Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
I Really Like This Camera!
6/13/2012

Customer review by InMyPerspective

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by InMyPerspective
by InMyPerspective

This is a great camera! Good quality, takes good pictures and videos in HD! I have always wanted to invest in a DSLR but I am a little overwhelmed by all the features. I think the Nikon 1 V1 is a good mix between a regular point & shoot and a DSLR. This camera comes with a lens that allows me to zoom and I have the option to exchange to different lenses if I wanted to. It’s great that I can even take pictures while I am on video mode. Most of the time, I use the camera on automatic settings. However, I definitely have the option to play around with the manual setting: shutter speed, aperture, & etc. I can also set the camera to take multiple shots at one instance or put it on the Smart Photo Selector mode, so it selects the best picture (note that this setting takes a couple of seconds before you can take the next shot). The reason why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the price and also the slight delay in some cases. Otherwise, this is a great camera! Pros: - Great photo and video quality (HD) - Option to replace lenses (not included) - Option to zoom - Feels like as DSLR, but more compact - Quick focus Cons: - A bit expensive - Under certain settings: the shutter speed can be a little slow (ex: Smart photo selector. It’s a great feature though!) - Need to purchase a separate SD card

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InMyPerspective
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Staff sparks
Top 250 contributor
Great point and shoot camera!
10/9/2012

Customer review by GioH

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by GioH
by GioH

Nice size. Pictures come out amazing!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GioH
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/2/2012

Customer review by EvoKnvl

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by EvoKnvl
by EvoKnvl

Took this to a recent Monster Truck event and was impressed. I was in the far back of the bottom row and this camera picked up all the action. I changed it to Shutter Priority and it was still fast enough to pick up all the action. Continuous mode allowed me to get the shots I needed as these mammoth trucks flew through the air. The only downside was that once you let go of the shutter, there is a delay before the next shot. Which at a Monster Jam, you're left waiting and hoping they don't pull off some amazing stunt in the meantime. Other from that, I enjoyed using this camera and the picture quality is great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EvoKnvl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Excellent Features, best of both worlds.
10/24/2011

Customer review by Photeus

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Photeus
by Photeus

This is my initial review after having the Nikon V1 in my hands for 24 hours. I am impressed. I have been a working photographer for 25 years and wanted to carry a simple, small, but capable camera with me when not lugging the heavey gear. I also am focusing more on my family as I have teenagers in High School, performing, playing sports and just not sititng still for me to pose them at their events. Every tool has its purpose and I first compared this out of the box to my very hard worked Nikon D80. The V1 focuses faster, has more full motion features and is impressively light weight. I do miss the built in flash found in the D80, but I wanted more distance than most point and shoot cameras provide so I have the flash unit inbound from Nikon. I like having the viewfinder option, but found that I was using it less than I thought that I would. It is handy in bright sunlight, and takes a quarter second to detect that you are using it before turning on. My side by side image comparison to my D80 is that the D80 is a little warmer in its tones, but there is minimal if any difference in image sharpness. Side by side prints are hard to choose one over the other based on quality. The surprising range of tones and detail in the shadows suprised me. It has excellent metering to get a balanced shot, and I took a test photo for this review in indirect sunlight that was pretty bright coming through the window. The subject is also not known to hold still. There seems to be no image movement and the shadows still show detail. What I am planning to use this for is to take full motion video and stills of marching band competitions this weekend and I hope to report back with a full test of the cameras features, including video. So far it is exceeding my expectations.

Photeus
Fairfax, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
11/4/2011

Customer review by Bill_D

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Bill_D
by Bill_D

This is a huge improvement over the P7000. Fast, light and feature packed.

Bill_D
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Phrase: A game changer
12/7/2011

Customer review by Jsphoto

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Jsphoto
by Jsphoto

I've been in photography for over thirty years. My main camera is still a 4x5 Ebony film "wood box". I own full DSLR systems with lenses from 12mm to 400mm. And now a V1. All I have to say is that this camera is a game changer. Photography has been changed for the better, forever....

Jsphoto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It was the right purchase on Black Friday
11/26/2011

Customer review by JR

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by JR
by JR

So, it's Black Friday and I could no longer resist. Now, it sits next to my elbow on my desktop, the N1 V1 with its 10 and 10-30 lenses. I have shot this baby for just a couple of hours. What can I say? Nikon, you did a great job. Apart from the well designed ergonomics and unobtrusive-but-large-enough-to-be-perceived-as-serious form factor of this new camera class, apart from its charming simplicity, its solid electronic viewfinder (which, hooray, can't drop off as it is built in!), and its swiftness, what I absolutely like about this camera are its delicious photographic results, and its silence. The mechanical shutter sound is already low, and with the electronic shutter activated the camera becomes nearly silent - the only thing that is scarcely audible is the gliding of the tiny shutter blades! Autofocus is silent, too, you only hear something with the ear very close to the lens body. Other compact systems with interchangeable lenses yell by comparison - especially M4/3. And of course the image quality. When the D3s was released, it became evident that Nikon are THE cutting edge in terms of amazing image quality. This translated into the D7000, and now into the N1 series. It's fantastic what this CX sensor is able to provide. Contrast, dynamic range, colors, sharpness, brilliance, all is there, already in the excellently processed JPGs. At lower ISOs I'd say it is on par with my D300s (which is still a stellar body!), and at higher ISOs (above 800) the unavoidable noise is of the highest quality in an artistic sense. You really can work with the files generated by the N1 series. Its beautiful RAW files inspire me to work with them (which has never been the case with results from other top notch smaller sensor cameras that I owned before). Nikon, what comes next? The "1" in the name tells me that there's space for a "Nikon 2 V1" (with DX sensor?), and a "Nikon 3 V1" (with FX sensor???).... But for today, I'm more than happy with my Nikon 1 V1. It was a Good Friday, not a black Friday :)

JR
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great things do come in small packages.
11/3/2011

Customer review by Not too shabby, says an old pro.

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Not too shabby, says an old pro.
by Not too shabby, says an old pro.

I started with the first F, and have shot with many nikons since. My background is portraiture on large and medium format, B&W on medium and 35. I finally gave in to digital with the D700 and three of their 'big-glass' f2.8 zoom lenses. The Nikon 1 was a passing fancy, something to play with. Wow! I was certainly amazed with the easy to use features, the unbelievable image quality and magnificant color, and the many pro features that Nikon included in this little package. For an old darkroom adict who 'loved the smell of fix in the morning' I'm sold on the this Nikon 1. I can take the camera with 3 zoom lenses in a very small bag or just stick everything in my cargo pants and off I go. I think this is going to evolve into the fx size and will be the dawning fashion for professional photographers. Kenn

Not too shabby, says an old pro.
Portland. OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
From DSLR to V1
1/12/2012

Customer review by Chopper

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Chopper
by Chopper

I have been a Nikon enthusiast since the "film days." I am also a fan of the more serious DSLRs from Nikon. But I gotta say, the V1 is a big welcome to a new era of photography. You cannot argue with its technology and amazing results.

Chopper
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon1 V1
1/12/2012

Customer review by Bayou Bob

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Bayou Bob
by Bayou Bob

I am presenting the camera to our user group. This is an outline of the features I liked. When I travel this small camera system gives me good video & print capabilities in a smaller package. I bought it because it is the first small system that uses digital viewer to show an exact frame of your images, even in bright sunlight. The camera is between point & shoot and SLR cameras. It is the Nikon1 V1. I have the remote, two lens (35mm equivalent to 28m to 55mm & 55mm to 150mm), flash, and small Manfrotto tripod. Smaller tripods will work with this camera. The remote is a great accessory.

Bayou Bob
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Go Nikon
9/29/2011

Customer review by NIKO

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by NIKO
by NIKO

Ok so I'm first to write the review. This is the enthusiasts dream. Huge capabilities with video too. While mirrorless cameras don't replace slr's the days of having two camera platforms for still and video are over. There is no comparison between a phone camera and this. Glad to see Nikon has created this and pushed aside Olympus and Panasonic.

NIKO
New york, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/3/2011

Customer review by girlandthegeese

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by girlandthegeese
by girlandthegeese

someone said smartphones do it alll... smartphones don't take photos like this, sorry. this is revolutionary.

girlandthegeese
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera! Love the size and beautiful pics!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Beezodog

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Beezodog
by Beezodog

Use the camera essentially in AUTO SCENE SELECTION mode. It performs well in virtually all the outdoor situations. Even indoors with bounced flash it produces great images.

Beezodog
Wheaton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bravo Nikon
10/24/2011

Customer review by Wish 1

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Wish 1
by Wish 1

In the early seventies I purchased a Olympus OM 2 SLR because it perfectly matched the size of my Leica 111f rangefinder. The Nikon 1 easily reduces the size and weight to the most manageable pro camera ever. So I have progressed from a rangefinder to a SLR to a Digital camera, all of quality, but each with pared down size and bulk. Take that, to the naysayers who still insist on the myth of bulk and weight as pro camera credentials. Bravo Nikon, I intend to buy asap.

Wish 1
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
1/12/2012

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Bill
by Bill

I was initially put off by this camera, due to the small sensor size, but WOW! I don't know who made the pact with the divil but I thank them, the image quality is quite good. Although in no way up to my D3 or D700, It is amazing. All we need for greatness is a line of good compact fast primes.

Bill
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a professional's small format "point & shoot"
1/14/2012

Customer review by photonutsteve

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by photonutsteve
by photonutsteve

I really appreciate the features that the V1 offers to me. Besides the fact that it takes great video, is small and portable, light on battery use, uses exchangeable lenses, and is extremely versatile, the fact that I can use it well as a professional, and so can my wife makes it a great camera. The Nikon 1 system, and our V1 has become our go to camera and a great camera for any outing, vacation, or an occasion that pops up without warning. It's ready in an instant, gives great quality images, videos, and results every time.

photonutsteve
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressed with the size and capabilities
1/13/2012

Customer review by Smokey

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Smokey
by Smokey

The V1 was purchased by my wife as a christmas present for me. I believe she fell in love with Ashton's commercial and thought I would like to use a smaller camera for trips that allowed the capability of changing lenes without the weight of a larger SLR and associated lenes. I am very happy with this camera and have enjoyed taking many outdoor pictures. I am, however, not happy that I am unable to purchase the flash unit made for this camera. None seem availabe in the Baltimore area nor at the wholesale outlets in New York. All web sites and stores keep saying they are unavailable or on back order. I believe Nikon should have better anticipated the need and demand for a flash unit for the V1 camera. I will wait patiently for the flash units to appear on the market. Would also like to see a 2X converter made available to extend range of existing lenses.

Smokey
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love EVERYTHING about the V1!
1/12/2012

Customer review by Shoe

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Shoe
by Shoe

Classy design, quality feel, and great photos! What more could you want? SIlent operation is a definite plus. And having it with me all the time is priceless.

Shoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
one of it's kind
10/8/2011

Customer review by Lalit

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Lalit
by Lalit

great camera with unique features n sounds more impressive than slrs.

Lalit
india
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hello
10/9/2011

Customer review by Heartsoulx

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Heartsoulx
by Heartsoulx

I would recommend this product is amazing well nikon as always

Heartsoulx
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews