Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Autofocus does not work very well, returned mine
1/22/2012

Customer review by Wholesaleforless

2.0 stars 1/22/2012 by Wholesaleforless
by Wholesaleforless

I bought mine prior to a trip to the Grand Canyon. It is compact, stylish and fairly easy to use. I was unable to locate a setting for changing the resolution of the pictures taken. I tried EVERY menu -- nothing. My biggest disappointment is the time it took the camera to focus and its inability to auto-focus well. While framing a pic, you see multiple electronic boxes in the viewfinder giving the IMPRESSION that it is using those to optimize the autofocus. However, at least half the pics I took were out of focus (which is all the more disappointing, given that images I was taking pictures of were MILES away). I returned mine for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wholesaleforless
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Great Camera for the money
9/12/2012

Customer review by Mooey22

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Mooey22
by Mooey22

We purchsed this camera to catch every moment with our newborn. This is an easy to operate camera and takes amazing pictures and HD video. We are still learning all that it can do, the different lenses will work great for when our daughter is playing sports.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mooey22
Ennis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
12/8/2012

Customer review by Eternalsns

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Eternalsns
by Eternalsns

Quick and clear. Clean color. Good gift to girl.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eternalsns
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/31/2012

Customer review by wattson88

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by wattson88
by wattson88

very nice camera

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wattson88
Mooresville IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera!
11/20/2012

Customer review by Honeybee74

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Honeybee74
by Honeybee74

I get this camera 4 my daughter, she's so happy!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honeybee74
Clinton,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect
11/29/2011

Customer review by Jams

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Jams
by Jams

I just returned from 3 weeks in S America, cycling in Argentina and hiking in Chile/Patagonia. My V1 was the perfect camera, far superior to any point and shoot and much more compact than any DSLR, the photos are remarkable, used the 10-30 lens mostly but was very happy to zoom in on wildlife with the 30-110, the AF is super fast, even got great shots without flash of a Tango performance using the smart photo mode. All in all I couldn't be happier with this camera

Jams
New York NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera! Fast, good image quality, light
11/17/2011

Customer review by JustD

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by JustD
by JustD

I love it. I wanted something smaller than a D-SLR but faster than a compact. This is the perfect compromise. It doesn't have some of the features of a much larger body like the D3100 but for family shots, travel and kids it's perfect.

JustD
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it! Love it! Love it!
11/2/2011

Customer review by KTMD

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by KTMD
by KTMD

I've only had it 2 days but this is an AWESOME camera! Love it! My little speed demon. It is wicked fast focusing. I love taking pictures with this camera! Low light photos are excellent. Can't wait to try the slow motion video today! I'm hoping they come out with a lens that is between the 10-30 and 10-110 range, like a 10-70. I'd love to get a little more zoom but not have a huge lens. I love the size of this - perfect! DSLRs are just too heavy for me. So pleased!! I got the red one and I love it! Fabulous Christmas present for me!

KTMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Photo quality is incredible.
11/26/2011

Customer review by Haley

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Haley
by Haley

I just got this camera yesterday. It's was a bit of a splurge, but I don't regret it one bit. It's stylish and the photo quality is spectacular. Even though I'm only a beginner, I managed to get so many professional-looking photos of my friends and family after only the first day. I would definitely recommend it. The only small downside is that the battery lasts only about an hour to an hour and a half, so I'll probably buy an extra one sometimes soon.

Haley
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera, exactly what I needed
11/18/2011

Customer review by DenverBob

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by DenverBob
by DenverBob

I am a professional photographer and shoot a Nikon D3s as my primary body and have a D 700 as a back up body. I was looking for something that was fully featured, shoots great images, shoots RAW files, has manual mode and would fit in my pocket. This little gem has it all! I love the interchangeable lenses and it shoots 1080p video to boot. Great camera, I highly recommend this!.

DenverBob
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesomeness
12/7/2011

Customer review by Freddy

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Freddy
by Freddy

great camera! great company! always pushing the envelope with innovation

Freddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing even for highschool photojournalist!!!
11/21/2011

Customer review by SQurrielz

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by SQurrielz
by SQurrielz

OMG love this camera!!! i have never seen a camera with so much depth even at night and its so compact love it!!!!!!!! Get this camera and you won't regret it!!!!!!

SQurrielz
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love love love it
1/4/2012

Customer review by sarah

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by sarah
by sarah

nikon 1 is absolutely the best camera yet!!! it is so cool!!

sarah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great camera
2/11/2012

Customer review by Kitsap Nikonguy

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Kitsap Nikonguy
by Kitsap Nikonguy

This camera is very responsive, and takes great pictures. I use both a D300 and D700, but when I can't, or don't want to, carry the weight of a DSLR, this camera comes in very handy. It fits nicely in a larger coat pocket, even with the 30-110 attached. The LCD screen is nice, as is the build quality. The built in flash does a decent job. Using the camera is a pleasure. The time to acquire focus is very good in decent light - it matches the quickness of a DSLR. It also has excellent focus tracking in good light. Unlike a Point and Shoot, pressing the shutter button results in the camera taking a picture (imagine that), instead of a pause while the camera attempts to work out focus, exposure, etc. The image quality is surprisingly good even with the smaller sensor. Focus speed and accuracy decrease as the light decreases, but, while I am used to the focus ability of Nikon DSLRs, the J1 still does a decent job when the light levels decrease. The frame rates available in continuous shooting modes is awesome. Another thing that prompted my purchase was the camera's video ability. Neither of my DSLRs have the ability to record video, so I wanted something that offered good quality video. The camera's video capability is very good. I don't have a lot of video experience, but am very pleased with the J1's video focus and overall video quality. A few minor gripes: You cannot turn off the image review. After a photo, or series of photos, the image is displayed on the LCD. A half press of the shutter will clear it, and allow you to continue shooting. Hopefully this will be something addressed in future firmware updates. The use of the Feature button could also be improved. It's use is determined by the shooting mode the camera is in, and what you can use it for is very limited. It would be great if this button could be customized, or used like the INFO button on Nikon's DSLRs, allowing quick access to different shooting settings.

Kitsap Nikonguy
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality and very compact!
4/3/2012

Customer review by Moocats

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Moocats
by Moocats

Great camera for all purposes. You will love it! Nikon J1 will deliver the quality your expecting in every shot. I'm new to photography but this camera has made it a delight. I would highly recommend it. I would love for Nikon to produce a back pack for this camera and it's accessories. Every bag I review is to big.

Moocats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera in a small package
5/30/2012

Customer review by Nikon Lover

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Nikon Lover
by Nikon Lover

This is my 5th Nikon I have bought in 40 years, and as always excellent workmanship. The camera is light, easy to use and preforms like my first Nikon which was a Nikkormat FTN. A great camera for the price.

Nikon Lover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Nikon 1
7/12/2012

Customer review by Theog187

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by Theog187
by Theog187

This I the best Nikon i have Owen I am happy customer this Nikon haves everything I want and the price is very good .

Theog187
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon J1
11/16/2012

Customer review by Rajib

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Rajib
by Rajib

For Tour er, Amateur Photographer is a awesome product . Excellent one for Photography as its speed, VR Lens, with F-Mount converter to use variety of Nikon lens of any kind. 24 AF point . Cute mini SLR in your pocket .

Rajib
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
1/2/2013

Customer review by Pink joy

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Pink joy
by Pink joy

i love the nikon 1 j1 in pink with the extra lenses! i found it amazing to capture moments then any other camera or device would.

Pink joy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really nifty camera!
4/1/2013

Customer review by blah

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by blah
by blah

This camera takes great shots that are almost at a professional level, and you can take it anywhere because of its small size.

blah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews