Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 484 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

484 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

5 stars
202
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 stars
102
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 421 total reviews
LG Optimus Q
11/19/2011

Customer review by zzuebe2

5.0 stars by zzuebe2

I don't know why Walmart.com doesn't show this item in their regular menu but let me be one of the first to say this phone is FANTASTIC for what it is... a mid-level entry "Android" phone... and the free shipping to home took only 3 days... If you plan on buying this phone (VERY IMPORTANT) make sure you have good coverage with Spint's pre-paid 3G network... I happen be live in a place with very good coverage... If you don't, you will be very disappointed... and when connected to my home Wi-Fi, this thing flies... For the price, this is a home run (hands-down) !!! Sorry for the pic quality, they were taken on my old phone.....

Was this review helpful? (501) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zzuebe2
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Fantastic phone
11/19/2011

Customer review by Underthegun

5.0 stars by Underthegun

I love this phone - I'm so happy I decided to buy this one. I really wanted an LG, in my opinion based on my experience they are the best. This phone has superior voice quality on both ends, all the features I wanted in an Adroid including a full QWERTY keyboard as well as a virtual keyboard and is a sturdy, well-made, durable device. I couldn't ask for more, especially for the money. I highly recommend this phone.

Was this review helpful? (1167) (145)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Underthegun
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
The best phone I've owned yet!
11/20/2011

Customer review by cookeja24

5.0 stars by cookeja24

This Straight Talk phone runs on the Sprint network. The Walmart and Straight Talk websites said it was not available at my zipcode in Valdosta GA but it was available in Tallahassee FL. I had the phone shipped to my house in GA but had to drive an hour to FL set it up because it would not let me active it here. The phone works great here in Valdosta (connects at 3G with 6 bars) and it was well worth the hour drive to activate it! This phone has the latest droid software and has awesome features that let you stream movies through netflix as well as many more. My girlfriend likes this phone so much that she is cancelling her contract with Verizon and switching to this phone too. I'm sure it won't be long before people catch on to the fact that this phone will work anywhere that Sprint has coverage. Help me spread the word!

Was this review helpful? (794) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cookeja24
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
11/21/2011

Customer review by quinkydink

5.0 stars by quinkydink

This phone is awesome!! It was hard for me to give up my iPhone, but could no longer afford it, so I had to move on. I spent many days trying to decide between the Galaxy Precedent and this phone, but I'm so glad I picked this one over the Precedent. I've had the phone 3 weeks, and already I can do more on it than on the iPhone in 2 years. I now listen to french songs from Paris radio stations while walking the dog, and this phone is capable of doing all I will ever need plus more. It's a great phone! It is difficult finding accessories for it, but I've managed to find some on various websites. Buy it...you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (719) (94)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
quinkydink
The Villages, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3rd LG Optimus Q & still not functioning properly
2/8/2012

Customer review by Ispeedingbullet

1.0 stars by Ispeedingbullet

Had this service for almost 2 years with my simple little cell phone & have LOVED every minute of it. Purchased this LG OPTIMUS Q phone in the beginning of January. Worked great for the first 10 or so days & then it started freezing up. Decided to exchange it for another one before my 15 days were up to avoid the nightmare of having to deal with straight talk directly. Got the 2nd phone & it worked great for 5 days & then it stopped receiving text messages from all other cell phone providers except AT&T. Called straight talks' nightmare of a customer service department, spent an hour on the phone with them, was transferred 3 different times, was told to complete the same update to my phone 3 different times & eventually was given a case number because they couldn't figure it out. I was told they had to research the issue & someone would get back to me in 72 hours. 72 hours passed & no phone call. Called back after 130 hours had passed & again, had to spend over an hour on the phone with them explaining the issues all over again even though I gave them my case number in the beginning of the conversation. Was again transferred to 3 different people, all of who had me do the same exact update to my phone that did not work the previous times I had tried it. Even spoke to 2 different supervisors who could not help me. They then proceeded to tell me that they were going to send me a shipping label to return the phone to them & that once they received my phone, they would send me a replacement. I have read many, many reviews that state that people have waited months for their new phones & being that I have no home phone with a small child, I cannot be without a phone. So, again, I decided to take the 2nd phone back to walmart before the 15 days was up. Got my 3rd phone last night & guess what, I still can't receive text messages. I can send them to everyone but I cannot receive them. I can, however, receive picture messages. DO NOT buy this phone. People on here are very, very quick to review this phone without giving it time to screw up. I promise you that it will eventually & you will have no choice but to deal with Straight Talk directly which I again, promise you, is an absolute nightmare. They don't speak english very well & have zero knowledge of how to repair a phone. They could only offer me one update solution to fix this problem & it didn't....even after days of so-called research. I will be returning this 3rd phone to Wal-mart & going back to my simple old cell phone as I had NO problems with that phone, ever. Which in turn means, I NEVER had to deal with the straight talk customer service. I highly recommend the Straight Talk concept if & ONLY if, you have a simple phone that runs on the Verizon network where you will NEVER have to deal with their customer service. If you want a smart phone, it's best to deal with a SMART company that can assist you when you have issues. Straight Talk is not that company - I PROMISE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (234) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ispeedingbullet
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love Love Love
12/20/2011

Customer review by sbeezie

5.0 stars by sbeezie

I really do like this phone. Like others, walmart said the phone wouldnt work in my zip code, but it did work in surrounding zip codes so I purchased it. The lg optimus q under sprints network gets better reception than my e71 under the att network.The set up was easy and since I already had a phone with straighttalk the transition from my old phone to the new was great. The features on the phone are great. The battery life is the only complaint but I downloaded a task killer in the android market place that seems to be helping a lot with the battery. The optimus q is the same exact phone that verizon sales called the lg enlighten. So if you need any accessories just search on amazon for lg enlighten accessories and the cases and car chargers will work for the lg optimus q. I do highly recommend this phone.

Was this review helpful? (93) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sbeezie
mobile, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/29/2011

Customer review by UNHAPPY9

1.0 stars by UNHAPPY9

This phone was great for 1 month and then it froze up (while on Walmart's website) enough the battery had to removed to shut down. Now the display is solid black. Had purchased the walmart replacement plan so was not worried. Called the number for my protection plan and since it is a malfunction and I did not drop the phone then I need to contact mfg for mfg warranty for the first 12 months. Would not be bad if Straight Talk really had customer service. The response (after an hour of 3 different people and repeating the same information over and over) is yes we will replace your phone BUT this means in 3-5 days I will get a letter with a shipping label to mail my phone back to them. Once they receive my phone then they will ship me a new phone. If I have not received my letter in 5 days then I need to call them to follow up with the ticket number I was given. Overall best am looking at is at least 2 weeks with NO PHONE. Not happy after paying $180 for a phone (+$40 warranty) will be without a phone for half the time I owned the phone. After checking straight talk facebook page even more discouraged because posts have talked of waiting 12 weeks for the replacement phone.

Was this review helpful? (233) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
UNHAPPY9
Urbana Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
12/13/2011

Customer review by JimsWifeforever

5.0 stars by JimsWifeforever

I read the reviews on the phone before I purchased it. I read really good and really bad reviews. I think what I was seeing was this, if you have a phone compatable with Apple Iphone, you will probably not be very happy with this phone. If you've never owned a droid before, you'll love it. My daughter has the iphone and she was telling me that her phone was quicker to get on certain apps. On the other hand, this phone had features hers didn't. I love it. There are alot of apps for free to download. If you are thinking about getting it, I'd say go for it. It's well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (89) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JimsWifeforever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Product
12/24/2011

Customer review by shopper0987

1.0 stars by shopper0987

Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well. Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it. Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).

Was this review helpful? (111) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shopper0987
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
12/3/2011

Customer review by Justmyopinion80

5.0 stars by Justmyopinion80

This is the most superb phone I have ever owned, it's above and beyond the best phone I have ever owned. The screen is nice, the keys are excellent for typing, the android market is loaded with great free apps. I would recommend this phone to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (60) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Justmyopinion80
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Android Phone
11/22/2011

Customer review by MW0767

5.0 stars by MW0767

I actually bought this phone on the Straighttalk website for $179.00 on preorder. I've had it for approximately 2 weeks now and I'm more then pleased. It's the best Straighttalk phone that I've owned. The Walmart price of $149.00 is an AWESOME deal!! Order it and you will be glad you did. The Straighttalk website stated that it did not work in my order so I ended up ordering it through another zip code and had it delivered to my house. I then transferred the phone number to the new LG Optimus through Straighttalk's website online with no problem. If Sprint Prepaid is in your area then this phone will work just fine. You can check the Sprint or Boost Mobile websites and put in your zip code to see if its in your area. That's what I did and I've been extremely happy with the phone. Great clarity and 3G is fast enough for me!

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MW0767
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/2/2011

Customer review by Sylden

4.0 stars by Sylden

I am pleased with the phone and the service considering it is unlimited for only $45 a month. I have had a decent connection most of the time, even though it said the phone wouldn't work in my zip code, when I zoomed in on the map there was coverage at my address. The battery life isn't that great but the phone charges up quickly. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. One a side note, the customer service for Straight Talk is atrocious. I think I was talking to robots. It took me days and hours talking to several reps to get my service changed over from my old phone.

Was this review helpful? (68) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sylden
Cerro Gordo, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent phone and money saver
12/24/2011

Customer review by brotherRICH

5.0 stars by brotherRICH

look first i was reading all the bad things about SPRINT COVERAGE but i talk to a friend who has a BOOST MOBILE and he tells me there coverage is very good in NEW YORK CITY AS YOU know LG OPTIMUS Q from ST used the SPRINT PREPAID COVERAGE same as VIRGIN MOBILE AND BOOST MOBILE ,I AM glad i listen because this is the best thing i have done for my self. my old ST phone was on VERIZON and i will tell you here in NYC SPRINT COVERAGE is excellent just like VERIZON .i drove from NYC TO PHILADELPHIA only one drop call there coverage all around here is one of the best this phone works in the tunnel too i wish i have done this long time ago one thing in NYC AT&T has the worst coverage will never recommend that service to any one. with $45 for everything that a deal.look if you want to get a better battery on this phone get the "JUICE DEFENDER"APP is free from the andriod market then your battery will last 4 times more .thanks ST for this nice phone

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
brotherRICH
BRONX NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone!!
12/13/2011

Customer review by gambleme

5.0 stars by gambleme

i purchased this phone in zanesville,but live in the cambridge area. i was told from straight talk and walmart in zanesville that this phone would not work in my area.(43725) i bought it anyway,tried to transfer my old straight talk # to it and it couldnt be done cus no service in my area....i then took it to walmart in cambridge,they called straight talk,gave them my cambridge address and zip code,but used zanesville zip code to activate it. it works perfectly!! no problems!! i even live 6 miles outside of cambridge in the country and it works better than my other straight talk p hone that uses verizon network!! this one uses sprint!! that supposidly has no coverage in our area,but boost moble and net 10 use sprint and are sold in our walmart ans uses sprint service!! buy this phone,it will work!!! if not you have a 15 day return pollicy....u wont be dissapointed

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gambleme
cambridge ohio 43725
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bye Iphones!
12/20/2011

Customer review by Paramy

5.0 stars by Paramy

Money saver!! Unlimited text, unlimited talk and UNLIMITED DATA! All for only $48 (tax included). The unlimited data doesn't cut you off at 2 gigs or slow you down. We have been streaming Pandora and even Netflix without any worries of going over our data usage! If you had this same plan with Apple's Iphone as a new customer, you would be paying well over $100!! The Android operating system has thousands of free Apps and plenty more if your willing to pay a little. Our area doesn't even have a strong Sprint service but it runs just fine. Plus it has WIFI capabilities. Even after streaming Pandora for several hours and daily phone usage, the battery only drained a couple of notches at the end of the day. This has been a super money saver for us! I'm thinking of getting another one so we don't have to share it anymore!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Paramy
Perryville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
I Love My LG Optimus Q Android Phone!
7/13/2012

Customer review by DLCSKY

5.0 stars by DLCSKY

I started with the low-end Straight-talk phone and was overall very pleased with the Straighttalk service, but the low-end phone did not meet my needs. I looked into this Android LG Optimus Q with the Straighttalk plan, and after reading the reviews, decided to buy it. It cost a bit more than I wanted to pay, but after having the phone, I could not be more pleased! It exceeded my expectations. I traveled from northern Virginia down to Atlanta, and utilized the GPS on the phone the whole way, and it was a life-saver! I have been very pleased with the service overall, including Internet speed, which is very reliable and fast. This is truly a great phone, and there are so many apps that can be downloaded for the Android to customize it even more! To be able to add entries to a calendar, have multiple fields for contacts, the GPS capability, checking email on the go, snapping photos, and browsing the internet ... all for only $45/month UNLIMITED with NO CONTRACT!!! You cannot go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DLCSKY
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Phones BAD Customer Service
12/29/2011

Customer review by Shabby99

3.0 stars by Shabby99

I've had two different Straight Talk Phones the Samsung Slider T401G (non-android) and the LG Optimus Q (Android). In a nutshell, if you want to save money and don't want a contract Straight Talk isn't a bad choice. However, I've had some problems with my Optimus Q and service leaves something to be desired. Straight Talk's non-Android phones have great coverage. The Android phones fall a short on coverage. However, if you spend most of your time in a moderate to large metro area the android phones should work fine. If not, I would recommend not wasting your money. See the coverage maps here: http://www.straighttalk.com/Coverage If you have any problems with your service or phone, be prepared to receive awful customer service. In general their customer service representatives speak poor English, have no clue what they are talking about, and expect you to call from an alternate phone to troubleshoot your phone. If your cell is your only phone this may present a problem. The Pros: •Inexpensive plans with unlimited talk/data •Non-android phones: Excellent service coverage(Verizon network) The Cons: •Android phones: Ok service coverage (Sprint network) •TERRIBLE Customer Service •Limited phone selection •Android phones expensive

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shabby99
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great phone, horrible network
12/5/2011

Customer review by pierrcebrosnan007

1.0 stars by pierrcebrosnan007

I got this phone and I really wish I could use it. It uses sprints towers however, and even though they show service in my area on their coverage maps, I cant even get it activated the reception is so poor. So make sure you ask around about sprint in your area before you buy, or else you will just be really sad that you cant use this awesome phone.

Was this review helpful? (79) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pierrcebrosnan007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Get it!
12/12/2011

Customer review by Kamikazeedriver

5.0 stars by Kamikazeedriver

I'm very happy with this phone. It's everything you'd expect from an android phone, with a great price. If Sprint towers have a presence in your area, you will not be disappointed! Coverage: I live in Morganton, NC. Checking the zip through STs website says it will not work. Yet it would work in the next town 5 miles away. So i checked zip codes. Checked Sprint/Virgin Mobile coverage, and saw alot of coverage. Talked with friends who had Virgin Mobile (sprints prepaid network) and others using a prepaid android in this area. Everyone had no problem. So once Wal-mart began selling it, i gave it even more thought. I finally broke down and got it. I am glad I did. If you live anywhere near Hickory, NC (morganton, valdese, icard, connelly springs, newton, lincolnton, statesville, marion, nebo, and everything else in between), then don't fret that your zip code shows no service on the ST website. This phone uses sprint, and sprint ain't shabby in our area. You get alot for a droid phone with an unlimited plan @ $45/month. I did read earlier, someone complained about the GPS being too laggy to be useful. They were right. I checked it out. I didn't give it a destination, just had it follow me, and we drove for 15 minutes and it only updated our position 3 times. When we were coming out of the store, it said we were still on the interstate, like it did while we were still driving to the store 5 minutes earlier. The Nokia E71 i had was very quick in the GPS department. Then again, it lacked everything i wanted that only droid could offer. Bottom Line. If you really think you want this phone, you probably do. Worried about your signal if you invest in it? Then goto virgin mobile and check their coverage. You can zoom in on their website's coverage map, unlike straight talk's map. You won't regret this droid. You'll be glad you did it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kamikazeedriver
Hickory-Morganton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome and cheap Android phone
12/15/2011

Customer review by 1Shopaholic1

5.0 stars by 1Shopaholic1

I love this phone and the straight talk package. For under $200 I have access to a smart phone with no contract. The phone works well for me as Sprint is available in my area. The deal breaker for me being new to the touch screen was the keyboard. Overall I am more than happy with my phone and would totally recommend it. The only drawback is that the camera does not have a flash but thats cool becuase I tend to use my digital camera for taking pics anyway.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1Shopaholic1
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 421 total reviews