Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
43
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 184 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
One thing to consider-don't get it wet
5/26/2014

Customer review by bllguest

4.0 stars 5/26/2014 by bllguest
by bllguest

I haven't had to use Great Call and I've had it for about 1 1/2 years now. I did run into one problem however that people should be aware of. I wore the Great Call device as a necklace - between my skin and blouse. One day I cleaned it with a disinfectant wipe (nothing unusual) and I guess some fluid got down into the device - which I hadn't paid attention. I had swiped it across the face of it. The device went crazy and went into a loop of calling 911 and the Great Call operator. I started getting return phone calls from both 911 and Great Call. I didn't want emergency crews showing up at my door for nothing. I had to explain the situation to 911. Great Call had me place the device in a glass of water to destroy it and they sent me a replacement. I asked them if they had had this problem before, and they said they had heard of it if the device gets wet. SO BE VERY CAREFUL. The wipe was the only thing I could think of that set it off since it happened a few minutes after I did that.

Was this review helpful? (69) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bllguest
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1/29/2013

Customer review by OperatingFreely

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by OperatingFreely
by OperatingFreely
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We haven't had our responder very long, but it is already bringing great peace of mind to know the security it affords to everyone involved. It is wonderful for the person that carries the device to have the ability to call someone with one simple touch...for any perceived need. It also brings such reassurance to the care givers to know that they can easily check the location of their loved one. The price is so reasonable, the coverage is vast, the service operators I have spoken with have been pleasant and knowledgeable, there is no service contract, the sound on the responder is easy for our granny to hear, it is small and inconspicuous, if Gran misplaces her device we can set it to beep so it is easy to locate...the Great Call company has been doing their homework with their business design. We love ours and one of Gran's friends has already put one on order because they saw how great Gran's worked for her. Keep up the outstanding effort Great Call...we are grateful!!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OperatingFreely
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No home land line required, works almost anywhere
9/25/2012

Customer review by SSLovesPark

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by SSLovesPark
by SSLovesPark

First purchased the well-advertised medical alert system, but it was not compatible with my Mom's home phone service. Researched other options and found the GreatCall 5Star Responder. Wish I had seen this first! It beats the other system several ways - 1) it works anywhere there is Verizon wireless service, where the other one only works within a specific range of your home. 2) It doesn't require phone service at all (cell or land line). This device runs on the Verizon network and your small monthly fee to GreatCall covers the service. 3) When connected to 5Star Responder's call center you converse over the device much like using a cell phone on speaker, rather than speaking through a box connected to your home phone, which may be hundreds of feet away. Recharges much like a cell phone, with a USB charger. The charge lasts nearly a week. You can send a "test call" online anytime you wish. Only negative I see is that it's not waterproof, but all the other great things make up for that. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (234) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSLovesPark
Loves Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Nice but could be better
6/24/2014

Customer review by Honolulugrandma

3.0 stars 6/24/2014 by Honolulugrandma
by Honolulugrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had The GreatCall 5 Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device less than 5 days so I'm still getting acquainted with it. I have learned that the device does not stay charged very long. It has to be charged at least once a day, every day. The book recommends you charge it every night, but if I do that and I fall at night going to and from the bathroom, what good has it done me? Also, I think something should be included with the device so it can be put around a person's neck as shown in pictures. Since I don't wear pants with belt loops, the little attachment that is enclosed is worthless to me. Most women would prefer wearing it around their neck , I'm sure. Why should I the buyer have to try to find something that will hold it securely? Surely it wouldn't cost very much to enclose something long that would fit comfortably around a neck and be easy to put on the device. Thanks you.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honolulugrandma
La Verne, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I feel that this is a step up over my last system
3/6/2012

Customer review by sammyv

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by sammyv
by sammyv

The system I had before would only work around the house, which was good for the time! But this system works regardless of where you are in the USA, it's like having a personal ON STAR unit for a person. It compares very well with the features of ON STAR. You don't have to use it strictly for medical emergency. The monthly monitoring fee is quiet reasonable compared to other medical emergency systems. Buying it through Walmart also gives you a month free. It's rechargeable! Has indicator light to let you know that it's in an area where there shouldn't be a problem for protection. Also one for the battery usage level. I also like the fact that you can go online ans ping your unit to locate it or see if signal is working from your unusual location. I haven't ever had to use it yet in an emergency and hope I never will, but it gives me the confidence it's there if I need it!

Was this review helpful? (204) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sammyv
Northeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1st Day of Usage...
8/20/2012

Customer review by HMM161

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by HMM161
by HMM161

I had placed the Greatcall in the front pocket of my jeans and accidently pushed the call button. (Obviously, I do not recommend carrying it in this manner.) I heard the ring and immediately pushed the button to end the call. Within a few seconds, I received a call. I advised the caller that I had accidently pushed the call button. The caller was most polite about my error and asked for my location. Since I was shopping, I told him the store that I was about to enter and was immediately asked if a specific store was adjacent. I confirmed that it was and he stated that his question was to verify and demonstrate that the GPS was performing accurately. This accidental call convinces me that this company lives up to its reputation for service. I believe this to be a great value. I am very, very pleased that I chose Greatcall.

Was this review helpful? (104) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HMM161
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Call Replacement
2/25/2014

Customer review by Boyntonbill

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Boyntonbill
by Boyntonbill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This emergency responder is a great value. It has the huge advantage of working outside your home using GPS. There is a disadvantage in that it is not waterproof like other types, but you do not need to connect to your landline phone line. I gave it only 4 stars for expectations because my first responder died after only 2 years. The battery would not recharge. I thought this was unacceptable. But the agent told me that their usual life is only 2-3 years. This seems short to me. You can buy an optional warranty plan for about $3 a month, but this is a joke. The free warranty lasts one year, so paying $36 a year for the 2nd year makes no sense when you can buy a new one at Walmart for $40. Don't buy new responders directly from 5 Star. They charge you $50 and $15 shipping.

Was this review helpful? (77) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boyntonbill
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought for my elderly mother
9/4/2012

Customer review by Savysavannahshopper

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Savysavannahshopper
by Savysavannahshopper

I bought this product for my elderly mother. Looked at other products but found she needed to be within 600ft of the home monitor. With this product she can go anywhere and still feel safe. She is still quite active and this gives her the freedom to go to her regular places and on small outings with her senior group. If she gets lost or feels unsafe all she has to do is press the button. Another nice feature is I can log online and see where she is. Living far away from her this is a priceless feature. I can check on her but respect her privacy too. It seems to be a well made product. That is durable and easy for her to use. The monthly price of 14.99 is more than reasonable when you consider what you are really getting. Peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (75) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Savysavannahshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
easy to hook up people are very friendly
3/3/2014

Customer review by PARKERMYDOG

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by PARKERMYDOG
by PARKERMYDOG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i called instead of doing it over the net and the people were so friendly. It was something my uncle needed for quite awhile but was to stubborn to admit it till he found himself sleeping on the kitchen floor all night <12 hours to be exact> because he could not get up. i think that scared him. For the low cost of a 45.00 hook up, a free month and then 14.99 plus tax per month it is a small reassurance that he will be fine now. We did a simple test run with him and one push of the button gets the 5 star people for you. If you hold the button in you get 911. That is so simple even for my uncle who is very un-acknowledged when it comes to high tech items. HOPEFULLY HE WILL NEVER HAVE TO USE IT BUT IF HE DOES IT IS THERE FOR HIS SAFETY.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PARKERMYDOG
ASHLAND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Security for my father
12/9/2013

Customer review by paintlady60

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by paintlady60
by paintlady60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered the 5Star for my Dad, who is 84 and sometimes needs assistance. He had recently been robbed at knifepoint while out and had no way to call for help. Besides taking his money, the robber forced my Dad to drive him to another location. Fortunately, the robber only took his money. Once they arrived at the other location, the robber jumped from the car and ran away. My Dad was so fortunate, but he was scared and the outcome could have been so much worse. If he'd had the 5Star at the time this occurred he could have pressed his button and had help in seconds. We previously had a land line based system for him. But after this incident we decided he needed a wireless urgent response device. He has not had to use it yet, but it gives me peace of mind knowing he has it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paintlady60
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great device
4/11/2012

Customer review by Apples4147

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Apples4147
by Apples4147

Bought this for my wife who recently had serious heart issues and a pacemaker implanted. The device was delivered in record time for a reasonable cost. It was easy to set up one charged and very easy to operate. It gives my wife the piece of mind she needed to get on with life. I saved the first month monitoring fee by purchasing from Wal Mart.com. If you have a loved one that you need to afford this piece of mind and have the security of being able to instantly summon help then I suggest you look at this product. As it "follows" the person around it is not limited to use at home. Great product!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apples4147
Jefferson GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Peace of mind for us kids
10/2/2013

Customer review by MothersFavorite

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by MothersFavorite
by MothersFavorite

My siblings and I purchased this device for our elderly mother who lives far away. It works exactly as it is supposed to as my mother tested it. It is very easy for her to use. Works just like a cell phone and it works in all the places where she frequents. Only requires the press of a button to contact a greatcall operator. We now have the peace of mind knowing our mother can contact someone (including us kids) in case of emergency. Before buying, just be sure it will work in any zip code where it will be used. Activation is eeasy but takes about 30 minutes to do it online because of the information required. However it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MothersFavorite
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Wonderful product for Seniors
11/25/2012

Customer review by 3ravensmom

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by 3ravensmom
by 3ravensmom

My aunt kept hearing an ad on TV that Walmart had this thing after going to 3 stores I finally found it myself. We got it home and tried to set it up online and when that didn't work we called the number. The very nice lady who helped us, agreed to give us the $25 discount for signing up online and she said because we purchased it at Walmart the 1st month was free. This item also offers a free contact a nurse service. The rep was very patient and thorough, even taking down all my aunt's medications. The instructions she gave couldn't be easier, but still I wrote them down in the instruction book for my aunt. Sometimes she forgets things. But I was very impressed with the helpfulness of the rep on the phone and we were able to give her all my aunts info right then, without waiting for the kit to come. Don't forget to ask for laynard so they can wear the thing around the neck it comes with key chain or belt clip hook. The set up went so smooth. I would highly recommed this to anyone with an aging relative, the monthly cost is easy on the pocket book. I plan to tell every senior I know about this service. The service is not just for at home, it monitors 24hrs per day no matter where they are. Peace of mind for a senior is a major thing!

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3ravensmom
Midwest City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't work when needed
8/28/2014

Customer review by ak444

2.0 stars 8/28/2014 by ak444
by ak444

We thought this was a great product till my mother had a heart attack and tried to push the button and it wouldn't work. The next day when I pushed the button to see what the problem was, the operator came on and said all operators are busy, please hold! You can't tell a person having a heart attack to hold on!!! The month before that, when she had a similar problem and ended up in the hospital, she was told to use the phone and call 911! She got mad and so they then called for her! She's 90 years old and almost legally blind so can't really see the numbers on the phone! I thought they would call 911. This is why we got it, it was simple to use but if they don't answer or if they put you on hold or if they tell you to call 911, what's the point?

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ak444
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Idea !!!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Buymoreonline

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Buymoreonline
by Buymoreonline

I care for my mother and I would worry about her when I was not home. She really likes to walk her little dogs and the home alert just would not cover the area even if she stayed in my yard. (It is rather large) This little unit allows her to call and talk to someone no matter where she is in the yard or around the block with just the push of a button. Not only that but it allows me to find her location on a map if I need to see where she is. You get 100% more piece of mind for half the cost, and no matter where she is she call talk to someone or get directly to 911.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buymoreonline
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very easy to set up
5/9/2014

Customer review by Dolly830

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Dolly830
by Dolly830
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my Mom. We had another system that was more expensive every month. This has a lot more features and is a great value. I activated it online and it was relatively easy but it did take awhile to enter everything. I do like that they have all of her information. Not being able to take it into the shower is not an issue for her because she has an aid who helps with that. For someone who does not have someone to help with showering this might be an issue. Getting a discount for activating online and getting the first month free was an added bonus! I told her doctor about it and she was very impressed with the features. I would recommend this for anyone and am considering getting one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dolly830
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
4/28/2014

Customer review by 123kkk

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by 123kkk
by 123kkk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have only had this for couple weeks. Got it for my 90 yo dad that still lives on his own and loves to walk. We are able to check on his whereabouts on our cellphones. It's not precisely accurate with an address but shows the general area. He has mistakenly hit the button a few times and the response was quick and friendly when he explained the situation. I would give this a 5 star rating but the connection hole to charge it is very small. That is how he accidentally called for help. He was trying to plug it in to charge. I took some bright fingernail polish and outlined the hole where the charger goes in. This has helped a lot, but they need to look into an easier charge connection since I'm sure the majority of these are used by the elderly.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123kkk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Prepared for Emergency
2/9/2012

Customer review by carolight

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by carolight
by carolight

Since this is a brand new item, I can't attest to durability or how well the item works when used; BUT it's a much better value than a home medical alert system, and has the additional benefit of being able to go with me wherever I go. Its cost (purchase and monthly service fees) and portability were the defining factors for my purchase. The peace of mind my family can have now on my behalf is worth the small investment cost. I hope never have to use it! Setup was easy, the booklets are easy to understand, and the directions easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (440) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carolight
Southern US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Now feel extremely secure
3/3/2012

Customer review by Mensch

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Mensch
by Mensch

I'm sorry I didn't know about this wonderful product sooner. I wear it on a chain around my neck without noticing it's there. Sleep with it on. It can instantly help if anything bad happens to me or someone nearby. I bought another one for my mother-in-law and I have recommended it to my co-workers. Set up was easy. recharging unit a breeze. Works anywhere I go. Lastly, I'm not writing this for the company, I'm writing it for those who might be hesitant. It could be the most valuable purchase of your life.

Was this review helpful? (402) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mensch
East Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/14/2013

Customer review by JBruce

4.0 stars 1/14/2013 by JBruce
by JBruce
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't had to "use" my responder yet, but the fact that I know I can get help at the push of a button is very comforting. They were very helpful getting me set up and the cost is much better than any of the others I've looked into. The fact that I can talk to a LIVE person, I think is what sold me. The GPS factor is also great; a great comfort to my kids to know they can track me if they can't reach me. I would recomend the 5Star to everyone. I have my charger by my bed, so when it's charging, it's still available. The rest of the time I wear it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBruce
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews