Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
I Really Like This Camera!
6/13/2012

Customer review by InMyPerspective

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by InMyPerspective
by InMyPerspective
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This is a great camera! Good quality, takes good pictures and videos in HD! I have always wanted to invest in a DSLR but I am a little overwhelmed by all the features. I think the Nikon 1 V1 is a good mix between a regular point & shoot and a DSLR. This camera comes with a lens that allows me to zoom and I have the option to exchange to different lenses if I wanted to. It’s great that I can even take pictures while I am on video mode. Most of the time, I use the camera on automatic settings. However, I definitely have the option to play around with the manual setting: shutter speed, aperture, & etc. I can also set the camera to take multiple shots at one instance or put it on the Smart Photo Selector mode, so it selects the best picture (note that this setting takes a couple of seconds before you can take the next shot). The reason why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the price and also the slight delay in some cases. Otherwise, this is a great camera! Pros: - Great photo and video quality (HD) - Option to replace lenses (not included) - Option to zoom - Feels like as DSLR, but more compact - Quick focus Cons: - A bit expensive - Under certain settings: the shutter speed can be a little slow (ex: Smart photo selector. It’s a great feature though!) - Need to purchase a separate SD card

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InMyPerspective
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Great camera with a few glitches
2/18/2012

Customer review by RG

4.0 stars 2/18/2012 by RG
by RG

We bought this camera and lenses to use on a three-week safari, and it met or exceeded expectations. First, it is nice to have the digital viewfinder instead of having to rely on a screen on the back. Most important, images using both the 10-30 and the 30-110 lenses were sharp throughout the focal range, and color rendition was excellent. It is also a great camera for walking around cities, especially using the 10-30mm lens. And the menus are pretty much straightforward and easy to use. We do have a few criticisms, some of which have been mentioned before. It is easy to shift the mode dial (a lock would be nice) and to change the shutter speed in shutter priority mode. And we miss the lack of a "highlights" choice in the playback for the instant feedback on exposure. So far, we haven't needed the flash but will be purchasing one. All in all, a great addition to the Nikon line. Just be careful to monitor the settings.

RG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon V1 with 10-100mm lens
12/12/2011

Customer review by Skippy719

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Skippy719
by Skippy719

I think Nikon does have a unique product here. Two of the main goals were to be able to manage shooting stills and video during the same shoot, and making the camera smaller without given up on quality. No question they were successful. You will always be able to find a camera/camcorder that does better this or that, but the design is such it is easier to shoot both mediums during a single shoot. As a pro shooter, this is what I was looking for from this system. My only disappointment is the 10-100mm designed for shooting video. I think the lens has bugs and needs a couple of good firmware updates to fix. I've tried 2 10-100mm lens now and neither one has worked correctly. The lastest is the shakiness bug when using the much advertised VR system. I must turn the VR off to get any sort of useable video. Not good. I'll return the 10-100mm back again and wait for Nikon to work the bugs out, or just go with the 30-100mm.

Skippy719
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little camera but could use a firmware update
1/21/2012

Customer review by Bob

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Bob
by Bob

Bought this camera about 6-7 weeks ago and enjoy shooting with it very much. The autofocus and metering is fast and accurate, almost as fast as my D7000. Battery life is very good. I use it mainly for nature photography while hiking so the small, light format (even with both the 10-30 and 30-110 lenses) is great for that. A firmware update would be nice to be able to program the "F" button for ISO, and/or have a quick menu for faster access to some of the commonly used options buried in the menus (ISO, WB, P, A, S, or M mode, etc). It would be nice to be able to adjust the Auto ISO to shutter speed relationship in P, A, and S mode (faster shutter speed with higher ISO instead of always defaulting to the lowest ISO and slow shutter speed) Would also like to see a wide angle zoom for it, maybe 6-10mm. Overall I'm impressed with it - great color, good dynamic range and well controlled noise levels. And it's fast!

Bob
Southeast United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost Perfect
1/15/2012

Customer review by nmw

4.0 stars 1/15/2012 by nmw
by nmw

Nikon got almost everything perfect except two things Manual Focus and the placement of the camera mode dial. I took this VERY SWEET small camera to Africa on safari, while all my friends were still trying to balance their very heavy, large lens cameras I had already taken the shot which means I caught the leopard in the tree using the powerful 30-110mm which apparently is roughly a 60-220mm. However, when it came to the cheetah behind tall grass the auto focus focused on the grass. It took me a week to figure out how to even get to manual focus because the instructions were hard to follow, maybe this is why they only included a CD of the manual and they did not print it. Once I figured out the manual focus it is counterintuitive and takes about a minute to press all the buttons you need to push to even get to the possibility of focusing. The camera mode wheel is on the side instead of the top, unfortunately this means when you put the camera away it can spin so you need up in a different mode than the last mode. They should have incopporated a locking button. Otherwise, I love this camera.

nmw
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bird photography camera!!
1/17/2012

Customer review by Randy

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Randy
by Randy

I recently bought the Nikon V1 camera with the hope that with the FT-1 Adapter that it could be used on my Nikon 600mm VR and other of my Nikon lenses that I use. When first received I attached it to my Nikon 70-200mm VRII which gave me an effective 540mm and gave it my initial test. Not taking the time to use a tripod I found a few birds to photograph, hand held. My initial thoughts on the camera display was "Wow" those look great. Upon loading the photos on my computer I was amazed that these images were taken hand held at 540mm with V1. I have attached the initial images. Further testing with the 200mm VRII F2 and the 300mm VRII also showed amazing images for such a small camera. My wife is using these combinations for taking photos of birds in flight and is amazed at the fast focus of this camera. I am looking forward to using it on my 600VR as I will have an effective 1620mm.

Randy
Hazel Green, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Where is the indoor image quality?
1/3/2012

Customer review by JRS

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by JRS
by JRS

I gave my wife the V1 for xmass. She has shot Nikon DSLR since the D1. The first thing she notices is no built in flash. (Is it that hard to add a small LED to provide some fill/balance?) We picked up the SB-5 flash unit so we could actually shoot indoors under moderate light. We set everything on the V1 to auto and tested the camera shooting a family gathering w and w/o flash. We expected the typical high quality Nikon results. We were shocked and extremely disappointed. The images were terrible! Without the flash, the camera selected ISO-3200 and a very slow shutter (1/7th, 1/15th)... resulting in blurred images, sensor noise and no balance. With the flash, it still liked high ISOs and most images had very harsh lighting, flash-shadowing and poor white balance. Assuming it was user error, we started playing with the settings... what a pain, this is NOT a camera for shooting manual or user controled exposures. I'm hoping its a firmware or meter error, but this camera system is going back to the store. On a positive note - in natural light the camera performed fine and produced good images.

JRS
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent small camera and lens set
1/21/2012

Customer review by JamesPhoto

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by JamesPhoto
by JamesPhoto

I'm a Nikon DSLR user of long standing. Purchased the V1 for video and as a small carry around camera. Image quality is excellent, particularly color rendition. The autofocus is clearly a strength of the camera. Focuses fast and accurately, particularly outdoors. The video quality and sound capture is excellent. (I also use an external stereo mic.) The lenses are a real strength of the camera system. They are quite sharp wide open, focus quickly and quietly. Another very positive feature of the V1 is that it can shoot silently. It in some ways is the ultimate street camera. Overall, I had tried several other small cameras, by Nikon and other manufacturers, but never grew to trust or enjoy them. The V1 doesn't feel or behave in a second rate fashion. I am looking forward to hopefully some faster lenses as the system matures. That's really my only complaint at this point.

JamesPhoto
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressed with the size and capabilities
1/13/2012

Customer review by Smokey

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Smokey
by Smokey

The V1 was purchased by my wife as a christmas present for me. I believe she fell in love with Ashton's commercial and thought I would like to use a smaller camera for trips that allowed the capability of changing lenes without the weight of a larger SLR and associated lenes. I am very happy with this camera and have enjoyed taking many outdoor pictures. I am, however, not happy that I am unable to purchase the flash unit made for this camera. None seem availabe in the Baltimore area nor at the wholesale outlets in New York. All web sites and stores keep saying they are unavailable or on back order. I believe Nikon should have better anticipated the need and demand for a flash unit for the V1 camera. I will wait patiently for the flash units to appear on the market. Would also like to see a 2X converter made available to extend range of existing lenses.

Smokey
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great point and shoot camera!
10/9/2012

Customer review by GioH

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by GioH
by GioH

Nice size. Pictures come out amazing!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GioH
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/2/2012

Customer review by EvoKnvl

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by EvoKnvl
by EvoKnvl
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

Took this to a recent Monster Truck event and was impressed. I was in the far back of the bottom row and this camera picked up all the action. I changed it to Shutter Priority and it was still fast enough to pick up all the action. Continuous mode allowed me to get the shots I needed as these mammoth trucks flew through the air. The only downside was that once you let go of the shutter, there is a delay before the next shot. Which at a Monster Jam, you're left waiting and hoping they don't pull off some amazing stunt in the meantime. Other from that, I enjoyed using this camera and the picture quality is great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EvoKnvl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Great things do come in small packages.
11/3/2011

Customer review by Not too shabby, says an old pro.

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Not too shabby, says an old pro.
by Not too shabby, says an old pro.

I started with the first F, and have shot with many nikons since. My background is portraiture on large and medium format, B&W on medium and 35. I finally gave in to digital with the D700 and three of their 'big-glass' f2.8 zoom lenses. The Nikon 1 was a passing fancy, something to play with. Wow! I was certainly amazed with the easy to use features, the unbelievable image quality and magnificant color, and the many pro features that Nikon included in this little package. For an old darkroom adict who 'loved the smell of fix in the morning' I'm sold on the this Nikon 1. I can take the camera with 3 zoom lenses in a very small bag or just stick everything in my cargo pants and off I go. I think this is going to evolve into the fx size and will be the dawning fashion for professional photographers. Kenn

Not too shabby, says an old pro.
Portland. OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great but could easily be so much better
1/7/2012

Customer review by technofan

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by technofan
by technofan

I have the V1 and in a nutshell the camera is a wonderfully versatile little package. Great AF and metering means you can shoot with confidence knowing you WILL get the shot! But it has no exposure bracketing facility or easy panorama shooting facility. However, the camera is MORE than capable of bracketing for use with HDR and creating sweep panorama shots. Perhaps this will be done in Firmware later? It SHOULD be as the system warrants it as does the cost! My biggest niggle is it is FAR too easy to accidentally change the aperture when shooting in aperture mode, I guess the paddle switch is too easy to knock. This has caused me some frustration and perhaps can easily be fixed? Nonetheless, I am pleased with the camera...now lets bring in some of my suggestions and make a good system EXCELLENT.

technofan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Versatile, easy to use, good quality, not perfect.
2/12/2012

Customer review by Nikon user since '74

4.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Nikon user since '74
by Nikon user since '74

This camera is very well-made and ergonomic. There have been some comments about the menu being difficult to use but I find it logical and simple to navigate. The pictures it takes seem to have more resolution than the 10mp rating would indicate; I took a low-light pic indoors and played it back in hi-def through my Blu-ray player on my 42" plasma display, on which I zoomed it 8x. From a few feet away there was still substantial detail and barely a hint of video noise. The dedicated flash unit's light source is apparently far enough away from the lens that there is never any redeye even without the redeye-reduction in use. Hopefully, there will be more lenses (a fast wide-angle zoom would be nice). One problem I have encountered: The viewfinder image is apparently polarized and when used with my polarized sunglasses there is an area in the center that is darker when the camera is held horizontally. I'm surprised Nikon's designers would have let this happen. The viewfinder is most likely to be used in bright sunlight when the screen is washed out, and that is when one is most likely to wear sunglasses; also, most people who can afford this camera can also afford the best sunglasses, which are polarized. If not for this design flaw, my rating would have been 5 stars.

Nikon user since '74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic mirrorless camera
1/15/2012

Customer review by Dewey

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Dewey
by Dewey

I've wanted a mirrorless camera for awhile, but haven't purchase because I like having a viewfinder. Being a Nikon "guy" for many years, when the Nikon 1 V1 became available I had to give it a try. Small mirrorless camera with viewfinder, just what I wanted. I was concerned about the small sensor at first, but after about 2k exposures I can tell the quality is very very good. I shoot mostly RAW and JPG fine. The autofocus is very fast, faster then my Nikon DSLRs. Controls are well placed and easy to use. I am more then satisfied with this camera and the more I use it the more I like. I have not used the video mode yet.

Dewey
San Antonio, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon1 V1
1/12/2012

Customer review by Bayou Bob

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Bayou Bob
by Bayou Bob

I am presenting the camera to our user group. This is an outline of the features I liked. When I travel this small camera system gives me good video & print capabilities in a smaller package. I bought it because it is the first small system that uses digital viewer to show an exact frame of your images, even in bright sunlight. The camera is between point & shoot and SLR cameras. It is the Nikon1 V1. I have the remote, two lens (35mm equivalent to 28m to 55mm & 55mm to 150mm), flash, and small Manfrotto tripod. Smaller tripods will work with this camera. The remote is a great accessory.

Bayou Bob
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The very best small camera available
2/1/2012

Customer review by Roy L

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Roy L
by Roy L

This camera is a DSLR in a small body. That's the best way to describe it. It is the ultimate for birds in flight or children who haven't been medicated. I have never used any small camera that was as fast. In fact, many DSLRs I have used can't come close. The camera has some irritating characteristics to be sure, and you must adapt. But the things it does so well will make adapting enjoyable and easy. I am absolutely 100% all in with the V1. It gives me the best photos of my grandchildren I have ever gotten with anything less than a D700.

Roy L
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a professional's small format "point & shoot"
1/14/2012

Customer review by photonutsteve

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by photonutsteve
by photonutsteve

I really appreciate the features that the V1 offers to me. Besides the fact that it takes great video, is small and portable, light on battery use, uses exchangeable lenses, and is extremely versatile, the fact that I can use it well as a professional, and so can my wife makes it a great camera. The Nikon 1 system, and our V1 has become our go to camera and a great camera for any outing, vacation, or an occasion that pops up without warning. It's ready in an instant, gives great quality images, videos, and results every time.

photonutsteve
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bravo Nikon
10/24/2011

Customer review by Wish 1

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Wish 1
by Wish 1

In the early seventies I purchased a Olympus OM 2 SLR because it perfectly matched the size of my Leica 111f rangefinder. The Nikon 1 easily reduces the size and weight to the most manageable pro camera ever. So I have progressed from a rangefinder to a SLR to a Digital camera, all of quality, but each with pared down size and bulk. Take that, to the naysayers who still insist on the myth of bulk and weight as pro camera credentials. Bravo Nikon, I intend to buy asap.

Wish 1
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Feel like a professional photographer
3/1/2012

Customer review by lisatravels

4.0 stars 3/1/2012 by lisatravels
by lisatravels
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

I've had two SLRs and one digital SLR (all Pentax), but never anything that cost more than $400. I didn't think there could really be so much of a difference that it would be worth it. But the first time I looked at the display on this camera I was amazed; It was like looking through a super fancy Hollywood movie camera. After carrying around a big DSLR for a few years it was a real treat to have this smaller, more compact camera. Weight-wise I can't say it's much lighter, so it might not be much better for carrying around on long trips, but it does fit much more easily in my hands (I'm a 5'2" woman with fairly small hands - not great for using large SLRs with big lenses.) The photo quality is fantastic, and best of all I was able to take the camera out of the box and start shooting right away because it's a very simple camera to use. I recommend reading the book to learn about all the extra features, but if you've used any kind of SLR before then this will be very easy for you to get started. The only drawback for me is that there's no flash on the camera. I know that a real pro (or anyone who's willing to pay this much for a camera) would say that built-in flashes aren't worth having, but if you don't want to have to purchase and carry a flash around, then it's nice to have that option, just for emergencies. Overall, this is a great, fun, compact camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lisatravels
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews