Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 166 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

166 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

166 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
59
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
6
1-20 of 147 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Good Quality Shelves
4/26/2010

Customer review by Stephaleph

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by Stephaleph
by Stephaleph

I've had these for a year now. They look great. I had them apart, but recently moved them next to each other. They look like one solid unit. Hold all my items nicely. The finish is a dark, reddish brown. You can also store things on top of these.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephaleph
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/12/2010

Customer review by DIYseniorguy

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by DIYseniorguy
by DIYseniorguy

I was very pleased with the overall look of the product once is was completely assembled. It was well worth the price; I would consider it an escellent value. I exceeded the two-hour suggested assembly time. But this was expected because I made one modification to the product during assembly. The rear panel that comes with the kit is of cardboard composition material that gets nailed onto the back with about 32 nails. I replaced this panel with a piece of 1/8-inch Luan Mahogany material, stained and top-coated to match the cabinet finish. It was glued and nailed in place which gives considerable added strength to the assembly.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIYseniorguy
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy !!!
8/4/2009

Customer review by smokeyblue

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by smokeyblue
by smokeyblue

I ordered this bookcase for my office. Trying to organize and spruce up. I did site-to store to avoid paying shipping. It arrived in a timely manner with no damages. Got it home and yes it is a little difficult to assemble. Recommend two people and a couple of hours. Well worth it all... Looks beautiful very sturdy. The cardboard backing looks fine once it is together. I am picky about quality in designing rooms and this was a winner for me. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smokeyblue
Perkasie Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good thing better
10/13/2010

Customer review by R2D2a

4.0 stars 10/13/2010 by R2D2a
by R2D2a

The cabinet is very attractive - well built except for one aspect. The pasteboard back is too flimsy to help keep the whole unit squared up after it is assembled. I purchased a 1/4 inch sheet of tempered fiberboad and made a reinforcement to screw on behind the wood colored pasteboard. I even glued the pasteboard to it, making sure the correct side of the pasteboard was still exposed. Now I have a unit as strong as a tank and the added weight on the back helped in my situation. One other small issue - the printed directions are also pretty skimpy. With trial and error the first cabinet took about 4 hours to assemble - the second one about 1 to 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
R2D2a
Belton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!!
2/4/2011

Customer review by OfficeFan2

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by OfficeFan2
by OfficeFan2

I am a nursing student, and this requires SEVERAL heavy textbooks and many other types of reading materials. My husband and I ordered this to help make our floors a little less cluttered while I study. It holds everything, it is so sturdy! It also looks so much more expensive that what I payed. It has a classy style. I am so happy with my purchase! The cons to this bookcase are: (1) The instructions are so difficult. My husband and I actually had to switch around a few steps, because it was easier and decreased the risk of damage to the materials. (2) You will end up with scratches while putting the bookcase together. The cover-up pen is not very useful, because it did not cover up the scratches we came out with. (3) The bottom doors do not approximate. There is maybe a centimeter gap between the two of them. (4) The back board is flimsy, but I can live with this because it is against the wall anyway. Despite the previous cons, I would buy another of these in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OfficeFan2
Honaker, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2011

Customer review by Club616gal

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Club616gal
by Club616gal

While it took over an hour to put together, the instructions were very good and the piece looked great. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Club616gal
Oakland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
1/29/2008

Customer review by luv2bamom117

4.0 stars 1/29/2008 by luv2bamom117
by luv2bamom117

It did take a couple hours to assemble, but the end product looks nice and is very functional. The value for the price paid is excellent!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luv2bamom117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice looking and sturdy shelf.
1/3/2014

Customer review by pj35757

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by pj35757
by pj35757

Since we already owned two of these shelves I knew what we were getting. The only difference this time was that fewer of the pieces were marked. This meant taking a few extra minutes to make sure I was grabbing the right piece. The instructions are adequate, but not great. However, anyone with common sense can work them out. The shelf is very beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pj35757
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok bookshelf but much too short.
7/17/2011

Customer review by Brittinay

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Brittinay
by Brittinay

I have been looking all over for a nice bookshelf with doors at the bottom. I need doors one, because it is great for storage space, and two- so that the little children dont grab everything off the lower shelves. This is a really nice boojshelf that fit the bill. However, for pressed wood the price is not great and the worst part is this bookshelf is REALLY SHORT. my other bookshelves have a whole other shelf more. I really hope they remake this bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brittinay
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/28/2011

Customer review by Nick98745

2.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Nick98745
by Nick98745

I guess I got what I paid for. I wish I had paid more and gotten something of better quality. I bought 3 of these to use for storage. They are flimsy and won't really work for my needs. I do not recommend these.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nick98745
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/29/2009

Customer review by PFZZ

1.0 stars 11/29/2009 by PFZZ
by PFZZ

Very bad. I ordered two, after I took them home and opened boxes, both of them had broken parts, I have to returned them to the store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PFZZ
Germantown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Not worth it
1/17/2009

Customer review by angelk20

2.0 stars 1/17/2009 by angelk20
by angelk20

Came in a heavy box with a bunch of low quality parts. Not worth the money and made from pressed particle board.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angelk20
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/15/2011

Customer review by maggieapple

2.0 stars 10/15/2011 by maggieapple
by maggieapple

Poor quality. Pressed fiber board= little room for adjustments or errors. The only reason I purchased this item was to match and existing unit. The older unit seems to be of better quality but not much.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maggieapple
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great piece of furniture
10/5/2012

Customer review by survey01

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by survey01
by survey01

A little tricky to put together, but well worth the time and patience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
survey01
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't beat it for the price!
12/31/2012

Customer review by Stiltz

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Stiltz
by Stiltz

You definitely want to assemble this very carefully and slowly, but when you are done it is a great product. Very well packaged also... there was very little waste packing material, yet it was packed in a way to prevent damage. To make everything more snug, I put the end moldings on AFTER installing the shelves. The middle shelf is fixed, so you can make sure the molding are snug against that, and then adjust the valence shelf to make sure there no gaps on that end also. I also used a right angle before nailing the back on to make sure it was as square as possible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stiltz
Westwood, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very nice
8/5/2007

Customer review by toddpn

5.0 stars 8/5/2007 by toddpn
by toddpn

I like it very much, and also purchase the two side shelves, plus the excutive desk. And now my office look very professional and gorgeous.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toddpn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bookcases!!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by ruralmomma

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by ruralmomma
by ruralmomma

I bought two of these a few weeks ago and I absolutely love them. They were a beast to put together but well worth it. They took 2 people between 3-4 hours to put together each one. Lots of steps in the process but well written directions. They look stunning in our living room. The match our entertainment center to a tee. They offer a ton of space for books and are very sturdily built. They look like we spent way more than $150 for them. Perfect. Will definitely get more if the need arises in the future. Being a book person I am sure we will be coming back again and again for this product. The only partial con was the time it took for them to arrive at the store for pickup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ruralmomma
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Cherry Finish Bookcase/Storage Cabinet
10/21/2012

Customer review by BKR13

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by BKR13
by BKR13

This cherry finish 3-shelf bookcase, and storage cabinet with doors exceeded my expectations. It was easy to put together; took about 1 1/2 hours. The back is like cardboard but still looks nice. I would recommend this to anyone. The cost was very reasonable and the product looks very nice.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BKR13
Chambersburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great bookcase!
9/16/2012

Customer review by creatingmyownlibrary

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by creatingmyownlibrary
by creatingmyownlibrary

It looks amazing, but the assembly took a lot of time and it's complicated. Be sure you have the time and help (cause you'll need a partner for some of the steps) for that. Its color makes it unique looking, and if you pair two or more, they look great together .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creatingmyownlibrary
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great!
2/16/2012

Customer review by JulieInTheBerkshires

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by JulieInTheBerkshires
by JulieInTheBerkshires

It takes some time and requires two people to assemble but the end result is very good. I love the rich cherry color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JulieInTheBerkshires
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews