Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 25 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Good Choice!

Customer review by 1CourtJester

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by 1CourtJester
by 1CourtJester

Very easy to use - just plug it in and it's ready to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Burton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month

Customer review by cortek

3.0 stars 12/20/2011 by cortek
by cortek

I just purchased the Toshiba Canvio 3.0 to use as backup drive on a MacBook Pro (running Lion). The MBP did not recognize the Canvio, so I plugged it into my iMac and it was easily recognized. I was able to try partitioning and reformatting the drive...but was still unable to have it be recognized by the MB Pro. After a call to Apple Support and subsequently plugging it into a powered USB hub on the MBP, I was finally able to see the partitions. Annoying, but Toshiba should have included a Y-adapter to get more power to the drive if that's what it takes... I plan on returning this drive b/c I don't always want to use a powered USB hub to get it to work on the MacBook Pro.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great little drive

Customer review by webspider

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by webspider
by webspider

Read reviews, do not understand the poor reviews.I own 2 of these. One for system backup on win 7, the other for files on both 2.0 and 3.0 systems. I have win7 pro 64, Quad Xeon system and XP system. Plugged it in, works. I do not install the software on the drive. See no need for it.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Portable Drive!

Customer review by G-man

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by G-man
by G-man

Worked perfect straight out of the box! No software pre-installed to hog up space - very nice!!

Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good external hdd.

Customer review by jlx78520

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by jlx78520
by jlx78520

It is simple and fast USB v2 writing speed about 30mb/s and USB v3 about 80mb/s, simple to connect using simple phone micro USB cable for usb v2. Works well with linux(android, ubuntu) and windows(xp, 7, 8) haven't tested with mac or other OS. For android device you Need additional power supply. I have never lost data with it. Now I use it to strore all types of data, instaled ubuntu in it and I can't complain, speed is perfect. Recommend for all.

Bedford, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little drive, seamless with OSX

Customer review by Oz

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Oz
by Oz

Great drive, I love the fact it's got a shock sensor and ramp loading technology. Many other big players such as WD and Seagate don't offer this on their budget drives. I love the simplicity and small size of the Canvio. It works seamlessly with OSX Snow Leopard formatted for HFS+. Many people are blaming Windows for not detecting it, I say if you buy a cheap computer with a rubbish OS don't blame the HDD, blame the operating system for not including drivers and support for a basic HDD. With the shock sensor, ramp loading system and 3 year warranty I think it's a pretty safe buy if you're concerned about reliability. As with any hard disk drive you've gotta be careful and not move it while in use otherwise it'll be toast! But so far so good.

Wellington, New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!

Customer review by J

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by J
by J

I have no idea why there are so many horrible reviews about this product, and people complaining about having no manual or anything. I got a physical manual, and a copy of the manual on the hard drive itself. Not that it really matters, though; I have never had a problem with the drive.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad

Customer review by Ric

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Ric
by Ric

I have 2 of those. No problem after using for 2 or 3 years.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Is The Best

Customer review by I

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by I
by I

Very Nice External HD & I Love it.

New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hardware Good / Software Bad

Customer review by Kemahsabe

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Kemahsabe
by Kemahsabe

Great little drive. Very portable. Blazing fast on USB 3.0. The included backup software is a different story. It not only didn't work, it caused problems. So I uninstalled it.

Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Canvio 500 GB

Customer review by piperbarney

3.0 stars 7/13/2012 by piperbarney
by piperbarney

I bought the drive before coming here to Myanmar (Burma) because of my previous experience with Toshiba electronic proudcts. It has worked fine - even the auto backup which I like. But - now I want to delete some backups and can't find documentation anywhere. If you know of some - please let me know where to find it.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Average hard drive

Customer review by Tiger

3.0 stars 3/25/2012 by Tiger
by Tiger

I bought this hard drive for my official use. It is very expensive but performance is good but not enough with it's price. USB 3.0 is good

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Connector intermittent

Customer review by jschneid

2.0 stars 9/4/2012 by jschneid
by jschneid

I've had this device for about a year. The drive worked as advertised, but the USB connector on the drive case is now intermittent. I will now find out if their warranty service is any good.

Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by MSAAD

1.0 stars 9/5/2013 by MSAAD

I used it for 2 months. i am always worried to use it because of the usb cable. it is very sensitive. Toshiba not providing spare cable. i hate how toshiba used a special usb cable for the HDD NOW MY HDD IS NOT WORKING! Tired of searching for another cable that MAY let my HDD work!

Would recommend to a friend? No
Intermitent Cable

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

The main issue I have withthe product is the connector on the HD is intermitent. I would like to see Toshiba send out a replacement cable to their customers that fixes the problem.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money

Customer review by changes

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by changes
by changes

Two bought. Two failed.

So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Failed - same as others have

Customer review by Tech

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Tech
by Tech

after using to backup a large quantity of data, it was not recognized by any operating systems that I tried, and would not recover. Lasted three months, just long enough to cause me serious problems....

Would recommend to a friend? No
Stopped working

Customer review by gldn51

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by gldn51
by gldn51

Stopped workin after a couple months, plug it in it spins then turns itself off. Not recognized, Put less than 100g on it and won't work. Very dissapointed in Toshiba.

Mill Valley,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hate it

Customer review by samar

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by samar
by samar

Just bought it 2 hours ago and already hate it. others i have purchased were easy as one two three, plug and play and all i wanted was to use as storage.

Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba Canvio 3.0

Customer review by Nan

1.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Nan
by Nan

Bought it, plugged it in. Nothing. No directions. Looked at the web site. Horrible reviews and same complaint. Put it back in the box and will return. Waste of time and gas. Who ever heard of a product with no information on it in the package? Strange...

San Jose Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews