Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
1-20 of 25 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Great little drive, seamless with OSX
11/23/2012

Customer review by Oz

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Oz
by Oz

Great drive, I love the fact it's got a shock sensor and ramp loading technology. Many other big players such as WD and Seagate don't offer this on their budget drives. I love the simplicity and small size of the Canvio. It works seamlessly with OSX Snow Leopard formatted for HFS+. Many people are blaming Windows for not detecting it, I say if you buy a cheap computer with a rubbish OS don't blame the HDD, blame the operating system for not including drivers and support for a basic HDD. With the shock sensor, ramp loading system and 3 year warranty I think it's a pretty safe buy if you're concerned about reliability. As with any hard disk drive you've gotta be careful and not move it while in use otherwise it'll be toast! But so far so good.

Oz
Wellington, New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/20/2011

Customer review by cortek

3.0 stars 12/20/2011 by cortek
by cortek

I just purchased the Toshiba Canvio 3.0 to use as backup drive on a MacBook Pro (running Lion). The MBP did not recognize the Canvio, so I plugged it into my iMac and it was easily recognized. I was able to try partitioning and reformatting the drive...but was still unable to have it be recognized by the MB Pro. After a call to Apple Support and subsequently plugging it into a powered USB hub on the MBP, I was finally able to see the partitions. Annoying, but Toshiba should have included a Y-adapter to get more power to the drive if that's what it takes... I plan on returning this drive b/c I don't always want to use a powered USB hub to get it to work on the MacBook Pro.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cortek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Good Choice!
2/7/2012

Customer review by 1CourtJester

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by 1CourtJester
by 1CourtJester

Very easy to use - just plug it in and it's ready to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1CourtJester
Burton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very good external hdd.
11/23/2013

Customer review by jlx78520

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by jlx78520
by jlx78520

It is simple and fast USB v2 writing speed about 30mb/s and USB v3 about 80mb/s, simple to connect using simple phone micro USB cable for usb v2. Works well with linux(android, ubuntu) and windows(xp, 7, 8) haven't tested with mac or other OS. For android device you Need additional power supply. I have never lost data with it. Now I use it to strore all types of data, instaled ubuntu in it and I can't complain, speed is perfect. Recommend for all.

jlx78520
Bedford, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
toshiba canvio 3 / 2usb
8/10/2012

Customer review by wishingstars

1.0 stars 8/10/2012 by wishingstars
by wishingstars

This is NOT mac-compatible! The packaging, etc says it is, but nope, not even having initially reformated the drive to os extended journalled. Mis use, or willy-nilly, it changes the format to DOS / Windows, and absolutely corrupts each and every document, dmg, etc. Think twice - don't buy the drive: pen & paper are much more reliable! Don't let the ads nor the price lure you iin please

wishingstars
warren mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
No User Guide available
8/30/2012

Customer review by justaguy

1.0 stars 8/30/2012 by justaguy
by justaguy

I have spent hours, it seems, trying to find a user guide on the useless Toshiba support website for their Canvio 3.0 portable hard drive. If a guide exists, Toshiba is determined that I won't find it!! There are, however, warnings about harm to my computers if I try to use this to move large photo files and music files from one computer to another.

justaguy
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba Canvio 500 GB
7/13/2012

Customer review by piperbarney

3.0 stars 7/13/2012 by piperbarney
by piperbarney

I bought the drive before coming here to Myanmar (Burma) because of my previous experience with Toshiba electronic proudcts. It has worked fine - even the auto backup which I like. But - now I want to delete some backups and can't find documentation anywhere. If you know of some - please let me know where to find it.

piperbarney
Myanmar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Non-existent documentation
2/22/2012

Customer review by Larry

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Larry
by Larry

We bought this backup drive because of the Toshiba name and our experience with their other electronics which come fully documented with well written instructions. All they provided was a small booklet devoted to explaining their limited warranty. We are still trying to figure out how to extract our files.

Larry
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst HD ever
5/19/2012

Customer review by Disar

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Disar
by Disar

I bought this HD to transfer all of my files of my previous HD. These storage HD drives are used very infrequently. Like maybe one every 3 months. I bought this HD in Dec 2012 and today (May19, 2012). It failed after the THIRD time using it. This product is garbage. I will never buy toshiba again.

Disar
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Great!
10/18/2013

Customer review by J

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by J
by J

I have no idea why there are so many horrible reviews about this product, and people complaining about having no manual or anything. I got a physical manual, and a copy of the manual on the hard drive itself. Not that it really matters, though; I have never had a problem with the drive.

J
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORST HDD EVER
9/5/2013

Customer review by MSAAD

1.0 stars 9/5/2013 by MSAAD
by MSAAD

I used it for 2 months. i am always worried to use it because of the usb cable. it is very sensitive. Toshiba not providing spare cable. i hate how toshiba used a special usb cable for the HDD NOW MY HDD IS NOT WORKING! Tired of searching for another cable that MAY let my HDD work!

MSAAD
SAUDI ARABIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little drive
3/19/2013

Customer review by webspider

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by webspider
by webspider

Read reviews, do not understand the poor reviews.I own 2 of these. One for system backup on win 7, the other for files on both 2.0 and 3.0 systems. I have win7 pro 64, Quad Xeon system and XP system. Plugged it in, works. I do not install the software on the drive. See no need for it.

webspider
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Canvio 3.0
3/2/2013

Customer review by Nan

1.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Nan
by Nan

Bought it, plugged it in. Nothing. No directions. Looked at the web site. Horrible reviews and same complaint. Put it back in the box and will return. Waste of time and gas. Who ever heard of a product with no information on it in the package? Strange...

Nan
San Jose Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Failed - same as others have
1/21/2013

Customer review by Tech

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Tech
by Tech

after using to backup a large quantity of data, it was not recognized by any operating systems that I tried, and would not recover. Lasted three months, just long enough to cause me serious problems....

Tech
Okalhoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Connector intermittent
9/4/2012

Customer review by jschneid

2.0 stars 9/4/2012 by jschneid
by jschneid

I've had this device for about a year. The drive worked as advertised, but the USB connector on the drive case is now intermittent. I will now find out if their warranty service is any good.

jschneid
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Intermitent Cable
5/17/2013

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

The main issue I have withthe product is the connector on the HD is intermitent. I would like to see Toshiba send out a replacement cable to their customers that fixes the problem.

Disappointed
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/26/2012

Customer review by marec

1.0 stars 7/26/2012 by marec
by marec

I have bought a Canvio 3.o. It don't have a guide of installer or how it's drive . I can't to use and the call center in Mexico , don't have solution for it . What I can about it?

marec
Lima Peru
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hardware Good / Software Bad
3/2/2012

Customer review by Kemahsabe

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Kemahsabe
by Kemahsabe

Great little drive. Very portable. Blazing fast on USB 3.0. The included backup software is a different story. It not only didn't work, it caused problems. So I uninstalled it.

Kemahsabe
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped working
1/30/2013

Customer review by gldn51

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by gldn51
by gldn51

Stopped workin after a couple months, plug it in it spins then turns itself off. Not recognized, Put less than 100g on it and won't work. Very dissapointed in Toshiba.

gldn51
Mill Valley,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hate it
2/18/2013

Customer review by samar

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by samar
by samar

Just bought it 2 hours ago and already hate it. others i have purchased were easy as one two three, plug and play and all i wanted was to use as storage.

samar
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews