Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
37
1-20 of 228 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews
Great Carpet Cleaner
1/16/2012

Customer review by westfla0602

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by westfla0602
by westfla0602

Initially bought an equivalent hoover model which arrived DOA- the trigger did not work and no solution was dispensed.-- returned that one real fast and decided to pass on another hoover. Hoover is now chinese owned-- that should tell you something. Bought this Bissell model and it cleaned and removed stains on my carpet that I didnt think could ever be removed. I was really impressed and surprised at the same time. Suction and water extraction was wnat I would expect and my carpet was just barely damp. The on board water heater does make a difference. Hotter water will always do a better job of cleaning. As to reliability- THAT I dont know about at this point- BUT if you dont take the time to thoroughly clean the machine after each use, then you leave yourself vulnerable to machine failure. Every thing needs to be maintained to ensure some kind of long term reliability. Took me only 15 minutes to clean out the machine. Over all, I recommend this Bissel over any similar Hoover model.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westfla0602
Venice, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy assembly, easy to use, excellent results.
1/6/2012

Customer review by bocanutjoe

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by bocanutjoe
by bocanutjoe

This is my third deep carpet cleaner. This is, by far, the best one I have owned. I have had a Hoover SteamVacI for about twelve (12) years, and it leaked right from the start. So, today I got this Bissel, and immediately cleaned our every day dining area's eleven year old carpet. The carpet looks almost brand-new. The unit was easy to assemble; it has new quick-start directions that are easy to read and follow. The bladder within the tank doesn't bother me, as the assembly doesn't leak, and is easy to fill or drain. Best of all, it cleans really well, and extracts a great percentage of the water. I followed their recommendations, and rinsed the carpet with clean hot water, and got out even more dirt. The durability remains to be seen, but it looks like a well-made unit. One note: It is heavy, and may be too much for some individuals to use.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bocanutjoe
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/10/2012

Customer review by DrewMS

3.0 stars 1/10/2012 by DrewMS
by DrewMS

Good product with decent cleaning capability. I like to shampoo my carpets once every couple months and have been using this items for last 5 years. Did do a great job in cleaning capability but did have a couple annoying qualities. Thing that bugged me the most was water tank...it was very small and had to constantly change it. Doing a small 10ft by 3ft hallway I would have to change water 2/3 times...most small rooms about 5 times and larger ones at least 7+ times and no indicator when water ran out. The tank is a "bladder" nestled in the dirty water reservoir which made changing kind of a hassle. I also noticed after a few uses that the nozzles would cease up and not spray anything and you'd either have to clean them or wait till they break free as well as seeing streaks in the carpet from cleaning where it was not evenly distributed. Unit came in real handy over years but finally no longer will spray any solution at all. I think this time I will go with the Hoover All-Terrain as seems to be better constructed. All in all was good product but the little annoyances were really annoying.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrewMS
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
2 years old and still great performance
12/27/2011

Customer review by JGLGA

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by JGLGA
by JGLGA

I purchased this machine nearly 2 years ago. I've cleaned my carpets, my mothers' carpets and neighbors carpets, accumulating #conservatively# 100 hours on this machine. It still works very well and has likely saved at least $1000 in professional fees. Using a little TLC while operating this machine, it will last a long time. Since it is mostly plastic, be aware of banging into furniture legs and don't ram it into the baseboard. Also, I always finish the cleaning job by filling both tanks with fresh HOT water and running the machine until the tanks are empty. By flushing the detergent lines with the hot water, it has eliminated the clogged nozzles issue that I see so many people have complained about.

Was this review helpful? (69) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGLGA
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does a GREAT Job!
4/15/2012

Customer review by MrsElkhunter

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by MrsElkhunter
by MrsElkhunter

I just bought this machine yesterday and had to check it out immediately. My old one went to the grave about 6 months ago. I had not cleaned my carpets since it died and I have 3 fury children that have run of our home. My carpets were just filthy. I was amazed at what a GREAT job this did. It did a better job than my old one did which was a Hoover. I had bad spots that the old one would not take out and this did. My carpert looks like new and has NO spots anywhere. I did follow the directions and move slow as it said to do and I went over the spots several times and they did disappear. I also did the clear water rinse which even gave a cleaner and perfect finish to my carpet cleaning. The only negative things I find with this is I have to fill it more often than I did with my last one and I don't care for the clean/dirty water set-up. They are both in the same section/area. I definitely do not like that. As far as performance goes though, it does do a great job and I would definitely recommend it. It also was very easy to put together. It took less than 10 minutes and there were only 3 screws.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsElkhunter
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Awesome carpet cleaner
11/21/2011

Customer review by FerrettFilthyRug

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by FerrettFilthyRug
by FerrettFilthyRug

My carpet was filthy. Hasnt been cleaned in years. I recently got ferretts that leave deposits all over the place. I cleaned the carpet with this and it looks brand new. I love this machine.

Was this review helpful? (102) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FerrettFilthyRug
King George, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/25/2011

Customer review by moonjewels

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by moonjewels
by moonjewels

We just bought this carpet cleaner 3 weeks ago. It gets our carpets clean! The only thing that bothers me is that the dust/hair gets trapped and we always have to unscrew it to clean it.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moonjewels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this thing is junk
12/13/2011

Customer review by BigTnMe

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by BigTnMe
by BigTnMe

This carpet cleaner is for the birds, well, they might not even like it. First time I got it out and used it, it worked like a dream. Beautiful carpeting, years of foot traffic stains removed. If you wanna spend 250.00 on one carpet cleaner, hire a professional, because that is all you are gonna get with this machine. I have replaced 150.00 worth of parts on this machine over the last 3 years and it has never worked the same. With the second use it stopped sucking up all the water, by the third use stains kept reappearing like they were pushed down to the padding, I have continually replaced parts per bissell instruction and its always the same piece of you know what it was since the second time I used it. I DO NOT recommend you wasting your $$ on this! I am off to buy a Hoover since I just replaced my bissell vacuum with a hoover as well!

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigTnMe
Cottonwood, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
DISAPPOINTED WITH PAYING FOR NOTHING
2/4/2012

Customer review by AUSTMUM

1.0 stars 2/4/2012 by AUSTMUM
by AUSTMUM

I BOUGHT THIS CARPET CLEANER APPROX. 1 YEAR AGO & HAVE USED IT A HALF DOZEN TIMES. THE PRODUCT WORKS GREAT WHEN IT ACTUALLY WORKS BUT HAS NOW RECENTLY QUIT ME. STOPPED SPRAYING CLEANER. VERY DISAPOINTED WITH DURABILITY OF THE PRODUCT FOR THE AMOUNT OF TIMES USED & WAS DEFINATELY NOT USED HARD. I CAN USUALLY FIX THINGS MYSELF AS I HAD NO LUCK WITH FINDING A REPAIR PERSON IN THIS AREA - THIS WAS A MESS. THERE DID NOT SEEM TO BE ANY REASON FOR THIS NOT TO WORK ONCE I HAD IT APART. IT HAS NOW FOUND IT'S FINAL RESTING PLACE AT THE GREEN BOXES. IF IT DOESN'T WORK IT DOES NOT BELONG IN THIS HOUSE.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AUSTMUM
LIVINGSTON,MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Can't Live Without!
12/20/2011

Customer review by ypetunia

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by ypetunia
by ypetunia

This is the BEST! I had the carpet professionally done before the purchase of this machine and there is no comparision. This carpet cleaner surpassed every expectation. I recommend this machine to everyone who is in need. Quick spills to deep cleaning you will not be disappointed. The machine will pay for itself over and over. I LOVE this machine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ypetunia
Palmdale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Stops spraying solution and water after six months
9/3/2012

Customer review by TRex1775

1.0 stars 9/3/2012 by TRex1775
by TRex1775

I bought a Bissell Proheat 2x about a year ago. It worked well until recently. The jets that dispurse fluid got clogged. I cleaned them and it worked well for about a month. Then it stopped spraying again, and cleaning the jets didn't work. I looked into taking it in for repair, but that would have cost as much as buying a new machine. So I pulled the whole thing apart, cleaned all the hoses, reprimed the pump, tested the solenoids, recleaned everything, and put it back together. NOTHING. So after wasting an entire day calling around to get repair prices, then pulling it apart to clean and test, I have a $200 door stop. After paying that much for a machine I would hope to get more than one year of use out of it. Thanks Bissel >:(

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRex1775
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Garbage carpet cleaner
11/23/2011

Customer review by millenium3

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by millenium3
by millenium3

Used approx. 3-4 times and is has stopped working. Vacuum went out first, I managed to take it apart and find the fan had ripped a rubber seal apart and was logged in the fan blades. After removing the rubber seal, the fan began to work again. After assembling I turn it on and what do you know, it doesn't want to spray! Ripped it apart again to find the nothing had been assembled incorrectly and began to further trouble shoot. After some time I found the solenoid that pushes the water though to the nozzles is out of commission, probably due to the water that had leaked from the reservoir. Thanks for nothing. Keep looking, if you still buy you got your fair warning. I wish my wife did before buying this piece of you know what!

Was this review helpful? (36) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
millenium3
havelock, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Bissell carpet cleaning
1/8/2012

Customer review by humblearea

1.0 stars 1/8/2012 by humblearea
by humblearea

Good luck with keeping this machine working. I have 2 - both a proheat 2x and a turbo2x, and both are a pain to keep working. if you have pets hair clogs them up and then they cough up a fur balls, and the brushes have both quit spinning. The y work okay when something is not broke, and the hair doesnt clog them up, but be prepared to take them apart to remove any hair, and keep your receipt for when the burshes quit working

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humblearea
humble tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
Works better than professionals
6/15/2012

Customer review by Puppyplace

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Puppyplace
by Puppyplace

I had the carpet professionally cleaned about 6 months ago. Then I adopted a dog who wasn't housebroken. So I bought a spot bot. The spot bot left me with very clean, round circles. And btw, the circles were the original color of my carpet. The Bissel cleaner did away with the circles and made my carpet all one color! It's almost the same color it was when I purchased it! It's easy to use with simple instructions.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Puppyplace
Denver, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Gets the job done.
3/13/2012

Customer review by Xyzzy92139

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Xyzzy92139
by Xyzzy92139

My ex-girlfriend owned this exact carpet steam cleaner and I was so impressed that I bought it for myself. The unit is easy to set up, easy to use and easy to put away. It is quite durable however, should a part wear out, Bissel sells individual parts on their website.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xyzzy92139
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
7/29/2012

Customer review by nativfloridian

2.0 stars 7/29/2012 by nativfloridian
by nativfloridian

I've had mine for approx. 4 years. When I first got it, it worked great. I have a very small apartment, so you know it hasn't been 'overworked'. I've used it at most 7 times. It has always been some sort of a problem with it. The beater bars didn't turn, it wasn't sucking, etc., etc. Now When I just went to use it, it will not dispense any liquid. This has happened every time I've used it, but I always got it to work by following the instructions in the book. It is dead now. I've taken it apart myself, tried everything worldly possible, but apparently the pump has gone out in it. . Also - it is quite a pain to work with. If you don't mind many, many trips to add water/cleaner, then dump the old dirty water, you may like it. It's just too much trouble, period. Needs bigger holding tanks. Actually, my next purchase will probably be a professional model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nativfloridian
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
6/21/2012

Customer review by drivingdiva55

1.0 stars 6/21/2012 by drivingdiva55
by drivingdiva55

Have used this cleaner three times. It worked great. However, now will not dispense solution. I have tried cleaning it out to see if something is plugged?? Nothing. Looks like a brand new carpet cleaner heading to the dump.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drivingdiva55
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1/18/2012

Customer review by 1gagirl

2.0 stars 1/18/2012 by 1gagirl
by 1gagirl

Had the cleaner for 1 1/2 years and probably used it 3-4 times and now will not work, no suction at all. Had to replace the belts once.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1gagirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
If you have hard water, be careful
9/25/2012

Customer review by Baye

3.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Baye
by Baye

I loved my machine. I used it about 5 or 6 times in a couple of years. Then it stopped spraying water. I clean it meticulously after use right down to unscrewing the parts and cleaning them. I did not know, however, that the heating coils get gunked up with minerals that are in the water. Once that happens you either have an expensive repair bill or, if you're handy, you can spend a great deal of time and effort taking the whole thing apart to attempt to clean out the build-up. (Check out the YouTube video.) Info online says that I should have put vinegar through it after each use to prevent this from happening. Is it worth replacing, though? I can rent one from Home Depot for $29 for 24 hours. I don't have to take the Hope Depot one apart to clean it or run vinegar through it. The rental is more powerful--no doubt about that. It will clean and suck up the water better. I don't have to store the rental. Owning, however, is convenient for use. The Bissell is lighter weight. If you have trouble lifting, it may be a better choice. I, however, be going with the rental.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baye
Capital District of New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
My carpet looks new!!
3/19/2012

Customer review by CPTDENT

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by CPTDENT
by CPTDENT

Easy to set up. Easy to use. Cleaned the carpet very well without soaking the carpet. This carpet has been the victim of 2 cats, 2 dogs and 2 grandchildren. It was really nasty. The machine is as well made as the competitor's models and, with proper care, should last awhile. If I have to buy one every 3 years, that will still be cheaper than a professional service as often as needed. The only down side is that it is so easy to use I can't get my turn using it. The oldest granddaughter loves cleaning the carpet and I cannot get the cleaner away from her.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPTDENT
Clinton, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews