. Its a great little ereader that is also good for checking email and web surfing. In my opinion the advantages of a kobo are that you can install just about any other ereading app and the kobo reading life badges are just fun. The main disadvantage is the short battery life. The vox does not support pdf files like the kobo touch did, but there are 3rd party apps you can use for this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stumbeliena
olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!!!
3/7/2012

Customer review by AshMarie1987

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by AshMarie1987
by AshMarie1987

I love this Kobo! The wi fi allows me to reade any where any time and it allows me to check my email and facebook, hold all my contacts and even lets my txt.... Its small and compact and has a long battery life which is nice since Im on it all the time, I absolutly love this product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshMarie1987
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Pruduct!
11/7/2012

Customer review by MallieGirl

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by MallieGirl
by MallieGirl

I purchased this to replace another brand of e-reader that finally died on me. WHAT A DEAL!!! I thought I was just getting an e-reader, but I basically got an iPad for hundreds less!! If you're looking for an e-reader, THIS is the one you should go with!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MallieGirl
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For more of an experienced user
3/6/2012

Customer review by AnChBa

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by AnChBa
by AnChBa

Little confusing at first. Said i can turn in on as soon as a got it but then read up on he internet said i neded to charge it for two hours before using it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnChBa
Sun Valley, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Christmas Gift
12/26/2012

Customer review by Blurose411

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Blurose411
by Blurose411

I got this for Christmas yesterday and I am loving it. Now the hubby and I won't fight over the desk top, I can read in bed with out the light bothering him, and it is just plain fun to have! Thanks Santa!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blurose411
Andalusia, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Choice
2/29/2012

Customer review by bookworm1012

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by bookworm1012
by bookworm1012

I really like my Vox. As an eReader it works great. I just wish that Kobo would open up the Vox to the entire android market for apps instead of being directed to their own market with only thier choice apps. I needed the citrix receiver app to use my Vox to support my job, but it was not available. Other than that, I have no complaints. It's a great device.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bookworm1012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It didn't work right from the get go.
10/12/2012

Customer review by boomerkid

1.0 stars 10/12/2012 by boomerkid
by boomerkid

I was very disappointed after I charged my new Kobo and it did nothing but freeze up every time I tried to restart. I returned it for a Nook and I'm very happy with that product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boomerkid
Gloucester MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
4/25/2012

Customer review by Greenteaturtle

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Greenteaturtle
by Greenteaturtle

I love my Kobo Vox, but the price is a little too high, I was going to bring it back and get a nook but once I was able to connect to the wireless I decided to keep the Kobo Vox. I wish I had a choice of connecting to the internet to download the Kobo Vox by computer or wireless. They do not give you a choice on that which I thought they did but they do not. The product is good but not perfect. I like the reading choices on night/day reading .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greenteaturtle
Gladstone MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Another great Walmart value
3/2/2013

Customer review by buddyro9

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by buddyro9
by buddyro9

Jumped on this Wed at the great sale price $99, and by Sat morn----out of stock. So glad I acted quickly. A slight issue initially downloading updates, but charge it up and be persistent.....great product! Glad my wife Vikki Lou got the last one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buddyro9
Jackson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day