Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 260 reviews
5 stars
123
4 stars
82
3 stars
24
2 stars
13
1 stars
18
Sort by: 
1-20 of 241 reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews
Good Quality Shelves
4/26/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had these for a year now. They look great. I had them apart, but recently moved them next to each other. They look like one solid unit. Hold all my items nicely. The finish is a dark, reddish brown. You can also store things on top of these.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While it took over an hour to put together, the instructions were very good and the piece looked great. We love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Satisfied Customer
1/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The product prove to be of great quality and its physical appearance is quite awesome.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price!!
8/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great bookshelf, easy to assemble. Couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT!!!!
2/4/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a nursing student, and this requires SEVERAL heavy textbooks and many other types of reading materials. My husband and I ordered this to help make our floors a little less cluttered while I study. It holds everything, it is so sturdy! It also looks so much more expensive that what I payed. It has a classy style. I am so happy with my purchase! The cons to this bookcase are: (1) The instructions are so difficult. My husband and I actually had to switch around a few steps, because it was easier and decreased the risk of damage to the materials. (2) You will end up with scratches while putting the bookcase together. The cover-up pen is not very useful, because it did not cover up the scratches we came out with. (3) The bottom doors do not approximate. There is maybe a centimeter gap between the two of them. (4) The back board is flimsy, but I can live with this because it is against the wall anyway. Despite the previous cons, I would buy another of these in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Attractive Pricing
10/3/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
While the Sauder bookcases are affordable, they are not easily assembled, and the backs of the shelves are merely cardboard. We were quite pleased with the price, and when one of the units had two broken pieces, fortunately, Hayneedle was able to send two replacement parts from Sauder without our having to repackage and return the entire shelf. After assembly of the shelf that included no broken pieces, we are pleased with how it looks filled with our books in our office. It is a piece that would not be perfect for children's access, as the cardboard back requires gentle handling. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very pleased with the overall look of the product once is was completely assembled. It was well worth the price; I would consider it an escellent value. I exceeded the two-hour suggested assembly time. But this was expected because I made one modification to the product during assembly. The rear panel that comes with the kit is of cardboard composition material that gets nailed onto the back with about 32 nails. I replaced this panel with a piece of 1/8-inch Luan Mahogany material, stained and top-coated to match the cabinet finish. It was glued and nailed in place which gives considerable added strength to the assembly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A good thing better
10/13/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The cabinet is very attractive - well built except for one aspect. The pasteboard back is too flimsy to help keep the whole unit squared up after it is assembled. I purchased a 1/4 inch sheet of tempered fiberboad and made a reinforcement to screw on behind the wood colored pasteboard. I even glued the pasteboard to it, making sure the correct side of the pasteboard was still exposed. Now I have a unit as strong as a tank and the added weight on the back helped in my situation. One other small issue - the printed directions are also pretty skimpy. With trial and error the first cabinet took about 4 hours to assemble - the second one about 1 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Happy With This Bookshelf
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This piece looks great next to my desk and work space, and really gets the job done holding books and other accessories. It wasn't very easy to assemble, however, I really appreciated how the instruction booklet was set up and written. It kept things as simple as possible, and even had some humorous side notes in the booklet which helped out. All in all, I'm very happy now that it is up and working. Thank you!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice and decent
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
nice and decent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy !!!
8/4/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this bookcase for my office. Trying to organize and spruce up. I did site-to store to avoid paying shipping. It arrived in a timely manner with no damages. Got it home and yes it is a little difficult to assemble. Recommend two people and a couple of hours. Well worth it all... Looks beautiful very sturdy. The cardboard backing looks fine once it is together. I am picky about quality in designing rooms and this was a winner for me. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sauder Librarywith Doors
8/19/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very poor quality and hard to put together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/1/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Blends in very nicely with the mahogany furniture which I inherited. It took about 5 hours to assemble, but I was very pleased with the final result. I did make some minor adjustments after assembly to eliminate some small gaps where pieces fit together. Instructions failed to mention that the top and bottom of backing should be selected so prepunched nail holes would match with the fixed shelf. One nice feature is that clips are provided to attach two bookcases together if you wish to place them side by side. Be very careful about sliding these units since no glides are provided for the bottom of the bookcase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible very hard to assemble
8/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have assembled dozens of these types of things, several were "Sauder"brand but this one was so difficult to put together I returned one and destroyed the other after four hours of attempting to put it together
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice bookcase but a nightmare to put together
8/3/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We ordered this bookcase for our home office. The directions were clear but many of the parts were not labeled and many did not have the pre-drilled holes. This made putting the unit together very difficult. We ended up drilling our own holes where there were none. Sauder - you need to do a better job in checking your materials before shipping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ok bookshelf but much too short.
7/17/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been looking all over for a nice bookshelf with doors at the bottom. I need doors one, because it is great for storage space, and two- so that the little children dont grab everything off the lower shelves. This is a really nice boojshelf that fit the bill. However, for pressed wood the price is not great and the worst part is this bookshelf is REALLY SHORT. my other bookshelves have a whole other shelf more. I really hope they remake this bookshelf.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent quality, beautiful look, serves the purpose.
7/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Looks more expensive than it really is, very sturdy and beautiful piece of furniture, fits a lot of books, adjustable shelves allow you to fit in tall books. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/28/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I guess I got what I paid for. I wish I had paid more and gotten something of better quality. I bought 3 of these to use for storage. They are flimsy and won't really work for my needs. I do not recommend these.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice looking and sturdy shelf.
1/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Since we already owned two of these shelves I knew what we were getting. The only difference this time was that fewer of the pieces were marked. This meant taking a few extra minutes to make sure I was grabbing the right piece. The instructions are adequate, but not great. However, anyone with common sense can work them out. The shelf is very beautiful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a good value
6/18/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was really disappointed with this product. It took me 5 -6 hours to assemble. The wooden pieces were not all properly labeled and even more disturbing, various wooden pieces did not have the holes pre drilled that were needed for assembly. I had to drill holes that were not pre drilled. After I finished the assembly, the bookcase looked better than I expected. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642834, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-