Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 323 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

323 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

323 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
181
4 stars
95
3 stars
27
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 318 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews
Failed just out of warranty
10/1/2014

Customer review by DougJ

2.0 stars 10/1/2014 by DougJ
by DougJ

I have been an avid Norelco user but when my last one died about 2 and a half years ago I decided to give Braun a chance. I was intrigued by the wet/dry option and had heard good things about Braun in the past. I never was as satisfied with the shave quality of the Braun as I was my previous Norelco units, but I made my decision and had to stick with it. Well, that was about 2 and a half years ago. last week for no clear reason I was unable to start my Braun. The switch failed. Even though I knew it wasn't fully discharged I put it on charge and after reaching full charge, I could get it to turn on, but shortly afterward it started on its own and would not shut off. I was able to shave that day, and was thinking that if I let it discharge completely and then recharge before use, I could get by with that for a while. No, the next time around I again could not get the switch to activate and am left with a non-operational shaver. I bought another Norelco and am loving it already.

DougJ
Murfreesboro, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Long Hair Trimmer Does The Job
10/16/2015

Customer review by sreale92

4.0 stars 10/16/2015 by sreale92
by sreale92

I have a rather young-looking face so I like to keep a little bit of stubble on it to make me look a little older. That's why I decided to give only the long hair trimmer a try this first time around. After not shaving for a week, I start to look like a dirty pirate so I charged up the Braun Series 3, slid out the long hair trimmer, and went to work. I ended up being pleasantly surprised. With the long hair trimmer only, I was able to rein in a week's worth of growth to a much more manageable length and give me a much cleaner look overall in 6 minutes flat (see the attached before and after). The long hair trimmer's true strength was in the maintenance of my sideburns, which makes sense since those hairs were the longest. It wasn't quite as successful as I would have liked in trimming my mustache hairs under my nose so I did take a star off for that but overall, the long hair trimmer is a great option for guys just looking to clean up a look while maintaining some facial hair. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sreale92
North Grafton, MA
Great Shaver
11/7/2015

Customer review by bearwhite

4.0 stars 11/7/2015 by bearwhite
by bearwhite

I have been using the Braun Series 3 for three weeks and it is a great shaver. It provides a nice close shave when the hair is not too long. I use it twice a week and it provides the perfect shave. I really like how you can use shaving cream with it. I started out using it with no shaving cream and there was some tugging, which I did not like. I decided to use shaving cream and the shave was more comfortable with no tugging. I get a closer shave with shaving cream and the razor glides over the skin, so there is no irritation. This razor is water proof, so it can be used in the shower if one desired. I have not used it in the shower, but I like that it is option. The razor seems to be very well made, with a nice weight to it. The battery is great, I get two shaves on every charge. I really like how it has an LCD display, so I no longer have to worry about the battery dying mid shave. This has become my go to shaver and I recommend it to anyone looking for a new shaver. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bearwhite
Monmouth, OR
Not what I was expecting.
10/9/2015

Customer review by Bobomax

3.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Bobomax
by Bobomax

I got this shaver free from Braun to test it out. I wasn't impressed with it. Out of the box it looks aggressive and ready to tackle any shave. Sadly, it seems to miss places here and there so you spend a lot of time on covering spots you've already done. It says it's supposed to be good for a 3 day beard but I find I could still get it done with an actual razor just as quick if not quicker. I have a cheap trimmer with an exchangeable head that does just as good. The flip up shaper/trimmer, in my opinion, is the best part of the shaver. It's very handy for trimming up your mustache. The grip on it is fantastic for wet or dry conditions so I feel like it's easy to hold on to. Overall, it's pretty good but for what you'll pay for this shaver it really should do a better job. Shavers are supposed to cut down on your grooming time, but with this one you spend a lot of time hunting down and reshaving spots that the Braun 3 3040 just seems to miss.I think... * [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bobomax
New Tazewell, TN
Alright Shaver
10/9/2015

Customer review by smartinezjr

4.0 stars 10/9/2015 by smartinezjr
by smartinezjr

First off thank you Braun for this awesome opportunity to try out this shaver free!!! Let's get down to the shaver my first impression was this a simple straight forward machine that requires lil maintenance not a whole lot of gadgets just the shaver the charging cord and a lil brush to clean the internal parts when needed. Also this is a wet/dry shaver that's a plus not too heavy or bulky just the rite size easy on the eyes. For its first test run I gave myself a good 5 days with no shave to really put it to the test I used lite shaving cream and I began it took a good amount of passes to actually get a pretty descent shave. Down side was it didn't really get all the hair it took more than a couple passes to get most of it and would of been nice to get a cheap bag to store it in but all in all not bad. I did a dry shave to touch up a razor shave it performed well for a quick touch up not a bad machine but didnt really cut down on the shave time so if you're looking for a good touch up machine with an edger this is it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

smartinezjr
Vista, CA
Good shave
10/19/2015

Customer review by bearwhite

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by bearwhite
by bearwhite

I have been using the Braun Series 2 for two weeks now and I have noticed it works great on a two to three day old beard, but not on a week old beard. If you use this shaver every other day it cuts through the stubble with no problem and you only need to run it over your face a few times to get a nice close shave. If you let your beard grow past three days then the shaver starts to struggle at cutting the hair. There is pulling and you have to run the shaver over your face ten to twenty times and even then there are patches of long hair left behind. This is a great daily shaver, but if you are like me and like to go a week in between shaves then the razor blade and shaving cream is the better option. The Braun is easy to clean and does charge up fast which is very nice. The led battery indicator is a nice touch and takes the guess work out of when to know when to charge it. The Braun Series 3 is a very nice well made razor that is the perfect daily shaver. I highly recommend this shaver if you shave daily or a few times a week. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bearwhite
Monmouth, OR
Highly satisfied with the shavers appearance and performance
11/9/2015

Customer review by Lays304

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Lays304
by Lays304

Braun Series 3 3040 Wet and Dry Shaver is an excellent shaver and I highly recommend it to others. I don't tend to grow my facial out very long and this shaver is a very quick fix. Shaving was getting kind of tedious, but since I got the Braun Series 3 3040 Wet and Dry Shaver free from Bruan it's way easier. A few things I like about this shaver is that it doesn't pull on my facial hair like some other razors. It shouldn't hurt to shave, and with this it doesn't. Also, it's very fast. My time is valuable and I don't want to spend a lot of time everyday just to have a clean shaven face. In regards to the product itself, it's a perfect size and fits comfortably in my hand. It has a very vibrant blue grip and looks pretty sleek. The razors look as if they are high quality, although I am unsure what the actual specifics of them are. Overall, it's a clean and solid looking device. It has a pretty simplistic design and I appreciate that. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lays304
Cedar Rapids, IA
First Braun Experience
10/15/2015

Customer review by LputzB

4.0 stars 10/15/2015 by LputzB
by LputzB

I was very excited to be apart of this campaign. I use a foil razor every morning to keep around my normal scruff clean. The Braun Series 3 arrived and was really nice. The design is sleek and the weight of it made it feel sturdy and in charge. The first two - three times I used it, I had to wash my face after. It left a dark dirty mark in all the areas I shaved. Maybe it was the original grease on the blades? But after that it seemed to be ok. It does a good job of shaving hair, my only con is that it's a little too big for my liking. If you're not shaving your entire facial hair it's hard to clean up just around edges cause the foil part it large. I haven't attempted this in the shower. Thought of an electric razor against my face in water scares me a little so I prolly will never use it wet. All in all I like the quality and would recommend for full face shaving. And maybe cleaning it first before you begin first time usage. :-) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LputzB
Ballston Lake, NY
Wow, wow wow!!
10/18/2015

Customer review by kristykreme

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by kristykreme
by kristykreme

Just can't say enough good things about this shaver! First lets start with the shaver itself. For being cordless with a battery in it, it is extremely light and small. No bigger than your average tv remote. The blue rubber strip that surrounds the shaver is nice and soft. Feels great to the touch. And when I used it in the shower, it had a great grip, did not slip out of my hand. Cleaning it was simple, just run under hot water. Second is the save. I have used electric shavers for 20+ years, but this is the first one that I could use wet. I was skeptical at first, but it gave me the closest shave by an electric shaver ever. Both wet and dry were far better than my current shaver. Closer shave that lasted longer. It has 3 rows of blades that move and easily got all the contours of my face. And with it being cordless, I had an easy time shaving with no problems. Highly recommended for anyone looking to get an electric shaver. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kristykreme
Honolulu, HI
Awesome Shaver Braun :)
10/12/2015

Customer review by Seano760

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Seano760
by Seano760

I think this is a great Electric Shaver. I was to excited to be part of this campaign. After receiving the shaver I was happy to find it charged and ready to use straight out of the box. After giving it a try I was pleasantly surprised on how good it worked. I did have to go over a few spots twice but after I was done my face felt really smooth just about as smooth as a manual razor. It was nice that it didn't snag my hair or irritate my skin which other electric razors have done in the past. It also has a nice little trimmer on the back for sideburns and stuff. The charge lasts about a week depending on how often you are using it witch I thought was great. It's also very easy to clean just pop the head of the razor off and brush it with the brush they sent in the box it only takes a couple minutes. Overall this is a great Electric Razor by Braun. I would highly recommend it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Seano760
Poway, CA
A Great Disappointment
10/27/2015

Customer review by swim716laps

1.0 stars 10/27/2015 by swim716laps
by swim716laps

After having a poor experience the first time I used the product, I did not want to give up on it, hoping I would have a better experience under different circumstances. The first time using this product, I had shaved dry, in the morning after having not shaved for 24 hours. The razor left my face with patches of hair and extreme irritation from having to repeatedly shave the same areas over and over. I ended up having to use a regular razor and shaving cream to clean up the mess. The next time I tested the product was after I had already shaved for the day. I have a heavy beard and a noticeable 5:00 shadow at the end of a work day. I decided to use the product to touch up my 5:00 shadow. Once again, the product failed to meet my expectations. It does not cut the hair consistently, leaving stray hairs and patches unshaven. In addition to the poor performance, the shaver makes a mess. It does not hold the hair clippings very well because upon finishing, the sink is covered in trimmings. I would not recommend traveling with this product or using on the go as it will make a mess in your car, suitcase, etc. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

swim716laps
Niagara Falls, NY
Middle of the pack razor
11/4/2015

Customer review by steve71099

3.0 stars 11/4/2015 by steve71099
by steve71099

I was both impresses and disappointed with the Braun 3-3040 Wet and Dry Razor. I love the idea of being able to have a rechargeable razor that I can use in the shower, plus one that can be used as a standard razor on a day-to-day basis. The Braun razor did a good job of getting the course hair, but the fine hair around the chin line seemed to be left behind. That wasn't a problem for me, but I could see where it could be with men that get a heavy 5 o'clock shadow, or grow facial hair faster than I do. The Braun Series 3 30-40 Razor held a charge for an entire day, which was great since I took it along to work for those quick touch-ups before meetings at the end of the day. I will continue to use this razor on a regular day-to-day basis, unless I need that perfectly smooth feeling, than I'll have to use a manual razor to get that silky smooth feeling. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

steve71099
Waupun, WI
Braun Series 3 shaver
10/27/2015

Customer review by NDMedic

4.0 stars 10/27/2015 by NDMedic
by NDMedic

After using it in the shower, which I love. I do like the shaver in comparison to the previous rotatry type electric that i had before. Yes it takes more passes than a razor, yes it does give more razor burn when dry shaving than a razor. But overall the series 3 shaver is a good use shaver. I don't shave every day so the 3 day stubble does work better than trying to use the shaver on a daily basis. It also gives my skin time to acclimate to the use of electric on a regular basis. I like the ergonomic feel and form of the shaver while using in the shower. The battery life is substantial. I have used it several times without recharging. It definitely will replace the old electric shaver i used to use. I don't think that it will replace the standard everyday hand shaver that i use, as the time for use is a bit longer. Unless i choose to use it during the shower, and with the cold weather setting in, that may occur more frequently. This shaver appears to be well build and i expect it will last many years. I am quite impressed with this middle of the price range shaver. Great value buy for those who need to get into an electric shaver. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

NDMedic
Bismarck, ND
good luck finding a replacement cutter
6/12/2016

Customer review by paul60

2.0 stars 6/12/2016 by paul60
by paul60

Braun has decided to call several of their shavers "series 3," but they take different blades and none are labeled so you can figure out which one matches your shaver. Even on their website, if I go to my particular shaver, click on "maintenance," up comes every replacement blade they make of which several are marked series 3. Type the exact model in their search feature and it doesn't recognize the model. Who is running this company?

paul60
Northfield NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
lose Shave, Loud, but still have razor bumps
10/30/2015

Customer review by Willywang

4.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Willywang
by Willywang

Got this as a free trial to review the product. At first the box didn't look very appealing as a consumer. I didn't expect much from the cover of the box but needed to give it a shot anyway. The packaging inside the box was very simple: Styrofoam with the razor, cap, brush, ac adapter, and manual. I guess I expected something fancy since you're purchasing an electric razor. However when using it as a dry shave and shaving the same spot 2 to 3 times, the shave was pretty good. There are some stubble and razor bumps, but the shave is pretty decent. The bumps may be better when shaven wet I believe. However, the shave was not as smooth as compared to the Panasonic Arc series. I would definitely recommend those over these. These are quite loud and solid, but it still gives me a sense that it's cheap. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Willywang
Los Angeles, CA
Compact and solid!
4/5/2016

Customer review by Daffy

4.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Daffy
by Daffy

Pretty much what you would expect from a mechanical razor but its lightweight, Water proof so you can shave in the shower which is really convenient, Cuts nicely even if you do it quickly so you can shave faster than a standard razor, Stays charged for a surprisingly long time but it does of course become weaker if you do not charge it, Overall for the price you cant beat it, Its solid, Small, Convenient, efficient, Its great. Only downside is it is not as clean of a shave as a regular razor, So if you do not have much facial hair no need for this razor, Just use regular non mechanical razors.

Daffy
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Close Shave, Loud, but still have razor bumps
10/12/2015

Customer review by Willywang

4.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Willywang
by Willywang

Got this as a free trial to review the product. At first the box didn't look very appealing as a consumer. I didn't expect much from the cover of the box but needed to give it a shot anyway. The packaging inside the box was very simple: Styrofoam with the razor, cap, brush, ac adapter, and manual. I guess I expected something fancy since you're purchasing an electric razor. However when using it as a dry shave and shaving the same spot 2 to 3 times, the shave was pretty good. There are some stubble and razor bumps, but the shave is pretty decent. The bumps may be better when shaven wet I believe. However, the shave was not as smooth as compared to the Panasonic Arc series. I would definitely recommend those over these. These are quite loud and solid, but it still gives me a sense that it's cheap. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Willywang
Los Angeles, CA
An incredible upgrade!
11/2/2015

Customer review by sreale92

4.0 stars 11/2/2015 by sreale92
by sreale92

I was very wary when I accepted this campaign because I purchased the last version of this exact same shaver last year and had terrible results. It took 15 minutes to get a halfway decent shave that I then had to clean up with a regular razor. This version does everything right that the old version did wrong! I was floored when I used the shaver and with minimal pressure had a completely clean shave in under 5 minutes and didn't need to pull out my other razor! I've really got to hand it to Braun for doing everything right with this version and I would urge people who've written previous versions of this shaver off to try this new version. I did knock one star off because the first use left a greasy black residue on my face in places but it washed right off and hasn't been an issue since. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sreale92
North Grafton, MA
Smooth and clean
11/12/2015

Customer review by KevinRay

5.0 stars 11/12/2015 by KevinRay
by KevinRay

Now that i have been using the Braun Series 3-3040 for a few weeks I would like to say what a a great shave it gives over and over the consistency with it is a welcome change for other brands i have tried in the past after over 15 shaves i have to say that the blades are as sharp as they were when i opened the box Braun is always a brand that you can count on for long term use the charge in the shaver stays for along time and charges fast if its low the way it fits in your had makes getting into the hard to reach places easier i wish i could give the Braun Series 3-3040 a 10 star review i have been telling all the guys i know to go and get on thanks to bzzagent and Braun for letting me get to try this amazing shaver for free its one that i will have for a long time to come [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

KevinRay
Mass City, MI
Sad disappointment
10/11/2015

Customer review by swim716laps

1.0 stars 10/11/2015 by swim716laps
by swim716laps

I was very excited to have received this shaver from Braun. I am a busy individual who is always looking to save time in the morning. I also have very sensative skin. Braun is a brand with a strong reputation for innovative products and my expectations were sadly not met with this product. The shaver does not provide a close consistent shave. It does not cut the hair consistently, forcing me to go over the same spot several times which causes major irritation. I have a 10+ year old Norelco Cool Skin electric shaver in which the blades have never been changed, that produces a closer shave. I ended up cleaning up my face with my old shaver because there were so many stray hairs remaining. The shaver left my face blotchy and red with random patches of hair. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

swim716laps
Niagara Falls, NY
1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews