Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1120 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1120 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1120 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
677
4 stars
202
3 stars
45
2 stars
43
1 stars
153
1-20 of 1017 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1017 total reviews
1-20 of 1017 reviews
Love this Coffee Maker!
1/3/2012

Customer review by dualjess

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by dualjess
by dualjess

I purchased this in red last week. I really the love the more expensive look and feel of this pretty coffee maker. I also realyl like that the buttons are not along the bottom, where they can be damaged by spills. That being said, I am not sure why people are complaining about problems with spillage, because I, in complete contrast, have noticed how I don't spill the coffee anymore. With my last coffee maker, EVERY time I filled the water reservoir - the water would dump all over. I would have to make 2 or 3 trips of smaller amounts to fill it without spillage. Very frustrating. This coffee maker is a dream next to the poor design of my last one. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (308) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dualjess
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price and great color
12/16/2011

Customer review by JimReview5

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by JimReview5
by JimReview5

I bought the red unit for my wife after using it for a month at our office. It is fast, durable and allows for a thermal coffee container (extra). It knows automatically that you are using the thermal coffee container. The thermal uses 7 cups max, the regular glass container uses 12 cups max. Yes, it will spill a few drops when you pour the glass container, however, just pop the lid with your thumb and pour, no spilling. For the looks, red, I can live with popping the lid when I pour.

Was this review helpful? (216) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimReview5
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really like the Red Color but it BROKE after 2.5
11/11/2013

Customer review by NitroDad61

2.0 stars 11/11/2013 by NitroDad61
by NitroDad61

I bought it on June 7th, 2013 because of the Metallic Red color as it matched my Microwave & Toaster Oven. It stopped working October 25th 2013...would not brew started having steam come out of every place it could. It would not brew a full pot any longer and leaked water. I took it back to Walmart and they were great about taking it back. I exchanged it for another Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, BVMC-VMX36WM, Red. I wanted the same Color Red. It was $6 more but Very Nice. has a smaller footprint on the counter plus separate Water and Coffee Grounds lids which I like. It also has a Big Round Rain Shower Head type of drip spout. Seems to brew a better cup of coffee and faster. I would recommend spending the extra $6 Plus this time I took the $5 2 year extended replacement Warranty! Let's hope the 1st one was just a fluke lemon and this one lasts a few years instead of a few months. Koodos to Customer Service Manager for being GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NitroDad61
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Total Waste!
2/15/2013

Customer review by BuckeyeMama11

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by BuckeyeMama11
by BuckeyeMama11

I received this as a gift at the end of January. It's now not even a month later and its going back to the store. Today. Like others have said after a couple weeks of use condensation built up in the clock display that never goes away... and the latest development is that it just completely stopped working...and then started...and then stopped again over the course of 3-4 days. The clock stayed lit the whole time. Some positives about it are...It brews pretty quick (about 9 mins on reg. brew) and the coffee tastes great and is very hot. The chlorine filter DOES actually make a difference. It has a lot of features and it looks nice sitting on the counter. Of course none of this matters if it wont turn on and actually BREW coffee.

Was this review helpful? (115) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuckeyeMama11
Crestline, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good cofee maker for the price
12/7/2011

Customer review by ms1962

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by ms1962
by ms1962

I was given this cofee maker by my son and I have enjoyed it ever since. It serves the purpose, which is a great cup of coffee in the morning. I also like the look of the product.

Was this review helpful? (80) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ms1962
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Coffee Maker
2/5/2012

Customer review by texassnapdragon

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by texassnapdragon
by texassnapdragon

This is a sharp looking appliance for your kitchen! I bought this to replace a similar MrCoffee that after 6 years with at least 2-3 pots of coffee a day finally gave it up. The features are very easy to use on this model. And as one reviewer pointed out the buttons are located at the top. It's also very easy to fill as the lid opens sideways. It did take me a few pots to get the strength I enjoy, but that was due to coffee measurment not the pot itself. The carafe again as another reviewer pointed out does drip in pouring, you can either lift the lid with your thub or hold it down with another finger. I plan on buying the thermal carafe. (another great feature is the machines ability to automatically detect when the thermal carafe is present. MrCoffee products have always been good in my opinion, we even have another model that is about 10 years old that my husband uses to make his tea for ice tea in. I would very much recommend this product. Besides great coffee, it adds some color and pizazz!

Was this review helpful? (79) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texassnapdragon
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy
2/23/2013

Customer review by JsMa

1.0 stars 2/23/2013 by JsMa
by JsMa

I purchased this coffee maker less than 1 year ago. The decanter was misshapen and the coffee always spilled out of the side. Now, the hot plate area has melted the plastic area in the casing almost completely around. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (59) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JsMa
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A surprisingly low price for such good coffee
2/19/2012

Customer review by CasitaMan

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by CasitaMan
by CasitaMan

We've had a series of Cuisinart coffeemakers over the past several years. They've all stopped working for one reason or another, generally after about three years. This time I decided ti try the Mr Coffee model that Consumer Reports rated Best Buy. It cost less that half our last Cuisinart. We were happy enough with the Cuisinarts but I always wondered why we couldn't get the rich flavor experienced at some restaurant coffees, like MacDonalds and several others. Well, this inexpensive Mr Coffee machine consistently delivers the flavor. I'm surprised and delighted. I would not have thought the coffeemaker could make such a major flavor difference.

Was this review helpful? (106) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CasitaMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice Programable Mr. Coffee 12 cup
12/23/2013

Customer review by Imageer69

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Imageer69
by Imageer69

I have only had This product for a short time, works very well, make good Coffee, nice programable options. My Brother-in-law bought one earlier and said he really thought it was great deal for a Mr. Coffee 12 cup programmable Coffee maker, so after spending quality time and drinking coffee from his new machine, I had to try one for my own kitchen counter, since my old 10 cup machine was ugly and old. So far, very satisfied with my purchase and would definately recommend this Coffee maker to anyone who is looking for a Quality machine at a very affordable price, and a very good name brand also. Get yours today!

Was this review helpful? (70) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Imageer69
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great value
1/17/2012

Customer review by Sanddawgg

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Sanddawgg
by Sanddawgg

I've had this for one week, so too early to determine reliability. I have been through so many coffee pots over the past several years. I am cautiously optimistic about this one. First of all, the appearance (red version) is really nice, much more upscale looking than the chrome one. I have only the glass carafe, and it is great for pouring. Secret is to not pour too quickly. Much better than my previous Hamilton Beach. My only complaints are that there is no backlight on the clock, and it can be really difficult to read. The programming takes a bit to catch on to, and the water filter can cause problems with the brewing if it isn't sitting correctly in the basket. with the water filter sitting askew, the water seems to flow to one side of the ground coffee and create a weak pot of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanddawgg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Couple Who Stand By This Product
3/30/2013

Customer review by Karmels

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Karmels
by Karmels

I purchased this coffee maker last October 2012 for my husband to replace a 3 year Hamilton Beach, which was more expensive. I was struck by the richness of red and chrome color and thought it had to be expensive, but much to my delight was not. I am not a coffee drinker but do make most of the coffee for my husband and this product is very easy to use. My husband drinks a lot of coffee and this machine is used once a day during the week, twice a day on the weekends and has performed very satisfactorily. One piece of advice and that is if you live in an area where the water is hard, it is really important that you "decalcify" your coffee maker once a month per owner's manual. This not only will prolong the life of your machine, but will continue to give you great tasting coffee. I was sorry to read some people who had bad experience with this product and gave a poor rating, but as for my husband [coffee connoisseur] and myself [product user], we highly recommend this product for its quality, attractiveness, and price.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karmels
Smyrna, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good!
1/11/2012

Customer review by Mumzie42

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Mumzie42
by Mumzie42

I've had this coffee maker for 3 days and I'm happy so far! I bought it because my 5-year old/12-cup pot quit and flooded my countertop in the process. I drink a great deal of coffee...iced, preferred...and need a larger cup capacity coffeemaker for the prep. Brand was my first criteria, cup capacity my second and color last. For fun I got a red one this time! My only complaint so far is that the clock is not able to be read easily. One of the reviewers says that the clock lights green but mine does not! I have enough clocks already so this non-readable clock is not a dealbreaker! At some point I would like to purchase and try the thermal pot feature on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mumzie42
Winchester VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes HOT coffee
3/10/2012

Customer review by TeacherProf

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by TeacherProf
by TeacherProf

We purchased this to replace an aging Mr. Coffee machine. Consumer Reports influenced the decision, since this machine is highly rated by them. We have been happy since it was purchased a couple of months ago. We noticed an immediate difference from our old machine on the temp of the coffee - it is truly hot (but not burning you hot). It's easy to use, and we like the delay feature that lets us set it a night so coffee is ready in the morning. The only things I don't like are that it doesn't have an auto shut off (our old one shut off after two hours) and the water level window is on the side, so you have to move the machine to see how much water you have. But these are inconveniences only. Other Walmart reviewers talked about a plastic taste, and that concerned me, but I decided to go ahead, knowing I could return it if we had the issue. We have had NO problem with a plastic taste. It is a good purchase based on value received vs. price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeacherProf
Chicago area, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
12/27/2013

Customer review by YosemiteSam66

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by YosemiteSam66
by YosemiteSam66

I originally purchased this product on the looks alone. It's a great looking coffee maker. Once received, I was pleased to see that the product was just as pleasant on the eye as the advertisement. The carafe pours perfectly, no spills!! It has the programmable brew feature which I use on a daily basis. The brew strength feature is great and my coffee actually tastes like coffee! The clock and delay brew set window is much easier to see and is in a much better visible location than my previous coffee maker. The power/brew indicator lights are very bright and noticeable - no guessing if it's on or brewing or off. The extra little water filter disc is a little bit of a pain to deal with if you are in a hurry but it's not a major complaint. Fitting it in on top of the coffee filter just takes a few more seconds and you don't have to use it. The accompanying instructions are used/reader friendly. All in all, this is a great functioning and looking coffee maker. I would buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YosemiteSam66
Paramount, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker!
12/15/2011

Customer review by ChilinMichael

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by ChilinMichael
by ChilinMichael

I have purchased two of these, one for my Aunt which she has had quite a while, and recently another for myself. It's got all the right features and nothing more. Selectable brew strength works exactly as advertised, and the unit is very easy to use. The "beep" when done brewing and brew timer makes my morning go smooth as far as coffee is concerned, which is very important to me. I have always believed in the Mr. Coffee brand as my father has an original that still works to this day. As far as the grinds getting into the coffee per previous comments...make sure you do not fold, crease or otherwise compromise the filters you use. I use Brew-Rite and keep them in the bag intact taking one out at a time so they retain shape. The only condensation I got on the clock was on the outside sometimes while brewing due to the heat/steam.

Was this review helpful? (151) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChilinMichael
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/14/2012

Customer review by duececity

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by duececity
by duececity

I am an avid coffee drinker for more than 50 years and I find this product to be at a high level of excellence, especially for its price. The features, performance and appearance are also more than one would expect for the cost. One should always take care when filling, positioning the filter and pouring on "any" coffee maker. I find absolutely no problems with this product and I would recommend it to anyone that is budgeting for a coffee maker under $35.00.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
duececity
Western NY State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love my new coffe pot
8/28/2013

Customer review by vagirl88888

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by vagirl88888
by vagirl88888

I purchased this as it was a consumer reports "Best Buy". Had to order on-line and pick up at my local Wal-Mart which was fine. Mine is black with the shinny silver trim and it looks like a very high end pot sitting on my counter. I paid around $35.00 or so. I do not have any problems with the space where you pour the water in like some have stated. There is plenty of room to me. I also purchased the permanent filter which is wonderful (dump and rinse). The smell that everyone spoke about was apparent to me also. I ran vinegar through 2 times and plain water through 2 or 3 times before use. Set it to brew at 5:50 am the next morning and it worked as stated. Brewed quickly! Smell seemed to be gone completely after coffee was made and have not had a smell issue since. Hope this pot last a long time and am happy I read about it in consumer reports magazine. (Does not seem to be sitting on shelves at most stores as I went to 4 different places before locating it on Wal-mart's site) Don't waste your time driving around looking for it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vagirl88888
Richmond, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good coffee maker but with a few minor changes..
3/10/2012

Customer review by CJSinTX

4.0 stars 3/10/2012 by CJSinTX
by CJSinTX

...it would be exceptional. SUMMARY: Makes a great cup of coffee. Is inconvenient in some aspects. Labeling and buttons on control panel need to be bigger, clock/timer display needs to be backlit, should come with the thermal pot, thermal pot should have a thumb tab that opens the pour spout. DETAIL: Leave a pair of reading glasses next to the coffeemaker. I find the control panel too small and hard to read. It is inconvenient for someone that has to wear glasses to read. The print is very small and the buttons are little silver slivers that are not altogether distinguishable. It needs bigger labeling and different buttons. The clock/timer display is not backlit. The numbers are black on a dark gray background, barely readable. My coffeemaker sits on the counter with a cabinet overhead so there is no direct light which is necessary to see the display. The display needs to be backlit. NOTE: THIS IS NOT A THERMAL POT UNLESS YOU PURCHASE THE THERMAL POT SOLD SEPARATELY. And the thermal pot ONLY works on this coffeemaker. I don't get the point of that except Mr. Coffee makes more money that way. If they are going to sell it is a thermal pot it should come with a thermal pot. Most people have an extra glass carafe already, I now have two. I purchased the thermal pot and I like the fact that my coffee stays hot without the use of electricity and continuing to cook the coffee. Coffee still tastes fresh and is hot two hours later. What I don't like is the constant twisting open of the top in order to get coffee. This is cumbersome and I can see where it would be difficult, even impossible, for someone with arthritic hands. And if you unscrew too far, watch out! Coffee everywhere. The pot should have a thumb tab that opens the pour spout like the thermal creamer carafes at Starbucks. That would not be difficult to do. A note of caution on the thermal carafe - IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE CARAFE ABSOLUTELY ON THE HEATING PAD, IF IT IS ASKEW IN ANY WAY, THE TOP OF THE CARAFE WILL NOT DIRECTLY ALIGN WITH THE BOTTOM OF THE BASKET AND YOU WILL HAVE COFFEE ALL OVER YOUR COUNTER. Being a Mr. Coffee product I knew this would brew a good cup of coffee, and it does. But, the stylishness renders some inconveniences. They need to tweak their design.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJSinTX
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As happy as can be.
5/25/2012

Customer review by Marj0120

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by Marj0120
by Marj0120

I did not rate the coffee maker for durability because I've only had it for a short period of time. It appears to be made of durable materials. My back ground is in Engineering and Quality Assurance so I am not easily pleased. I love the look of it, the splash of red gives it a classy look and everyone who has seen it was surprised at what it actually cost. They were sure that I had spent more by far than I did. I also love that it was rated "best buy" by Consumer Reports. It makes a great cup of coffee in a timely fashion and so far I am tickled pink with it. I would highly recommend it to my my family friends and you too.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marj0120
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AFTER 100 BREWS, NO PROBLEMS BESIDES MY MISTAKES
4/24/2014

Customer review by TennisguyMike55

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by TennisguyMike55
by TennisguyMike55

I bought this, per Consumer Reports rating, at the local Walmart for under $30. Except for operator errors, I've had no problems. Good maker at a great price. The controls, once learned, are fairly simple. "Operator errors" I've made were 1. Not properly aligning the coffee basket inside the machine. There is a notch in the basket that makes alignment fairly simple. Proper basket insertion is necessary to open the spring loaded drainage hole under the basket. My mistake caused the basket to fill with water and overflow back into the fill tank. Operator Error 2- There is an arm inside the machine that directs water into the basket when brewing. This arm pivots out of the way for basket removal. After the basket is reinserted, this arm must be moved back to the brew position. When I didn't do this the water just kept recirculating back into the fill tank. No other problems at all so far, but per other reviews, I may have just gotten a good one.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TennisguyMike55
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 1017 total reviews
1-20 of 1017 reviews