Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
43
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 184 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Now feel extremely secure
3/3/2012

Customer review by Mensch

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Mensch
by Mensch

I'm sorry I didn't know about this wonderful product sooner. I wear it on a chain around my neck without noticing it's there. Sleep with it on. It can instantly help if anything bad happens to me or someone nearby. I bought another one for my mother-in-law and I have recommended it to my co-workers. Set up was easy. recharging unit a breeze. Works anywhere I go. Lastly, I'm not writing this for the company, I'm writing it for those who might be hesitant. It could be the most valuable purchase of your life.

Was this review helpful? (398) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mensch
East Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Prepared for Emergency
2/9/2012

Customer review by carolight

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by carolight
by carolight

Since this is a brand new item, I can't attest to durability or how well the item works when used; BUT it's a much better value than a home medical alert system, and has the additional benefit of being able to go with me wherever I go. Its cost (purchase and monthly service fees) and portability were the defining factors for my purchase. The peace of mind my family can have now on my behalf is worth the small investment cost. I hope never have to use it! Setup was easy, the booklets are easy to understand, and the directions easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (437) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carolight
Southern US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of mind -- PRICELESS!
3/19/2012

Customer review by tuffstuff504

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by tuffstuff504
by tuffstuff504

I actually bought this unit right after the New Year at my local WalMart. I'm so glad I did! I'm only 23 years old, but have been through some events in my past that have really made me feel unsafe. This device REALLY works! Let me tell you, I've already used it a few times. One time, I didn't feel safe walking to my car alone in a dark parking lot. I pressed the button, and a "5Star Agent" answered my button press within seconds. They asked me "Are you calling with an emergency?" and I immediately said "No, but I'm nervous about walking to me car." They stayed on the line with me until I actually made it INTO my car, started it up, and drove off! Then another time, I actually had PRE-pneumonia but didn't know it. I was getting short of breath but wanted to see an urgent care -- but didn't know where to go. Again, I pressed the button, and the agent QUICKLY identified WHERE I was, gave directions, and even called them for me to see the estimated wait, whether they took my insurance, and even gave them a "heads up" that I Was coming! Then I was REALLY floored when I took a trip out of state last week. Made 4-5 exits, and couldn't find gas! I Was scared, and it was like 3ish AM in the morning. These people helped call and find me an open gas station and stayed ON the line until I arrived, pumped my gas, got back in the car, and drove off! BUT WAIT! IT gets better! While I was pumping gas, a weird man walked up and approached me and didn't appear to have very good intentions at all. Looking at me, scoping me out and all -- LITTLE DID HE KNOW that I still had the 5Star agent "waiting" on the line while I pumped gas while my 5Star responder was on my key-chain w/ keys in my hand. Immediately, the agent said, "[NAME HERE], are you okay? DO I NEED TO SEND HELP To YOUR LOCATION?" And the man, IMMEDIATELY fled fearing that he'd probably get caught! I swear by this thing! DON'T HESITATE! JUST GET IT! PS: The reps are ALWAYS extremely friendly and ready to help -- REGARDLESS of your compromising situation!

Was this review helpful? (215) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuffstuff504
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great for Emergencies
3/19/2012

Customer review by Suecop

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Suecop
by Suecop

Works great, easy instructions, can take this anywhere, and in a emergency they can find you. much better then big unit they use for older people for emergencies. You can wear it around your neck or on key chain then press, if you need help. Great for elderly when out and about or in their yard and they fall or something. Got one for my 82 yr old friend and my other girlfriend (74) already has one. 15.00 a month fee is reasonable for peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (195) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suecop
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No home land line required, works almost anywhere
9/25/2012

Customer review by SSLovesPark

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by SSLovesPark
by SSLovesPark

First purchased the well-advertised medical alert system, but it was not compatible with my Mom's home phone service. Researched other options and found the GreatCall 5Star Responder. Wish I had seen this first! It beats the other system several ways - 1) it works anywhere there is Verizon wireless service, where the other one only works within a specific range of your home. 2) It doesn't require phone service at all (cell or land line). This device runs on the Verizon network and your small monthly fee to GreatCall covers the service. 3) When connected to 5Star Responder's call center you converse over the device much like using a cell phone on speaker, rather than speaking through a box connected to your home phone, which may be hundreds of feet away. Recharges much like a cell phone, with a USB charger. The charge lasts nearly a week. You can send a "test call" online anytime you wish. Only negative I see is that it's not waterproof, but all the other great things make up for that. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (231) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SSLovesPark
Loves Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
GOOD PRODUCT
7/4/2012

Customer review by SHAYNA1993

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by SHAYNA1993
by SHAYNA1993

THE ONLY NEGATIVE I CAN SAY AT THIS POINT, IS THAT THE BATTERY LIFE IS TOO SHORT. IT HAS TO BE CHARGED ONCE A DAY AND I HAVE TO MAKE SURE MY MOM CHARGES IT AND HOPE SHE HAS NO ISSUES DURING THE NGHT.

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHAYNA1993
WELLINGTON, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1st Day of Usage...
8/20/2012

Customer review by HMM161

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by HMM161
by HMM161

I had placed the Greatcall in the front pocket of my jeans and accidently pushed the call button. (Obviously, I do not recommend carrying it in this manner.) I heard the ring and immediately pushed the button to end the call. Within a few seconds, I received a call. I advised the caller that I had accidently pushed the call button. The caller was most polite about my error and asked for my location. Since I was shopping, I told him the store that I was about to enter and was immediately asked if a specific store was adjacent. I confirmed that it was and he stated that his question was to verify and demonstrate that the GPS was performing accurately. This accidental call convinces me that this company lives up to its reputation for service. I believe this to be a great value. I am very, very pleased that I chose Greatcall.

Was this review helpful? (98) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HMM161
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bought for my elderly mother
9/4/2012

Customer review by Savysavannahshopper

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Savysavannahshopper
by Savysavannahshopper

I bought this product for my elderly mother. Looked at other products but found she needed to be within 600ft of the home monitor. With this product she can go anywhere and still feel safe. She is still quite active and this gives her the freedom to go to her regular places and on small outings with her senior group. If she gets lost or feels unsafe all she has to do is press the button. Another nice feature is I can log online and see where she is. Living far away from her this is a priceless feature. I can check on her but respect her privacy too. It seems to be a well made product. That is durable and easy for her to use. The monthly price of 14.99 is more than reasonable when you consider what you are really getting. Peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (71) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savysavannahshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Call Replacement
2/25/2014

Customer review by Boyntonbill

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Boyntonbill
by Boyntonbill

This emergency responder is a great value. It has the huge advantage of working outside your home using GPS. There is a disadvantage in that it is not waterproof like other types, but you do not need to connect to your landline phone line. I gave it only 4 stars for expectations because my first responder died after only 2 years. The battery would not recharge. I thought this was unacceptable. But the agent told me that their usual life is only 2-3 years. This seems short to me. You can buy an optional warranty plan for about $3 a month, but this is a joke. The free warranty lasts one year, so paying $36 a year for the 2nd year makes no sense when you can buy a new one at Walmart for $40. Don't buy new responders directly from 5 Star. They charge you $50 and $15 shipping.

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boyntonbill
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One thing to consider-don't get it wet
5/26/2014

Customer review by bllguest

4.0 stars 5/26/2014 by bllguest
by bllguest

I haven't had to use Great Call and I've had it for about 1 1/2 years now. I did run into one problem however that people should be aware of. I wore the Great Call device as a necklace - between my skin and blouse. One day I cleaned it with a disinfectant wipe (nothing unusual) and I guess some fluid got down into the device - which I hadn't paid attention. I had swiped it across the face of it. The device went crazy and went into a loop of calling 911 and the Great Call operator. I started getting return phone calls from both 911 and Great Call. I didn't want emergency crews showing up at my door for nothing. I had to explain the situation to 911. Great Call had me place the device in a glass of water to destroy it and they sent me a replacement. I asked them if they had had this problem before, and they said they had heard of it if the device gets wet. SO BE VERY CAREFUL. The wipe was the only thing I could think of that set it off since it happened a few minutes after I did that.

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bllguest
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
I feel that this is a step up over my last system
3/6/2012

Customer review by sammyv

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by sammyv
by sammyv

The system I had before would only work around the house, which was good for the time! But this system works regardless of where you are in the USA, it's like having a personal ON STAR unit for a person. It compares very well with the features of ON STAR. You don't have to use it strictly for medical emergency. The monthly monitoring fee is quiet reasonable compared to other medical emergency systems. Buying it through Walmart also gives you a month free. It's rechargeable! Has indicator light to let you know that it's in an area where there shouldn't be a problem for protection. Also one for the battery usage level. I also like the fact that you can go online ans ping your unit to locate it or see if signal is working from your unusual location. I haven't ever had to use it yet in an emergency and hope I never will, but it gives me the confidence it's there if I need it!

Was this review helpful? (200) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammyv
Northeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/29/2013

Customer review by OperatingFreely

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by OperatingFreely
by OperatingFreely

We haven't had our responder very long, but it is already bringing great peace of mind to know the security it affords to everyone involved. It is wonderful for the person that carries the device to have the ability to call someone with one simple touch...for any perceived need. It also brings such reassurance to the care givers to know that they can easily check the location of their loved one. The price is so reasonable, the coverage is vast, the service operators I have spoken with have been pleasant and knowledgeable, there is no service contract, the sound on the responder is easy for our granny to hear, it is small and inconspicuous, if Gran misplaces her device we can set it to beep so it is easy to locate...the Great Call company has been doing their homework with their business design. We love ours and one of Gran's friends has already put one on order because they saw how great Gran's worked for her. Keep up the outstanding effort Great Call...we are grateful!!!

Was this review helpful? (82) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OperatingFreely
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/29/2013

Customer review by Homer3000

1.0 stars 6/29/2013 by Homer3000
by Homer3000

Product is very poor quality. The clip is so flimsy that it isn't possible to clip it to anything. It keeps falling off. when it falls off, the case comes apart.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Homer3000
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Peace of mind for us kids
10/2/2013

Customer review by MothersFavorite

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by MothersFavorite
by MothersFavorite

My siblings and I purchased this device for our elderly mother who lives far away. It works exactly as it is supposed to as my mother tested it. It is very easy for her to use. Works just like a cell phone and it works in all the places where she frequents. Only requires the press of a button to contact a greatcall operator. We now have the peace of mind knowing our mother can contact someone (including us kids) in case of emergency. Before buying, just be sure it will work in any zip code where it will be used. Activation is eeasy but takes about 30 minutes to do it online because of the information required. However it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MothersFavorite
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Idea !!!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Buymoreonline

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Buymoreonline
by Buymoreonline

I care for my mother and I would worry about her when I was not home. She really likes to walk her little dogs and the home alert just would not cover the area even if she stayed in my yard. (It is rather large) This little unit allows her to call and talk to someone no matter where she is in the yard or around the block with just the push of a button. Not only that but it allows me to find her location on a map if I need to see where she is. You get 100% more piece of mind for half the cost, and no matter where she is she call talk to someone or get directly to 911.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buymoreonline
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I took it back.
12/13/2012

Customer review by Ritzetz

2.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Ritzetz
by Ritzetz

They don't tell you when they advertise it, that you have to pay aprox $45. for the equipment & then a $25. activation fee. Too much + it does not work well to wear around your neck & that is what you need to do, it is too big for that.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ritzetz
Flowery Branch, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Dissapointed
12/11/2012

Customer review by Gardentea

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Gardentea
by Gardentea

I live in a populated area and I was informed AFTER I purchased the wireless responder that there was no coverage in my zip code. I can't drive and I am very dissappointed in my service prior to purchase and afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gardentea
Muskogee, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to hook up people are very friendly
3/3/2014

Customer review by PARKERMYDOG

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by PARKERMYDOG
by PARKERMYDOG

i called instead of doing it over the net and the people were so friendly. It was something my uncle needed for quite awhile but was to stubborn to admit it till he found himself sleeping on the kitchen floor all night <12 hours to be exact> because he could not get up. i think that scared him. For the low cost of a 45.00 hook up, a free month and then 14.99 plus tax per month it is a small reassurance that he will be fine now. We did a simple test run with him and one push of the button gets the 5 star people for you. If you hold the button in you get 911. That is so simple even for my uncle who is very un-acknowledged when it comes to high tech items. HOPEFULLY HE WILL NEVER HAVE TO USE IT BUT IF HE DOES IT IS THERE FOR HIS SAFETY.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PARKERMYDOG
ASHLAND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful product for Seniors
11/25/2012

Customer review by 3ravensmom

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by 3ravensmom
by 3ravensmom

My aunt kept hearing an ad on TV that Walmart had this thing after going to 3 stores I finally found it myself. We got it home and tried to set it up online and when that didn't work we called the number. The very nice lady who helped us, agreed to give us the $25 discount for signing up online and she said because we purchased it at Walmart the 1st month was free. This item also offers a free contact a nurse service. The rep was very patient and thorough, even taking down all my aunt's medications. The instructions she gave couldn't be easier, but still I wrote them down in the instruction book for my aunt. Sometimes she forgets things. But I was very impressed with the helpfulness of the rep on the phone and we were able to give her all my aunts info right then, without waiting for the kit to come. Don't forget to ask for laynard so they can wear the thing around the neck it comes with key chain or belt clip hook. The set up went so smooth. I would highly recommed this to anyone with an aging relative, the monthly cost is easy on the pocket book. I plan to tell every senior I know about this service. The service is not just for at home, it monitors 24hrs per day no matter where they are. Peace of mind for a senior is a major thing!

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3ravensmom
Midwest City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
4/28/2014

Customer review by 123kkk

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by 123kkk
by 123kkk

Have only had this for couple weeks. Got it for my 90 yo dad that still lives on his own and loves to walk. We are able to check on his whereabouts on our cellphones. It's not precisely accurate with an address but shows the general area. He has mistakenly hit the button a few times and the response was quick and friendly when he explained the situation. I would give this a 5 star rating but the connection hole to charge it is very small. That is how he accidentally called for help. He was trying to plug it in to charge. I took some bright fingernail polish and outlined the hole where the charger goes in. This has helped a lot, but they need to look into an easier charge connection since I'm sure the majority of these are used by the elderly.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123kkk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews