Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

18 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Definitely Bleaches!
3/18/2013

Customer review by CloverLilly

4.0 stars by CloverLilly

After reading some of the other reviews I was hesitant to buy this product; mainly because most say it's difficult to measure and mix......those things are true but once you do get the product mixed it works quickly and effectively. I left the product on for the full eight minutes which was actually too long because I was going for a dark brown shade from my natural black brows and the bleach turnd them honey blonde. That wasn't too bad though because I can still use a brown liner pencil and get the results I want. I'll just know next time not to leave the product on as long. I would have given this product five stars had it been easy to mix. I'm hoping for a product like this that doesn't need to be mixed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CloverLilly
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Green upper lip?
8/24/2012

Customer review by CottonCandyy

4.0 stars by CottonCandyy

I used this product due to the fact that I wanted to fix the green discoloration of my upper lip. After using this I definitely saw a difference but after reading around I learned it could take several bleaching sessions until the green is almost completely gone or that I can get lazer therapy. Other than that my lip is alot lighter & I will continue to purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CottonCandyy
Mckinney, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works well, but mixing utensils need improvement
4/12/2013

Customer review by gmttampa

4.0 stars by gmttampa

I have used this product for years to bleach my arm hair. It always works great, and I only leave it on for five or six minutes. I do agree with other reviewers that it can be difficult to mix. I think that is because they give you a flat spatula for something that really needs a spoon. But once you get the idea of the ratio to bleach and activator it's no big deal. I cannot vouch for how well it would work on the face, but it seems to me that this product would be a bit harsh for that area.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gmttampa
Tampa, Fla.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works for me!
5/18/2013

Customer review by Quebella

5.0 stars by Quebella

I have been buying this product for many years. It does the job intended. Thank goodness!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Quebella
Womelsdorf, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great For Me
6/28/2012

Customer review by Artie

5.0 stars by Artie

I read other reviews and don't understand the problem. I have used this product for years. Cover the hair on the facial area to be removed and leave on six minutes, wipe off with wet cloth and rinse well under water. Apply conditioner. Lasts a few weeks.

Artie
Clearwater, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So quick, easy and effective
6/4/2014

Customer review by EFaust

5.0 stars by EFaust

This was super easy to mix and apply. It worked really well. Even my darkest hairs are now platinum blonde. The smell was a little strong, but not bad. The mix also went a really long way. I was able to do both arms and my tummy all in one batch. It didn't even cause irritation.

EFaust
Port Arthur, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product for facial hair
7/30/2014

Customer review by marig

5.0 stars by marig

I have used this product for years i have sideburns and hate the way they look i refuse to shave them or wax them off so this is a great product to bleach the side burns excellent results I use it every month or 2 months it my sideburns are not as noticeable after the use of this product. And I only leave it on my skin for like 5 min and then wash it off. I love it

marig
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
hard to mix
3/9/2014

Customer review by Kd159

3.0 stars by Kd159

The spatula is too large to fit in the activator jar, so tell me how are you supposed to get a heaping spatula full onto the mixing tray?? I dumped some into the cap and did it that way. I don't think this is how it's supposed to be. I don't feel like I got the right mixture, although it does help lighten facial hair.

Kd159
Pa
Gender:Female
Ok results, mediocre packaging.
2/23/2015

Customer review by chrissie612

3.0 stars by chrissie612

I have bleached my upper lip on and off for years, but never tried this product.. and I could go years without ever using it again. The moment I opened the box and laid out the contents, I noticed there was no mixing tray, but didn't think that was too big of a deal so I went ahead with the. The first step was to take a heaping spatula full of the activator- here I ran into an issue. The bottle is such a weird design, it makes it impossible to scoop anything out, or accurately pour anything onto the spatula so like I saw in another review, I poured it into the cap and scooped from there. The rest of the steps went smoothly, and I thought the almond scent was a nice touch,but upon removing the product from my face I noticed I had some bumps. I really wasn't impressed with this product. It wasn't any more effective or inexpensive than my usual brand, was a pain to use, and was missing a piece. I think I'll be sticking to Jolen.

chrissie612
Boston, MA, United States
Gender:Female
Could be improved
6/16/2012

Customer review by elaine

2.0 stars by elaine

It is difficult to measure the product and get accurate amounts so it doesn't feel like it is burning your face. I would be willing to pay more money if you would provide the product in pre measured packets that you merely mixed together to use. The amount currently recommended ends up wasting the product and you could make the packages smaller and then if more were needed all one would have to do was increase the amount of pacakges used.

elaine
PA
Gender:Female
Skip this one
8/18/2012

Customer review by chasingperfection

2.0 stars by chasingperfection

I've used this product several times, and never got a good result...so I just stopped using it. The cream and the powder are difficult to measure and mix. The results are mixed: dark, thick hair is still pretty noticeable, thinner and lighter hair is fairly invisible. The hair it's effective on, I wouldn't have really bothered to bleach. I end up plucking/waxing the dark, thick hair (which is the whole reason I got the bleach in the first place). You might be okay if your hair is only slightly visible, but this product was not for me.

chasingperfection
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Quality control needed at factory
2/4/2014

Customer review by Linder1

2.0 stars by Linder1

I was very surprised to read reviews stating the bleach was too thin. I have used this product for years, but for about the last year -- no matter where I purchase it -- the bleach part is always dried out and hard. The cover is never tight on the jar so the bleach is so hard you cannot really mix it well with the activator. I've actually added water to make it spreadable. The bleach also seems very strong at that thickness. Whatever machine or human is responsible for putting on the caps needs calibration

Linder1
Green Bay, WI
Gender:Female
Quality not like past purchases
1/10/2015

Customer review by Harley

2.0 stars by Harley

I have used this product for many years. The last 2 boxes purchased, did not work like previous purchases. One box, it did not work at all. Did not bleach the hairs. The 2nd box, the activator clumped. Also the spatula cannot fit into the activator bottle. Makes it very difficult. Not happy with a product I have used for years with no problems. Thank you.

Harley
Kingston, PA, United States
Gender:Female
Works
10/16/2012

Customer review by Bzzz

1.0 stars by Bzzz

I have used this product for 30+ years. It has always worked well, but the last 2 boxes that I bought were messed up! The small bottle of powder had an unusual shape inside, making it hard to get the powder out. After the first use, the remaining powder had turned gooey and was no good. Not sure if they were defective, but I had 2 alike. Expensive for 1 use per purchase. I guess it's time to switch to another company's similar product. They need some quality control.

Bzzz
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not what it used to be
7/14/2013

Customer review by Lou7

1.0 stars by Lou7

I agree with Jen7. This product has changed and is no longer any good. It is much thinner, doesn't apply as easily, and doesn't bleach like it should, even when applied a 2nd and 3rd time. If it doesn't last even a week, what's the point of spending so much $$ on it. I'm going back to Nivea.

Lou7
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not work
9/15/2013

Customer review by Shari

1.0 stars by Shari

I'm not sure what has changed with this product but it does not lighten dark brown hair any longer. I am very disappointed because this used to be an excellent hair lightening product.

Shari
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A sad end to a formerly great product
1/21/2015

Customer review by Blah

1.0 stars by Blah

I've been using this for over 30 years. I watched as the mixing tray devolved into a piece of cardboard. I watched as the powder packaging devolved into something so cheaply made that moisture leaked through and turned the powder into an unusable clump. (I stopped storing it in the bathroom, and still had the same problem storing it in my bedroom...in one of the driest climates in the U.S.) Then came the narrow neck of the powder container, so you can't fit the spatula in there to scoop out powder. And now the creme container is so poorly made it's virtually impossible to get a tight seal, so it leaks all over the package. To make matters worse, the cream is now so thin it's almost impossible to use on the face -- it drips off. I've bought several packages over the last two years, hoping to see improvement. But now I give up. Sorry, Sally Hansen. You just lost my business.

Blah
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bad
2/15/2015

Customer review by ashley1

1.0 stars by ashley1

I don't think this product is good overtime. I used this and as it was burning as I waited I had to take it off and there were light patches on my face. It scared me and I will never use it again. I didn't even bleach my hair.

ashley1
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female