Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 86 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
"Biggs, You've Picked Up One Watch It!"
9/23/2012

Customer review by SquareSide

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by SquareSide
by SquareSide

Got this not too long ago. The classic Tie Fighter finally gets it's grey color scheme like in the movies from LEGO! And boy does it look amazing! As far as building it, it was ok. You got the cockpit then the wings x2. Very simple. Still fun working with any LEGO sets tho. Feels solid. The flick fire missiles should be green instead of red but I've switched them with green lightsaber blades for that classic laser fire look as it's tailing my Y-Wing on my shelf.^^ Also, it has NO STICKERS! Thank You LEGO! The four mini figures it comes with are pretty cool. The "Star" is The Death Star Trooper(pun intended) who has 2 faces on his head piece, I like using the shades look, his helmet is sweet. Then there's the classic Tie Pilot, helmet and torso piece for him are great. Imperial Officer is nice. Then you get a dark astromech droid. Can never go wrong with more droids. A tad bit high in price but all in all, this Tie Fighter is glorious. Very happy with this purchase.

SquareSide
Laurel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best TIE!
11/4/2012

Customer review by MrAugs

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by MrAugs
by MrAugs

If you have the old TIE fighters and their spin-offs (interceptor, bomber, fighter, Vader's, etc), then you know how disappointing they are. The blue trim and it-falls-apart-if-you-look-at-it-wrong design come to mind. This new one absolutely blows those away. Very nicely detailed and very sturdy. The top of the cockpit opens much more smoothly than the old ships. Even the flick-fire missiles work OK on this one (I usually hate those). Great playability. Add in four minifigs, and you've got a good deal. Now, its not perfect. As good as the detailing is on the outside of the wings/solar panels, the insides of them were overlooked and seem bare in comparison. Some people complain about the new windshield being to bulbous, but that's barely a complaint in my opinion. Its a decent-sized ship, but the number of pieces is a little low for the price. However, the price is worth paying for the vast improvement in design over the old models and the four minifigs. I can only hope Lego will build a Vader TIE to these standards!

MrAugs
SALT LAKE CITY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price
11/21/2012

Customer review by Sumasshopper

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Sumasshopper
by Sumasshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart had a great deal on this Tie fighter. So I bought it for my son for Christmas. Can wait to see him open it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sumasshopper
Sumas, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best version of the tie fighter yet!
7/30/2012

Customer review by NewIpoduser

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by NewIpoduser
by NewIpoduser

My 10 year old son loved putting this one together and it is very sturdy! Will make a great display in his room! Great value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewIpoduser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
A Classic Set
8/1/2012

Customer review by legojames5766

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by legojames5766
by legojames5766

Although Lego has released several other TIE Fighters in the past, this one is certainly the best yet. It is very detailed, especially on the solar arrays; and the black and grey colouring gives it a smart profile. Here are some things I noticed about the TIE Fighter. Pros: The minifigures New, detailed window piece Very detailed This set is large! Cons: The pilot minifig has a job, but the other three don't really have anything to do; there is no control panel, etc. for them to work at. The laser tips are flick missiles; this is a neat idea, but they are difficult to flick correctly, and they will not fly far before dropping to the ground. Overpriced; $50-60 would be better Minifigures: (4) Imperial Officer; my favourite, very detailed. Death Star Trooper; double-sided face, one side with flash goggles, the other with his normal face. TIE Pilot; has a face now!! Very nice helmet piece. R5-J2; pretty much the same as all astromechs, except that he has an R5 series head. Altogether a very nice set that I would recommend to people. Good job Lego!

legojames5766
Thorndale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my grandson was excited
11/20/2012

Customer review by Tweety1997

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Tweety1997
by Tweety1997
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my grandson was very excited to get this Star Wars lego. He has many of them He is 9 and is able to put these things together with a short number of hours. I think it's very good that they have to follow directions step by step. A good skill for the future.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tweety1997
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definition of Awesomeness: Lego TIE Fighter
1/8/2013

Customer review by PinkNinja

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by PinkNinja
by PinkNinja

This is such a cool set. I was looking forward to getting it pretty much since I was interested in Lego Star Wars. It's large, detailed, and fairly sturdy. Plus it looks AMAZING on display! Now for pros and cons. Pros: -Detailed. -Extra minifigures! Lego really didn't need to include anyone but the pilot, but they added THREE extra people/droids! -Very sturdy for its size. -Huge huge HUGE! Cons: -Wings were kind of fragile while building, and because they're so big, the pieces in the middle that really held them together were hard to snap on well. -TIE Pilot's helmet made his head look too big. -Wings have tiny gaps between pieces, so if there's something bright behind it it looks kinda flimsy. -Flick fire missiles are hard to shoot without snapping off their holders as well. This was an amazing set. I loved it. If you are a Star Wars fan, even if you're not a Lego fan, you HAVE to have this. It will look really cool on someones shelf, but it can also be played with. This is the perfect set; good for playing with, display, and you just have to be a Star Wars fan to love it.

PinkNinja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/2/2012

Customer review by DFOL

4.0 stars 9/2/2012 by DFOL
by DFOL

The build: Great redesign of the TIE-Fighter, huge improvement over any of the previous versions! The side panels are without a doubt the best part, the designers really stepped up their game with those. Not sure which cockpit part i like more, where the old one was a bit too flat, this one seems a bit too round. But the cockpit as a whole does look pretty nice, so it seems to work well. And... just like Vader's TIE, no blue this time! The minifigs: A great selection of minifigs compliments this set. A new model droid, an Imperial Officer, a Death Star Trooper and a pilot for the TIE-Fighter of course. Even if you get multiples of this set, getting more of these minifigures can hardly be a bad thing! The conclusion: A classic fighter from a classic movie, in my opinion done justice by this model. I can definately recommend this set to any fan of the original Star Wars trilogy.

DFOL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
2/26/2012

Customer review by quigonn73

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by quigonn73
by quigonn73

This is by far the best version of the standard TIE fighter. This isn't just another rehash of the old models, but a complete redesign. It doesn't have any of the instability inherent in the other versions. The Good Stuff: -The main body design is cleaner than the prior versions. -The double-hinged canopy is much nicer than the previous single hinge -The rounded dome is great (now I want to retrofit my other TIE fighters) -The "wings" are much more stable thanks to a simple 3-point connection to the main body -The pilot has a face now! :) -Three other minifigs, what's not to love about that? The Death Star trooper even has an alternate expression. -No blue pieces! :) There's nothing not to like with this one. It's hard to think of something which wasn't improved from the prior model. There's even a chair for the pilot this time. This is a must-have for any Imperial fleet.

quigonn73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best TIE Fighter Yet!
4/16/2013

Customer review by cloneguy501

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by cloneguy501
by cloneguy501

I've been wanting this set for some time, and yesterday I decided to finally get it. The box is quite impressive, a large square leading you to imagine how big it is. I thought I might be disappointed when I started building, but by the time I was done, any doubt about this set was gone. Pros: *Great detail *Plenty of nice minifigures *Nice opening canopy *Impressive size *Wings do not fold/splay outwards like I feared, they're very sturdy *Perfect size to hold or to display *Has a nice weight while still retaining a "swoosh" ability Cons: *Flick fire missiles *Wings could have had slightly more connector pieces on the inside This set is a very good value for money, it comes with a great assortment of minifigs, and looks like a UCS set next to other TIEs. To anyone with doubts about this set, it is great, go buy one. Heck, I might even buy a second.

cloneguy501
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/3/2013

Customer review by JUFJ

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by JUFJ
by JUFJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unfortunately this was a Christmas present for my grandson - one of the main things he wanted. When he opened the box it had been returned to Walmart, parts were missing and some were in zip lock sandwich bags. My advice to others buying online for store pickup, open product before you leave the parking lot if the item is a present for anyone!!! Extremely disappointed and now I have to return it to Walmart!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JUFJ
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LEGO's best Tie Fighter yet!
12/31/2012

Customer review by LegoMan111

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by LegoMan111
by LegoMan111

This has to be the best incarnation of the Tie Fighter from LEGO. They have refined everything! The minifigures are great. They have amazing details and you get two new figures! You can tell LEGO really payed attention to details. For hardcore LEGO fans you should know you only get three extra pieces. So don't lose your pieces! Also I would like to note. THERE"S NO STICKERS!!!! YAY! Because we all know, we hate those things... This thing is very fun to play with and also pretty durable. But the one thing that was disappointing was the play features. You can open the cockpit and there are flick fire missiles. Really LEGO? Again? Since there was no other play features they could have included a firing mechanism, or something! Anyways I got this for 35 bucks. I would wait to buy it until the price goes down.

LegoMan111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Empire's Fist
2/15/2012

Customer review by JediRogue

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by JediRogue
by JediRogue

At first look, it seems as if all the pieces were made specifically for this set. However, all these pieces are for the most part general, but together makes a masterpiece. The TIE Fighter, when finished, resulted in a set much bigger than I imagined! It is much larger than past TIEs and is way more detailed. For the price, this is a rather large set compared to most others. Now for a closer look. Details: -The cockpit is a new design-- a windscreen "bubble" instead of the common "TIE" windscreen -The twin ion engines (hence the name) are redesigned, and are glossy black and trimmed with sharp grey -The missiles make for more fun play than common studs -The Minifig count is superb-- FOUR in one set! (LEGO Star Wars is recently including four) Overall thoughts: Sleek and sturdy-- makes for great collecting and play purposes alike. This set is "eye candy"-- one of few deserving of the title. LEGO, thank you so much for making it hard to choose sets this year-- it's rare. Thank you for your marvelous designing-- it makes me buy more every year. Thank you for bringing STAR WARS to the world of LEGO-- it's because of you my love for STAR WARS has grown along with my collections.

JediRogue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pity about the price
1/26/2012

Customer review by anotherbrickinthewal

2.0 stars 1/26/2012 by anotherbrickinthewal
by anotherbrickinthewal

I've been a LEGO fan since I was a kid, and now my own kids are into building kits too. This is a great one (for me) I didn't like the blue bricks used for the earlier ones 7236 nor 7146, so it was great to see this latest version. But hold on. I bought Vader's TIE fighter for only $29.99. What's so special about this one at how much? $54.99? Extra bricks, and 3 extra figures? It's two inches taller than Vader's TIE fighter but the detailing on that one at only 250+ pieces compares well with this TIE fighter, and Vader's fighter has moveable wings.. A lot of pieces have been used on them as detailing, but it's too much I think. Both versions have flick fire missiles and that's it. You get an R5 and a Death Star officer (only available with the Death Star), the other is a fairly common minifigure. My kids are still new to building so unless you have $25 extra to spend I wouldn't recommend this one. Only die-hard Star Wars fans who will forget the price tag will buy it, not those who want to play with it like kids. Pros It's been a while since we've seen a TIE fighter 3 extra figures A bit more detailing than previous ones Cons Huge price tag Not as good a Vader's TIE fighter

anotherbrickinthewal
Osaka
Would recommend to a friend? No
TIE Fighter
3/20/2013

Customer review by ManeatinShEePs

4.0 stars 3/20/2013 by ManeatinShEePs
by ManeatinShEePs

The TIE fighter is one of my favorite ships in all of Star Wars right next to the Imperial Star Destroyer, and this set looks amazing. It has great detail and you get 4 minifigs, an officer, pilot trooper and droid. The pilot looks really cool. My only problem with this set is the wings seem to be held on only by one piece on each strut, Maybe im missing something or maybe that is just how the wings are. I picked it up to move it one day and the wing fell off. Other than that gripe, I love this set, It just looks soo awesome. PROS: Great deatail TIE fighter 4 Minifigs CONS: Wings feel too fragile Wobbly Pricey for the flimsy wings. Once again, I am not sure if it is just me or those are the only pieces that hold the wings on, but it just feels a bit too flimsy for the price.

ManeatinShEePs
Canyon Lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally A Proper Tie Fighter
8/10/2012

Customer review by BHough

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by BHough
by BHough

I've been waiting for a long while for a larger scale Tie Fighter, and this set does not disappoint. The set includes some great minifigs, including a really well done pilot with a double-sided head. The detail they managed to work into the wings is really quite amazing. The cockpit is well done, includes a couple great printed pieces, and has come the closest to capturing the unique shape of the fighter. Overall I had a blast building this, and it looks great with the rest of my original trilogy fleet. Pros: - First decently sized Tie Fighter - Amazing Wing Detail - Some good quality minifigs. Cons: -Some very small gaps/stability issues with the outer "trim" on the wings, but nothing too bad. - Slightly overpriced in my opinion. But it *is* a Tie Fighter!

BHough
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Falls apart easily.. great for display!
7/8/2013

Customer review by BrickTalkJack

3.0 stars 7/8/2013 by BrickTalkJack
by BrickTalkJack

So, this set falls apart way too easily - I'm referring to the "wings" on either side. Even having this on display, when moving it I have to be very careful. I'm gentle with my sets, however.. this set has come apart on me several times. The core is solid.. but the rest of the set - not so much. For adults, this is a great display piece. Everyone else will find this set disappointing, especially for play. I could not recommend this set for play unless you enjoy putting it back together often. The minifigures are excellent, especially the pilot! I love his helmet! The Imperial Droid is awesome too! Pros: Great display piece - looks great next to the X-Wing! Minifigures Cons: Too fragile, even for adults A bit pricey

BrickTalkJack
Patrick AFB
Would recommend to a friend? No
TIE Fighters are Cool
10/28/2012

Customer review by ItsATrap1138

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by ItsATrap1138
by ItsATrap1138

The TIE Fighter has finally appeared in it's true colours. It is a huge improvement from 2005's blue TIE. Also, it is huge compared to other TIEs. It's also surprisingly heavy. The minifigure assortment is excellent Features include: double hinged opening cockpit, 2 flick missiles Minifigures: 4. NEW Deathstar Trooper (Double sided face and detailed helmet), Imperial Officer, NEW R5-J2 (New R5 series astromech) and TIE Pilot Pro's: New Grey colour scheme Decent Price The pilot has a chair piece Extreme detail NO STICKERS! Con's: Cockpit is slightly too round A lot of 2x building Questions: 2013 TIE Interceptor? Conclusion: One of the best of the wave 1 2012 sets. Definitly worth the price. Best TIE yet.

ItsATrap1138
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty Good Set...
4/25/2012

Customer review by EliteEvolution

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by EliteEvolution
by EliteEvolution

I am actually suprised to say that this set is...pretty good. It looked a bit sketchy on the photos, but overall, I like it. It's a nice set, not too many forced features (although, sigh, there are flick fire missiles). PROs: 1. Good size 2. Great for display 3. Opening cockpit 4. Flick fire missiles...ooh what a suprise :) 5. Pretty good play ability CONs: Really...not too many. It could have been bigger, maybe the cockpit a little more details, but no major complaints. BOTTOM LINE: I personally think it's a nice set. Great for all ages, as a collector's item and for play. Possibly one of the best TIE fighters ever made (second to the UCS Tie Fighter). I like it!

EliteEvolution
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Tie Fighter Ever
3/17/2012

Customer review by Ellis

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Ellis
by Ellis

This has to be the best Tie Fighter Ever because it looks just like the moive versions the figures are very cool I like the new Death Star Trooper with the double sided head and his blaster was a good addition as well the R5-J2 droid is also cool with the new head piece the Imperial Officer is someone I don't have and I think he looks great but he should have had a small pistol to arm himself the Tie Fighter pilot I is pretty standard but with his new face I don't like it looks like the Jango minifig face the Tie Fighter itself is jaw dropping I couldn't believe how bigger it is compaired to my older Tie Fighter but is the same size as my Tie Defender I also noticed this Tie Fighter is alittle heaver than the other Tie Fighters I have I love the wings and the Empire insigna the cookpit is better too I also like the chair for the pilot to sit on this is a must for Star Wars Fans or collectors or anyone who is trying to build up thier Star Wars army sure the price is alittle high but this I think if you have any of the other Tie Fighters get this one too sure it will seem alittle bigger but it will go great right next to them I would wait for the price to go down if you are considering buying more than just one. Thank You Lego for making this set I hope to see more differnet Tie Fighters sets come out in the near future.

Ellis
Madison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews