Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 37 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Pure love
7/26/2012

Customer review by Fantomas

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Fantomas
by Fantomas

What a nice camera I've just got for myself. i had abandoned photography after the heartbreaking episode of tech switching from film to digital. I used to love my SLR camera but had few chances to still get film and peripherals. I decided never to invest so much money on a DSLR. They are bulky, expensive, and having all the automatic features it is quite tempting to never use it in manual mode. When I first saw the Nikon 1, I was fascinated by the design, the small size, and the options to use it manually. It is a family camera with an upgrade. The size makes it a perfect fit for social happenings and stuff, while the possibilities of choosing a myriad of lenses converts it into a more advanced thing. So neither a professional SLR or a quick digital camera for dummies, the Nikon 1 is the best of both worlds at a really accessible price. Bad thing, the V1 has an electronic viewer, it if was not electronic, I would have chosen it instead of the J1. Nonetheless, I made an awesome purchase.

Fantomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceptional but has it's limitations
3/30/2013

Customer review by Ron C

4.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Ron C
by Ron C

I purchased this camera (before J2 and J3 were on the market) as I have always been interested in photography but no experience. I was inept when it came to the working knowledge of cameras. I chose the J1 due to its price compared to mainstream DSLRs but with many of the same features. This camera takes great pictures indoors and outdoors. It shoots very fast in continuous mode. I was able to shoot up to 14 shots in max resolution before the buffer got full with a transcend class 10 32gb card. Colors are vibrant, whites are white, blacks are blacks with very little grain. I prefer to shoot low light like sunrises and sunsets. This produces a lot of unwanted grain in the gray's, light blues, etc. But this is common with smaller sensor cameras and not inherent with the Nikon brand or this model. My only complaint is that this model is only 10 megapixels. The J2 and J3 are now 14. Most other cameras in this class are around 16mp. Even most point and shoot cameras average around the 16mp range. I would like to see this class in the 18-24 mp range.

Ron C
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera!
3/8/2012

Customer review by Min-cho

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Min-cho
by Min-cho

To tell the honest truth, this camera is my absolute favorite camera because it came with great features and because it is white. Obviously this is really rare because you don't see many people having a white camera. I love it how everything is compacted into this smaller size camera, I can carry it my purse, backpack, you name it. Another thing that I really like is how I get compliments everywhere I go with this camera. Even though I love this camera to death; I'd still have to say that this camera does have flaws. The reason why I rate it only 4 stars not 5 is because I'm very upset about how this camera doesn't have an automatic lens shutter. To protect the lens you must put the cover piece each time you are done using it. This can become very annoying and inconvenient. Another thing is, because I received this camera as a gift from my boyfriend, I am not so sure if it is going to be worth your money. I would recommend this camera to anyone who just love to take photography and willing to pay a little extra but if you want a really nice camera that is worth the price, I would say this is not for you.

Min-cho
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stylish Sexy Look
1/12/2012

Customer review by NikonSports

4.0 stars 1/12/2012 by NikonSports
by NikonSports

I recieved the Nikon 1 just a few days ago for my birthday. I have always had an interest in photography and have always done pretty well with what device i was using. The Nikon 1 J1 takes nice photos. I have taken the time to research the site and learn as much as I can about the camera to be able to use it to the best of my abilities. I still am having problems with a few things with the camera. Blurry pictures that do not compare at all to the quality photos shown in the toturial. It seems there is much to need change settings in camera to adjust to scenery for best possible shots. Which I'm noticing this is not a point and shoot camera. I would Love to write a follow up review in about 1 month about the camera once I do figure out these settings. I do look forward to the experience with this camera.

NikonSports
Tustin, MI 49688, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very impressed
8/1/2013

Customer review by UtahNikonAmateur

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by UtahNikonAmateur
by UtahNikonAmateur

Bought this camera to take on an Alaska cruise. I purchased the two-lens zoom kit. I have only owned point-and-shoot auto-focus cameras before, so I was ready to move up to the next level. After spending some time to learn the features and different modes, I was very excited to use the camera to take landscape and wildlife shots. While our trip was lacking in wildlife, the landscapes were gorgeous and I believe this camera captured the landscapes beautifully. The telephoto lens, in particular, was great and the images I captured are nothing short of amazing. Using the Electronic (Hi) mode to take photos of the glaciers in Glacier Bay calving, I was able to capture ice chunks in mid-air. Using a polarizing filter, water glare from the ship was greatly diminished, and the detail I was able get was stunning (at least in my eyes). As much as I enjoyed using the camera in Alaska, I have really enjoyed using it around my town taking pictures of flowers, landscapes, insects, etc. The size makes it easy to haul around, and with the addition of the 10MM f/2.8 prime lens, it is the complete package for an amateur photographer like myself. I would highly recommend this for the amateur who wants to step up from a point-and-shoot to something more advanced.

UtahNikonAmateur
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent camera in small package. Do I need still my D50 ?
7/7/2013

Customer review by Darius

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Darius
by Darius

I bought this camera week ago and must say.....great. I did not expect a much but after I take a few pictures and see them on my computer I was in shock. Really there is no differences between pictures taken using Nikon D50 and J1. I'm not professional photographer but this camera is awesome. To take a picture is very easy , and the quality of pictures especially in RAW format is so good. Also close up are amazing .Details are so clear and sharp .. Built in flash is the best I ever seen in compact camera . It was the best choice I ever made buying a camera. After few mistakes with "power shoot's" and other gizmos finally got a super compact DSLR quality camera with changeable lenses.

Darius
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
POOR CHOICE
11/2/2011

Customer review by Cammy

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Cammy
by Cammy

This is what I got from my short experience with this camera. It seems to be good for high speed shooting like sports but fails terribly in almost every other category. The goal of this camera is probably simplicity which is reflected well in the design but its also reflected in the features. It basically has none except for the the auto modes which do a poor job at stabilizing the image properly when using the zoom. And to add, the flash looks like it could easily snap off with the slightest bump. So in short save your money, put it towards a DSLR. Even if you don't know how to use it at least you'll still get much better pictures on AUTO =)

Cammy
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic!
4/25/2012

Customer review by Koooodes

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Koooodes
by Koooodes

This camera is wonderful. The range of settings and availabilities on the Nikon 1J1 are endless. It captures so much light, I took a picture of a dark corner in my basement, and without any flash or anything, the picture looked like I had taken it in one of the fully lit places. Truly wonderful action camera too, not much blur or anything. I made a video with my friends the other day and it honestly looks like a professional film, and that is just with the lens that it comes with and no other attachments. I can't wait to see how far I can go with the other attachments at my aid!

Koooodes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it! Love it! Love it!
11/2/2011

Customer review by KTMD

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by KTMD
by KTMD

I've only had it 2 days but this is an AWESOME camera! Love it! My little speed demon. It is wicked fast focusing. I love taking pictures with this camera! Low light photos are excellent. Can't wait to try the slow motion video today! I'm hoping they come out with a lens that is between the 10-30 and 10-110 range, like a 10-70. I'd love to get a little more zoom but not have a huge lens. I love the size of this - perfect! DSLRs are just too heavy for me. So pleased!! I got the red one and I love it! Fabulous Christmas present for me!

KTMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for travel!
3/10/2013

Customer review by Jackkm2013

4.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Jackkm2013
by Jackkm2013

I picked this camera out for Christmas last year, and so far I am very happy with it. I wish that Nikon had a Nikkor Macro lens for it, because I like to take macro shots of flowers, etc. I love how you can control it like a bigger DSLR (D3200) My overall opinion is, if you travel a lot and need something compact, sleek and stylish... Then go for it. Otherwise I would stick with a larger camera that is a little more "meatier". Before I forget I LOVE how nice and VIVID the pictures are!

Jackkm2013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Photographs in a small package
7/22/2013

Customer review by MrNikon

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by MrNikon
by MrNikon

I own a Nikon D7000, Nikon D90 and Nikon P7100. My Nikon 1 J1 shots are much better then my Nikon P7100 and in low light match my DSLR'S. I own the 10-30mm and 30-110mm lens which produce great photographs. The size of The Nikon 1 J1 is so compact you can use it when you don't want to carry a DSLR. My Nikon P7100 is great for parties but for low light the Nikon 1 J1 beats it hands down. The built in flash is great. I wish it had an optical viewfinder however the LCD is very bright.

MrNikon
San Leandro,CA,USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect
11/29/2011

Customer review by Jams

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Jams
by Jams

I just returned from 3 weeks in S America, cycling in Argentina and hiking in Chile/Patagonia. My V1 was the perfect camera, far superior to any point and shoot and much more compact than any DSLR, the photos are remarkable, used the 10-30 lens mostly but was very happy to zoom in on wildlife with the 30-110, the AF is super fast, even got great shots without flash of a Tango performance using the smart photo mode. All in all I couldn't be happier with this camera

Jams
New York NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent pictures, fast but no eyepiece view finder
4/4/2012

Customer review by bobbyphoto2

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by bobbyphoto2
by bobbyphoto2

The Nikon 1 J1 camera has excellent picture quality (including raw files), is extremely fast focusing and has fast shooting rates (up to 60 frames per second). I bought it so that I have a small camera that is easy to carry around if I do not want to drag along my bigger Nikon single lens reflex camera. The biggest negative for me is the lack of an eyepiece view finder (the more expensive v1 version has this). This means that you have to hold the camera out away from your eye so that the camera tends to move as you take the picture. The camera in autoexposure mode tends to pick a slow shutter speed so that pictures may be blurred unless a tripod is used. I avoid this by using the aperture priority mode at iso 400 or less so that I can change the aperture (lens opening) to make sure that the shutter speed is fast enough to avoid blurred images. Also the camera has an image stabilization mode so that blurry pictures are less likely at slower shutter speeds. Also the 10-30 mm lens focuses down to around 8 inches so close to macro images may be obtained. Some people may not like that the depth of field is large so it may be difficult to keep the background out of focus if, for instance, the foreground is in focus. There are a lot of other small, mirrorless cameras now that the experts have tended to give better reviews than the Nikon 1 J1, but you should be able to get a lot of excellent pictures from this camera if you are careful about the exposure speeds. I will not comment about the video since I do not often use it.

bobbyphoto2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Photo quality is incredible.
11/26/2011

Customer review by Haley

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Haley
by Haley

I just got this camera yesterday. It's was a bit of a splurge, but I don't regret it one bit. It's stylish and the photo quality is spectacular. Even though I'm only a beginner, I managed to get so many professional-looking photos of my friends and family after only the first day. I would definitely recommend it. The only small downside is that the battery lasts only about an hour to an hour and a half, so I'll probably buy an extra one sometimes soon.

Haley
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent!!!
1/30/2013

Customer review by LoyalNikonUser

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by LoyalNikonUser
by LoyalNikonUser

This camera is awesome for the seasoned photographer when you do not need to take your big camera and all the gear. This camera is awesome for the beginning photographer because it is so easy to use. This camera is awesome for the family because the pictures are so clear and precise with no effort. The only thing I would change about the camera is to offer more types of lenses. I love this camera more than the D300 I own and I use it more often.

LoyalNikonUser
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still images are fuzzy, zero options
12/4/2011

Customer review by matt

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by matt
by matt

The four things this camera advertises is all that it does. No panaramic photos, no way to select modes or conditions, it's not a touch screen. It is a very basic point and shoot with a fancy lens. Unfortunately almost every single photo taken in still image mode is fuzzy unless you use the flash. The movies also jump when you take a photo while recording. Definitely not worth this much money.

matt
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
great for beginners
7/12/2012

Customer review by clarin17

4.0 stars 7/12/2012 by clarin17
by clarin17

great camera so far. just running into isue with the flash. its not responding, i do have it in still mode only and single fram picture. Im testing in in a dark room and have the flash icon displayed on the screen but no flash light. is it because im doing it during daylight? does it have a sensor for that. im just trying to get to know my camera before I use it tonight. any comments?

clarin17
bay area, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera, exactly what I needed
11/18/2011

Customer review by DenverBob

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by DenverBob
by DenverBob

I am a professional photographer and shoot a Nikon D3s as my primary body and have a D 700 as a back up body. I was looking for something that was fully featured, shoots great images, shoots RAW files, has manual mode and would fit in my pocket. This little gem has it all! I love the interchangeable lenses and it shoots 1080p video to boot. Great camera, I highly recommend this!.

DenverBob
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lense Error
12/15/2014

Customer review by Steven

2.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Steven
by Steven

The camera is very nicely made, however it seems to come with a faulty lens. Only had this for half a year before lens error started to come up. Now I can no longer take pictures because everytime i turn it on, it gives me lens error. I think this is a common problem among the users of J1.

Steven
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great quality and very compact!
4/3/2012

Customer review by Moocats

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Moocats
by Moocats

Great camera for all purposes. You will love it! Nikon J1 will deliver the quality your expecting in every shot. I'm new to photography but this camera has made it a delight. I would highly recommend it. I would love for Nikon to produce a back pack for this camera and it's accessories. Every bag I review is to big.

Moocats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews