Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 44 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Good entry-level receiver
2/28/2012

Customer review by XJCoupe

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by XJCoupe
by XJCoupe

This receiver replaced an older home-theater-in-a-box system that didn't support HDMI. Our TV and this unit are in a smallish guest room/office, which means that there's more than enough power for reasonable listening levels. We didn't want or need a network-connected receiver at this point, so we got this model instead of the next step up. Pros: - Very good sound quality (5.1 configuration) for movies and music - Understated styling - Good front panel controls (all things considered) - Good automatic speaker and EQ calibration Cons: - Terrible on screen display and menu system (used for preferences and iPod interface) - Slow HDMI switching (several seconds until the selected input appears) - Remote layout isn't user-friendly - Limitations on which audio inputs can be associated with sources (check the manual at Pioneer's site before buying if this is a potential concern) - No front-panel HDMI input - No rear-panel iPod input (I'd much rather connect my iPod/iPhone dock to the back of the unit than have the included white cable sticking out of the front panel) At the end of the day, this is a lot of receiver for the money, and it does well that the most important thing, which is playing music or movies. There are some limitations, though overall we're happy.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XJCoupe
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mid Range Specs, Reasonable Value, Easy Setup
3/13/2012

Customer review by Mizrable

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Mizrable
by Mizrable

After spending six weeks trying to get 2 different Sony STR-DH810's to function properly, I fell back on my earlier research & verified my second choice which is this Pioneer VSX 921K A/V Receiver. The good news is that it setup extremely easy and worked correctly the first time! I had originally favored the Sony since I also have a Bravia TV and had believed (mistakenly) that it would sync up with the A/V receiver, and of course it didn't. Avoid the STR-DH810. Sony has discontinued it along with the remote. One of my issues was a faulty remote and there were only 2 refurbs available with both on E-Bay, and they listed for more than $140. For those of you that like to control the miniscule aspects of setup, you should purchase a model farther up the scale. Everyone else will be more than satisfied with good sound that remains, once set to where you want it. I suggest you invest in the Pioneer VSX 921K A/V Receiver soon as they are likely to disappear from the market quickly!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mizrable
South Eastern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal on a great product
3/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I own 2 of the Pioneer VSX1021-K A/V receivers and needed a third unit for the master bedroom. I shopped all over the place. The VSX921-K from Walmart was right in my sweet spot for price and happens to be feature heavy and Pioneer quality. While I have not yet hooked it up, I am sure I'll be pleased. The 1021-K's I already have are insanely awesome in every way. Sound is fantastic, and the receiver is loaded with features like the 921-K. Walmart's price was absolutely the best by far. The delivery was flawless too. The unit arrived here within 2 days, using standard shipping. I plan on hooking it up tomorrow. Using it with a new LG 50" PA6500 Plasma, Sony SS-F6000 (fronts), Sony SS-CN5000 Dual Center Channel, Sony SS-B1000 5 1/8-Inch Bookshelf Speakers rears), and the Sony SA-W2500 Performance Line 100 Watt Subwoofer. I would have liked to go with Polk's, but my budget did not allow for that. I hope the 921-K isn't too much for the Sony speakers. Thanks Walmart for a great price and even better service.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Plainfield,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound! Great price!
3/12/2012

Customer review by ProBrewer

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by ProBrewer
by ProBrewer

I bought this to replace an aging Sony 5.1 receiver and couldn 't be happier! I highly reccomend this receiver to anyone looking too step up to a 7.1 system! Looks sharp! Sounds great! I Have a blu ray player, Xbox 360 and media center pc hooked up (through hdmi) and everything looks and sounds amazing! Setup with the included microphone was a breeze! Once you hear a movie in DTS master audio or DOLBY True HD your life wont be the same! Trust me! Buy this receiver! You will not find a better one for the money!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProBrewer
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seems under powered
4/20/2012

Customer review by fieldboss

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by fieldboss
by fieldboss

I purchase this as a replacement of a SONY (DH-STR810 7.1 channel) that also had HDMIs. SONY had to many issues in not handling hdmi TV, constantly kept switching off. Return to Walmart (best return policy out there) and ended up purchasing the Panasonic based on various reviews. While the hdmi works better (although it flakes out when going from a regular channel to a HD channel turns the screen purple, sometimes it will auto correct, other times I have to shut it off and back on). My main concern is that it seems to have under power sound out to my Onkyo speakers (7). while watching TV the volume needs to be at 40+ to be heard at a decent level. My Non HDMI Onkyo receiver could have the volume set at 22-25. The plus is that there is a ton of inputs. Hookup was straight forward and for the most part the manual answer questions. There are tons of sound listening combinations (to many), I was hoping for the no brainier where the Panasonic would recognize the type of program or movie being viewed and auto select. I'll give it another month before I make my final decision as to whether or not to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fieldboss
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best in its Class
3/22/2012

Customer review by Voleman

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Voleman
by Voleman

Well, I did it, I finally made up my mind as to which A/V Receiver I wanted. This Pioneer VSX-921-K is the lucky one to be in my home giving me much musical pleasure. I had researched for months as which one would not break the bank or lack the extras that I wanted. The runner-up was Onkyo. I'm very happy with this receiver, not just for the quality of the unit, but for all around sound output. I have had four Pioneer 100 watt floor speakers now for 20+ years, and I had a Sony Receiver previous to this Pioneer, and the technology in this unit is superior. My old speakers are like new again, with more sound than ever before. I have not got into the blue tooth adapter yet, so I can't say to as how well that works. From what I read there are pros and cons, as there is with most things. This unit does require some time to adjust all speakers and the sounds the way you want to here them along with adding your components to your remote. When all said and done, all I have to do is sit back and say WOW!!!!!! You won't be sorry, get one today....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Voleman
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pioneer VSX-921-k A/V Receiver
2/3/2012

Customer review by jabur

4.0 stars 2/3/2012 by jabur
by jabur

I don't like doing a reveiw on a product after only owning it for a month - so far, "certainly" does everything I need it to do: "Rock the House" 7.1 DTS Tru HD Master audio. yes, after spending a lot of $$$ on components "I have my own Theatre downstairs" works exceptionally Well!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jabur
Prior Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/9/2012

Customer review by rilew44

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by rilew44
by rilew44

What a beauty! With five HDMI jacks, I have connected all my A/V gadgets including my Wii to it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rilew44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great receiver for the price
4/7/2012

Customer review by Moburgers

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Moburgers
by Moburgers

Pros: - Great sound. Easy to set up. Cons: - HDMI standby pass through feature only works with HDMI CEC devices - The model number VSX-921-K is very close to the European model number VSX-921. A warning to others -- don't get confused between the two models when you are doing your online research. The European model is equivelant to the North American VSX-1021-K. - The optional Bluetooth adapter AS-BT200 has a very short range of 8-10 feet. - The HDMI input are pre-named and there is no way to change the names (Video1, BD, DVD, DVR/BDR)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moburgers
Surrey, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/22/2012

Customer review by BLVLCB

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by BLVLCB
by BLVLCB

This is my first time writing a view ever. That's how impressed I am with this product. It meets all of my needs and then some that is why it is receiving a 5 stars. I do not even need to say "it was good for its' price" because it does not matter. It gets a bit ridiculous when people buy an item but since it doesn't cost a lot they cannot give it a full 5 stars. I would love to put this up against anyone who paid more. The sound and bass quality is excellent. You do not have to turn it up past 15 to hear every little noise in a movie or in a song and get your house to shake! The fact that I did pay such a small price for something that should cost more makes me even more happy. People, enjoy what you find and don't judge it just because you didn't pay a fortune. This receiver is a STEAL. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLVLCB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
attractive, many features for the price
7/14/2012

Customer review by BiomedElecEng

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by BiomedElecEng
by BiomedElecEng

Lots of goodies. I'd considered a 5.1 Receiver but a slight rewiring of my surround speakers allowed a 7.1. Very glad I upgraded. If your active subwoofer has an auto-on feature, using the Front L/R or Center binding post (speaker or high-level) outputs instead of the Subwoofer (RCA) jack will speed turn-on and minimize the chance or level of ground-loop-induced hum. If connected to multiple HDMI devices, you may want to defeat Synchronized Power ON/OFF on all the units.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BiomedElecEng
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Decent Amp
8/27/2012

Customer review by rkmiller

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by rkmiller
by rkmiller

Sorry, what us older audiophiles used to call "amps," I guess are now "receivers" -- though in the old days only sound was handled by the amp. Whatever you call it this is a very good, flexible central sound controller with the flexibility of a 5.1 or 7.1 configuration (for only about $20 more). It covers about any digital sound input, which for ease would make one tend to use the auto sound configuration, but like digital cameras, you can still go "manual" if you like and test what output signal/mode sounds best in your room. The automatic speaker distance equalizer is nice. The video signal upgrade feature is great as I have an old VHS hooked to by RCA and it produces a close-to-HD quality picture. Lots of inputs for both sound and video so you should not want for an empty slot to hook a device.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rkmiller
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PIONEER VSX-921-K $229.98 ON SALE AT WALMART.COM
7/4/2012

Customer review by FutureBabeRuth

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by FutureBabeRuth
by FutureBabeRuth

Please note, this is my fifth (5th) Pioneer receiver in the past 35 years. Never had one problem ever with a Pioneer receiver. I bought this receiver for several reasons: 1) P R I C E 2) 7.1 3) Made for iPod Certified - Charges Ipod while listening to music 4) HDMI - 4 Inputs - 1 Output 5) On-Screen Display 6) Multi-Channel Acoustic Calibration system (MCACC) - SUPERB FEATURE 7) 3D Capabilities - Although I have never used 3D 8) Spectacular 1080p High-definition Video 9) Advanced Surround I currently have the Pioneer VSX-516 and VSX-710S (well sell this one) and keep the other two. Having used Pioneer receiver's for 35+ years, I know them very well. The Pioneer VSX-921-K purchase here far exceeded my expectations. The ability to connect multiple components using just one HDMI Cord for each one, that is GREAT. I currently used this receiver with AT&T U-Verse (superb product from AT&T), Sony Bravia KDL-55BX520 (nice TV for the money, thanks Sony), and a Samsung BD-D5700 Blu Ray Player (nice player with Internet Apps - Thanks Samsung) and a Logitech Harmony 650 remote (MUST HAVE ITEM). The way the Pioneer VSX-921-K interfaces ALL of these DEVICES is superb indeed. When listening to Pandora through the Samsung Blu Ray Player, the audio is indeed SUPERB. With the Blu Ray Player I have the ability to interface with Net-flex and other APPS, which is great. If your looking for a superb audio video receiver to add to your stereo setup, do not hesitate to purchase this item. For the sale price of $229.98 (current price at Wal-Mart) it's the best deal on an audio video receiver in the USA marketplace. I am WELL PLEASED with this receiver.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FutureBabeRuth
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/1/2012

Customer review by kumate

4.0 stars 4/1/2012 by kumate
by kumate

On most programs i have to turn it up to 40 to begin hearing it dosent have the power i was hoping for. I have a atlantic technology 5.1 system, nice features for the price just wish it has more juice

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kumate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
complicated setup
7/8/2012

Customer review by Pxm000

3.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Pxm000
by Pxm000

Looking for a receiver where I can watch television without needing to turn the receiver on (standby pass thru). This receiver advertised it but it only functions if all the components are hdmi-Cec compatible. Also the sound pass thru setup required going through a few levels of menus to play sound through the tv speakers. But by doing this, ALL components sound goes through the tv speakers (tuner, iPod). Toggling back and forth is not easy to do. The setup is somewhat complicated and not intuitive. If you are looking for a good receiver at a good price and plan to exclusively route sound through the surround speakers, then this is a very good receiver for the price. If you want to route sound to your tv every once in a while, get the competing Sony model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pxm000
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice but to complex
3/15/2012

Customer review by posvibeonly

2.0 stars 3/15/2012 by posvibeonly
by posvibeonly

i really can not say much about this item other than.i returned it because it was a pain to operate . it does not have a hdmi input associated with the tv input. so i had to use the hdmi input for video one. but when i did this this unit has some type of auto input sensor and when i turned on the tv it would automaticly switch its input select to tv. i would then have to switch the input back to video one. this might be due to the lack of my tech skills.but the fact still remains no hdmi input for tv only rgb and if you have like me hdmi out from your sat box this is a problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
posvibeonly
asland,ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/10/2012

Customer review by flodal1003

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by flodal1003
by flodal1003

Buying this Receiver proved to me I don't have to spend huge amount of money to own quality! Wonderfully powerful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flodal1003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price!!
3/6/2012

Customer review by Neededsomehelp

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Neededsomehelp
by Neededsomehelp

My old Yahama receiver was about 15 years old....time for a change. I saw this online from Walmart and could not believe the price!! I looked EVERYWHERE online...including Ebay....and nobody came close. Lots of new gadgets on the Pioneer I never seen before....so I had to have a friend help me set it up!! Sounds great....and works well with my new MP3 player. Could not ask for more on this purchase....it works well with my 47' LG tv I got from Walmart last summer!! When I need something....Walmart is the FIRST place I look.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neededsomehelp
Tinley Park, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/23/2012

Customer review by TheShelbys

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by TheShelbys
by TheShelbys

I'm sort of an amateur tech nerd suffering from champagne taste on a beer budget. This receiver does everything it says it does and produces an awesome sound with my old Bose speakers. I love the iphone/ipod/ipad convenient plug-in in the front. I am so pleased with this purchase! How often in life does something exceed your expectations? Also, Walmart was the best deal on this receiver by far. The next lowest price I could find was still $100 more even on sale.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheShelbys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
3/27/2012

Customer review by FastFreddy40

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by FastFreddy40
by FastFreddy40

Great sound for my 5.1 speaker arrangement. I love how this receiver calibrates itself. It takes a lot of the guesswork out of adjusting the speakers for movie dialogue, music, and action flicks. It's connectivity to the iPad is kind of cool, but a little primitive. I wish I could play my iTunes movies through this receiver, but I haven't been able to do so yet. For the price though, this was way more receiver than I was expecting! Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FastFreddy40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews