Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 173 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

173 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

173 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
60
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
8
1-20 of 154 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Good Quality Shelves
4/26/2010

Customer review by Stephaleph

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by Stephaleph
by Stephaleph

I've had these for a year now. They look great. I had them apart, but recently moved them next to each other. They look like one solid unit. Hold all my items nicely. The finish is a dark, reddish brown. You can also store things on top of these.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephaleph
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2011

Customer review by Club616gal

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Club616gal
by Club616gal

While it took over an hour to put together, the instructions were very good and the piece looked great. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Club616gal
Oakland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!!
2/4/2011

Customer review by OfficeFan2

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by OfficeFan2
by OfficeFan2

I am a nursing student, and this requires SEVERAL heavy textbooks and many other types of reading materials. My husband and I ordered this to help make our floors a little less cluttered while I study. It holds everything, it is so sturdy! It also looks so much more expensive that what I payed. It has a classy style. I am so happy with my purchase! The cons to this bookcase are: (1) The instructions are so difficult. My husband and I actually had to switch around a few steps, because it was easier and decreased the risk of damage to the materials. (2) You will end up with scratches while putting the bookcase together. The cover-up pen is not very useful, because it did not cover up the scratches we came out with. (3) The bottom doors do not approximate. There is maybe a centimeter gap between the two of them. (4) The back board is flimsy, but I can live with this because it is against the wall anyway. Despite the previous cons, I would buy another of these in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OfficeFan2
Honaker, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/12/2010

Customer review by DIYseniorguy

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by DIYseniorguy
by DIYseniorguy

I was very pleased with the overall look of the product once is was completely assembled. It was well worth the price; I would consider it an escellent value. I exceeded the two-hour suggested assembly time. But this was expected because I made one modification to the product during assembly. The rear panel that comes with the kit is of cardboard composition material that gets nailed onto the back with about 32 nails. I replaced this panel with a piece of 1/8-inch Luan Mahogany material, stained and top-coated to match the cabinet finish. It was glued and nailed in place which gives considerable added strength to the assembly.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYseniorguy
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good thing better
10/13/2010

Customer review by R2D2a

4.0 stars 10/13/2010 by R2D2a
by R2D2a

The cabinet is very attractive - well built except for one aspect. The pasteboard back is too flimsy to help keep the whole unit squared up after it is assembled. I purchased a 1/4 inch sheet of tempered fiberboad and made a reinforcement to screw on behind the wood colored pasteboard. I even glued the pasteboard to it, making sure the correct side of the pasteboard was still exposed. Now I have a unit as strong as a tank and the added weight on the back helped in my situation. One other small issue - the printed directions are also pretty skimpy. With trial and error the first cabinet took about 4 hours to assemble - the second one about 1 to 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R2D2a
Belton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
1/17/2016

Customer review by Bens

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Bens
by Bens

1)Difficulty in assembling is 8/10..difficult ..took a team of 2 6 hours 2)Quality of the material 8/10 3) price to quality: very good 4) final product: good 5) usage : good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst product ever
1/12/2016

Customer review by Cruihl

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Cruihl
by Cruihl

You can only make the part to hold a piece of furniture together so cheep. The parts are such a bad design that when I turned it over the plastic parts in the wood broke out and now I have a large pile of poorly designed product that I can not use. That was a total waisted do money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cruihl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very expensive for such pice of junk
1/5/2016

Customer review by SamG

1.0 stars 1/5/2016 by SamG
by SamG

Don't trust a picture this is cheap paper furniture

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy !!!
8/4/2009

Customer review by smokeyblue

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by smokeyblue
by smokeyblue

I ordered this bookcase for my office. Trying to organize and spruce up. I did site-to store to avoid paying shipping. It arrived in a timely manner with no damages. Got it home and yes it is a little difficult to assemble. Recommend two people and a couple of hours. Well worth it all... Looks beautiful very sturdy. The cardboard backing looks fine once it is together. I am picky about quality in designing rooms and this was a winner for me. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokeyblue
Perkasie Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bookcase surprise
10/22/2015

Customer review by Bonnie

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Bonnie
by Bonnie

Ordered 3 of these bookcases to set up my new home office. Well designed and put together fairly easily, the first took three hours the 2nd 2 hours and the 3rd 1.5 hours. Altogether not a horrible experience. The color is very rich, a nice dark cherry finish. I did have a damaged piece which Sauder quickly sent me free of charge with only a quick phone call to their 800 number listed on the instruction manual. Only draw back I found was when putting the three side by side, the fit was not as tight as I would have liked because the top shelf of the closed part of the lower cabinet is slightly wider than the overall unit thus not allowing a completely tight fit when joining one or more together side by side. Other than that, I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice looking and sturdy shelf.
1/3/2014

Customer review by pj35757

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by pj35757
by pj35757
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since we already owned two of these shelves I knew what we were getting. The only difference this time was that fewer of the pieces were marked. This meant taking a few extra minutes to make sure I was grabbing the right piece. The instructions are adequate, but not great. However, anyone with common sense can work them out. The shelf is very beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pj35757
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/28/2011

Customer review by Nick98745

2.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Nick98745
by Nick98745

I guess I got what I paid for. I wish I had paid more and gotten something of better quality. I bought 3 of these to use for storage. They are flimsy and won't really work for my needs. I do not recommend these.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nick98745
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/1/2012

Customer review by Indpls

4.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Indpls
by Indpls
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Blends in very nicely with the mahogany furniture which I inherited. It took about 5 hours to assemble, but I was very pleased with the final result. I did make some minor adjustments after assembly to eliminate some small gaps where pieces fit together. Instructions failed to mention that the top and bottom of backing should be selected so prepunched nail holes would match with the fixed shelf. One nice feature is that clips are provided to attach two bookcases together if you wish to place them side by side. Be very careful about sliding these units since no glides are provided for the bottom of the bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indpls
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bookcase
10/20/2015

Customer review by Olitchka

4.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Olitchka
by Olitchka

Takes a good while to get together and some parts are fairly difficult to line up for the proper look, but the finished product, after construction is nice looking and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Olitchka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doors don't close well.
10/18/2015

Customer review by MDK1

2.0 stars 10/18/2015 by MDK1
by MDK1

The shelves are strong, and the unit looks nice. However the cabinet doors wouldn't close w/o a lot of work. It also takes a very long time to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDK1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
10/21/2015

Customer review by Sonia

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by Sonia
by Sonia

It's ver y nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sonia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok bookshelf but much too short.
7/17/2011

Customer review by Brittinay

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Brittinay
by Brittinay

I have been looking all over for a nice bookshelf with doors at the bottom. I need doors one, because it is great for storage space, and two- so that the little children dont grab everything off the lower shelves. This is a really nice boojshelf that fit the bill. However, for pressed wood the price is not great and the worst part is this bookshelf is REALLY SHORT. my other bookshelves have a whole other shelf more. I really hope they remake this bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brittinay
Would recommend to a friend? No
I own many heritage hill items, very pleased
5/21/2013

Customer review by newlife31

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by newlife31
by newlife31

I bought my first Sauder heritage hill collection item about 10 years ago. I have added to what I own over the years one item at a time. I have an executive desk, hutch, bookcase with doors, 2 lateral filing cabinets, and a computer desk for my teenage son. You can buy them many places bu they are least expensive on Walmart, however, they are NOT made cheaply. They are quality items. They keep beautiful, and stand up thru time and weight without sagging, fading, or chipping. I know some attorneys that even have this collection in their beautiful offices when they can afford true Cherry because they look just like the real thing but for less. Other than a few "normal wear" nicks (mostly from moves over the years & poor moving men), my Sauder items have kept up beautifully. Don't hesitate to buy this collection from Sauder. Unlike cheaper maker items you may find, the items from Sauder Heritage Hill collection should last you many, many years like mine have... and more than pay for themselves (whereas if you buy some cheaply made other product you may have to more to replace it over and over with time).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newlife31
fairview heights, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
1/29/2008

Customer review by luv2bamom117

4.0 stars 1/29/2008 by luv2bamom117
by luv2bamom117

It did take a couple hours to assemble, but the end product looks nice and is very functional. The value for the price paid is excellent!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv2bamom117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bookcases!!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by ruralmomma

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by ruralmomma
by ruralmomma

I bought two of these a few weeks ago and I absolutely love them. They were a beast to put together but well worth it. They took 2 people between 3-4 hours to put together each one. Lots of steps in the process but well written directions. They look stunning in our living room. The match our entertainment center to a tee. They offer a ton of space for books and are very sturdily built. They look like we spent way more than $150 for them. Perfect. Will definitely get more if the need arises in the future. Being a book person I am sure we will be coming back again and again for this product. The only partial con was the time it took for them to arrive at the store for pickup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruralmomma
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews