Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

43 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
14
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
6/24/2012

Customer review by jslsf

5.0 stars by jslsf

if you are ok waxing yourself, i highly recommend this. one of the biggest pains in self-waxing is the wax cooling and getting hard and having to constantly reheat. you don't have that problem with this kit. it feels a little cheap and flimsy but it works.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jslsf
san francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good buy
12/26/2012

Customer review by Lysh23

4.0 stars by Lysh23

This is an excellent product to have at home and it doesn't require any strips to remove the wax; just apply and let it cool a bit and then you can take it off. I think that's different but VERY AWESOME. It's really pretty easy to use. The price is awesome too, less than $20. I guess with that comes a few cons: the wax tin is very small in my opinion hence there's not a lot of wax in it (don't be alarmed though, they sell refill kits for $10, nice catch), 2: the wax does take longer than the 25 minutes they claimed it needed to heat. This didn't really bother me though because I allowed it heat while I was using my epilator to remove the hair from my legs. I used the wax after epilating to remove the "stray" strands the epilator left behind. It removed them completely with ease. I also used the wax to remove my facial hair, it didn't leave any strands behind, 3: the wax tin isn't 100% secure when placed in the wax warmer (I don't know if it's me, maybe I didn't press it down firmly enough, I don't know) I think they need to work on this for future models, maybe that's why the wax takes so long to heat cause it's not held in place securely to the heating device, 4: the purple writing on the back (which is a warning that's also written in the manual) of the wax warmer is too easily removed, I had hair grease on my hands at one point and that caused the ink to smudge, I think they should have etched the writing into the container instead. But apart those cons mentioned, it's truly a good product. It comes with six applicators, 3 larger ones for the body and 3 smaller ones for the face and such. The electric cord is stored under the wax warmer itself, which is a good thing and there's a notch-like thing to secure the cord (after you've unwound the desired amount) so the warmer stays flat and even....ingenious. The instruction manual is well-written, in English, Spanish and French with complete how to's and do's and don't's. TRY IT, YOU'LL LIKE IT. TIP: THE LONGER THE STRANDS OF HAIR, THE MORE WAXING HURTS.....PROVEN FACT, LOL.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lysh23
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Takes a long time heating up..
8/15/2012

Customer review by Sils19

3.0 stars by Sils19

I like the size and how easy is to use.. the only bad thing is that takes a certain amount of time heating up.. more than expected.. but overall, I like this product!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sils19
Costa Mesa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This is awesome if you know the trick!
8/5/2014

Customer review by debb83

5.0 stars by debb83

After reading all the bad reviews I decided to give you a few tricks so you won't complain later. 1. Leave the lid on, it heats faster. 2. Remove the black rubber from the wax pot. I don't know why they put it in there is totally unnecessary and if you leave it there the wax won't melt. 3. Don't leave the wax on you for too long, yes it hardens really quick. 4. I highly recommend to wax before shower so you won't be sticky all day (this is more common sense) This wax removes all your hair if the hair has the correct length for it. I love this product I have had this warmer for years without a problem I use it for bikini area and arm pits. Find the refills at the stores is hard tough. Good look and happy waxing! ;)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
debb83
Kennesaw, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great for small jobs
10/22/2012

Customer review by MG1981

3.0 stars by MG1981

As other people have mentioned, expect it to take at least an hour for the wax to warm up properly. Once the wax is pliable, pile up about half of the wax to the side, that way only a small amount gets warmed up at a time. Keep up this process while you are using the wax. Once the wax is ready to go, it is easy to use and works well. Because of the amount of time it takes to get anywhere, I only recommend it for small jobs such as underarms, facial hair, etc.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MG1981
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good, but takes a while to heat.
10/16/2012

Customer review by Customer6765

4.0 stars by Customer6765

I LOVED this product! I have never waxed at home before. I actually bought this to use on my boyfriends eyebrows; I got sick of paying ten dollars every time I wanted to get his eyebrows waxed and it growing back a couple of days later. I bought this at my local walmart for ten dollars to try it. The only thing I dislike is that it takes so long to heat. Even after twenty minutes it is not warm enough for me to stir it. Maybe my warmer is messed up because it takes about an hour or so to be able to use. I do really like it though. It is very easy to apply and take off! It is worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Customer6765
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
This is AWESOME for facial hair!
9/11/2014

Customer review by Rlopez1

5.0 stars by Rlopez1

I got tired of paying expensive salon costs and decided to get this about a year ago. IT SAVED me tons of money so far and the refills are GREAT! It will be a little messy at first until you learn how to wax yourself but the stripless wax is WONDERFUL! I wax my own eyebrows, lip, etc. in the comfort of my own home. I just wish they would sell a bigger version of the simple spa and a bigger tub of wax so I could wax other areas such as my underarms.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rlopez1
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better than going to a salon!
2/12/2014

Customer review by koolaidmouth

5.0 stars by koolaidmouth

I have used the Sally Hansen Spa Wax warmer kit for a couple of years now. Its a great product it does take time to warm up but I usually turn it on as I am getting into the shower. Its easy to use you don't need the strips. I generally use it for my face and underarms and honestly its a great value the refills are kind of hard to find so I recently bought three directly from the website but it will last me sometime. I would recommend this product for anyone who is looking for a convenient at home solution for hair removal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
koolaidmouth
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for the Price!
10/23/2014

Customer review by LinzzyT

4.0 stars by LinzzyT

I use this for brazilian wax and I wouldn't say this is excellent but it does beat paying $40+ a pop to get professionally waxed! First time self-waxer here and for application, though I did wait just long enough so the wax doesn't stick to the touch anymore but still pliable (as per the directions) at times it was still a little difficult to peel off. Perhaps w/ practice I'll get better. The wax does get all of the hair from the roots out, so I have no complaints about the results. I took the black rubber band off the metal container as someone on here suggested and it took just about 30 mins to fully warm up and melt. It gets hot enough to keep the wax melted but stays a consistent temperature and not so dangerously hot that I could burn myself with. For just around $20 bucks, I'd say this is a pretty good deal! :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LinzzyT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
2/10/2014

Customer review by waxlover

4.0 stars by waxlover

I would of gave this five stars only if you could get it in stores and a bigger size

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
waxlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wax does not come out with the strips
12/9/2013

Customer review by USAfromIndia

1.0 stars by USAfromIndia

First of all the heater is very small and so is the wax kit that comes along with it. It says that it will take the wax 25 min to melt but it actually takes more than an hour for the wax to melt to the level we can start using it for waxing. The one thing I am very disappointed with is that the wax cools down immediately after applying on skin and cannot be taken out with the strips. I am returning this product. Not satisfied at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
USAfromIndia
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent
5/20/2013

Customer review by Flutra

5.0 stars by Flutra

Easy to use, no pain and it works !

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Flutra
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent wax
8/13/2013

Customer review by Flutura

5.0 stars by Flutura

Easy to use and works great. Reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Flutura
Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Simple and effective
8/6/2014

Customer review by Majee

5.0 stars by Majee

Very simple , plug into outlet, waited 50 minutes, wax on , hair off. I am happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Majee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Home Wax system
5/8/2012

Customer review by PCOSMomma

5.0 stars by PCOSMomma

I have PCOS and with that comes battling hair in unusual places, namely my face. I have struggled for the past two years with an increase in facial hair. I have tweezed, waxed, applied creamed, and buffed my way to a smooth face but this simple wax warmer is the best product I've used to date to quickly remove the stubborn strays that pop up everywhere. It's small enough that it just stays on my counter in my bathroom. I can turn it on and go do other things while it warms up. Unlike the microwavable waxes, this one stays a consistent temperature so I'm not fighting hardening wax while I hit my target places. The wax removes the hair perfectly. I love this thing and will continue to use only this one.

PCOSMomma
Grand Junction, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product!!!
7/31/2012

Customer review by gdmeadows

5.0 stars by gdmeadows

This is the best home waxing product I have ever used. It really works! Gets all of the hairs. I use it as an eyebrow/facial wax. It does take longer than 20 minutes to heat. The box should be more accurate. For those impatient souls who waited only 20 and took it back - you missed out. Wait an hour or so if you have to for it to heat all the way through. It takes longer when it is full/new. I come home from work and turn it on and wax sometime later in the evening before bed- no biggie! I love not having to use strips. The wax is thicker but comes off clean. It can be stringy and a little thick for tiny detail areas on the brows but for general clean up and facial hair removal (chin/lip) it is the best!! I'll add that I have extremely sensitive skin and have not had any irritation from this.

gdmeadows
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fantastic!
8/7/2012

Customer review by bwaygal

5.0 stars by bwaygal

Ive been looking for this everywhere. So glad that I finally found it. The wax was thoroughly heated through within the 25 minutes... the key girls, is to stir the wax as its warming, as is written in the directions included *inside* the box. I plug it in before I get into the shower, stir it after the shower, get dressed, stir and apply. Works perfect everytime with absolutly none of the irritation Ive experienced with products used in the salon. And you simply cannot beat the price!

bwaygal
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it
3/4/2013

Customer review by LLBLLB

5.0 stars by LLBLLB

I was skeptical but I was able to wax & shape my eyebrows, lips and chin. I have not was my upper lips in years. The key is to follow the direction. The was took about 30 minute. It's very important to apple extra to the end your going to pull away from the hair. This product will save me $44 a month on my face alone. Oh and it does hurt.

LLBLLB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Far more effective than strips!
4/27/2013

Customer review by Migizi

5.0 stars by Migizi

It definitely takes some getting used to, but I use this wax for my underarms and it does wonders! It is far more effective than strips, which I have never had much luck with. It has made my hair finer and lighter, so that even when it starts to grow out, you can barely see it. Sure, it hurt a lot at first, (after all, you are putting hot wax directly on your skin and ripping it off!) but after a few times, I got used to it and now I can do it much faster and without pain. Putting baby powder on your skin first helps. For the reviews where the people are having trouble with the wax not melting, it's because they aren't securing the wax tin fully in the warmer. The heat source is on the bottom of the warmer and if the wax tin isn't in solid contact with the heat source, the wax won't melt. Just push it down firmly. It does take a bit of time though (maybe a 1/2 hour), so plug it in and go do something else while you wait for it to melt. It's worth the wait!

Migizi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this!
5/28/2013

Customer review by Babs

5.0 stars by Babs

After reading the reviews I get the low rating. When I first bought this I was so excited. I have a large professional melter and bought exclusive salon formulas and no matter what I tried my face would break out after waxing. I figured I'd give this a try and see what happens. When I used it the first time I could barely get the wax to melt, I was so mad! Then I realized the rubber band was causing it to sit too high and even the bottom was not warm. I took the band off let it go for 30 min and wah-lah, melted wax. Caution: IT WILL GET HOT if you do this, I cut the melter off and then begin. It gets most of the hair and best of all I've stopped breaking out after waxing! Wish it came in a larger pot. Also starting to have trouble finding the refills. Please keep this product in your line! Compared to other waxes I've used (salon and at home) this one does not hurt as much.

Babs
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 41 total reviews