Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Sharpening Made Easy
12/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent sharpening system that brings a very fine edge to all types of knives, and does so very quickly and easily. I collect a lot knives, but am not very good at keeping their edges maintained as every time I try to use a sharpening stone, I can't seem to get the right angle and end up making the edges dull. Electric sharpeners don't seem to get the edges as sharp as I would like either, so I've been been very frustrated in all of my sharpening efforts until I found this great sharpener by Spyderco. The design of this tool pretty much eliminates the need to set your knife at the right angel. All you need to do is to hold the blade like you would to slice a tomato and the sharpener does the rest. I've been able to put excellent edges on nearly all of my knives. I'm told that this also does a great job on serrated edges, but I haven't attempted those yet. But for straight edged knives, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple to use and works as it should
8/20/2012

Customer review by Macchiavelle

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Macchiavelle
by Macchiavelle

Great product, excellent at getting a dull knife or tool back to razor sharp. Free hand sharpening can be difficult; it is sometimes hard to maintain the consistent angle you are looking for on your edge bevel. With this product, all you need to do is keep the knife straight up and down. One suggestion, while the two sets of ceramic rods that come in this set are sufficient for most of your sharpening needs, you may want to consider purchasing some additional rods compatible with this device. For major re-profiling or restoring a significantly damaged edge, you may want to pick up the diamond rods. These are more aggressive than the coarse ceramic stones and will cut down on the sharpening time significantly. For a truly polished edge, you may want to pick up the ultra fine stones.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macchiavelle
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Spyderco sharpener
6/8/2016

Customer review by Pedro

4.0 stars 6/8/2016 by Pedro
by Pedro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart provided an accurate description of this item. It performed as advertised and the instructional DVD was helpful. I believe a medium grit diamond stone would be beneficial to start with on a dull blade. The Spyderco product appears to be very good at finishing an edge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pedro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SharpMaker
1/8/2016

Customer review by PaulB

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by PaulB
by PaulB

Easy to use and performs as advertised. I wouldn't recommend it for re-profiling a blade but for maintaining a sharp edge or sharpening a dull blade it's an excellent product. Again, fast and easy to use with great results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaulB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Knife Sharpener I have ever owned.
9/14/2013

Customer review by marketpromba

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by marketpromba
by marketpromba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can't say enough good things about this sharpener. The price was steep but the reviews were very good so I took a chance. After the first few knives I was getting the hang of it and was able get my knives razor sharp. Sharp enough to shave with. I recommend watching the video a few times and keep the booklet handy. You will need to work with it several times to get the hang of it, but once you do, you will be sharpening every knife in your house and maybe even your neighbors! It's really easy and kind of fun. This is one great knife sharpener. It is well worth the money and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marketpromba
Gulf Breeze, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Razor blade edge
4/20/2016

Customer review by Thrasher

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Thrasher
by Thrasher

The spydero sharpmaker is definitely the best sharpener I have ever used. It has easy to follow instructions that will lead you to a hair shaving sharp edge. If your in the market for a sharpener I guarantee you will love everything about this sharpener including the edge it will produce on each knife.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thrasher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Must have!
3/12/2014

Customer review by Chris04086

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by Chris04086
by Chris04086
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can't say enough about this product. Does exactly what it's suppose to do, maintain your edge. Where it excels is its ability to take a sharpening challenged person like myself and make you feel like you know a thing or two. If you're trying to create a new bevel you will need to get the more aggressive stones. Other than that, I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris04086
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent sharpener
10/21/2012

Customer review by Maxxie12

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Maxxie12
by Maxxie12

I've been looking for an economical way to sharpen the household knives and after reading reviews decided on the Spyderco system. It's simple to use and I really like the fact that it all fits in a compact storage container. I like this over electric sharpeners because it takes off a minimal amount of material to get the job done, extending the life of the knives.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maxxie12
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Excellent !
4/14/2016

Customer review by kyfishslayer

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by kyfishslayer
by kyfishslayer

I am a novice when it comes to sharpening knives. This was very easy to use. Was able to get a hair shaving edge the first time I used it. I can only imagine the results getting even better as I get more practice with it. Very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyfishslayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not built well
3/4/2016

Customer review by Yisra

1.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Yisra
by Yisra

The sticks are loose and rock Makes it very difficult Sharpens incorrectly Not a steady angle Wondering if it is a copy from China Was really surprised at the big lack of quality Something is not right, because I believe spyderco is a great company.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yisra
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to Use
12/3/2013

Customer review by AdoptiveDad

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by AdoptiveDad
by AdoptiveDad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Spyderco Sharpening is great. It is well made, easy to use and works like a charm. The price for this item through Wal-Mart is excellent, since the manufacturer sells it for $99 on their site as the recommended price. Some buyers at other sites bought apparent "knock offs" that looked like this product, but were just cheap copies so make sure you are buying from a reputable business.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdoptiveDad
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart cut everyone's price by LOTS. Got it fast.
1/5/2014

Customer review by jmzjojo

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by jmzjojo
by jmzjojo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart cut everyone's price by LOTS. I took the free shipping and it was on my doorstep in 3 days..... Now that is EXCELLENT service! As for the knife sharpening kit...I Love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmzjojo
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item. Great price. A+
1/7/2016

Customer review by Whoville

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Whoville
by Whoville

This is a fantastic item. The design is very slick (fits everything solidly and securely into one carry case that doubles as the unit's base and handle). The instruction DVD and accompanying colored manual are well done. The sharpening system itself works wonders on items such as kitchen knives, pocket knives, and scissors. I have not tried the item on anything else just yet. Hard to beat Walmart's price for this item. This item would be a great gift idea for any kitchen, workshop, or sportsman pack. Rating = A+

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whoville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SCARY SHARP
5/8/2015

Customer review by Pappy

5.0 stars 5/8/2015 by Pappy
by Pappy

This is without a doubt the best knife sharpener I have ever owned. The rest of my many whetstones, clamp on sharpeners, etc. are now history at my house. The only down side is that the stones sharp edges will nick if you drop them in the sink while washing them. All in all I am very happy with this purchase. Walmart had the best price by 20 or more dollars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spyderco
12/7/2015

Customer review by spydy

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by spydy
by spydy

I have bought lots of sharpeners over the years, manual and motorized, and the Spyderco is the overall best one I have for speed, ease of use, and sharpening results.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spydy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value by far!!!
11/9/2012

Customer review by tater77

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by tater77
by tater77

Cant say enough about the edge this product delivers. Booklet and video are very informative. I used to use flat stone for sharpening before, never again, gets my knife from dull to arm hair shaving in 15 min roughly. Simple product, easy to use, excellent value for price point.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tater77
Northeast PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Scary sharp
12/9/2013

Customer review by Rtijerina

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Rtijerina
by Rtijerina

Its the easiest way to get your knives scary sharp, from dull to shaving sharp in about 15 minutes, the dvd its very good, step by step guide and product instructions make this system very complete.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rtijerina
mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Sharpener
12/28/2015

Customer review by ftmitch

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by ftmitch
by ftmitch

I like my SharpMaker enough that I bought a couple for gifts for friends and family. I enjoy sharpening my knives and tools, and this Spyderco product makes it incredibly easy and effective. Also, this was the best price by almost $30-$40 that I've seen anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ftmitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use!!! Great results !!
12/7/2015

Customer review by Zubi

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Zubi
by Zubi

Esy to use , fast results!!! Well made, nice and sturdy!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zubi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spyderco
6/11/2015

Customer review by Dwinterone

5.0 stars 6/11/2015 by Dwinterone
by Dwinterone

This product was recommended by a friend and it works great! Prior to owning this I was using an electric knife sharpener. What I finally realized was that it's basicly a grinder, grinding away at my knife blades. They ended up having pits along the length of the blade. When the Spyderco sharpener arrived it seemed so small, how can this sharpen anything. I put it together which took like 3 min. And begun to sharpen my once pitted knives. After some time, because my knife blades were in such bad shape, I have very sharp knives. And they are easier then ever to maintain. I love the ease of use of this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dwinterone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews