Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 41 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Unbelievable for the price!!
1/20/2012

Customer review by WalmartShopper90

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by WalmartShopper90
by WalmartShopper90

I read a lot of reviews about slicers before settling on this one, I hadn't been able to find one below $100 anywhere. So of course I was skeptical about this one, but I know how great wal mart is with returns, so I thought why not. I bought this meat slicer to slice venison and beef to make jerky, It came completely assembled which I thought was great, I cleaned all the contact surfaces prior to using, read the manual. I had all my meat already partially thawed out about 5-8 lbs, had my prep area all ready laid out, meat ready before I turned the unit on. I sliced all the meat in about 8 minutes. The unit worked perfectly, the blade never slowed down. I had it set for pretty thin (less than a 1/4 in) every slice turned out great!!! I do believe that if you were to use it longer than ten minutes that the motor might start to slow or smell, you would then have to wait 30 minutes before using again, but I already knew that before starting. Make good use of the time the motor is on and you will not be disappointed in this machine. I removed the blade, washed it carefully, dried it and then took a soapy cloth and washed all the areas on the unit that contacted the meat and wiped down, put the blade back on, all took less than 5 minutes, since it came pre assembled, I just sat the unit back in it's original box to put up for storage. If you want something to use for a job less than ten minutes, then this unit is for you. I didn't find it to be flimsy, I found it to be very attractive. For the price, I am EXTREMELY happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (147) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShopper90
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
2/6/2012

Customer review by Sulldog

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by Sulldog
by Sulldog

I was happy to find a slicer with 200 watts and under $100 but quickly found out why the price is what it is being sold for. The appearance is very nice but this little machine suffers from a lack of durabilty. I used it 2 times and after cleaning the outside I decided to take the blade off for more cleaning. A cheap plastic spacer fell out upon lifting the blade with one of its retainers broken. I spent 20 minutes trying to work around this defect but just couldn't put it back together. A metal spacer and fastener probably would have been better during manufacturing. I will be returning this machine for another brand.

Was this review helpful? (65) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sulldog
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Primitive appliance
2/14/2012

Customer review by GM09

3.0 stars 2/14/2012 by GM09
by GM09

Pros: The wattage is great – 200 Wt. The slicer is working and for the price is unbeatable. Cons: The appliance is very primitive like technical accomplishment. There is no option to fix the thickness of slices, the blade is not perfectly vertical, and it rotates not exactly around the pivot (if the speed was faster that will cause wobbling), the plastic spacer fall apart after first disassembling for cleaning (it makes me nervous every time when install it)

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GM09
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I had my doubts
9/20/2012

Customer review by beerluvr

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by beerluvr
by beerluvr

Exceedes my expectations so far. It works like a pro model. Hint: When cleaning DO NOT take out the center screw. Instead, take out the 3 small screws that are on the blade near the center.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beerluvr
Gilbert,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/21/2012

Customer review by Ericnronda

1.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Ericnronda
by Ericnronda

Used it once the plastic ring inside was so hard to put back After cleaning then the ring broke. Maybe that's why it wasn't Expensive.O

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ericnronda
Would recommend to a friend? No
great low cost slicer
5/10/2012

Customer review by large56

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by large56
by large56

one caution, if you take the blade apart , a plastic ring/washer around 4 inches may fall out, if this happens the only way i found to get it to stay in place was to use a few small drops of quick glue to hold in place, or best yet learn how to clean blade leaving it on the slicer, i use soap then a bleach solution and q tips

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
large56
MAINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product for the price
9/2/2012

Customer review by WeKnead1Anotehr

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by WeKnead1Anotehr
by WeKnead1Anotehr

The slicer is a good value. It does what it is supposed to do, is easy to clean, has sufficient safety mechanisms in place including suction cup feet so it doesn't slide around while you're working with it, and is fairly compact for easy storage. I've used it to cut tomato slices, zucchini, cucumbers, and meat. The easy to use knob allows you to set the thickness of the cut. It really is a good value considering other slicers sell for so much more. I'm not planning to use it everyday so it should last a long time. If you're wanting a heavy duty slicer for everyday use, you may decide to chose one of those expensive models but this will get you by for simple uses. The only thing I would change on it if i could would be to make a machine that cleaned itself. Since that is unlikely, maybe they'll figure out a way to detach the electrical mechanisms with a quick twist and allow the rest of the machine to be put in the dishwasher.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeKnead1Anotehr
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A nice inexpensive slicer but has a few concerns.
8/16/2013

Customer review by Deletethisrequirement

4.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Deletethisrequirement
by Deletethisrequirement

This is a good looking slicer and the motor operates properly. I noticed that the BACK PLATE (that the meat rests against) was not parallel to the BLADE by about 6 degrees so if you want perfect slices it ain't gonna happen. Also, the PUSHER has a 1/2 inch gap between it and the PLATFORM which for me was problematic when slicing soft roasts. And I had trouble keeping the PUSHER in place while slicing large meats and it left a 1/2 gap between the BLADE and the PUSHER so no way to finish the last 1/2 inch of the roast. While slicing a large roast for beef jerky, as I got the meat cut all the way through, the roast would stick to the blade and rotate out of my control. I sprayed PAM on the blade and cured the problem. The slicer operated well without any surprises and cleaned up relatively easy. The reason for not recommending this slicer is personal as I need a larger blade for my needs, not because of this slicers value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deletethisrequirement
Plainview, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Anything is better than this
3/30/2012

Customer review by fyxer

1.0 stars 3/30/2012 by fyxer
by fyxer

Unit looks nice and not to loud when running. It does not slice evenly across the meat and the thickness varies a lot. I would have returned it but i trashed the box and stuff after my initial test to make sure it powered on and sounded well. It replaces a similar priced unit that is not around any more so I was unable to get a new blade. I also gave my old one away to a relative who uses a slicer less than I do, so the effort of using a dull blade was not a big deal. It just seems this thing was designed and sent to production with out any input from someone who has even used a slicer before. You could likely get more uniform results with a average knife.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fyxer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Exceeded Expections
3/14/2013

Customer review by CheapSaver

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by CheapSaver
by CheapSaver

This is a professional tool for the home. Compact and powerful; not overwhelming; convenient for small space. The Price Is better than Right!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheapSaver
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for slicing homebaked breads!
3/4/2013

Customer review by Morcael

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Morcael
by Morcael

We bought this in the hopes of getting even slices of bread from the loaves we make in our bread machine and were not disappointed! This is an awesome machine! It feels sturdy, slices beautifully and has suction cups on the bottom that hold it in place while you're using it! I LOVE this machine and would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Morcael
Brooksville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A mini professional slicer, works like it too....
9/12/2012

Customer review by CaptVR

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by CaptVR
by CaptVR

Unit appears made better than most of the lesser expensive slicers. The sliding table was sticking a bit, but with a couple of drops of vegi oil on them, it worked super smooth. The thickness plate is not totally square to the blade, but the slices appeared uniform in thickness, so beit. I sliced up a 2lb Cuban pork loin for Cuban sandwiches, took less than 2 minutes. I found slicing about as fast as watching the speed at the deli. I am quite impressed for the buck, I don't think one can do better. A lot of folks complain about these small slicers, this one included, much of the slicing proficiency is the technique that the person uses. To slice a brisket, cool it an then partially freeze it as you would raw meet for making jerky. Roasts, Hams, pork loins, etc., take from oven, leave rest as you would for carving with a knife, through up on the slicer and have great uniform pieces. Were saving big bucks on bulk lunch meets and cheeses. Meets and cheeses in the deli $7.-$9. a pound. 3 to 10lb bulk, $4.-$6 a pound. We simply slice up a pound or two, put the rest in the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptVR
St.Petersburg, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome slicer
4/8/2012

Customer review by solaristm

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by solaristm
by solaristm

Bought this slicer to dehydrate chicken and veggies for my pups. It works perfectly. Plenty of adjustment for thickness. Fairly easy to clean. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solaristm
Long Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
3/31/2013

Customer review by Bear40

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Bear40
by Bear40

This product is needed in every kitchen and is a definite money saver

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bear40
Atlantic City, N J
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
While the least expensive, it does a great job.
7/27/2013

Customer review by Cloud4915

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Cloud4915
by Cloud4915

So far we have done ham, thin sliced, though not shaved. Did a great job. Easy to use. A little messy to clean, but very acceptable. Walmart shipped to our door quickly at no charge. We are very happy with the product and the buying experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cloud4915
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value
10/17/2013

Customer review by diane445544

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by diane445544
by diane445544

there was no washer and it sliced pretty even. good for occasional use. blade comes off with one screw not 6. and it doesnt take up much room either!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diane445544
fountain inn sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We are pleased
11/1/2013

Customer review by schissing

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by schissing
by schissing

We have now used it to slice our German bread that we order from a German bakery which is more solid than the American kind and it works well. Have also sliced some cooked turkey and that came out nice. So far we are very pleased. anita

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schissing
Beverly Hills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great slicer
11/14/2012

Customer review by hollyhobby101

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by hollyhobby101
by hollyhobby101

After reading reviews I was hesitant to purchase, but I knew Walmart would return it if needed. We are very happy. I made jerkey for 8 days. And was finally able to perfect it. Thanks to my new slicer!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hollyhobby101
preston, id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
simple to use
9/29/2013

Customer review by oldtexasan

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by oldtexasan
by oldtexasan

I purchased this to slice simple cuts of meat, roast, brisket, etc. Works great, just sliced two roast in under 15 minutes!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldtexasan
Gatesville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a great thing!
6/23/2013

Customer review by SMokerDaddy

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by SMokerDaddy
by SMokerDaddy

I read comments on the Internat indicating that $1,000 slicers were marginal, and almost lost hope But wait - what's that on the horizon? It's the Magic Chef Food Slicer, here to save the day! Easy to use, haven't lost a finger yet, and far less expensive than I thought couldbe possible. What's not to like! Buy one now - if cash is a problem, trade in the dog!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMokerDaddy
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews