Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

597 vs 10/22 (Iron Sights)
6/21/2012

Customer review by Bikerbudd

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Bikerbudd
by Bikerbudd

On the same day, I bought both a Remington 597 and a Ruger 10/22 Carbine in .22lr. After an afternoon at the range with 500 rounds of Winchester 555, here’s the assessment. Both guns were disassembled and cleaned before going to the range. Both guns were shot by my female companion and me. At the end of the day, we both concluded the 597 is the clear winner. Why? Let me walk through the differences. Stocks - The 597 has a larger stock and fits both her and me better. We’re tall at 5’10” and 6’1” respectfully. When we shoulder the 597, the sights naturally fall into perfect alignment. The 10/22 requires snuggling-up to get a good sight picture. The forestock on the 597 is wider and gives a better rest for adult hands. Iron Sights – Neither of my rifles came with a scope, so I have no opinion of the scope offered. For iron sights, the 597 is adjustable for both windage and elevation by using a screwdriver & 3/32 Allen. The 10/22 can be adjusted for elevation with a screwdriver, but windage takes a hammer. That’s right, a hammer – as stated in the Ruger manual. Magazines – the 10/22 is slightly easier to load (rounds 9 & 10 in the 597 take a bit more grunt to shove in). The magazine release on the 597 is far superior; the mags come out with authority while the gun is in any position and can be dropped with a flick of the mag-release above the trigger guard. The 10/22 mags drop only when holding the stock horizontal with the sights on top. In any other position the mags would not budge without a lot of coaxing. A stronger mag release spring may have helped, but wasn’t the case. Bolt hold-open – The 597 bolt stays open after the last round. Very easy to tell the clip & chamber are empty. To close the bolt – drop the mag and release the bolt. Want the bolt open? Insert an empty mag, pull the bolt back. The 10/22 bolt does not stay open after the last round. Also, the 10/22 bolt lock/release is not easy to operate, as it is between the trigger guard and the mag release. It’s difficult to get to and it operates with an odd rocking motion. We never could operate it smoothly or with one hand. The 597 lets you know immediately that the mag and chamber are empty by holding the bolt open. Not so with the 10/22 – you count your rounds, or pull the trigger until it dry-fires, or open the bolt & look. Accuracy – both guns are better than we are. But because of the stock and overall ergonomics, we produced better groups with the 597. Reliability – Through the first 18 clips the rifles were dead even with no problems. But when the guns started to get dirty, the 10/22 was having FTEs and/or FTLs in every clip. The 597 just kept shooting. Neither rifle had a FTF. Cleaning – Probably an edge to the 10/22, but not enough to deter a 597 purchase. I watched a couple of cleaning videos on YouTube and the 597 was a breeze. Remember – don’t cinch those guiderails too tight or you’ll force them out of alignment. I gave the 10/22 to a friend (who’s restocking it for his grand-kids) and bought another Remington 597 FLX Camo to replace it.

Was this review helpful? (422) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikerbudd
Santa Fe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT GUN
6/18/2012

Customer review by flyboy2001

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by flyboy2001
by flyboy2001

All of my friends have 10/22's and recommended them. I tried EVERY variant of the 10/22 and just didn’t like the way they felt. This gun feel amazing but the “out of the box” accuracy astounded all of my friends. I bought the Remington 30rd. clip (Buy the 30rd Remington clip not an off brand and you will never have a problem… or at least I didn’t.) and put 500+ rounds through it with ZERO FTE’s or any other issues. My ONLY issue with it is they don’t make a speed loader for it… yet. CBRPS also makes a sick bullpup conversion for it.

Was this review helpful? (109) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyboy2001
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
great rifle
1/12/2013

Customer review by 597owner

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by 597owner
by 597owner

Got this for myself for christmas from my wife and just got to shoot it today 1/12/13 and has been driving me nuts to shoot it. Well I shot 100 rounds it was flawless in every aspect, The scope was off about 3 in. at 1:30 set my cross hairs back at bulls eye and adjusted the cross hairs over the hole and then shot second shot and was right on could'nt have been easier just remember to keep gun ridged when moving the cross hairs. It fired,ejected and loaded perfectly, could not ask for anything more. very happy, hope this helps in your decision you wont be sorry. thanks

Was this review helpful? (71) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
597owner
portland tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great rifle
7/20/2012

Customer review by Scout1986

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Scout1986
by Scout1986

This is a great rifle straight out of the box. Great feel, fires accurately, good scope.

Was this review helpful? (76) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scout1986
Killeen TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good value rifle.
6/17/2013

Customer review by Saesneg

4.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Saesneg
by Saesneg

Nice rifle that provides value for money, I found mine needed a fair bit of sighting in but that's just luck of the draw and not a problem. The scope is perfectly fine and I would say is well matched to the rifle. I'm finding some issues with certain ammo, particularly Federal but suspect it's more down to the ammo than the weapon as I get the same problem with it in a Marlin. Be aware that the weapon you get may not exactly match what you see here.....a couple of weeks before I bought mine I had a look and a handle with one and it was exactly as shown in the picture, grey with a silver cover on the ejection port and no studs fixed into the stock. The actual rifle I got two weeks later is black with a black cover to the ejection post and with fitted studs. My guess is it's been re-done as more of a field rifle than a range rifle....fortunately I prefer that. I would say that it depends what the store has in stock so if it matters to you either way then check. Other than that small thing to be aware of I say go and buy yourself one, you get a lot of rifle for the money and I'm pretty happy with mine.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saesneg
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I love mine!
1/17/2013

Customer review by CaptainGT

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by CaptainGT
by CaptainGT

The only problems I have had with mine are related to enjoying shooting it too much and not wanting to stop shooting. One time after shooting about 500 rounds in one session, I touched the barrel and burned my finger. The other time lead built up in the barrel, after shooting 500 rounds of lead tipped bullets,that was a pain to clean out. I never had this problem with jacketed hollow point ammo.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainGT
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5000 rounds later still functions perfectly.
6/21/2013

Customer review by Hammeroid

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by Hammeroid
by Hammeroid

What is there not to like about this rifle?

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hammeroid
Oxford N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
very accurate
1/19/2013

Customer review by sludermotors

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by sludermotors
by sludermotors

Bought this same rifle from DICKS for 189.00 plus one addition clip. for 23.00 shot it several times scope was a little off but bought a bore site adjustment and now its right on target 90% or better of the time, nice rifle for the money also .22 lr is a cheap ammo.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sludermotors
wichita,ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best .22 out there (Except the mags)
6/28/2013

Customer review by indred

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by indred
by indred

This weapon is hands down the best .22 out here. No weapon is perfect, they all misfire, but this 597 missfires less than the common 10/22. That wasn't always the case however. Out of the box it misfired a lot. there seemed to be a protective coating on the rods in the chamber, after a few hundred rounds that coating was dammaged and wouldn't allow the bolt to fully retracts after a shot. I sanded them down with soem 220 grit sand paper and for the past 6 years has worked perfectly. As others have stated, the Mag's are cheap and they fail sometimes, but the actual rifle is great!!! do yourself a favor and get it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indred
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great buy
4/4/2013

Customer review by oddangles

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by oddangles
by oddangles

I bought this for my first rifle and couldn't be happier. Like the other reviews it shoots great and is a perfect buy for a beginner. I now use it as my practice rifle and plinking. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oddangles
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Highly accurate, but unreliable
6/25/2013

Customer review by snatch101

2.0 stars 6/25/2013 by snatch101
by snatch101

I have owned this rifle for about 7 years and have put thousands of rounds through it. What I like: It is VERY accurate. Probably one of the most accurate .22 rifles I've shot, second only to an old Savage 63 that I grew up with. It is also fairly easy to take apart and clean, and it is comfortable to hold. What I do not like: The magazines for this rifle are terrible. I have three of the plastic 10 round ones and a plastic 30 round, all Remington brand. The springs in the small magazines are very weak and the 30 round physically does not FIT into the gun! I had to file a lot of plastic off the sides of it before it would work...pretty sad when a Remington branded mag doesn't even fit in a Remington rifle right out of the box. Secondly, this thing misfires a lot and has since day one. Changing ammunition brand has not helped, although Remington Thunderbolt seems to be the worst. Part of the problem is that the action springs are also very weak and the bolt won't close completely...you have to manually push it forward just a hair after each shot or it will likely not fire. Again, a problem since day one. Third, it collects powder residue very quickly behind the bolt, all over the action springs and rods, and all over the trigger assembly. This makes the misfire/bolt not closing issue mentioned above exponentially worse and it occurs very quickly, after 100 shots or so. It is so bad that I have had to clean it at the range just to continue shooting. Bottom line: I wish I could remove the barrel and put it on another rifle. This is the only gun I own that I regret purchasing. I've shot many other .22 semi-autos including a Stevens that my grandfather had probably never cleaned. All were far more reliable than mine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snatch101
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Best 22 i have ever shot!!!
3/10/2014

Customer review by GUNLOVENGIRL

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by GUNLOVENGIRL
by GUNLOVENGIRL

I got my Remington .22 (Model 597) when i was 12 years old, 8-9 years later it still shoots perfect, never jams (I have put over 5000 rounds through it) It is the best .22 i have had the pleasure of shooting! Shoots super fast, ready to go the second the last bullet leaves the barrel!! I almost never miss with this gun (or with any gun) I don't have the Scope for it (Doesn't really need it but if you want one go for it) I love this gun so much i am looking to get my little sister one (14yrs) she is starting to really get into shooting and wants a gun of her own! All my brothers (4) got a .22 at 12, me and my older sister were the only girls to get a .22 (we both love shooting) now i want my other sister to have an Awesome gun like mine!!! I find it very easy to clean, but it is never too dirty when i clean it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GUNLOVENGIRL
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month