Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-13 of 13 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

"Tactical Schmatical"
6/10/2012

Customer review by GVT1

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by GVT1
by GVT1

This EXACT shotgun is probably used by more LE agencies than any other. It is cheap and reliable. I have shot Thousands of rounds through an 870. I agree with Rangemaster. I've been a Fed LEO for 15 years and we use this EXACT weapon. No rails and all that nonsense. If you need a scope on a shotgun...you shouldn't be carrying. And the definition of tactical does not include...rails and sights and scopes and attachable flashlights. I realize people watch a lot of TV shows where the cops are using flashlights inside people's houses in the middle of the day. But, in real life...WE TURN ON THE LIGHTS!!!

Was this review helpful? (539) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GVT1
Sweet Home, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
5/17/2012

Customer review by RangeMaster209

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by RangeMaster209
by RangeMaster209

I am the firearms range master/armorer for my police department and these are EXACTLY the same shotguns we carry in our cruisers. These guns are straight up utility. The whole "tactical" thing is overused and over-rated. All the extra junk that "tactical" guns have mounted on them is cool but the bottom line is that if you want a dependable bullet launcher that works every time, get this.

Was this review helpful? (974) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RangeMaster209
flint, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Solid and simple.
3/15/2012

Customer review by ilovemy45

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by ilovemy45
by ilovemy45

This 870 is a great home/camp defense option. It is not tactical my any means. There are no rear sights, only a front bead. The receiver is not drilled for optics. But these things aside, this 870 is solid choice.

Was this review helpful? (250) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovemy45
N.W. Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
2/20/2012

Customer review by w30olds

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by w30olds
by w30olds

This is sold and labeled as "tactical" but it's not. It's just an 870 with 7 shot tube. The tactical models from Remington are much different than the Walmart "tactical". I bought one of these and am pleased with the shotgun. Hey it's a Remington 870 and for the price it's great.

Was this review helpful? (245) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w30olds
braselton, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is a Tack Driving Machine!
7/29/2012

Customer review by viziofreak

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by viziofreak
by viziofreak

This shotgun is not a true tactcal but for some reason walmart sells it as one, but none the less its a great shotgun, it never quits and there are a ton of accessories for in on the market. THE ONLY THING I DONT LIKE ABOUT IT IS: if the ejector breaks on a rem 870 it has to be sent back to the manufacture to be drilled out and replaced whereas the mossberg 500 and 590 can be replaced by simply taking out a screw, dropping in a new ejector and retighten the screw. but hey its a Rem 870, they dont know how to fail, they just rock and roll.

Was this review helpful? (76) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viziofreak
77571
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Platform to Build what you want!!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Miketango67

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Miketango67
by Miketango67

My local gunshop had these same 870's for 450 dollars plus tax and background check you can add your own accessories to these and build a CQB 870 or a Frankenstein 870 these guns are Solid and get the job done!! I see other review of ppl saying these are not Tactical Shotguns, they can be whatever you want them the aftermarkets is flooded with accessories for the 870 thanks!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miketango67
Central, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/7/2012

Customer review by swampcop

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by swampcop
by swampcop

Awesome ! Same shotgun I trained with in the academy. No FTF or FTE after 400 shells of anything from #8 to slugs. I wouldn't expect any less of an 870. Walmart price is $20 to $100 less than anyone else. Lots of avialable accessories if your into the full tactical look. Great all around home defense weapon.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swampcop
Parrish, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Titled wrong............
1/19/2013

Customer review by oceanblock

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by oceanblock
by oceanblock

This photo, description and model number are all correct, but it's title is that of the 870 Express Synthetic. The 870 Express Tactical, according to the Remington website, is the model 81198.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oceanblock
Mid-Atlantic region
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
HOME DEFENSE STANDARD
2/9/2013

Customer review by AMERICANRIFLEMAN

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by AMERICANRIFLEMAN
by AMERICANRIFLEMAN

THIS IS TRULY THE BEST VALUE YOU CAN GET FOR A FIREARM DESIGNED FOR HOME DEFENSE OR LAW ENFORCEMENT APPLICATIONS. CAPABLE OF DELIVERING THE 3' MAGNUM ROUND LOADED WITH "00" BUCKSHOT, THIS SHOTGUN CAN HANDLE ANY DEFENSE SITUATION YOU CAN THROW AT IT! HOWEVER, NEW DESIGN CHANGES TO THE SHOTGUN NOW DIFFER THAN THAT PICTURED ABOVE. THE NEWER MODELS NOW FEATURE A ONE PIECE MAGAZINE TUBE WITHOUT THE TWO ROUND EXTENSION AND A TRADITIONAL 870 MAGAZINE CAP. IT STILL OFFERS YOU THE SEVEN ROUND CAPACITY FOR DEFENSIVE SCENARIOS, SO YOU CAN BE CONFIDENT IN A SITUATION WHEN IT COUNTS. ACCESSORIES FOR THIS FIREARM INCLUDING LASERS, LIGHTS, SIGHTS, STOCKS, AND AMMUNITION VARY FAR AND WIDE SO DO YOUR RESEARCH TO FIND OUT WHAT YOU DO WITH IT! MOREOVER, WITH ITS COMPACT DESIGN AND LIGHTWEIGHT PORTABILITY, IT MAKES MANUEVERING IN TIGHT QUARTERS SIMPLE ALLOWING THE USER TO BRING IT TO BEAR ON ITS INTENDED TARGET. TRULY A GREAT CAPABLE WEAPON!

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMERICANRIFLEMAN
WINCHESTER, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Express Synthetic = Great Shotgun
5/21/2013

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by BUTX
by BUTX

Walmart does have the title wrong.....this shotgun (25077) is a Model 870 Express Synthetic. You can look at Remington's website and see the difference between the Tactical and the Express Synthetic. The receiver on this shotgun does have the word "Tactical", but you will not see any rails, etc. This is a great home defense shotgun holding 6 + 1 and with an overall length of 38.5 small enough to maneuver. Overall, this is a great shotgun and you will not be disappointed. If you want all that other stuff buy a different model or you can add rails and put a different grip on this one. The only thing I do not care for is the push button safety behind the trigger, but I have gotten over it. Walmart had/has the best prices around, last time I saw one in Walmart cost was $349.00 + tax.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Highly reliable
12/18/2012

Customer review by Cheapskate87

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Cheapskate87
by Cheapskate87

This was my first shotgun purchase I made when I turned 18. Its very easy to clean, easy to take apart and like all shotguns its very low maintenance. I didn't buy mines from Walmart, I bought mines from Turners Outdoorsman and I paid a sale price of about $329.99, that was back in 2006 so the prices might have went up slightly. It doesn't matter where you get it from, you can NEVER go wrong with a Remington 870. My only issues with this is that there is no swivel on buttstock to put a sling (shoulder strap). I would have to buy an aftermarket buttstock to be able to install a sling because the stock it comes with doesn't give you the ability to install a swivel mount. This shotgun has a wide variety of customizable parts you can install too. Since 2006 I have never had a failure to feed, failure to fire or failure to eject. This is not a shotgun is not something I would recommend to use for skeet shooting, but rather for home defense because the barrel is shorter.

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheapskate87
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome Deterant - Remington 870 Express Magnum
10/11/2013

Customer review by RiverDogs

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by RiverDogs
by RiverDogs

Bought one of these in 2001 shortly after 9-11 for a Federal contract. Luckily have never had to use it but lot's of training & practice shooting with it. Never a feed problem misfire or any issues what so ever with one exception. Using 3" 00 buck magnum it is very powerful which is good but it does kick hard, so be ready. Awesome product. Got mine for $149.99 in 2001.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiverDogs
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
9/26/2013

Customer review by 3460

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by 3460
by 3460

The Remington M870 tactical is an excellent gun. I like how Remington made the magazine tube one piece, full length and moved the tube ring forward on the barrel. Mine is like new but I expect that the reliability and durability will be typical 870

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3460
Bowling Green, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year