Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

130 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

130 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
22
1 stars
53
1-20 of 126 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Needs battery for remote right away.
11/16/2011

Customer review by blackout1031

4.0 stars 11/16/2011 by blackout1031
by blackout1031

So after i purchased the magnavox streaming player from walmart, I was disappointed as it does not allow for hulu plus. Returned that and luckily my store had a few of these RCA players in stock. So I picked one up. Brought it home, set it all up, couldn't get the remote to work. The remote is very very flimsy, somewhat cheap if you will. The back doesn't really look secure, so I had assumed that the battery itself just was not being held in properly, returned it for a new one. Opened it all up, and same problem. After thinking for a split second, I ran to the store to buy a new battery, closest store was target, where I paid $6 for two. Came home, popped it in and sure enough, worked just perfectly. Problem is that RCA packages the remote with the batteries already inserted in the remote. This has a tendency to drain the battery. So, if you are buying, pick up a battery the day you purchase, as you will need it. battery is 2032. Other than that pain, the device works great for $50! Netflix, Hulu plus, etc.

Was this review helpful? (172) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackout1031
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome, tiny little powerhouse!
11/20/2011

Customer review by hoosiermama65

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by hoosiermama65
by hoosiermama65

I was going to buy a blu-ray player that does what this does too the day after Thanksgiving for about twice the price. But I have a perfectly good dvd up-convert system that puts out a great picture on my LCD TV. So I opted for this because of it's portability. I can take this from room to room with absolutely no hassle, unlike a dvd player that I don't really need anyway. Went ahead and paid the $48 for it now, even though it is a black Friday item for $39. I figured it wasn't worth $9 to go and stand in line for for hours? Picked it up at my local Wal-Mart and was on my way. When I first hooked it up it said there was no internet connection. Re-booted my router and still the same. So I unplugged the media player and plugged back in, and it worked perfect. That was the only glitch. Everyone should have one of these! Only other cost is an HDMI cable (get the shortest one you can, cheaper) if you want one, and the monthly service fee for Netflix, which is a measley $8 and VuDu has fees but never used it so I don't know how much that is. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (98) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoosiermama65
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Video Streaming Device
11/18/2011

Customer review by TinyTim88

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by TinyTim88
by TinyTim88

This is definitely the lowest price out there for a media streaming box that includes all the most important apps. It has Netflix, Vudu, Pandora, YouTube, and HuluPLUS. It also includes Picasa for photo albums, but I'm not interested in that. It also has VuduApps which give you access to Facebook and Twitter and lots of web video like DailyMotion. Setup was a breeze. I just plugged it in and connected to my TV with HDMI (cable not included in box). It has a quick setup wizard that searched for WiFi networks in range. I typed in the password for my network and it then prompted me to perform a software update which took about 3 minutes. Then I spent the next few hours exploring all the cool content. Since I already had Netflix and HuluPLUS accounts, I was able to connect by entering my passwords. Very easy... I've used other more expensive streaming boxes that didn't have some of the major content that this one has. The RCA box doesn't have web browsing or connect to your home computers to access any of your digital music or video files, but if you're looking for a box strictly for streaming online content, this model is a real value.

Was this review helpful? (117) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinyTim88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for value
11/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband bought this steaming player back home last weekend and my boys have been using it all the time now. With support for Netflix and Hulu, it is great for the price!

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get more than you pay for!
11/27/2011

Customer review by Grifmont

4.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Grifmont
by Grifmont

I bought this for Black Friday, and it was definitely worth the $38 I paid for it. I was worried that it would have a poor graphic user interface, and that the menu screens would just look cheap. It doesn't! It's very well designed, from software to actual physical design. I plugged the HDMI right into our TV, and I actually used the component outs to go to our audio system. They both work at the same time, which is a nice feature. All of the services are fast- Netflix never buffers mid-movie (it does take a moment to load the movie, however), and Pandora is extremely quick. I don't subscribe to Hulu Plus, or use Vudu, so I can't honestly say about those. There are only two (and a half) things wrong: 1. The search features/on screen keyboard. You have to go to each letter individually and select it, there is no way to do it easily. It would be nice if there was a phone-like keyboard option. Just saying. :) 2. The remote is horrible. After using the included remote for a bit, I quickly did some Google-ing, and programmed my universal remote to operate with this unit. It works MUCH better now. (It even makes the keyboard easier to maneuver). 2 (1/2). The omi-directional remote sensor isn't that great. There is no such thing as sitting on one side of the room and using it- you have to be almost directly in front of it, or at most a 45 degree angle. Those are just little picky things I've noticed. But overall, this is 100% worth the money you pay for it! (Note, when it comes to programming this unit with a universal remote, no codes are available. You'll need to do the button-by-button technique.)

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grifmont
Jasper, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great box, horrible remote!
11/28/2011

Customer review by Lalap

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Lalap
by Lalap

The box does everything it says it will...IF you can get the remote control to work properly! I have to stand and point it in a specific spot in order to get the remote to line up when I use Youtube. It works a little better in Netflix. But trying to type in a search in Youtube is excruciating! I will be returning it to the store and getting a Roku. If the remote worked from anywhere in the room, I would give this 5 stars and love it! But what's the point of having Youtube if it takes you 30 minutes to type in a simple search? I am sorry I stood in line at midnight on Black Friday to get this. It was definitely not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lalap
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Go with anything else
11/27/2011

Customer review by imkalen

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by imkalen
by imkalen

I purchased this product because it seemed like a deal at $39 but this devise isn't worth $1. The remote is incredibly clumsy to use The interface is difficult to use on a display less than 30" Applications are slow to load Applications are limited to the 6 listed on the box I am exchanging this for a Roku LT which has 350+ applications and much better design for $49.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imkalen
Would recommend to a friend? No
You pay for what you get..
11/24/2011

Customer review by Mszx0x

1.0 stars 11/24/2011 by Mszx0x
by Mszx0x

I purchased the product around 10:00 PM tonight. I got the product home and connected the product to my tv using RCA cables. Connections are very simple and easy! I got the product to turn on and I got to where it asked me if I wanted to do the quick setup, but I was unable to select yes or no. The remote wouldn't turn the product on or off, nor would it move through the screen. After reading online, I'm seeing that other people are having the same issue and had to go purchase a new remote. I also discovered that the product was cheaper online then in my local walmart store. Needless, to say after seeing the streaming box and the cheap and flimsey remote, I decided to take the product back. If you buy this product, I would recommend buying the 1 yr replacement plan.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mszx0x
Baltimore, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Rubbish.
11/25/2011

Customer review by AlterMannCam

2.0 stars 11/25/2011 by AlterMannCam
by AlterMannCam

The remote is about as flimsy as cardboard. The battery compartment simply does not hold the button battery correctly. I had to make a rig with a dime under the battery flap just to get the device to respond. Secondly, the user interface is not very good. The text is microscopic and almost impossible to read. There's also no way to change this to my knowledge. (I messed around in the settings for a while, too.) Thirdly, after about 15 minutes of being powered on, the device seemed unusually warm. Not quite sure what goes on inside mechanically, but whatever it is, it's leaves your device almost burning up. Be weary of this thing... It didn't quite fulfill my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlterMannCam
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
LOVE ITTTTTT!
11/26/2011

Customer review by darknights

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by darknights
by darknights

My wife saw this and wanted one for out bedroom. We have a HTS that sreams netflix and pandora and a bunch of other stuff. In our bedroom, there is a TV with a DVD player on it. We didnt want to purchase another bluray player so we got this little darling (I call it that) and I must admit it is amazing. I got it just to try it out and now i DEFINITELY WONT BE RETURNING IT! When I connected it, there was a firmware update. I was concerned that the streaming speed would be slow but its amazing and the picture quality is just a beautiful as it is on my HTS. I dont recall ever being impressed with the speakers on the TV in the bedroom but when PANDORA started it was up to the max and I thought WOOOOOOOOOOW! I connected to netflix and played a movie and it showed outstanding as well and played with no interruptions. I also went to VUDU and signed in and got a credit just for using the product (YAY). I dont have huluplus but I have a friend that swears by it so I may try the week free to check it out! The apps on VUDU worked good, I enjoyed seeing my pics on FB. I'm glad my wife talked me into it! I'll have to check into the picasa!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darknights
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Not worth the box it comes in!
12/2/2011

Customer review by kabadan

1.0 stars 12/2/2011 by kabadan
by kabadan

OMG, I wish I'd read the reviews before I stood in line an hour and a half on Black Friday for this! GEEZ! I THOUGHT that since it was RCA brand it would be good--boy oh boy was I wrong! What a piece of junk! It truly isn't worth the cardboard it's packaged in! Got it hooked up fine, connected to internet fine with a strong signal....and that's about it! We've been able to watch approx an hour to hour and a half, then if you try to watch anything over that...nothing. Have tried all the suggestions found--disconnect, wait 10 seconds, etc etc. Spend more time disconnecting it and standing in front of the box with the remote than we do watching programs! Kinda defeats the purpose of a remote! I also had to play with the battery and get it situated just right in order to not almost punch through the flimsy remote to get it to work but even after that you have to almost lay the remote in front of the box to get the signal through. I refuse to go buy a new battery for this thing to see if that helps--the whole thing is going back TODAY! What a disappointment! Checked Roku reviews and after no bad reviews in the first 30 I read, think that's what we'll go with! THIS IS A JOKE!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kabadan
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
total let down
12/3/2011

Customer review by spoiledbratz

1.0 stars 12/3/2011 by spoiledbratz
by spoiledbratz

i got this unit at the black friday sale couldn't wait to use it, the install was quick and easy, love the size of this thing,turn it on and after about 5 minutes it will freeze and the remote will no longer work, i replaced the battery twice and still nothing. this would be such a cool device if it really worked. i'm taking it back walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spoiledbratz
batonrouge
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
not worth the money!
11/29/2011

Customer review by cartman2

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by cartman2
by cartman2

i bought this on black friday, thinking it looked petite(small) and wouldn't take up much room. Well, i got to walmart and saw a bunch of them all stacked up, and i thought to myself "why are there so many still here" (because for 29.99) i thought that isn't a bad price. WELL GUESS WHAT,,,IT WASNT WORTH IT!!!! BTW... after having it on for 10 minutes>>>it over-heated and quit working. so don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cartman2
marshfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I would not wasn't my money on this product!!
12/1/2011

Customer review by NitaLisa

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by NitaLisa
by NitaLisa

I brought this item on black friday 2011 (thursday) media player primay because I have both netflix and hulu plus and figured it would be a great altertive to cable. Boy was I wrong the set up for they system was easy..But that was about it!!! The remote to control the device was horrible somtimes I would have to press the buttons at least 3 to 4 times in order for it to work it was also very flimsy. After using the product for about 6 days the player completly blew and would not turn back on. When I called RCA they told me I could either ship it back to them and pay for shipping (by the way was in New York) or I could take it back to the store. Need less to say I took it back to the store and bought a roku instead....I know it seemes like a great deal for the money..but Please people save your self the grief!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NitaLisa
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Slow and poor quality
11/30/2011

Customer review by AwfulBox

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by AwfulBox
by AwfulBox

The only pro: the price. The cons: very poor WiFi connection, poor picture quality, awful remote. We used to have a Wii connected to my TV. Netflix worked wonderfully, without any buffering issues and the picture quality was great - we have cable internet. We wanted to move the Wii into another room so we purchased two of these devices (one for our room, one for a family member). The verdict was the same for both of these boxes. It was extremely slow and we started having "buffering" issues where the picture would slow down or Netflix would have to stop in order to load more data. We never experienced this with the Wii. Also, the picture quality was poor - a big disappointment from the quality via the Wii. The remote is a total joke. it is just plain terrible. We are returning both of these boxes. Both houses had the same issue with this device.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AwfulBox
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow! spend a bit more and save the headache
12/3/2011

Customer review by Eddiemak808

1.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Eddiemak808
by Eddiemak808

The box works fine however I had to return it twice because of the remote. The remote is flimsy and worse yet there are no buttons on the box to get around the remote. The battery does not fit properly (in both boxes). Spend an extra $20 and get a unit that will last longer. It is slow with poor response. It only really works well with Netflix.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eddiemak808
Tacoma, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Remote fails out of the box, then again after fix
12/7/2011

Customer review by ThriftyInArk

1.0 stars 12/7/2011 by ThriftyInArk
by ThriftyInArk

I would not recommend this device. Even if you get it working, I'm fairly certain that units that are working now will fail soon. I would only use this device if you only plan on using your remote to program a master remote control that you can program. That way your original flimsy remote can sit safely in a drawer somewhere it won't be used and as a result break. Out of the box, the remote on this device didn't work. I happened to have other batteries that did work, (BTW, those LED tea lights use the same batteries, and cost $1/ea instead of the $3/ea buying the batteries alone) and it still didn't work. After looking at the remote, I determined that the positive battery contact points were not making contact with the battery. After bending the contact to where it would make contact, the remote worked for a glorious 4 days, after which it failed. I decided to opt for the Roku LT, although my local store didn't have it for the $49 that walmart.com has, so I could not buy it in store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThriftyInArk
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect
11/28/2011

Customer review by JimStn

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by JimStn
by JimStn

So far so good Netflix plays without any problem and even on HD if u planning to get this to use You Tube you really should think about it cuz the app needs lots of updates. It freezes a lot and its annoying to look for a video cuz the remote doesn't have a Keyboard. Hulu Plus also works perfectly but Netflix has a better monthly price and content. Pandora is the app that i used during my parties :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimStn
El Centro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/26/2011

Customer review by roady33

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by roady33
by roady33

This is a nice product but it takes forever to key in phrase for you tube from the remote... thats the only thing bad about this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roady33
St Marys,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not purchase this at any price.
11/26/2011

Customer review by bigfalcon11

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by bigfalcon11
by bigfalcon11

The set up is simple enough, but there are really only two usable streaming channels: netflix and hulu plus. If you want any other usable service or channel, this is not the media player for you. Additionally the system indicates that there is an update; however when I attempted to update the device, there was not enough memory for the update to install. Perhaps, this is something that I could correct by talking with a Customer Service Reprsentative, but I expect a new product to update correctly--at least initially. Additionally,you have to pay for the channels, so you really are just purchasing a glorified cable box. Perhaps all of the streaming media players operate like this, but there appeared to be more readily available channels for ROKU, some of which were free. I do not usually review products, as generally I am satisfied. But I felt I had to respond after seeing positive reviews for such a marginal product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigfalcon11
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews