Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-10 of 10 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great value
6/28/2012

Customer review by creativetechguy

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by creativetechguy
by creativetechguy

This is our second Samsung multi-function laser printer. Our first lasted about 7 years (another SCX model). We are a big homeschool family and it got used heavily every day. So when the first one wore out, I wanted to get another Samsung. The 4729FD setup easily. I connected it to our ethernet router and it was easy to install and connect to all of our computers (both wired and wireless) with the install disk. No issues. This was also one of the cheapest printers I could find that would do duplex (print on both sides) automatically. Print quality is great and speed is excellent. Our last one was very economical to operate, so I'm hoping this one will be too. We used Walmart's site-to-store to have it shipped. Their price was the best and it arrived well before the estimated arrival date. ...and shipping was free! We're very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creativetechguy
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/3/2012

Customer review by naithan

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by naithan
by naithan

very nice machine for fax copier print and scan

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naithan
detroit mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Multi-Function Laser Printer
1/18/2013

Customer review by yooper5

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by yooper5
by yooper5

We are using this printer networked into our small business environment. Setup was easy, although, to use the fax and scanner, we installed the Samsung software on each client computer. Print images are sharp and clear, scanning works well, also fax incoming and out going are fine. Have not used a full laser cartridge yet so can't comment on the consumables. The only negative is that the menu button was not easy to see to start with (it is above the OK button on the ring around it) and the LCD screen contrast makes it hard to read - but I haven't looked to see if there is an adjustment for it yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yooper5
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Everything expected and some
5/4/2012

Customer review by sdrstopsales

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by sdrstopsales
by sdrstopsales

This printer was much more than what was expected. Easy to set-up and the Easy Printer Manager is great to alert you on either low ink or paper.

sdrstopsales
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Fast quite performance with great quality prints
10/10/2012

Customer review by droidtomtom

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by droidtomtom
by droidtomtom

Got this after years of refilling inkjet printers and 'continuous ink supply systems' with cheap inks that always clogged the printer nozzles. This is so much faster and quieter. Decent scan quality and super copy quality. I copied a page that had size 4 fonts and the copy was perfectly crisp. Had it not had a fold in the original I would not have been able to tell the difference. Pros: Network, Full auto Duplex, Quiet, fast, sharp. I love the cute sound the servos make when it starts up. Someone with an ear for sound definitely tuned that feature. Cons: Confused as to what some of the software does. Like Smart Office. Can only set Duplex by also enabling Eco-mode. A simple check box for this next to portrait/landscape would be nice. I do miss being able to print color. And I will probably never use the fax capability. The imaging drum and toner are all one unit so it would be very difficult to refill the toner but you are assured great quality images every-time you replace the cartridge because you are getting a new drum. The price of the cartridges are not too bad being they include a new drum but this makes non-oem replacements more-expensive. So far the starter cartridge has given me a lot of prints (50-100) and still says 98% full.

droidtomtom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer
3/28/2013

Customer review by rwron

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by rwron
by rwron

This printer was very easy to install and is proving to be an excellent printer/scanner/copier. All documents are crisp and clear and exceeding expectations. I can easily recommend this product not only as a high quality printer, but as a terrific value.

rwron
Troy, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Missed huge power savings opportunity
12/26/2011

Customer review by AZMadMax

4.0 stars 12/26/2011 by AZMadMax
by AZMadMax

Overall this all-in-one is a good value, but Samsung missed a huge opportunity for additional power savings. This unit goes into power saving mode after one minute by default, which is fine. The problem is that the unit "wakes up" the entire system, including the power hungry fuser heaters, whenever anything happens, including outgoing faxes, scanning, or the phone just rings. I can *maybe* see anticipating an incoming fax, but certainly not for scanning or outgoing faxes. How do I know the fuser heaters are activating? The lights in my office literally dim, there is such a power surge. This is so annoying I have resorted to unplugging the telephone line from this device when I am not actively faxing. The better approach would be for Samsung to only "wake up" the portions of this unit that make sense for the immediate work to be done. Keeping the fuser heaters off until something is actually going to print would be prudent and "green".

AZMadMax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Lots of Power Consumption
5/28/2013

Customer review by Mack76

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by Mack76
by Mack76

This printer dims my lights every time it comes on. I think that the scanner light and the laser are powering up. Perhaps a firmware update could limit the scanner from powering up unless really needed to save power. The unit was easy to set up, even as a networked printer set-up. So, I was very pleased with this. This printer seems to do well, the ecomode saves paper, ink, and power. Waiting for time to see how it holds up for the total cost of ownership. The cost per page is great, and I am excited to not have the color feature or buying inkjet cartridges. I have seen some issues with printing 1, I, and i with this unit in ecomode with gray scale printing.

Mack76
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Pretty good, but would be better if
11/26/2013

Customer review by PrettyGoodMachine

4.0 stars 11/26/2013 by PrettyGoodMachine
by PrettyGoodMachine

Good machine, however, would be better if it can do duplex scanning as well. Would have liked if manufacturer would sell an accessory to do that, but no such luck.

PrettyGoodMachine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Problem Scanning at High Resolution
9/19/2012

Customer review by LinuxUser

2.0 stars 9/19/2012 by LinuxUser
by LinuxUser

The scx-4729fd multifunction printer has a problem scanning at resolution above 600 dpi when used on Linux OS. I cannot say if there is a problem on other operating systems but because of this issue I cannot recommend this printer for Linux OS.

LinuxUser
Midwest USA Linux User
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate