Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 89 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 86 reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Best TIE Fighter Yet!
4/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been wanting this set for some time, and yesterday I decided to finally get it. The box is quite impressive, a large square leading you to imagine how big it is. I thought I might be disappointed when I started building, but by the time I was done, any doubt about this set was gone. Pros: *Great detail *Plenty of nice minifigures *Nice opening canopy *Impressive size *Wings do not fold/splay outwards like I feared, they're very sturdy *Perfect size to hold or to display *Has a nice weight while still retaining a "swoosh" ability Cons: *Flick fire missiles *Wings could have had slightly more connector pieces on the inside This set is a very good value for money, it comes with a great assortment of minifigs, and looks like a UCS set next to other TIEs. To anyone with doubts about this set, it is great, go buy one. Heck, I might even buy a second.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great TIE platform, great officer mini-fig
3/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought two of these set hoping to change one into the tip interceptor variaiant, definaltly came out great! (with somne extra pieces) i would lego to sell my version of the interceptor
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
(Insert Tie Fighter Sounds Here)
8/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this and the Imperial V-wing Starfighter for my birthday this year. I was SOOO surprised at the amazingly huge size of the Tie Fighter. Now to get started , Let's talk about the Minifigures! Tie Pilot: He has new 2010 helmet design that first came in the Tie Defender but with the 2012 Trooper head design. Imperial Officer: The Imperial Officer is a very much wanted and very cool minifigure in the Star Wars world , even if you only have one! He has the rare dark grey Kepi hat. He has the same head as many other Imperial troops as well as some Rebel troops. Nice detail on the torso. Death Star Trooper: This is a Great design with a new Helmet and head as well as great printing on the torso. One side of the head has a mad face while the other (which is my personal favorite) has the same printing as the 2007 AT-ST Pilot! Also includes a blaster. He is my new favorite minifigure (Aside from my Chrome Gold C-3PO) and the best one in this set. R5-J2 : New Astromech head with the torso design of R2-Q5. Nice look , especially the head , and great coloring. Doesn't have that large a role in the films , but still adds to the amazingness of this set. Now to the Tie Fighter! It is about 50X bigger than you think! The wings are HUGE and very detailed . Finally we get a fighter without the annoying blue pieces taking away movie accuracy . The circular parts on the wings , the cockpit window , and the detailed part above the cockpit are all printed so no huge annoying stickers! We also finally get an actual bubble cockpit window instead of the bubble-inside-a-square window in the previous 2. It is 100% movie accurate besides the red laser tips on the end if the flick-fire missiles , but since those can easily be removed and are made to , that doesn't take away accuracy. As an ONLINE viewer , I thought that $50 was a little expensive for the part count , but as a REAL-LIFE viewer , I see that there are lots of large plates making it HUGE and worth a lot more than it costs. Sets the size of the Tie Fighter WITHOUT the extra figs goes for a lot more than the listed price. In the build , there are a few yellow and red parts , but they are covered with black and grey later on in the build. I don't know if those colors are cheaper to make than grey or black but maybe that's why they are there. Anyway , thank you so much for reading my review , please read my others , GOD BLESS!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good model overall
11/24/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After getting the X-Wing fighter I decided I'd better have a TIE Fighter for it to chase. It might be unfair to compare the two models against one another, but since they go together like peanut butter and jelly, why not. First of all, this one wasn't nearly as complex or rewarding to build. It wasn't a boring build, but it was over fairly quickly. This model was dropped by my daughter, and the wings mostly fell apart. I basically re-made the wings after, no big deal, took about 5 minutes. The shiny black wings show fingerprints and dust really well. The TIE pilot looks great, he was one of my favorite characters in the movies. I like that the head beneath has a cowl around the face. It's a nice little touch. The other 3 minifigs are pretty forgettable. There's an officer (about as disposable as in the movies), a Death Star trooper (the guys with the comically large helmets) and a little black astromech droid with no place to go. One interesting thing to note is that the hat the officer is wearing is totally a Civil War style hat. If any of you want to recreate the Civil War with Legos, just buy about 300,000 of these kits. I ended up hanging this from my ceiling as well, and the sturdy wing supports made a perfect tying spot for the fishing line. It looks great up there. If you have to choose between this and the X-Wing, I vote X-Wing, but then of course, you'll want this next.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Back to my childhood Part 2
4/30/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The family and I went to Lego land in the UK and there was a Star Wars themed attraction. From my previous review I had already built the X Wing Fighter, which I thought was very good. The Tie fighter was a little easier to build, but being part of the rebel alliance, the Tie Fighter was never going to keep up the X Wing. Again though the amount of detail which goes into the build is amazing, the cockpit (seat) was outstanding, each brick being a crucial/ detail part of the cockpits construction
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
"Biggs, You've Picked Up One Watch It!"
9/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this not too long ago. The classic Tie Fighter finally gets it's grey color scheme like in the movies from LEGO! And boy does it look amazing! As far as building it, it was ok. You got the cockpit then the wings x2. Very simple. Still fun working with any LEGO sets tho. Feels solid. The flick fire missiles should be green instead of red but I've switched them with green lightsaber blades for that classic laser fire look as it's tailing my Y-Wing on my shelf.^^ Also, it has NO STICKERS! Thank You LEGO! The four mini figures it comes with are pretty cool. The "Star" is The Death Star Trooper(pun intended) who has 2 faces on his head piece, I like using the shades look, his helmet is sweet. Then there's the classic Tie Pilot, helmet and torso piece for him are great. Imperial Officer is nice. Then you get a dark astromech droid. Can never go wrong with more droids. A tad bit high in price but all in all, this Tie Fighter is glorious. Very happy with this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price
11/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Walmart had a great deal on this Tie fighter. So I bought it for my son for Christmas. Can wait to see him open it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best TIE!
11/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you have the old TIE fighters and their spin-offs (interceptor, bomber, fighter, Vader's, etc), then you know how disappointing they are. The blue trim and it-falls-apart-if-you-look-at-it-wrong design come to mind. This new one absolutely blows those away. Very nicely detailed and very sturdy. The top of the cockpit opens much more smoothly than the old ships. Even the flick-fire missiles work OK on this one (I usually hate those). Great playability. Add in four minifigs, and you've got a good deal. Now, its not perfect. As good as the detailing is on the outside of the wings/solar panels, the insides of them were overlooked and seem bare in comparison. Some people complain about the new windshield being to bulbous, but that's barely a complaint in my opinion. Its a decent-sized ship, but the number of pieces is a little low for the price. However, the price is worth paying for the vast improvement in design over the old models and the four minifigs. I can only hope Lego will build a Vader TIE to these standards!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best version of the tie fighter yet!
7/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 10 year old son loved putting this one together and it is very sturdy! Will make a great display in his room! Great value for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Classic Set
8/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although Lego has released several other TIE Fighters in the past, this one is certainly the best yet. It is very detailed, especially on the solar arrays; and the black and grey colouring gives it a smart profile. Here are some things I noticed about the TIE Fighter. Pros: The minifigures New, detailed window piece Very detailed This set is large! Cons: The pilot minifig has a job, but the other three don't really have anything to do; there is no control panel, etc. for them to work at. The laser tips are flick missiles; this is a neat idea, but they are difficult to flick correctly, and they will not fly far before dropping to the ground. Overpriced; $50-60 would be better Minifigures: (4) Imperial Officer; my favourite, very detailed. Death Star Trooper; double-sided face, one side with flash goggles, the other with his normal face. TIE Pilot; has a face now!! Very nice helmet piece. R5-J2; pretty much the same as all astromechs, except that he has an R5 series head. Altogether a very nice set that I would recommend to people. Good job Lego!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
my grandson was excited
11/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
my grandson was very excited to get this Star Wars lego. He has many of them He is 9 and is able to put these things together with a short number of hours. I think it's very good that they have to follow directions step by step. A good skill for the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Definition of Awesomeness: Lego TIE Fighter
1/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is such a cool set. I was looking forward to getting it pretty much since I was interested in Lego Star Wars. It's large, detailed, and fairly sturdy. Plus it looks AMAZING on display! Now for pros and cons. Pros: -Detailed. -Extra minifigures! Lego really didn't need to include anyone but the pilot, but they added THREE extra people/droids! -Very sturdy for its size. -Huge huge HUGE! Cons: -Wings were kind of fragile while building, and because they're so big, the pieces in the middle that really held them together were hard to snap on well. -TIE Pilot's helmet made his head look too big. -Wings have tiny gaps between pieces, so if there's something bright behind it it looks kinda flimsy. -Flick fire missiles are hard to shoot without snapping off their holders as well. This was an amazing set. I loved it. If you are a Star Wars fan, even if you're not a Lego fan, you HAVE to have this. It will look really cool on someones shelf, but it can also be played with. This is the perfect set; good for playing with, display, and you just have to be a Star Wars fan to love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/2/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The build: Great redesign of the TIE-Fighter, huge improvement over any of the previous versions! The side panels are without a doubt the best part, the designers really stepped up their game with those. Not sure which cockpit part i like more, where the old one was a bit too flat, this one seems a bit too round. But the cockpit as a whole does look pretty nice, so it seems to work well. And... just like Vader's TIE, no blue this time! The minifigs: A great selection of minifigs compliments this set. A new model droid, an Imperial Officer, a Death Star Trooper and a pilot for the TIE-Fighter of course. Even if you get multiples of this set, getting more of these minifigures can hardly be a bad thing! The conclusion: A classic fighter from a classic movie, in my opinion done justice by this model. I can definately recommend this set to any fan of the original Star Wars trilogy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by far the best version of the standard TIE fighter. This isn't just another rehash of the old models, but a complete redesign. It doesn't have any of the instability inherent in the other versions. The Good Stuff: -The main body design is cleaner than the prior versions. -The double-hinged canopy is much nicer than the previous single hinge -The rounded dome is great (now I want to retrofit my other TIE fighters) -The "wings" are much more stable thanks to a simple 3-point connection to the main body -The pilot has a face now! :) -Three other minifigs, what's not to love about that? The Death Star trooper even has an alternate expression. -No blue pieces! :) There's nothing not to like with this one. It's hard to think of something which wasn't improved from the prior model. There's even a chair for the pilot this time. This is a must-have for any Imperial fleet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/3/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Unfortunately this was a Christmas present for my grandson - one of the main things he wanted. When he opened the box it had been returned to Walmart, parts were missing and some were in zip lock sandwich bags. My advice to others buying online for store pickup, open product before you leave the parking lot if the item is a present for anyone!!! Extremely disappointed and now I have to return it to Walmart!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LEGO's best Tie Fighter yet!
12/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This has to be the best incarnation of the Tie Fighter from LEGO. They have refined everything! The minifigures are great. They have amazing details and you get two new figures! You can tell LEGO really payed attention to details. For hardcore LEGO fans you should know you only get three extra pieces. So don't lose your pieces! Also I would like to note. THERE"S NO STICKERS!!!! YAY! Because we all know, we hate those things... This thing is very fun to play with and also pretty durable. But the one thing that was disappointing was the play features. You can open the cockpit and there are flick fire missiles. Really LEGO? Again? Since there was no other play features they could have included a firing mechanism, or something! Anyways I got this for 35 bucks. I would wait to buy it until the price goes down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Empire's Fist
2/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At first look, it seems as if all the pieces were made specifically for this set. However, all these pieces are for the most part general, but together makes a masterpiece. The TIE Fighter, when finished, resulted in a set much bigger than I imagined! It is much larger than past TIEs and is way more detailed. For the price, this is a rather large set compared to most others. Now for a closer look. Details: -The cockpit is a new design-- a windscreen "bubble" instead of the common "TIE" windscreen -The twin ion engines (hence the name) are redesigned, and are glossy black and trimmed with sharp grey -The missiles make for more fun play than common studs -The Minifig count is superb-- FOUR in one set! (LEGO Star Wars is recently including four) Overall thoughts: Sleek and sturdy-- makes for great collecting and play purposes alike. This set is "eye candy"-- one of few deserving of the title. LEGO, thank you so much for making it hard to choose sets this year-- it's rare. Thank you for your marvelous designing-- it makes me buy more every year. Thank you for bringing STAR WARS to the world of LEGO-- it's because of you my love for STAR WARS has grown along with my collections.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pity about the price
1/26/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been a LEGO fan since I was a kid, and now my own kids are into building kits too. This is a great one (for me) I didn't like the blue bricks used for the earlier ones 7236 nor 7146, so it was great to see this latest version. But hold on. I bought Vader's TIE fighter for only $29.99. What's so special about this one at how much? $54.99? Extra bricks, and 3 extra figures? It's two inches taller than Vader's TIE fighter but the detailing on that one at only 250+ pieces compares well with this TIE fighter, and Vader's fighter has moveable wings.. A lot of pieces have been used on them as detailing, but it's too much I think. Both versions have flick fire missiles and that's it. You get an R5 and a Death Star officer (only available with the Death Star), the other is a fairly common minifigure. My kids are still new to building so unless you have $25 extra to spend I wouldn't recommend this one. Only die-hard Star Wars fans who will forget the price tag will buy it, not those who want to play with it like kids. Pros It's been a while since we've seen a TIE fighter 3 extra figures A bit more detailing than previous ones Cons Huge price tag Not as good a Vader's TIE fighter
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TIE Fighter
3/20/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The TIE fighter is one of my favorite ships in all of Star Wars right next to the Imperial Star Destroyer, and this set looks amazing. It has great detail and you get 4 minifigs, an officer, pilot trooper and droid. The pilot looks really cool. My only problem with this set is the wings seem to be held on only by one piece on each strut, Maybe im missing something or maybe that is just how the wings are. I picked it up to move it one day and the wing fell off. Other than that gripe, I love this set, It just looks soo awesome. PROS: Great deatail TIE fighter 4 Minifigs CONS: Wings feel too fragile Wobbly Pricey for the flimsy wings. Once again, I am not sure if it is just me or those are the only pieces that hold the wings on, but it just feels a bit too flimsy for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally A Proper Tie Fighter
8/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been waiting for a long while for a larger scale Tie Fighter, and this set does not disappoint. The set includes some great minifigs, including a really well done pilot with a double-sided head. The detail they managed to work into the wings is really quite amazing. The cockpit is well done, includes a couple great printed pieces, and has come the closest to capturing the unique shape of the fighter. Overall I had a blast building this, and it looks great with the rest of my original trilogy fleet. Pros: - First decently sized Tie Fighter - Amazing Wing Detail - Some good quality minifigs. Cons: -Some very small gaps/stability issues with the outer "trim" on the wings, but nothing too bad. - Slightly overpriced in my opinion. But it *is* a Tie Fighter!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640688, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-