Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

196 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

196 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
43
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 stars
57
1-20 of 163 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
Don't buy it
12/22/2011

Customer review by hungariangirls

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by hungariangirls
by hungariangirls

I bought it even after reading the other review about it not working. It is very small. Much smaller than my mouse as you can see in the picture. I was able to transfer songs with no problem. The headphones that came with it don't work and the ones that I own do not work with it. It will play the songs while connected to my computer throught the USB and the sound does come out of the computer speakers. I'm hoping it works okay enough for Christmas morning. I bought it for my 4 year old to use with a karaoke microphone. I didn't want to give up my iPhone or MP3 player for her to play with. I'll be taking it back for a better one. On short notice and quick shipping, I thought it would do for one morning. BTW-Amazon is selling it for $39.99...NO WAY I would pay that for this!

Was this review helpful? (136) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hungariangirls
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/6/2012

Customer review by 923roberts

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by 923roberts
by 923roberts

I bought one from Amazon and it was perfect for my 7yr old daughter. Yes it is very small. But the ease of down lading and playing the music was great. I had bought seperate headphones just because I wanted to get her cooler ones. I have never had a problem with this product. The only reason why I am getting one from Walmart this time is because Amazon is sold out. Overall I like this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
923roberts
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little MP3 player
2/22/2012

Customer review by follyfrog

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by follyfrog
by follyfrog

I read about other people having trouble with the things working, but I suspect (from personal experience) that the people with problems may have used a usb from another device to try and charge the thing (I did that too and burned one of my 4 of these things up (I have 2 of the 2GB and 2 of the 4GB ones of these things). For me these are better than an ipod - the charge lasts longer because they're simpler. The only real drawback I've found is that the things don't play in order for audio books, but I had similar issues with an ipod. All I do is just click forward until I get to the chapter I'm interested in. As long as use the usb cord that comes with it it works fine. Don't use another device's because I suspect it will burn the thing up - happened to me for 1 of my 4 of these things. I'm thinking about getting a couple more of these as they don't cost too much and work pretty well.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
follyfrog
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a surprisingly quality product
2/22/2012

Customer review by bargainythrifterson

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by bargainythrifterson
by bargainythrifterson

FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!!!! One truly must follow the directions and drag music track individially to the USB flash key style memory. One cannot use a sync list or it truly will not work. The device cannot play folders! Only music tracks! So if you do use a sync list just pull the tracks out of the folders that auto copy onto the device. I LOVE this lil guy. It doesnt have a shuffle feature which is the only dissapointing feature, and I used my own headphones b/c the ones that come with it are a bit janky. I really like the product and its easy to use. I also enjoy the silver clip on the back of the device for affixing to your jacket or messenger bag strap. I love this little treasure and have already recommended this to my friends!!!!! A++++++

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainythrifterson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great mp3 player
4/25/2012

Customer review by Kentjah

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Kentjah
by Kentjah

When you read the owners manual, it works just as expected, compact and easy to use. The only issue I have with it is: it arranges newer songs by oldest to newest. DO NOT USE FOLDERS!!! Folders are incompatible with this mp3 player!

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kentjah
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Simple to use.
2/25/2012

Customer review by Barbie1948

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Barbie1948
by Barbie1948

This little simple and inexpensive MP3 player is super easy to use for listening to audio books, which is the reason I purchased it. All I have to do is download my book and then transfer it to the mp3 player and I am all set. This is totally different from my much more expensive Samsung player which came with a program that had to be installed, and was so complicated to use that I chunked it. This is also a great mp3 player for kids who just need something to listen to music on. Again super easy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbie1948
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for kids...
7/9/2012

Customer review by Mom2aHandful

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Mom2aHandful
by Mom2aHandful

Ordered For my 5 kids so they'd have something to listen to while flying... Received 1 so far... Very easy to set up and the metal clip is nice and sturdy unlike most other mp3 players... Once I put together a playlist for my son, it took less then 5 minutes for almost 100 songs to be transferred and ready to go... Still in shock that these mp3 players are such a great price... Simply to use even for smaller children... The earbuds they come with are standard, but my 5 year old likes them and they stay in his ears so that's a plus... Doubt you'd be disappointed if you bought one... I know I'm not... Cant wait until the other 4 to come so i can set them up for My other kiddos... Thinking about ordering another for myself to keep in my car instead of the pricey one that I have in there now...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2aHandful
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money - doesn't work right out of the box
12/25/2011

Customer review by dheck1961

1.0 stars 12/25/2011 by dheck1961
by dheck1961

I wanted a simple, inexpensive MP3 player to connect to some headphones I use for hearing protection when using a chainsaw, lawnmower, etc. No need for on-screen display, etc. so this looked perfect. The player's memory must be bad - everytime I copy MP3 files to it several files or sometimes the contents of a an entire folder get corrupted. I even created a new folder on it and when I opened it the folder was full of corrupt files - yet I didn't evey copy anything to it yet. I'm an IT Professional (20+ yeears experience). I've done all I can to try to fix the issue, but there's basically nothing you can do when the hardware is bad.

Was this review helpful? (74) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dheck1961
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Super simple - sounds great - appears well made
12/16/2011

Customer review by AUTiger2

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by AUTiger2
by AUTiger2
Top 1000 contributor

This is such a neat piece - similar shape to an iPod Shuffle. Works great, just plug it in to your computer and it shows up like a USB drive and just copy and paste your music. Great for working out - has a built in clip. Appears to be well made - looks and feels like anodized aluminum.

Was this review helpful? (89) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AUTiger2
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great upgrade from older MP3 player
2/26/2012

Customer review by Eddie666

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Eddie666
by Eddie666

I purchased this product to upgrade from my old Samsung Mp3 player and overall the battery lasts REALLY LONG! It takes some time to charge but if u just keep yourself occupied then it will be fine. REMINDER WHILE CHARGING TURN ON WHEN CHARGING TO GET A PROPER CHARGE!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie666
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good basic unit that works well so far.
4/26/2012

Customer review by ladybug42

3.0 stars 4/26/2012 by ladybug42
by ladybug42

This Sylvania mp3 player is very good for most users. It is very easy to load your files - just drag and drop them. Charging is easy via the included USB cable. The earbuds included work fine but they are too large to be comfortable in my ears. I had to replace them. The up/down areas on the front control the volume. The button in the center is play/pause. The left/right buttons will fast forward/reverse or skip to next track. The on/off button is on the top. There is a clip on the back to secure it to your clothing. This is a straight play item; there is no shuffle function. If you are playing music or audio books that have been divided into short tracks then this will work very well. If you turn the unit off and then back on it will begin at the beginning of the last track you were listening to. If you are listening to long tracks (some of mine are 15-40 minutes) then this can be annoying. You have to be to listen to the recording all the way to the end before shutting off or start it over next time. You can fast forward to try to find your place but that is irritating, too. For most people this will not be a problem. The unit will also double as a flash drive. In summary, this is a good basic mp3 player for a very reasonable price (I paid $10), especially if you don't have to buy different ear buds. (If you already have a set you like they should work fine with this.) I marked it 4 on Value and Meets Expectations but just gave it a 3 overall because it is such a basic unit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladybug42
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/7/2012

Customer review by GIJaneB0037

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by GIJaneB0037
by GIJaneB0037

We got many of these about a yr ago for my kids. I am usually shocked when anything lasts with my kids... but really shocked when these did! They actually work well still to this day, and I'd recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GIJaneB0037
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My son loves this mp3 player
4/18/2012

Customer review by sirrobert

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by sirrobert
by sirrobert

I purchased the Sylvania 4GB MP3 Player as a gift for my 16 year old son. He really liked it and was able to transfer music to it with his Linux (PCLinuxOS) computer very fast. We do not use Windows operating system on our personal computers because we do not want to spend a lot of time trying to keep it running smooth and constantly running scans for virus, malware, adware, spyware, etc. Linux runs faster on the same equipment. This mp3 player works very well with Linux.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sirrobert
Angleton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/1/2012

Customer review by joyhopelovemom

1.0 stars 1/1/2012 by joyhopelovemom
by joyhopelovemom

I got this for my six year old for Christmas and it keeps repeating the same song but there is no repeat button. I deleted all the songs of the thing three times and uploaded more and it keeps doing it not always the same song. I will be returning this as soon as possible .

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joyhopelovemom
Old Bridge NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Epic for the money!
4/5/2012

Customer review by ELGrotto

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by ELGrotto
by ELGrotto

Works perfectly for an mp3 player with no screen. Sound is great. Head phones supplied are less than stellar but for the price of this thing they are top notch ;) Plug it through a PA or Stereo..it sounds HUGE..Sylvania kills the price/epicness on this one. i have dropped it like 50 times and it still works flawlessly? 5 stars

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ELGrotto
Spokane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to operate
9/15/2012

Customer review by exfed

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by exfed
by exfed

I bought this player for my technologically deprived sister. She likes to listen to music while sewing. Before, she would play CDs and change them as they played. I put about 1000 songs onto the player and gave it to her. I also bought small powered speakers to connect it to. Works great, just turn it on and it starts playing. It only plays "SHUFFLE", but that doesn't matter to her. You can advance to the next song easily. The player will play while connected to the charger but it cannot be turned off or on while charging. You have to turn it on and then connect to the charger if you want to listen while charging. This one played about 8 hrs on a charge before I turned it off. I bought five of them, at $10.00 each, it is a good deal. I can have a music player everywhere I go and give them away as gifts. Charges with a USB connection to a computer or to a plug in to the wall charger that accepts USB. I had several chargers laying around so I gave one to my sister. She leaves the player on all the time (connected to the charger) and just turns the speakers on and off as necessary. The whole setup less than $30.00. Has lots of volume too. PS, Sis is 75 yrs old old.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
exfed
La Vernia TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Convenient MP3 Player
6/9/2012

Customer review by LoveToShop1954

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by LoveToShop1954
by LoveToShop1954

This is a handy, compact, and easy to use for someone who doesn't have much pocket space to carry one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToShop1954
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for a low price
4/9/2012

Customer review by barbnor

4.0 stars 4/9/2012 by barbnor
by barbnor

This is my first mp3 player, so I don't have anything to compare it to. So far it is working fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barbnor
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works fine for me!
4/3/2012

Customer review by robbr

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by robbr
by robbr

I was looking for an inexpensive MP3 player to use on a long plane ride, and this seemed to fit the bill. In spite of a lot of dour reviews, I had no problems with this one. Maybe I was lucky! It plays fine in a quiet room, but the earpads are clumsy and don't fit well. As a result I couldn't hear very well the quiet music I prefer over the general airplane noise level. But it was still useful now and then on vacation, and was well worth the $10 sale price from WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robbr
Wareham, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3/27/2012

Customer review by marliss

4.0 stars 3/27/2012 by marliss
by marliss

You can't beat the price. It is so nice and compact, (it's the size of a flashdrive) I just clip it on my workout top and it never gets in the way. It holds enough songs to keep me entertained for awhile-4gb. I like the color choices, too. The sound is great. The only thing I had a problem with is when I downloaded the songs onto the mp3 it didn't show how much space was left. Also, it charges right on your computer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marliss
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews