Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 408 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

408 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

408 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
214
4 stars
111
3 stars
27
2 stars
13
1 stars
43
1-20 of 318 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews
No problem with Refurb
5/20/2012

Customer review by mmsteggy

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by mmsteggy
by mmsteggy

I was hesitant to get this as a gift for my husband because it's a refurbished item, but when it arrived, other than a sticker on the outside of the box, I never would have known it wasn't brand new. What a deal! For under $100 bucks he now has lifetime maps, traffic alerts and a pretty decent bluetooth handsfree speaker for his phone. It's been about two weeks now, and I don't think my husband uses his bluetooth earpiece in the car anymore. Seems to do everything it should, works well and has a nice screen that you can see well from different angles. I'm really happy with the purchase. Also, by the way, I had an issue with the initial buy because I was trying to use the "ShopDiscover" link to get a discount with my Discover Card. Yes, it was a total pain in the neck, but kind of particular since we had moved recently and our old address kept showing up so the card wouldn't verify. Anyway, Walmart actually called me on the phone to work out the situation, and then gave me a free shipping upgrade to make sure the gift arrived in time for hubby's birthday, which it did. Yay!

Was this review helpful? (88) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmsteggy
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does everything you could ask for and then some!
5/19/2012

Customer review by MikeyInTheD

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by MikeyInTheD
by MikeyInTheD

I was considering several nuvi models to replace my GPS from 2008 when I found out it was cheaper to buy a new one then pay for the map updates and a new battery for my old one. So first I narrowed my search to unit with free lifetime map and traffic updates (LMT models). The 1390LMT offered all the features I was looking for in a new GPS, so I chose it over the 1490LMT, 2350LMT, and 2450LMT. I am happy with my choice and would suggest this unit to anyone looking for a quality GPS unit with free lifetime maps and traffic. And you can't beat the $97.00 price including tax and shipping costs!

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeyInTheD
Roseville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best Deal Around
5/19/2012

Customer review by pbwhitaker

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by pbwhitaker
by pbwhitaker

This price beats craigslist or even ebay. The GPS is really sweet. It comes with Live Traffic which is awesome... love it. I also love that I get Lifetime Maps... which is even better. The blue-tooth hands free feature is awesome...people I talk to say it sounds like I'm on my phone, no echo. I LOVE this GPS... I got my mother one! She's in love too. It's awesome. DON'T waste your money on other brands... Garmin uses old government sat's that are really good at that they do. WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pbwhitaker
RDU, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/17/2012

Customer review by Swapguy

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Swapguy
by Swapguy

Great value and unit . This is my second Garmin , the first one is still going strong ,just wanted to upgrade to Bluetooth and life time maps and traffic . Love the Bluetooth since I travel in states that have no cell phone laws . I also find the lane assist a great help .

Was this review helpful? (75) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swapguy
Rutland , Vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent GPS
5/21/2012

Customer review by WaukeshaBuyer2011

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by WaukeshaBuyer2011
by WaukeshaBuyer2011

It has everything I need (lifetime map, lifetime traffic, and blue tooth). The price is also very reasonable. I especially like the fuel economy feature that allow me enter data at pump and display gas mileage at end of every trip. Also I can adjust map so it displays arrival time, time to destination, and mileage to destination (or direction) all at once.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaukeshaBuyer2011
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bargain - if already registered, do this...
7/19/2012

Customer review by CallmeKuripot

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by CallmeKuripot
by CallmeKuripot

Arrived the other day. Works great, looks great and had all the accessories mentioned in the description. You can't tell its refurbished on the unit itself. Only in the Garmin "Refurbished" box that it comes in. Looks and feels new to me. Just like one of the other product reviewers, when I went to register it on Garmin website, it turned out that when it was refurbished, they may of forgotten to de-registered it from the previous owner. So it showed up registered already. Not a problem. I called Garmin Technical Support and they were "extremely helpful" when I explained the situation. They walked me thru their website over the phone to make sure I was able to download the proper updates as well as track down the previous owner so that it could be de-registered and re-registered under my name. They even sent me a followup email explaining that it has all been done. ALL IN ONE DAY. Here is something I noticed on this model when in use. It no longer has that "Ding" sound when it is about to say something like the older NUVI would do. But that should not be a problem. I found that this model is alot more responsive tracking your movement, so that when your traveling along it will just say something with ample time if you need to change lanes or make a turn. My previous NUVI was the model 650. I would recommend you also purchase a micro SD card for this NUVI cause the amount of remaining available memory after you do the minimal updates of the maps and system software right after you take it out of the box, your kind of left with only about 20 MB left. Also when you are going to update your maps. There seems to be two different updater programs on the Garmin site. There is a "lifetime" map updater program on the Garmin website at the lower right hand corner of the screen. Not sure if it really makes a difference but I downloaded and used that one. Seems to be different from the standard updater program. Keep an eye out on that.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CallmeKuripot
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS, just don't use voice dial buy it here!!
6/9/2012

Customer review by shellb925

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by shellb925
by shellb925

Ordered this refurbished GPS. Everything was great right up until I went to register it for map updates. The Garmin site says it's already registered, so I am unable to update the maps. Aparently in the refurbishment process someone forgot to clear the registration... Also, the mic sucks. Made a call with the integrated bluetooth. The person on the other end asked me to repeat everything at least twice... Then I tried to voice dial "Dave at Home" and it called Eva's Cell. Tried again and it called Visa... Returning...

Was this review helpful? (27) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellb925
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This unit was shipped to me still registered
8/31/2012

Customer review by blazeguard

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by blazeguard
by blazeguard

This unit was shipped to me still registered to its previous owner, which rendered it useless to another owner.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blazeguard
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
May be difficult for beginner to update maps
6/7/2012

Customer review by John4015

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by John4015
by John4015

The refurbished Garmin GPS arrived in excellent condition with all parts included. It was easy to set up and use. I did miss the dings that my previous GPS (A Magellan) provided at turns and merging. And the orders to turn came late while driving in the downtown areas. Although the GPS comes with free Map updates. They are not easy to install. The updated maps for the US and Canada (plus others) that come installed on the GPS, were too large to fit in memory. You either have to select a subgroup of the maps or buy a 4 GB or greater Micro SD memory card to install the overflow maps. Once that was installed the update went well. The maps are an improvement over the ones on the 4-year-old (plus) Magellan. I was subject to too many uncharted streets or street numbers on the old GPS. I am not well enough acquainted with the Traffic Information to evaluate it. However, I did need to select the traffic delay icon to evaluate the problems.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John4015
Plymouth, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value for the money
6/25/2012

Customer review by thermo2

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by thermo2
by thermo2

My first inclination after purchasing it was to return it. I had to purchase a micro SD card in order to download the US and Canada maps. The available memory would only hold the US. Even after that, I could not get it to map a route. After searching the internet and downloading the users manual (not provided with the product) I was then able to get it to function. The Bluetooth works great and the mapping, sound, and turn by turn instructions get me to where I am going. Don't know about the traffic updates as I have not run into any traffic situations yet. This is the third refurbished product I have purchased and in all cases I am very pleased with what I got. I am no longer apprehensive about refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thermo2
Lombard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent gps for the price!!!
6/8/2012

Customer review by Cooltrack

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Cooltrack
by Cooltrack

I've used the bigger screen 1490lmt. Needed one just with a smaller footprint since I put it on the lower left of my windshield. Excellent info on the screen, updates route quickly if I miss a turn. I've had the nuvi 295wt before and this is a well done upgrade. Pretty much what I expected on all the functionality plus a whole lot more. It's a refurbished model but for the price(about 80 bucks) and excellent functionality it is more than worth the price(I paid a lot more for my nuvi295wt).

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooltrack
La Puente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Once I updated maps, it was all over!
8/30/2012

Customer review by abajo57

1.0 stars 8/30/2012 by abajo57
by abajo57

Device won't update to new maps. Four trouble tickets with Garmin and still no resolution.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abajo57
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Audio never works
7/28/2012

Customer review by Shopperman321

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Shopperman321
by Shopperman321

I purchased this refurbished Garmin Nuvi 1390LMT and I have been having a HUGE issue with it since the day I received it. The audio never works! It never tells me when to turn or where to turn. Sometimes it will work fine for just a few minutes but then its back to mute again. Seems like the "refurbishing" never worked and this is probably the reason it was returned by the first owner. I'm extremely disappointed

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopperman321
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/21/2012

Customer review by Japayuki

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Japayuki
by Japayuki

Very good GPS and looks new. Has a lot of bells and whistles including Bluetooth. However, if you want to download the entire maps for the USA and Canada, you will need to buy a Micro SD card (at least 2GB in capacity). Vey happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Japayuki
30 miles from Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good price but system not stable
10/2/2012

Customer review by yazhan

3.0 stars 10/2/2012 by yazhan
by yazhan

pros: It is in good price, has all the functionality as advertised. cons: Powering on this unit takes longer than I expected (Initialization took quite some time), but that is still quite tolerable. The thing that really bothers me is that sometimes (~ 1 out of 5 uses), this unit would just shut down itself all of a sudden, and I need to turn on it again. This never happens to my previous Garmin GPU unit, so I guess this is probably the reason that the previous buyer returned this unit.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yazhan
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garmin says NO FREE MAP UPDATES!
6/15/2012

Customer review by Curmudgeon555

2.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Curmudgeon555
by Curmudgeon555

Even though there is a free map update card in the box, Garmin says this unit does not include it. I'm still going around with them over the matter, but don't count on getting those updates (BTW the lifetime map updates cost $89 when purchased as an add-on from Garmin!!) The unit works great though and does everything else promised in the Wal-mart writeup.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Curmudgeon555
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Refurbished Garmin Touch screen does not work
8/30/2012

Customer review by 8servings

2.0 stars 8/30/2012 by 8servings
by 8servings

I bought this model and really liked it - it got stolen from my car. I purchased this refurbished one with the hopes that it would work ok - no such luck! The touch screen does not work on the right side of the screen. I need to package it up and return it. :(

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8servings
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Watch to ensure you get the proper model
6/21/2012

Customer review by nonac560

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by nonac560
by nonac560

The 1390LMT GPS received is great. Just a note that I received a product labeled on the box as a 1390LMT which was actually a 1370T with 1390 software. The Garmin website recognized the product as a 1370T which meant I could not get lifetime map updates. I sent the unit back and ordered another. The second order proved to be correct and was recognized as a 1390LMT by the Garmin website so was pleased overall.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonac560
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this unit was horrible
9/1/2012

Customer review by BuggiePro

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by BuggiePro
by BuggiePro

I usually never purchase refurbished electronic items but i just took a gamble buying this one. I should have stuck with my first mind. i couldnt even type on the touch screen. When i would tap on the letter A is would input another letter instead... NEVER AGAIN!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuggiePro
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Refurbished but in like-new condition.
6/8/2012

Customer review by scorzo

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by scorzo
by scorzo

Quick delivery. Great product. Have an older model Garmin that I wanted to up-date to a newer model with more features and life-time maps. This one fit the bill. Plus price was great and condition was super. Could not find one serface scratch on it...hence the "like-new" condition stated in the title. Very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scorzo
Northeast PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews