Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
7
1-20 of 85 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Big, but very nice
7/10/2012

Customer review by Seanette

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Seanette
by Seanette

It turned out bigger than I thought it would be, but that was most likely my mistake. :) This was much easier to build than I expected an item this complex to be, and much easier and better quality finished piece than a TV stand I built that same weekend (different brand). It finished out quite sturdy, and I didn't need much help from my husband, except for moving the desk into place, since it's quite heavy and solid when built. Plenty of storage and work space, and my cat has decided the top of the hutch is a favorite spot :). Looks nice, too, at least from the front (I have to have the back showing to fit it into the rest of the room, but I'll figure something out to make the back a bit more visually appealing). I've rarely had much difficulty with anything by Sauder, and this is pretty much my first-choice brand in flatpack furniture. Definitely would recommend this item, just make sure there's enough space for it in the room you're putting it in.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seanette
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality
12/26/2015

Customer review by Neysa

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Neysa
by Neysa

The product arrived with no damage or missing parts. Assembly took about 3 hours but was not difficult. We are very happy with this desk which is solid and attractive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neysa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sauder Orchard Hills Computer Desk
1/31/2016

Customer review by Dennis

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Dennis
by Dennis

Took my time putting this desk/hutch combination together (about 4 hours) with no problems. Directions were clear, easy to follow and the parts fit together very well. Great value for the money and a good evening or Saturday project.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dennis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fairly straightforward assembly
12/9/2015

Customer review by kkerns

4.0 stars 12/9/2015 by kkerns
by kkerns

Good item. Assembles as expected. As with any build-it-yourself furniture, I would strongly recommend using glue in all the places where you put two pieces of wood together at a right angle. Makes for a stronger end result. Also, pay attention to the screws for the underside of the desk top and how they differ from the screws for the back of the drawer. They are easily confused.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkerns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Desk
11/18/2015

Customer review by Janie

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by Janie
by Janie

For starters is, I love my desk it's awesome. I had my son put the desk together. He said the instructions where really easy to understand. It was really easy to put the desk together. He didn't have any problems what so ever. I love the style of the my desk. The right size for me, enough space for my things. I would recommend this desk to anyone. It's a great buy and the price is right . So if anyone needs a desk please go out and buy this one. Two thumbs up. I am one happy customer thank you Walmart =)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice desk, is as expected
12/2/2015

Customer review by Landbc

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Landbc
by Landbc

This is a nice desk, very sturdy. It is as pictured. Came with good instructions to put together.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Landbc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Computer Desk with Hutch
2/10/2016

Customer review by Barb

4.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Barb
by Barb

This desk and hutch are a good size for me. I am very well satisfied with it. However, now it is on sale for less than I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay, but wanted better
1/13/2014

Customer review by yinyangguy

3.0 stars 1/13/2014 by yinyangguy
by yinyangguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this desk as a replacement for a corner unit that took up too much space. The description said that it was not difficult to assemble, and that it was a great value. Assembly was difficult. The instructions at one point tell you to lay the unit down in such a way as to nearly cause the hutch unit to break away from the main supports. I didn't follow these instructions, but someone who isn't paying attention might. Also the storage shelf is not deep enough for a computer tower with cords. I had to tear away the back of the unit which I had taken pains to nail on. The material for this unit is cheap, no real wood is used. The design is such that I do not expect it to last more than a few years, at which time I will buy one that is of better value and design. This might be a good unit for someone just starting out, or if you have a limited amount of space.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yinyangguy
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Desk! Very nice quality.
9/4/2012

Customer review by beach4me61

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by beach4me61
by beach4me61

For all the pieces and parts involved, this couldn't have been easier to assemble. Now when I say "easy", it took me about an evening to assemble all by myself. The instructions were very clear, though. It just amazes me how well Sauder does what they do! There were only two things I wasn't 100% pleased about. The first was that the front right corner was slightly damaged in shipping. Seems to be the luck I have when ordering furniture of any sort. The second is the back, which is cardboard with wood grain. It looks as good as it can look, but I sure wish it was thin plywood rather than cardboard. This seems to be typical for furniture in this price range, however. All things considered, this was a great purchase and I would buy it again. Remember to be patient and take your time when assembling and it will turn out great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beach4me61
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good value
11/4/2013

Customer review by gunslinger222

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by gunslinger222
by gunslinger222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There were a couple of small chipped edges from the factory but could not be seen on finished product. It was VERY easy to assemble. It is best to separate all screws and bolts into separate piles and mark what is in each pile to make assembly easiest. I have bought and assembled many Sauder products and have been very pleased with all of them.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gunslinger222
waldo, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lounge hutch
12/4/2015

Customer review by Clavellfamily4

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by Clavellfamily4
by Clavellfamily4

This item is awesome we are able to have our surge protector, PS4, Dish and printer to beon the top and very strong. The assembling part is tricky but can be done.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clavellfamily4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good desk for the money easy assembly once you get
1/28/2014

Customer review by leowo

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by leowo
by leowo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

desk is fairly easy to assemble, once you receive everything. Came with out back panel, but they did ship it out quickly. Small nick in it but probably from shipping because box also had a nick in it. NICE LOOKING WHEN ASSEMBLED AND SHOULD HOLD UP FOR SEVERAL YEARS AS LONG AS WE'RE NOT TO ROUGH ON IT

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leowo
potosi. mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love Love Love This Desk...
3/7/2012

Customer review by babydoll82791

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by babydoll82791
by babydoll82791

I love this desk. It looks great and fits well in my small livingroom. The only feature I'm not real happy with is that the pull out for the keyboard and mouse is too close to the top and I can't get my hands under it; it has to be pulled out.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babydoll82791
Fordyce, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Quality
12/21/2015

Customer review by Leogyrl

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Leogyrl
by Leogyrl

The only reason why l gave 4 out of 5 stars was because it took hours to put together. Soo many pieces and parts!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leogyrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its OK
5/21/2012

Customer review by goula

3.0 stars 5/21/2012 by goula
by goula

Is should be designed better. I had to get brackets to made it sturdy as it should have been.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goula
Pawtucket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sauder desk
11/19/2015

Customer review by Eddy

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by Eddy
by Eddy

Nice looking desk

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice looking, weak side panel opposite drawer side
11/30/2012

Customer review by Plotinus

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Plotinus
by Plotinus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice looking desk when complete. The desk bottom side panel opposite the drawer side of the desk is weak with only 2 cam locks holding it in place. Had to put screws in the side to strengthen it up. If you're going to move the desk without help lifting it (like me) definitely get slides for the bottom. Nice access is available out the back for cords and for air circulation around the CPU with the front door open. I would have given it 5 stars if not for the weak panel on the desk.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Plotinus
Las Vegas Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep Looking Somewhere else!
3/17/2013

Customer review by USAFFireDawg

2.0 stars 3/17/2013 by USAFFireDawg
by USAFFireDawg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought Sauder furniture before and have been generally pleased. This item was a pain to assemble with parts not fitting well together. The included hardware was fairly cheap and stripped easily. Some it the pieces came from the factory with gouges and marks on the laminate finish. The small drawer ended up getting wedged when trying to put it on the rollers. I am not sure if one of the tracks was warped or what, but the front of the drawer ended up breaking when I tried to remove the stuck drawer. I am fairly handy when it comes to tools and assembly so there should have been no issue with the assembly of this desk. I will be calling the company tomorrow to try to get replacement parts for the ones that were damaged and broken. Overall I am very unpleased. I know this type of furniture is not top of the line but I at least expect some sort of quality and functionality. If I were you, I would keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USAFFireDawg
Mount Holly, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fits nicely!
8/20/2014

Customer review by JayneC

4.0 stars 8/20/2014 by JayneC
by JayneC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live with a cabinet maker so putting it together was easy for me. It took him about an hour and a half start to finish. He couldn't have made one for what we paid for this one. It's small enough to fit right where I wanted it and seems to work fine. For the value it can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayneC
Eagle Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Almost every piece was chipped when it arrived
9/4/2013

Customer review by Nikki1099

1.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Nikki1099
by Nikki1099
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I opened the box and took out the pieces almost every one had a chip in the corner one piece was missing its corner completely. It had cracked off in the box. I know that things get damaged in shipping but it should have been packed with foam to protect the corners and it wasn't. I decided to keep it and just put the part with the missing corner facing the wall because I didn't feel like lugging it back to the store and having to wait for a new one. The holes do not line up right on a lot of the pieces. Once the desk was together and I put the drawer in it wouldn't even close because the holes for the sliders that allow the drawer to open and close where not where they should have been and the drawer was set to high. I know I put it in the right spot because I used the only holes available. I had to take the drawer back out and make my own screw holes so the sliders would properly align and I could close the drawer. It was not worth the $150 bucks I spent by a long shot. I could have gone to craigslist and gotten one in a similar condition for $10 with all the scratches and chips it has on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikki1099
Palm Coast FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews