Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.9out of 5 stars
2.9 out of 5 | 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-14 of 14 reviews
1-14 of 14 reviews
Good Headset, GREAT price
11/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We picked this up for my son to replace the original chat headset that came with his Xbox 360. Instead of another one-ear chat-only headset, my son asked for a stereo headset so that he could hear the game better. His mom and I agreed so that we wouldn't have to hear zombie screams and gunfire all the time. It does cost more than the one-eared headsets, but it costs way less than the other super fancy Xbox 360 headsets out there that do the same thing. Setting it up was pretty easy, at least for my son. He had already gotten it hooked up while I was still reading the instructions. This is mostly about what my son thinks of it as he's the main user (when his little brother isn't "borrowing" it). At first he was a little unsure about it because he had never heard of the brand before. But he says it sounds nice and clear and it has plenty of bass for explosions and stuff. Now he's started telling all his friends about it so I guess he likes it. I heard it briefly and it sounds just fine to me. I was worried about it getting too loud and hurting his hearing, but that wasn't a problem at all. And he said the mic works really good too. Which is good for me because I don’t hear him screaming at the TV anymore. Overall this was a great deal for us since it was only half the price of the fancy headset that he originally wanted. At this price, we might pick up another so that his little brother won't keep trying to borrow it from him.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product at affordable price.
2/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned this headset for a few months, and am very pleased with it. It's sturdy and good quality, with a cable that's more than long enough. The sound quality is superb -- I've used this for playing Xbox, Skyping, and more. This is a great headset that has multiple uses and I would definitely recommend this to anyone, especially those who want an affordable, quality product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
need extra cable or you sacrafice the hdmi to tv
12/28/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
overall, works great...no way to mute game music playing in the background (even when selecting that volume be turned off). Sound is great, mic is great...drawback, for the xbox 360, you either need to buy a male usb to female rca adapter cable or give up your hdmi hookup to your console (the xbox comes with that adapter, but it's a rca to hdmi, not usb)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Xbox headset for less $$$
9/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love this thing. Reading other reviews I was afraid the setup would be difficult but it wasn't. As long as you use the xbox component adapter that came with your console you're ready Togo out of the box. For the audio it has an inline splitter for the red&white RCA cables, meaning you plug in the cable provided by Yapster and then it allows you to also connect the red&white cables from the xbox component cables. You can also use this setup to listen to your TV audio out if you need to be quiet in the house or maybe you just want better sound. Movies sound great this way! Another way to use this: my laptop pc (and I assume most do) has a headphone out jack as well as a microphone in jack. You can plug this Yapster into those connections on your computer(adapters included with Yapster) and use for phone calls/video chat etc. The whole Yapster unit is powered through a USB cable. I have mine connected to the USB plug on my TV but the ones on your Xbox console or pc work just as well. The only drawback I can see from the Yapster is that everything has cables so there are a few wires hanging around but they are plenty long enough for most peoples needs. If you need more cable length a standard headphone size male connector with female connector cable (pretty sure Wallyworld has, if not Radioshck) in any length will work. I saw a review somewhere on the "Interweb" that someone was concerned about the connector that plugs into the xbox controller, saying it was a straight or "not bent" plug and that extra weight and stress would be put on the controller. This must have been addressed at some point because now it ships with a plug/dongle that is 90 degrees and removes the stress. The audio quality is really good, and because it's all done with wires I don't run the risk of any wireless feedback or interference. I was wanting a headset for so long but just couldn't see spending all that money on a Turtle Beach. My main style of games are the Call Of Duty series (Black Ops) and with the Yapster I can hear the footsteps of my enemies coming and their direction. This really helps with game play. I recommend this to anyone & would say it's comparable to the other sets up to about $150. If you want flawless audio with wireless capability and can drop a couple hundred $$$ then go with Turtle's. I know this is a long review but I tried to answer all the questions I had before buying. I never got the answers & made a blind purchase (no offense to blind shoppers intended...) but I'm happy none the less.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
pretty good
3/6/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
bought it for my brother as a surprise...he says it works great and is really loud. plays the in game sounds as well as chat
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TheLady
12/27/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Now, after seeing many good reviews on this headset. I thought... I would get this for my brother. Well, after HOURS of trying to get the stupid thing to work, it never did. You could hear sound, but you could not talk into it. The extra adapter that in included for connecting the headset to the controller is the STUPIDEST thing ever... WHY NOT JUST MAKE THE CORD FIT. Adding the extra adapter was just not good. 1) because it do NOT fit tightly 2) Because it is weird. You have this big long adapter sticking out of your controller. So no, I will be returning it today & getting something that works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Head set for gaming
5/28/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My daughter says that the mouth piece doesn't work very well. She has had a lot of problems with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
mike does not work right
12/31/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This mike does no work right,sound quality is great but when you talk into the mike people can here you fine but you cant here them but the second you unplug the mike you can here other players but they cant here you it is very frustraiting. Also you cant adjust the player volume and the game volume seperetly so you the game can be to loud and the players volume can be to quiet and there not way to adjust them both since there is only one dial do not buy this poduct.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its a great Headphones/Microphone
1/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The cords are a little tricky when hooking it up to an XBox but once it does you can here it much better than through the regular TV speakers. The Microphone is also very nice. You don't have to shout to make your self heard well. It is a little annoying that it doesn't swivel so you can have it on your right side. But even that is easy to deal with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not What I thought
11/17/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I know that for what I paid I wasn't expecting the best, but you can't have your HDMI hooked up to your xbox with these without having to buy an additional optical audio cable, which is frustrating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hunk of junk
2/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The game sound worked fine but chat audio was non-funtional. The cheap $20 headset works way better than this hunk of junk. Took it back the same day I got it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The mic
8/8/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The microphone cut me off and makes a lot static and the jack that go under the controller moves too much
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
COULDN'T GET THEM TO WORK. MY SON COULD ONLY HEAR STATIC. TOOK THEM BACK
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor
11/28/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
mic didn't work took it back two days after I got them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-