Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 500 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

500 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

500 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
213
4 stars
120
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 stars
102
1-20 of 435 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 435 total reviews
1-20 of 435 reviews
I Love My LG Optimus Q Android Phone!
7/13/2012

Customer review by DLCSKY

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by DLCSKY
by DLCSKY

I started with the low-end Straight-talk phone and was overall very pleased with the Straighttalk service, but the low-end phone did not meet my needs. I looked into this Android LG Optimus Q with the Straighttalk plan, and after reading the reviews, decided to buy it. It cost a bit more than I wanted to pay, but after having the phone, I could not be more pleased! It exceeded my expectations. I traveled from northern Virginia down to Atlanta, and utilized the GPS on the phone the whole way, and it was a life-saver! I have been very pleased with the service overall, including Internet speed, which is very reliable and fast. This is truly a great phone, and there are so many apps that can be downloaded for the Android to customize it even more! To be able to add entries to a calendar, have multiple fields for contacts, the GPS capability, checking email on the go, snapping photos, and browsing the internet ... all for only $45/month UNLIMITED with NO CONTRACT!!! You cannot go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLCSKY
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Phone... UNSATISFACTORY SERVICE
1/16/2012

Customer review by andlb

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by andlb
by andlb

I purchased this phone and one month of the $45/30-Day service to try and replace my original Droid and Verizon service. The phone was not the problem... The service in my home area was horrible though. I live in town and from my understanding Sprint has a known "dead zone" for a block or two on either side of my home; unfortunately I use my phone at home (no house phone) a majority of the time (web and text especially). I will be returning the phone if at all possible due to the lack of service in my area. If you have satisfactory Sprint service (Straight Talk Androids run on Sprint network) where you will be using the phone, I would recommend it; otherwise go with Verizon... It may cost double but when you need good service its well worth it (especially when traveling). Luckily I kept my current phone and service with Verizon until I tested the Straight Talk service. I will be sticking with Verizon! REALLY WISH Straight Talk had worked for me. It would have cut my bill in more than half.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andlb
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent phone and money saver
12/24/2011

Customer review by brotherRICH

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by brotherRICH
by brotherRICH

look first i was reading all the bad things about SPRINT COVERAGE but i talk to a friend who has a BOOST MOBILE and he tells me there coverage is very good in NEW YORK CITY AS YOU know LG OPTIMUS Q from ST used the SPRINT PREPAID COVERAGE same as VIRGIN MOBILE AND BOOST MOBILE ,I AM glad i listen because this is the best thing i have done for my self. my old ST phone was on VERIZON and i will tell you here in NYC SPRINT COVERAGE is excellent just like VERIZON .i drove from NYC TO PHILADELPHIA only one drop call there coverage all around here is one of the best this phone works in the tunnel too i wish i have done this long time ago one thing in NYC AT&T has the worst coverage will never recommend that service to any one. with $45 for everything that a deal.look if you want to get a better battery on this phone get the "JUICE DEFENDER"APP is free from the andriod market then your battery will last 4 times more .thanks ST for this nice phone

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brotherRICH
BRONX NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A smart phone to own in every way.
8/6/2012

Customer review by Sunriser333

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Sunriser333
by Sunriser333

I poured over the reviews on this phone and even checked outside of Walmart for reviews. It came out on top. I am very pleased with this phone. Ease of use, connectivity has been great with rare dropped calls. Streaming video was a breeze. Plenty of Apps. No problem getting my email or chat. Love the option of the slider for texting for those fat finger days :o) This phone which I have now owned since 3/2012 has paid for it's self a few times over! I must say the camera takes nice photographs. I was a bit concerned but they are pretty nice looking. Not my Olympus but hey! Sound quality is great. I can understand people and they can understand me. Really if you want a smart phone that doesn't smart to own each month, I highly recommend this one. I have found accessories on Ebay...cover, car charger...or you can look up on any Droid site to find them. Walmart as of yet doesn't carry those at least not online anyway. Just remember, it is a pocket sized computer so rebooting now and again is advised!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunriser333
Colorado Springs, Co.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great phone
1/5/2012

Customer review by cfxgdsfgfed

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by cfxgdsfgfed
by cfxgdsfgfed

This is a great phone.....You will not be disappointed....It does EVERYTHING!!!! YES!!!!! EVERYTHING.... You just need to download the users manual from LG & everything else is easy.... easy to text.....easy to to download any app....easy to load your email (no...not just Google...ANY email on the front page screen)...yes email on your home screen & you will get a notification whenever you have a new email or text (must set this up....not very hard once you have the manual)....downloading apps is easy....surfing the web is great & fast. But...you must remember to close out all apps & the internet when you are not using them because they will keep running in the background which will drain your battery. It take good picture & videos. The GPS & the "where are you" app works great (just takes a few minutes to set up)....this phone does a THOUSAND COOL THINGS...JUST BUT IT & DOWNLOAD THE MANUAL & YOU WILL NOT EVEN THINK ANYTHING OF THE $168 PRICE.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cfxgdsfgfed
maryville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worthy of the hefty $180 price tag
8/19/2012

Customer review by Gr8N8thebetter1

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Gr8N8thebetter1
by Gr8N8thebetter1

Got this phone when it first came out which I believe was in October of last year and it's now the midst of August 2012 and even though it has its minor glitches now, I'd say I've gotten my monies worth thus far. Texting is easy with the slide out keyboard and the cam quality is ok/good. Battery life with certain apps like task killer and without certain apps like facebook messenger is a day long lasting - a day and a half which is good considering its an Android phone. Minor glitches are: Going from landscape to portrait mode it can no longer recognize at times so I have the shake the phone a bit to get it to go back to portrait after I slide out the keyboard for texting which leads to another 1 which is when I take pix I have to shake it first otherwise it'll take a sideways pic, upside down too. Overall its done no wrong by me being on Sprint network. No idea why people complain about them. Sprints pre-paid coverage vs. ATT's and Verizons is better I'd say. But that's just my experience.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8N8thebetter1
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love Love Love
12/20/2011

Customer review by sbeezie

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by sbeezie
by sbeezie

I really do like this phone. Like others, walmart said the phone wouldnt work in my zip code, but it did work in surrounding zip codes so I purchased it. The lg optimus q under sprints network gets better reception than my e71 under the att network.The set up was easy and since I already had a phone with straighttalk the transition from my old phone to the new was great. The features on the phone are great. The battery life is the only complaint but I downloaded a task killer in the android market place that seems to be helping a lot with the battery. The optimus q is the same exact phone that verizon sales called the lg enlighten. So if you need any accessories just search on amazon for lg enlighten accessories and the cases and car chargers will work for the lg optimus q. I do highly recommend this phone.

Was this review helpful? (93) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbeezie
mobile, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great phone!!
12/13/2011

Customer review by gambleme

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by gambleme
by gambleme

i purchased this phone in zanesville,but live in the cambridge area. i was told from straight talk and walmart in zanesville that this phone would not work in my area.(43725) i bought it anyway,tried to transfer my old straight talk # to it and it couldnt be done cus no service in my area....i then took it to walmart in cambridge,they called straight talk,gave them my cambridge address and zip code,but used zanesville zip code to activate it. it works perfectly!! no problems!! i even live 6 miles outside of cambridge in the country and it works better than my other straight talk p hone that uses verizon network!! this one uses sprint!! that supposidly has no coverage in our area,but boost moble and net 10 use sprint and are sold in our walmart ans uses sprint service!! buy this phone,it will work!!! if not you have a 15 day return pollicy....u wont be dissapointed

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gambleme
cambridge ohio 43725
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best phone I've owned yet!
11/20/2011

Customer review by cookeja24

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by cookeja24
by cookeja24
Top 250 contributor

This Straight Talk phone runs on the Sprint network. The Walmart and Straight Talk websites said it was not available at my zipcode in Valdosta GA but it was available in Tallahassee FL. I had the phone shipped to my house in GA but had to drive an hour to FL set it up because it would not let me active it here. The phone works great here in Valdosta (connects at 3G with 6 bars) and it was well worth the hour drive to activate it! This phone has the latest droid software and has awesome features that let you stream movies through netflix as well as many more. My girlfriend likes this phone so much that she is cancelling her contract with Verizon and switching to this phone too. I'm sure it won't be long before people catch on to the fact that this phone will work anywhere that Sprint has coverage. Help me spread the word!

Was this review helpful? (794) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookeja24
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
feels like I bought it for more
5/15/2012

Customer review by silvercharmess

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by silvercharmess
by silvercharmess

I wanted to switch to Straight Talk after having done a company analysis for one of my masters classes in which I compared all the major cell phone companies. Straight Talk seemed to have the best plan and so far I'm super thrilled with them and this phone. The phone is just like all my friends' androids, and costs a whole lot less overall. It has everything I need, and I'm really glad I have the option of the qwerty keyboard as well. The LG is built like a tank, unlike Samsung phones I've had in the past that felt like I was going to break them, the LG Optimum is solid, reminiscent of the LG Rumor (the original LG with slider keyboard). Everything seems to run quick on the Spring 3G network (even though Walmart said it didnt work in my area, I had previously been on Sprint's network and knew otherwise). Also, Straight Talk's customer service is pretty helpful as well, although a bit frustrating at times because they are outsourced to India and often their techs are hard to understand. Still they were always able to help me with anything I needed. I definitely recommend this phone and the Straight Talk service.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silvercharmess
Athens, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG 505C, great phone for the average cell user.
8/4/2013

Customer review by sjrvan

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by sjrvan
by sjrvan

I got this phone 2 months ago and I just love this phone! It gets good service, which is Verizon, the touch screen is good, but I use the slide out keyboard and it works great. I don't need to use my phone for internet, but I need good service for text and talk and pictures and it works great for my low maintenance needs. The price for the phone is reasonable, and I use the 30/month plan, but can use the 45/month if I need to. When you buy a prepaid phone, one thing to watch is what cell service the phone will have. Each phone is different, so really check into that. For me living in Ohio, Verizon is the best and this phone uses Verizon. I love how I just pay 30/month (plus taxes, not much) and I don't have to sign a contract and I still get great cell service. If you don't want a high tech phone, then this is the phone for you. I just love it!! (and that makes my husband happy!)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sjrvan
Bryan, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Android Phone
11/22/2011

Customer review by MW0767

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by MW0767
by MW0767

I actually bought this phone on the Straighttalk website for $179.00 on preorder. I've had it for approximately 2 weeks now and I'm more then pleased. It's the best Straighttalk phone that I've owned. The Walmart price of $149.00 is an AWESOME deal!! Order it and you will be glad you did. The Straighttalk website stated that it did not work in my order so I ended up ordering it through another zip code and had it delivered to my house. I then transferred the phone number to the new LG Optimus through Straighttalk's website online with no problem. If Sprint Prepaid is in your area then this phone will work just fine. You can check the Sprint or Boost Mobile websites and put in your zip code to see if its in your area. That's what I did and I've been extremely happy with the phone. Great clarity and 3G is fast enough for me!

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MW0767
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good bye Iphones!
12/20/2011

Customer review by Paramy

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Paramy
by Paramy
Walmart associate

Money saver!! Unlimited text, unlimited talk and UNLIMITED DATA! All for only $48 (tax included). The unlimited data doesn't cut you off at 2 gigs or slow you down. We have been streaming Pandora and even Netflix without any worries of going over our data usage! If you had this same plan with Apple's Iphone as a new customer, you would be paying well over $100!! The Android operating system has thousands of free Apps and plenty more if your willing to pay a little. Our area doesn't even have a strong Sprint service but it runs just fine. Plus it has WIFI capabilities. Even after streaming Pandora for several hours and daily phone usage, the battery only drained a couple of notches at the end of the day. This has been a super money saver for us! I'm thinking of getting another one so we don't have to share it anymore!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paramy
Perryville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
11/29/2011

Customer review by UNHAPPY9

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by UNHAPPY9
by UNHAPPY9

This phone was great for 1 month and then it froze up (while on Walmart's website) enough the battery had to removed to shut down. Now the display is solid black. Had purchased the walmart replacement plan so was not worried. Called the number for my protection plan and since it is a malfunction and I did not drop the phone then I need to contact mfg for mfg warranty for the first 12 months. Would not be bad if Straight Talk really had customer service. The response (after an hour of 3 different people and repeating the same information over and over) is yes we will replace your phone BUT this means in 3-5 days I will get a letter with a shipping label to mail my phone back to them. Once they receive my phone then they will ship me a new phone. If I have not received my letter in 5 days then I need to call them to follow up with the ticket number I was given. Overall best am looking at is at least 2 weeks with NO PHONE. Not happy after paying $180 for a phone (+$40 warranty) will be without a phone for half the time I owned the phone. After checking straight talk facebook page even more discouraged because posts have talked of waiting 12 weeks for the replacement phone.

Was this review helpful? (233) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UNHAPPY9
Urbana Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Product
12/24/2011

Customer review by shopper0987

1.0 stars 12/24/2011 by shopper0987
by shopper0987

Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well. Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it. Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).

Was this review helpful? (111) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopper0987
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very hard to add info/contacts
6/1/2012

Customer review by DCalif

2.0 stars 6/1/2012 by DCalif
by DCalif

I just bought this phone based on others reviews, bad idea. The phone was easy to buy T mobile set up min. and get working, but after that it has a lot of features but it is almost impossible to get this phone to save and store contacts. We have been trying now for over 4 hours and we can make calls but texting is hard to figure out. My wifes old phone was a snap, but this phone is really hard to program and you have to push the suface really hard to get the info to take, it has a lot of delay time when the battery gets past half way??? Some times it freezes and you have to turn it off??? The battery only lasted 2.4 hrs and required charging already. I think we are going to end up taking this thing back?? Why pay so much for a squirly phone??? The users manual is like a small phone book and many times what they tell you does not come up on the view screen to do?? We have been using our air time trying to just make calls and text message.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCalif
Sacto CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG Optimus Q
11/19/2011

Customer review by zzuebe2

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by zzuebe2
by zzuebe2
Top 100 contributor

I don't know why Walmart.com doesn't show this item in their regular menu but let me be one of the first to say this phone is FANTASTIC for what it is... a mid-level entry "Android" phone... and the free shipping to home took only 3 days... If you plan on buying this phone (VERY IMPORTANT) make sure you have good coverage with Spint's pre-paid 3G network... I happen be live in a place with very good coverage... If you don't, you will be very disappointed... and when connected to my home Wi-Fi, this thing flies... For the price, this is a home run (hands-down) !!! Sorry for the pic quality, they were taken on my old phone.....

Was this review helpful? (501) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zzuebe2
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
I thought my samsung was bad, this takes the cake.
4/1/2013

Customer review by CrazyNYer

2.0 stars 4/1/2013 by CrazyNYer
by CrazyNYer

My first android and have had it about a month. I think I suffer from fat finger disorder so I had to get something with a slider keyboard as well. the keys are hard plastic which tends to cause your fingers to slip a little and the E & O keys lettering is already scratching off. If you play any games or even during charging you'll notice that the phone will get hot very quickly. most days I have to charge it atleast 2 times (Yes, I did follow the instructions on initial battery charging). As to not completely suck up battery power you have to stop everything from running when not in use and also turn the screen brightness down as low as possible... if you go outside and try to look at your screen with it turned down low, you will not be able to see it and then have to turn the brightness up to use it sucking up even more power. Im sorry I listened to the person i got a recommendation from as now Im finding out they had the same issues with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyNYer
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/21/2011

Customer review by quinkydink

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by quinkydink
by quinkydink

This phone is awesome!! It was hard for me to give up my iPhone, but could no longer afford it, so I had to move on. I spent many days trying to decide between the Galaxy Precedent and this phone, but I'm so glad I picked this one over the Precedent. I've had the phone 3 weeks, and already I can do more on it than on the iPhone in 2 years. I now listen to french songs from Paris radio stations while walking the dog, and this phone is capable of doing all I will ever need plus more. It's a great phone! It is difficult finding accessories for it, but I've managed to find some on various websites. Buy it...you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (719) (94)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quinkydink
The Villages, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Phones BAD Customer Service
12/29/2011

Customer review by Shabby99

3.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Shabby99
by Shabby99

I've had two different Straight Talk Phones the Samsung Slider T401G (non-android) and the LG Optimus Q (Android). In a nutshell, if you want to save money and don't want a contract Straight Talk isn't a bad choice. However, I've had some problems with my Optimus Q and service leaves something to be desired. Straight Talk's non-Android phones have great coverage. The Android phones fall a short on coverage. However, if you spend most of your time in a moderate to large metro area the android phones should work fine. If not, I would recommend not wasting your money. See the coverage maps here: http://www.straighttalk.com/Coverage If you have any problems with your service or phone, be prepared to receive awful customer service. In general their customer service representatives speak poor English, have no clue what they are talking about, and expect you to call from an alternate phone to troubleshoot your phone. If your cell is your only phone this may present a problem. The Pros: •Inexpensive plans with unlimited talk/data •Non-android phones: Excellent service coverage(Verizon network) The Cons: •Android phones: Ok service coverage (Sprint network) •TERRIBLE Customer Service •Limited phone selection •Android phones expensive

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shabby99
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 435 total reviews
1-20 of 435 reviews